Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 236 reviews
5 stars
104
4 stars
82
3 stars
22
2 stars
6
1 stars
22
Sort by: 
1-20 of 223 reviews
1-20 of 223 reviews
nice gym
2/13/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
nice gym i like it just started using it so done know to much yet but seems nice
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (42)
Report
Was this review helpful?
whoop whoop
4/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great home gym to workout with, it was easy to assemble, its easy to work, when i recieved my box at the store to pick up it Was ripped at the end and some poles were sticking out and when we got home to check if all the screws and parts were there we found out the preacher curl and the backrest was ripped, but a simple online chat with the weider customer service fixed that problem they shipped me out brand new parts, I have been using this gym for about a 2 weeks now 2-3 times a day and its everything i thought and more! And also for ppl who may be thinking that 214 may not be enough weight.. trust me it is! thats exactly what i thought, overall this a great home gym, i would deffintley reccomend this to anyone whos looking to get in shape
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent
9/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to assemble; works well; quality product; excellent value
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exercise equipment for regular people
4/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies. It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (91)No (62)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Weider 2980 Home Gym
1/20/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product had several negative aspects. 1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt. 2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine. 3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable. The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys. The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machines and Great Price
3/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great machines and Great Price. Only the pulley instruction should be better identify for faster installation. So far took me 5-6 hours but worth it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If you have the tools you can build it.
3/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very satisfied with the gym. It's sturdy and durable. The instructions was easy to read and took about 3 to 4 hours to build. There was also a youtube video that was also helpful in building it. If you have the right tools it will be easy to build. Comes with a workout poster with different workouts you can do. I love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Manufacturing defect
11/14/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this nearly 2 months ago. I cant use the forward moving handles (whatever they are called) because of a manufacturing defect. I am surprised to see such thing happening at this level. As you can see the arm that connects the moving handles is longer than it should be and therefore the lever does not fit. It is impossible to contact the manufacturers because of the time difference, plus they work 9-5 ;-)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beginners Gym
7/31/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It seemed to be the most cost effective home gym equipment. It is in fact easy to assemble and relatively small..... And it has butterfly capabilities!!! However, it is strictly for beginners. For the high pulley lat exercise, the travel is way to short, allowing no range of motion for the correct execution of the exercise... and there is not enough load. The seat is not adjustable and the butterfly sucks!! Too short as well. Not complete (beginning to end) range of motion. Besides, the low pulley row (which has actually good load) makes the whole equipment "to walk" (even after greased and oiled). For me (6'0 and 200lb), there are only 3 exercises I can execute: Triceps pulley (high rep series, otherwise it would not have enough load), lower pulley row (holding the gym back with my feet) and legs development (improvising a backrest for my lower back portion). I recommend trying the gym before you buy it, even if you have to pay more for the equipment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the price.
9/21/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
All the parts were present. I took my time over a few days to assemble due to my work schedule, but over all it took me about 4 1/2 hrs by myself, using a ratchet set and wrenches. I'm and older guy and bought this just to stay active and toned, so my expectations aren't very high, but after assembly I'm pretty impressed. Only one part seemed very poorly designed and that's the leg extension bumper. It's plastic and attaches with a tiny self tapping screw. If you over tighten it, it will snap like nothing. I got a much longer screw and a big washer and run it through using the large washer to hold it on. I had to put the machine on carpet, which allows it to be a little unstable. My plan is to put a piece of plywood under it to stiffen the floor under it and that should square it away. Overall I think it's a good buy for general exercise, toning and building some muscle. I'm 5'11" tall and it seems to suite my needs just fine. If I were taller it may not be as comfortable. I too think that your attitude toward making the best of it matters. If you want or need more, plan on spending more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Customer Service.
