Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
48
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
1-20 of 129 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
nice gym
2/13/2012

Customer review by popypop

4.0 stars 2/13/2012 by popypop
by popypop

nice gym i like it just started using it so done know to much yet but seems nice

Was this review helpful? (4) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
popypop
parkersburg wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
9/5/2011

Customer review by LexingtonGreen

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by LexingtonGreen
by LexingtonGreen

Easy to assemble; works well; quality product; excellent value

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LexingtonGreen
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
whoop whoop
4/11/2012

Customer review by Lwow

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Lwow
by Lwow

This is a great home gym to workout with, it was easy to assemble, its easy to work, when i recieved my box at the store to pick up it Was ripped at the end and some poles were sticking out and when we got home to check if all the screws and parts were there we found out the preacher curl and the backrest was ripped, but a simple online chat with the weider customer service fixed that problem they shipped me out brand new parts, I have been using this gym for about a 2 weeks now 2-3 times a day and its everything i thought and more! And also for ppl who may be thinking that 214 may not be enough weight.. trust me it is! thats exactly what i thought, overall this a great home gym, i would deffintley reccomend this to anyone whos looking to get in shape

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lwow
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Exercise equipment for regular people
4/28/2011

Customer review by OneMtGirl

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by OneMtGirl
by OneMtGirl
Top 1000 contributor

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies. It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there.

Was this review helpful? (63) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneMtGirl
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Weider 2980 Home Gym
1/20/2011

Customer review by Ronco2011

3.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Ronco2011
by Ronco2011

The product had several negative aspects. 1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt. 2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine. 3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable. The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys. The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up.

Was this review helpful? (34) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronco2011
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Weider 2980X 214# stack home gym
1/31/2016

Customer review by Eric630

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Eric630
by Eric630

Pros: Easy assembly, took half a day. Alot stronger than I imagined. Bought one over ten years ago (another brand ended up snapping the bench as well as the gear.) The bench screw plates are evenly spread. Once I used the bench you can tell thought was put into the design. Comes with a lock on the weights to keep kids from touching it. In the paperwork there is a phone number to have someone put it together if you don't have the tools or the patience. Extended warranty as well in the paperwork. Cons: The front footing should be curved like the rear footing. The bench on my carpet sways left to right due to being top heavy. (Hoping in time it will settle in the carpet the more I use it. Not scared of it tipping over though.) The workout poster needs to be updated. It is a general workout for the largest workout gym they sell. It is useless to me due to majority of the poster is for another workout gym. I bought this gym due to the raising prices at the local gym. This way the gym is at home and I will have more time using it. Hoping it doesn't become a clothes hanger soon. This gym should be great for majority of people, large or small places. Once I was working out the machine didn't move around. The price for what you get, definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eric630
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2980 X
1/18/2016

Customer review by User

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by User
by User

Good home gym Assembly instructions were good and easy to follow. There are also videos on You-Tube with excellent step by step assembly instructions.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
User
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
home gym
12/23/2009

Customer review by fishingfever123

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by fishingfever123
by fishingfever123

very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results.

Was this review helpful? (151) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishingfever123
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice bench
12/26/2015

Customer review by Zook

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Zook
by Zook

Only issue was the price went down 15.00 after I had purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Weider 2980 Home Gym
1/18/2016

Customer review by Kenneth

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Kenneth
by Kenneth

For the price point this item is very good and the competition is way behind in their pricing. The gym has a good footprint for those with limited space. The item has most of the strength building positions that could be considered basic, if you look at the next higher priced product offering it does have some additional positions but comes with an increased price as well. If you would like an inexpensive home gym with a small footprint that works well and has the quality you would expect, this is the product for you. Good luck and happy exercising.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenneth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice and simple
1/26/2016

Customer review by Ramon

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Ramon
by Ramon

Such a affordable home gym which works great and fits in small area. I am so glad that I bought this set. I am so motivated with this simple gym.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ramon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great weight machine
11/27/2010

Customer review by poolside1

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by poolside1
by poolside1

I had a Weider weight machine 15 years ago that I got rid of when I moved. When looking to replace it I naturally went with another Weider since I had such good luck with the last one. I'm not disappointed! This thing is solid and is exactly what I was looking for. Took a full day and a half to assemble by myself but the instructions were easy to follow and all the nuts and bolts were packaged and labeled correctly. Also, everything fit! I'm thrilled with this product. My only complaint is that the pin that you use to change the weights is difficult to get in and out because there's a ridge on it that seems unnecessary. I may try to buy a plain pin as a replacement. Overall -- two thumbs up! I highly recommend this weight machine!

