Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 228 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
81
3 stars
22
2 stars
4
1 stars
19
1-20 of 215 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 215 total reviews
1-20 of 215 reviews
nice gym
2/13/2012

Customer review by popypop

4.0 stars 2/13/2012 by popypop
by popypop

nice gym i like it just started using it so done know to much yet but seems nice

Was this review helpful? (28) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
popypop
parkersburg wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Excellent
9/5/2011

Customer review by LexingtonGreen

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by LexingtonGreen
by LexingtonGreen

Easy to assemble; works well; quality product; excellent value

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LexingtonGreen
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
whoop whoop
4/11/2012

Customer review by Lwow

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Lwow
by Lwow

This is a great home gym to workout with, it was easy to assemble, its easy to work, when i recieved my box at the store to pick up it Was ripped at the end and some poles were sticking out and when we got home to check if all the screws and parts were there we found out the preacher curl and the backrest was ripped, but a simple online chat with the weider customer service fixed that problem they shipped me out brand new parts, I have been using this gym for about a 2 weeks now 2-3 times a day and its everything i thought and more! And also for ppl who may be thinking that 214 may not be enough weight.. trust me it is! thats exactly what i thought, overall this a great home gym, i would deffintley reccomend this to anyone whos looking to get in shape

Was this review helpful? (51) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lwow
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Age:18 - 24
Exercise equipment for regular people
4/28/2011

Customer review by OneMtGirl

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by OneMtGirl
by OneMtGirl
Top 1000 contributor

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies. It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there.

Was this review helpful? (87) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneMtGirl
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Weider 2980 Home Gym
1/20/2011

Customer review by Ronco2011

3.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Ronco2011
by Ronco2011

The product had several negative aspects. 1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt. 2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine. 3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable. The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys. The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up.

Was this review helpful? (53) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronco2011
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
If you have the tools you can build it.
3/15/2017

Customer review by Rosie

5.0 stars 3/15/2017 by Rosie
by Rosie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very satisfied with the gym. It's sturdy and durable. The instructions was easy to read and took about 3 to 4 hours to build. There was also a youtube video that was also helpful in building it. If you have the right tools it will be easy to build. Comes with a workout poster with different workouts you can do. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machines and Great Price
3/8/2017

Customer review by NewYork

4.0 stars 3/8/2017 by NewYork
by NewYork
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great machines and Great Price. Only the pulley instruction should be better identify for faster installation. So far took me 5-6 hours but worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewYork
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Manufacturing defect
11/14/2016

Customer review by FarooqNaeem

1.0 stars 11/14/2016 by FarooqNaeem
by FarooqNaeem

I bought this nearly 2 months ago. I cant use the forward moving handles (whatever they are called) because of a manufacturing defect. I am surprised to see such thing happening at this level. As you can see the arm that connects the moving handles is longer than it should be and therefore the lever does not fit. It is impossible to contact the manufacturers because of the time difference, plus they work 9-5 ;-)

FarooqNaeem
Kingston, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Machine @ Great Price
2/13/2017

Customer review by Superdave123

5.0 stars 2/13/2017 by Superdave123
by Superdave123

This unit works your entire upper body. It won't do calves because you can't lie down on your belly and work on legs. But it does knee lifts. Operation is smooth and as quiet as a pulley based system can be. The provided weights are more than enough for all except the Mr. Universe types. Some assembly required - make that LOTS of assembly required. It takes from 3 to 4 hours to assemble. It's not hard to do, just time consuming. It comes with a Super good set of instructions by the way, so Just take your time, don't rush, and follow them. Yeah guys, READ EM! When assembled this thing is heavy, about 250 pounds. But if you undo the single bolt that holds the weight slide bars to the top frame and disconnect the cable to the weight selector rod you can lift out the weights, allowing you to drag it to the new location or 2 people can pick it up. This thing is so convenient I find that I actually use it. Plus it only takes up a space about 6 feet long by 4 feet wide. And it looks great too. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Superdave123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
home gym
12/23/2009

Customer review by fishingfever123

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by fishingfever123
by fishingfever123

very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results.