8/7/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this just sitting around in my house because it was missing a pulley when I received it. I immediately contacted the company on 19 July 2017 to request it. As of today, 6 August 2017, there is still no status on shipment. Will probably return it and buy a more reputable system and pay the extra.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
home gym
12/23/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (170)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Machine @ Great Price
2/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This unit works your entire upper body. It won't do calves because you can't lie down on your belly and work on legs. But it does knee lifts. Operation is smooth and as quiet as a pulley based system can be. The provided weights are more than enough for all except the Mr. Universe types. Some assembly required - make that LOTS of assembly required. It takes from 3 to 4 hours to assemble. It's not hard to do, just time consuming. It comes with a Super good set of instructions by the way, so Just take your time, don't rush, and follow them. Yeah guys, READ EM! When assembled this thing is heavy, about 250 pounds. But if you undo the single bolt that holds the weight slide bars to the top frame and disconnect the cable to the weight selector rod you can lift out the weights, allowing you to drag it to the new location or 2 people can pick it up. This thing is so convenient I find that I actually use it. Plus it only takes up a space about 6 feet long by 4 feet wide. And it looks great too. Well worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great weight machine
11/27/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had a Weider weight machine 15 years ago that I got rid of when I moved. When looking to replace it I naturally went with another Weider since I had such good luck with the last one. I'm not disappointed! This thing is solid and is exactly what I was looking for. Took a full day and a half to assemble by myself but the instructions were easy to follow and all the nuts and bolts were packaged and labeled correctly. Also, everything fit! I'm thrilled with this product. My only complaint is that the pin that you use to change the weights is difficult to get in and out because there's a ridge on it that seems unnecessary. I may try to buy a plain pin as a replacement. Overall -- two thumbs up! I highly recommend this weight machine!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (73)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not useful for the general population.
10/5/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just about every review about this piece of equipment was spot on. It six hours to assemble and I'm mechanically inclined with an entire garage of tools at my disposal. Several parts were mislabeled and looked similar in the instructions guide which created a need to disassemble pieces multiple times. If you lay everything out in the beginning, you should be fine however and it can be completed in about 3 - 4 hours with the right tools as a one person job. The actual workouts are horrible. The machine feels very unbalanced and does not give you a full range of motion, which fails to target the desired muscle groups. The amount of weight is not ideal for anything other than rehabbing an injury, or keeping muscles from becoming rigid if you're suffering from any type of ailment. I've been into fitness since the mid nineties and basically, this is not the machine that one would recommend for anyone that's "serious" about getting in shape or maintaining their shape.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Meh
9/14/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The bottom cable is tough to pull making leg activities difficult and straining and the cables don't extended enough to give the weights much lift when you're working out. Wish I didn't waste the money and could return it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Weider 2980 Home Gym
3/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the money this is an excellent value! I was quite impressed with the packaging and enclosed assembly instructions - over the years I have assembled many different products and this was by far the best - the assembly process is broken down into logical steps, the parts are separately packaged according to each step, the instructions and corresponding images are very easy to follow, and there is also a separate index in the back of the manual listing all the parts by name (and how many of each) if one has any doubts as to which parts are which... The assembled gym is sturdy, and very easy to operate with regard to changing the weight setup to accommodate a variety of exercises - this particular home gym is more than enough for our needs of staying in shape, without an extreme financial expenditure! Definitely a Good Buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good 4 $$ Spent
6/19/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product is very good. I like the colors, the whole structure is very reasonable. Not too heavy not too light either. Just be ready to spend a good 5 to 6 hours to assemble it if you are not a handyman person. The cables could be a little bit confusing. Just follow the diagram shown in the book and you will be safe. I think is a great product for the money spent. I wish It would have brought more weights. You have about 214 pounds on leg resistance force but for your arms and chest is just about 120 pounds. At least with this product I won't have to be paying monthly membership fees on a gym neither wasting gas on my trip to the gym. I recommend this product. Leslie A-G Tampa, FL
Was this review helpful?
Yes (88)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Buyer beware
5/18/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for myself for Father's Day and my wife said she would put it together. She likes putting things together. It took her an entire weekend to get the thing together. It looked great though. But the wire coating on the wires frayed immediately. I've tried to fix it...tried to see if its rubbing wrong somewhere....its just plain and simple cheap. When this goes completely....after another use probably...I'll just take it apart and have one delivered that costs more and is already together. Again it looks nice....but you get what you pay for. I maybe got 10 work outs out of it before the cables went.....and replacement cables cost $90 each so......I'd stay away from this and stay away from Weider because several parts were missing and they don't back their product. Thankfully we had bolts that we could use on hand. Buyer beware!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for someone who hasn't worked out for awhile
10/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this gym so I can lift and have some cardio from my treadmill. So far so good! It works better than what I thought it would. The design looks nice and the weights plus the resistance is definitely enough for what I can lift. As for a beginner and someone who is out of shape, I'd say this is worth it. Like everyone else, it did take us to set it up and put together for about 5 hours and all the screws, nuts, bolts, etc, are labeled and all parts weren't hard to identify. I'm not a handy man but my husband is and I was able to do it. I'd say have someone there to help also just because one can hold and one screws in or one screws in while the other gets the next step ready. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641777, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-