Was this review helpful? (58) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poolside1
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Weider home gym
11/29/2015

Customer review by Sandy

4.0 stars 11/29/2015 by Sandy
by Sandy

The item shipped site to store two weeks earlier than expected, normally it wouldn't be a problem but it was a large Christmas gift and we had to change our pick up arrangements. The box was also open, not sealed at all and when I asked associates at the store they said it came off the truck that way and they had been unable to tape it closed due to the large size and lack of banding or proper tape. Because of the open package my husband and son had to assemble the gym to make sure all of the parts were there and said the instructions were very easy to follow. The bolts, nuts and washers were shrink wrapped onto cardboard and numbered to match the instructions. Other than having to give the gift a month early the product is just as expected and the service was good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not useful for the general population.
10/5/2014

Customer review by BS818

1.0 stars 10/5/2014 by BS818
by BS818

Just about every review about this piece of equipment was spot on. It six hours to assemble and I'm mechanically inclined with an entire garage of tools at my disposal. Several parts were mislabeled and looked similar in the instructions guide which created a need to disassemble pieces multiple times. If you lay everything out in the beginning, you should be fine however and it can be completed in about 3 - 4 hours with the right tools as a one person job. The actual workouts are horrible. The machine feels very unbalanced and does not give you a full range of motion, which fails to target the desired muscle groups. The amount of weight is not ideal for anything other than rehabbing an injury, or keeping muscles from becoming rigid if you're suffering from any type of ailment. I've been into fitness since the mid nineties and basically, this is not the machine that one would recommend for anyone that's "serious" about getting in shape or maintaining their shape.

Was this review helpful? (6) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BS818
SFV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Weider 2980 Home Gym
3/8/2012

Customer review by jwb9mm

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by jwb9mm
by jwb9mm

For the money this is an excellent value! I was quite impressed with the packaging and enclosed assembly instructions - over the years I have assembled many different products and this was by far the best - the assembly process is broken down into logical steps, the parts are separately packaged according to each step, the instructions and corresponding images are very easy to follow, and there is also a separate index in the back of the manual listing all the parts by name (and how many of each) if one has any doubts as to which parts are which... The assembled gym is sturdy, and very easy to operate with regard to changing the weight setup to accommodate a variety of exercises - this particular home gym is more than enough for our needs of staying in shape, without an extreme financial expenditure! Definitely a Good Buy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwb9mm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Only had it a week and love it so far.
12/7/2015

Customer review by Tvdukie93

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Tvdukie93
by Tvdukie93

Only had it a week and love it so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tvdukie93
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good 4 $$ Spent
6/19/2010

Customer review by olimpic2

4.0 stars 6/19/2010 by olimpic2
by olimpic2

The product is very good. I like the colors, the whole structure is very reasonable. Not too heavy not too light either. Just be ready to spend a good 5 to 6 hours to assemble it if you are not a handyman person. The cables could be a little bit confusing. Just follow the diagram shown in the book and you will be safe. I think is a great product for the money spent. I wish It would have brought more weights. You have about 214 pounds on leg resistance force but for your arms and chest is just about 120 pounds. At least with this product I won't have to be paying monthly membership fees on a gym neither wasting gas on my trip to the gym. I recommend this product. Leslie A-G Tampa, FL

Was this review helpful? (77) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olimpic2
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym
1/18/2016

Customer review by Bikerjohn

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Bikerjohn
by Bikerjohn

Fast shipping, fairly easy assembly with help of on line video. Meets my expectations of a simple workout at home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bikerjohn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Review
1/17/2016

Customer review by unknown

4.0 stars 1/17/2016 by unknown
by unknown

Good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unknown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice gym...Schedule a day to get it together
7/13/2010

Customer review by Youwanthowmuch

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by Youwanthowmuch
by Youwanthowmuch

This took a few hours to get together, but after that it is really great. Works well. -Make time to get it together, it will take about 4-6 hours. -Do not overtighten any parts with plastic, they will snap! -Do not let your husband try to put it together without instructions, it won't work.

Was this review helpful? (143) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Youwanthowmuch
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews