Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 814 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

814 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

814 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
441
4 stars
236
3 stars
46
2 stars
19
1 stars
72
1-20 of 742 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 742 total reviews
1-20 of 742 reviews
5 Star more than expected!!!
3/26/2010

Customer review by 4evashopper

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by 4evashopper
by 4evashopper

I've been looking around for an affordable good quality treadmill for about 2 months. After reading the reviews and seeing a model at Walmart, I went ahead and purchased this one and take the risk. I am 100% happy to discover that all the negative comments were inacurate. If you follow the instructions, it shows you exactly what to do to assemble this machine in less than an hour! ASSEMBLY: You will need a phillip screwdriver and an adjustable wrench. (Things everyone should have?). You will need a friend because it is heavy especially when you get to the part of connecting the belt portion to the legs. It took us 48 min to assemble only because my 2 year old keeps wanting to help. ;) After assembly, we plugged it in and I tried out one of the preset workout and was very pleased. The presets are very good and the machine very sturdy at high speeds. I am 5'8" and 185 lbs and I had no problem running on this and still felt like I had plenty of room. Im looking forward to using this treadmill everyday while it saves me an hour drive to the track! The console has room for the pair of 1lb weights that it came with as well as my water bottle, iphone, and even a book if you wish to walk and read. ACCESSORY: I also purchased a treadmill mat to go with this machine. It helps protect my carpet for when the treadmill is moving during its incline/decline adjustments. Highly recommend you grab 1 for $20 at walmart. If you want to fold the machine, the single locking pin is ok. However, I have no plans of folding this machine. It has its own corner facing the entertainment center so I can workout and watch TV if desired. For $377, it is definitely the best buy! It walks, it runs, it has manual and preset modes, a long belt for those long stride, wide enough with plenty of room for my size, air cushion is great on the knees, solid and very sturdy at high speeds! And most of all, its well under my budget!

Was this review helpful? (392) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4evashopper
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sturdy Treadmill, Runs Smooth
1/30/2011

Customer review by BubDylan

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by BubDylan
by BubDylan

I've only had the treadmill for a few days, but I really love it. I worked at a treadmill factory in the 90's where we made top end medical treadmills. And since then, I've always noticed how flimsy most personal treadmills feel when I walk on them. But this one feels really nice. It isn't shaky or cheap feeling, but really solid. The lowest speeds run smooth, which is kind of a litmus test for decent treadmills. I was prepared for a long, tough assembly because of the reviews here. I suppose if I hadn't had such an expectation, it might have seemed pretty involved, but I thought it was easy enough. I did it alone, but there is one step that I wish I'd had a helper on. But I still got it done. It did take over 3 hours, but I freed up an evening, put on some good music and really took my time. This isn't the sort of product with which you want to rush assembly. Follow the rules about not tightening stuff all the way until it says to. I'm very pleased with this thing. I weigh 275 (thus the treadmill purchase) and it doesn't struggle with me at all. Quiet and smooth. Be sure you pay attention to how to adjust the belt if it starts to shift to the left or right. It's easy to do, but you want to make sure you take a peek at it once in a while, especially at first until it gets in position well. I made one half-turn adjustment on it and that was all (so far). Happy running.

Was this review helpful? (384) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BubDylan
Talladega, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Met my expectations
9/26/2009

Customer review by Izarla

5.0 stars 9/26/2009 by Izarla
by Izarla

The treadmill arrived a few days before schedule. It is a great buy for the money! It has programmed workouts, you can raise and lower the incline, see what your heart rate and pulse is, and lower the speed - all by pushing the correct button. I like the width of this treadmill; others I've tried were too narrow and it was easy to bump the sides. I'll definitely tell my friends about it!

Was this review helpful? (180) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Izarla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
7/13/2010

Customer review by flbabe1963

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by flbabe1963
by flbabe1963

After researching the internet for several weeks looking at various treadmills I finally decided on The Gold's Gym 480 and have not been disappointed.My wife and I have been using it everyday for the past month. It is an excellent product that meets all our expectations. Assembly took about 90 minutes. The treadmill itself comes already assembled you just have to put together the control panel and side handle bars. Not difficult at all. When I purchased this last month shipping was only 97 cents to my home, what a bargain. Ignore all the negative reviews about treadmills under $500 and just buy this one. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (123) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flbabe1963
St Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT A++++++++
3/15/2010

Customer review by lisa1010

5.0 stars 3/15/2010 by lisa1010
by lisa1010

I highly recommend this product. My fiance had it put together in an hour with no problem. I've read other reviews and can not phatom why others would have so many problems with assembly. Lack of mechanical inclination...Maybe??? Who knows. Well I've owned this tread mill since October 2009 and decided to hold off on my review as I really wanted to test this product. I walk/run everyday and 6 months after my purchase I couldn't be more pleased.

Was this review helpful? (88) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lisa1010
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love it but...
12/19/2009

Customer review by taldi

5.0 stars 12/19/2009 by taldi
by taldi

The only thing I would change on the treadmill is the pin that holds the treadmill for storage. It seems when I move mine, the treadmill releases. I put something thru the handle for extra safety. Those with children should take precautions to secure it in the upright position.

Was this review helpful? (70) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taldi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product-Have Walmart Assemble
2/28/2010

Customer review by happywalmartcust1203

5.0 stars 2/28/2010 by happywalmartcust1203
by happywalmartcust1203

My husband and I both use this treadmill. Has met all of our expectations. He uses it 5 times a week and I use it 4 times a week. It gets a good workout along with us. Most of the negatives that I read prior to purchase was the assembly problems. So I called Walmart and asked if they would assemble and how much would it cost. To my great surprise, they assembled it and best of all, there was no charge. Do yourself a favor and have Walmart assemble it for you, then you know it has been done right.

Was this review helpful? (95) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happywalmartcust1203
Gardnerville, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great treadmill for price
12/9/2009

Customer review by stupidusername

4.0 stars 12/9/2009 by stupidusername
by stupidusername

This is a great treadmill for the price. It arrived at the store sooner than it was supposed to and I was able to put it together in a little over two hours with minimal help from my husband. All the parts were there and the instructions were easy. I set it up plugged it in and everything has worked great. The incline is pretty impressive for a treadmill with this price tag and it is pretty sturdy. The latch that holds the base up when it is folded is not the sturdiest and you should be careful when moving it. The rollers work great as well as the programs. Very basic console and pretty easy to figure out. Has a safety key that is great so my toddler can't accidently turn it on. Overall I would recommend this to anyone I use it everyday for an hour and have had no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (124) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stupidusername
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great!
2/16/2010

Customer review by sophill

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by sophill
by sophill

I don't write reviews unless I find an item worthy of recommendation. If you have the money go ahead and buy a 2000 dll one, but if you have to save like me... honestly for the money and quality buy this one, i tried others from the same brand but a little more expensive, they're the same except may have more gadgets which we really can survive without. I recommend going to local fitness stores where you can try different treadmills and you'll know what I mean. We had the treadmill for 6 months already, it's used 4-5 times a day and it has not broke or had any problems. I lost 20 lbs in the first 3 months doing only the programmed workouts, no diet, except my last meal is at 7pm. Good luck and hope it helps.

Was this review helpful? (67) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sophill
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase!!!!
12/28/2009

Customer review by chibabylover

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by chibabylover
by chibabylover

I wanted a treadmill to help me get back in shape so I read all the reviews for the Weslo Cadence G4o that Walmart offers for 287.00 My husband and I headed to our Walmart to pick it up and when we got there we noticed this treadmill and he said that I would be crazy not to just get this one. I told him that I didn't read the reviews on this one but he said that the belt was wider, that the incline was automatic and that I should just try it. I am so glad that I did this treadmill is absolutely great. The programmed workouts are very nice although it will be awhile of training before I can do all of them. The incline is very smooth and the treadmill itself is fairly quiet. We have decided that it is quiet enough to keep in the living room instead of putting upstairs in the extra bedroom. As far as assembly goes it took my husband exactly 2 hours but if he would have followed the directions to the T he wouldn't have had to tear it back apart. CAUTION do not use the biggest bolts in the bottom frame as they are needed to brace the belt casing to each side of the frame. That was the mistake he made and regreted. I would definetely recommend this product to anyone that is looking for an affordable but yet quality treadmill!

Was this review helpful? (88) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chibabylover
Indiana, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product!!
3/16/2010

Customer review by Joninray

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by Joninray
by Joninray

I started not to buy this treadmill only because of the disappointing comments. That and I couldn't find it online or in the stores nearby. The comments about missing parts and such really disturbed messages. I don't know who couldn't put this thing together without help but I just had a quad-bypass and it only took me about 4 hours to put this thing together ALONE! It worked perfectly out of the box and it is very sturdy for me and my wife. Got this for walking so it is perfect for the price and we love it. We had everything in the box that was supposed to come with the treadmill....no pieces missing and it started up right away. Recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joninray
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
1/27/2011

Customer review by Jhude

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by Jhude
by Jhude

I am very pleased with this product. The delivery was on time and only $0.01. Although it says it requires two people for assembly, I was able to do it myself in about 3 hours. The unit is compact. It does not take up a lot of space, and it folds up when not in use. The automatic incline feature was the selling point for me. The incline feature on any treadmill is so important. Anyone who has been on a professional treadmill in a gym knows what I mean. Other models in this price range have a manual incline...you have to get off the treadmill and adjust the legs on the end of the machine!! This model has the electric incline. The heart rate feature is also really neat. You just grab hold of the hand rail, and the unit measures your pulse in your hands and displays your heart rate. The belt moves freely and the cushion support is great even when running. This machine may not have as many preprogrammed exercise routines as a professional unit, but for $400 including tax and delivery this is an amazing deal. The only complaint that I have (and it is really no big deal unless you are using the unit in the dark) is that he display is not back lit. In other words the display is digital, but not bright. I can't imagine that it would cost the manufacturer more than a couple of dollars to include a back lit display. Overall, I am very impressed with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jhude
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product for the $$$
4/3/2011

Customer review by LoveMeSomeSuperWalmart

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by LoveMeSomeSuperWalmart
by LoveMeSomeSuperWalmart

My wife and I have owned this treadmill for about 9 months, and it has met and exceeded our expectations. I was pushing the weight limit (300 lbs) of this treadmill when we bought it, but it has shown no ill effects from the beating i have put it through. Now, at 220 lbs., it is great for running. The pre-programmed routines are very good also. They will put you through an excellent cardio workout. Would definitely buy again, or recommend to anyone looking for a treadmill, and not wanting to spend a boat-load of cash. The only place this thing could use some improvement is in the hand rails. (They are just a bit short.) However, after gaining some treadmill balance, we do not hold on anyways, so it is really a non-issue.

Was this review helpful? (50) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMeSomeSuperWalmart
Hillsboro, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/18/2010

Customer review by eb34

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by eb34
by eb34

Got the treadmill 1-17-10 read the reviews before buying and this is a good treadmill for the money. It took about 1hr 20min to fully assemble. You can do it by yourself but another person helps on an occasion. The instructions were good. UNLIKE most instructions I have seen. ALL and all the instructions and unit is pretty user friendly. Display is slightly dim but can see fine. The walmart we bought from offered FREE assembly. But I passed cause I like to know it was put together correct and with care. I recommend this treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eb34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best investment I've ever made
2/2/2011

Customer review by NateInBuffalo

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by NateInBuffalo
by NateInBuffalo

Treadmill took me about 2 hrs to set up on my own. I've owned this a year and its used almost daily by 3 people in my home. I was jogging 100 miles a month myself for a while, now doing about 50. Despite the regular use I haven't had any problems with it whatsoever. It's almost perfect and has all the features I wanted, a backlight on the display would be great but it's not a big deal. This and the Weider Total Body Works 5000 are the most used pieces of my home gym. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NateInBuffalo
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great Workout
12/18/2009

Customer review by cheecher

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by cheecher
by cheecher

Got this treadmill yesterday. It says it takes two people to put together but Im a 57 yr old female and I did it all by myself. Wasent that complicated. It will give you the workout you desire for weight loss or just to tone up. Worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheecher
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
MADE IN THE USA
1/5/2011

Customer review by BuggsIslandFisherman

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by BuggsIslandFisherman
by BuggsIslandFisherman

Very impressed with this product. It will require 2 people to assemble some parts. Instructions are very good, just read and pay attention to them. Instead of a adjustable wrench use a 7/16 and a 9/16 to assemble, this gives a better grip on the nuts. Parts are clearly labeled and is standard sizes not meteric. Most important this is made in the USA and keeps our people working. BUY AMERICAN.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuggsIslandFisherman
Henderson, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I'm pleased; fits my needs
2/12/2011

Customer review by saharainmo

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by saharainmo
by saharainmo

I wanted an affordable treadmill to use on a near daily basis; focusing on consistent walking to help me lose weight. I won't be using it to run on. And price was a big factor for me. My husband assembled it with no problems and my minimal help. He's handy though. It is heavy with lots of pieces, I would have been intimidated by the instructions if it were just me. I've owned a more expensive treadmill in the past. I think this one is fairly comparable. The display console is plasticy, but easy to use. It feels sturdy, stable and doesn't rumble and shake while in use. I can watch TV without the volume sky high. As mentioned, there's no display light. I clipped on a $2.00 book light and it made a big difference! I took a picture in a near dark room to show the improvement. I would recommend this treadmill to those on a budget who are looking to improve their health. I'm down three pounds this first week!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saharainmo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
12/24/2009

Customer review by Anodizer

5.0 stars 12/24/2009 by Anodizer
by Anodizer

This has a big motor, 6 programs, heart monitor, very strong walk frame, dont waste your money on a more expensive treadmill. Been using it a month now great treadmill

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anodizer
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value, Good product
9/20/2010

Customer review by JLCLC

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by JLCLC
by JLCLC

I bought this treadmill after looking into many different makes and models. I needed something affordable. I have an 8mo son and wanted to work out while he slept...so this was my solution. I was a little nervous because it was a cheaper treadmill, but i am so far very happy with it. I only have 1 real grip with this treadmill (so far) the display is not back lighted so if you aren't in an area with good light the display is hard to see. I wouldn't recommend this treadmill to a tall person because I think it might be a little small. I am 5'2 and the belt length is perfect for me, but i doubt my husband would run comfortably on this machine for an extended period of time. It is recommended you have a 22x55 inch belt for running on, but i have found that the 18x50 is fine for me. I can run at high speeds and i don't feel like I am going to fall off the treadmill or that is it too small. We bought the display model off the floor at walmart so i can't say if putting it together is easy or hard. The display shows, distance, calories, time, and heart rate and you can rotate which display you want on the bigger display...which makes it definitely easier to see if it isn't real light in the room. You cannot put in your weight and age to approx calories, but i have always found even the high end treadmills in the gym are unreliable giving you correct calorie count... so this gives you an approx which i think is fine. There are quick set buttons so you don't have to manually increase speed or incline, but you can use the manual increase/decrease buttons if you don't want to increase in full 1 mph or %incline. The manual buttons go up in .01 increments or .5 if you hold down the buttons. I really like that all you have to do it hit either the 1 button or the 7 button and it immediately increases to those speeds...or inclines whichever you push. They have quick set buttons from 1-10 on both sides...speed and incline. The heart rate monitor picks up your heart rate really quickly. I have been on treadmills in gyms where it takes 5 minutes for the handles to read your heart rate...this take about 15 secs. This treadmill comes with 1lb weights that are used for the preset "weight loss" programs. There are 4 weight loss programs and 4 performance programs. I don't really use preset works out so i didn't want to buy a machine that gave you too many. It doesn't have an ipod hook up or a built in fan, but this isn't an expensive machine either. I have an ipod speaker and live in a cool climate so these two options available in higher end treadmills weren't a huge factor for me. It is really comfortable to run or walk on. It speeds up quickly and the incline works really well. The incline is a little noisy, but it isn't bad. Running on it is not loud either. It is easy for me to fold up and I think it folds up pretty small....for a treadmill. So far this has been a great machine! Definitely recommend it for home use. I will update my review if something comes up that is disagreeable.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLCLC
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 742 total reviews
1-20 of 742 reviews