Was this review helpful? (164) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishingfever123
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Great weight machine
11/27/2010

Customer review by poolside1

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by poolside1
by poolside1

I had a Weider weight machine 15 years ago that I got rid of when I moved. When looking to replace it I naturally went with another Weider since I had such good luck with the last one. I'm not disappointed! This thing is solid and is exactly what I was looking for. Took a full day and a half to assemble by myself but the instructions were easy to follow and all the nuts and bolts were packaged and labeled correctly. Also, everything fit! I'm thrilled with this product. My only complaint is that the pin that you use to change the weights is difficult to get in and out because there's a ridge on it that seems unnecessary. I may try to buy a plain pin as a replacement. Overall -- two thumbs up! I highly recommend this weight machine!

Was this review helpful? (71) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poolside1
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Not useful for the general population.
10/5/2014

Customer review by BS818

1.0 stars 10/5/2014 by BS818
by BS818

Just about every review about this piece of equipment was spot on. It six hours to assemble and I'm mechanically inclined with an entire garage of tools at my disposal. Several parts were mislabeled and looked similar in the instructions guide which created a need to disassemble pieces multiple times. If you lay everything out in the beginning, you should be fine however and it can be completed in about 3 - 4 hours with the right tools as a one person job. The actual workouts are horrible. The machine feels very unbalanced and does not give you a full range of motion, which fails to target the desired muscle groups. The amount of weight is not ideal for anything other than rehabbing an injury, or keeping muscles from becoming rigid if you're suffering from any type of ailment. I've been into fitness since the mid nineties and basically, this is not the machine that one would recommend for anyone that's "serious" about getting in shape or maintaining their shape.

Was this review helpful? (10) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BS818
SFV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Weider 2980 Home Gym
3/8/2012

Customer review by jwb9mm

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by jwb9mm
by jwb9mm

For the money this is an excellent value! I was quite impressed with the packaging and enclosed assembly instructions - over the years I have assembled many different products and this was by far the best - the assembly process is broken down into logical steps, the parts are separately packaged according to each step, the instructions and corresponding images are very easy to follow, and there is also a separate index in the back of the manual listing all the parts by name (and how many of each) if one has any doubts as to which parts are which... The assembled gym is sturdy, and very easy to operate with regard to changing the weight setup to accommodate a variety of exercises - this particular home gym is more than enough for our needs of staying in shape, without an extreme financial expenditure! Definitely a Good Buy.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwb9mm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Buyer beware
5/18/2016

Customer review by EMPMO

1.0 stars 5/18/2016 by EMPMO
by EMPMO

I bought this for myself for Father's Day and my wife said she would put it together. She likes putting things together. It took her an entire weekend to get the thing together. It looked great though. But the wire coating on the wires frayed immediately. I've tried to fix it...tried to see if its rubbing wrong somewhere....its just plain and simple cheap. When this goes completely....after another use probably...I'll just take it apart and have one delivered that costs more and is already together. Again it looks nice....but you get what you pay for. I maybe got 10 work outs out of it before the cables went.....and replacement cables cost $90 each so......I'd stay away from this and stay away from Weider because several parts were missing and they don't back their product. Thankfully we had bolts that we could use on hand. Buyer beware!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EMPMO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good 4 $$ Spent
6/19/2010

Customer review by olimpic2

4.0 stars 6/19/2010 by olimpic2
by olimpic2

The product is very good. I like the colors, the whole structure is very reasonable. Not too heavy not too light either. Just be ready to spend a good 5 to 6 hours to assemble it if you are not a handyman person. The cables could be a little bit confusing. Just follow the diagram shown in the book and you will be safe. I think is a great product for the money spent. I wish It would have brought more weights. You have about 214 pounds on leg resistance force but for your arms and chest is just about 120 pounds. At least with this product I won't have to be paying monthly membership fees on a gym neither wasting gas on my trip to the gym. I recommend this product. Leslie A-G Tampa, FL

Was this review helpful? (86) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olimpic2
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
great for someone who hasn't worked out for awhile
10/15/2011

Customer review by bella143

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by bella143
by bella143

I bought this gym so I can lift and have some cardio from my treadmill. So far so good! It works better than what I thought it would. The design looks nice and the weights plus the resistance is definitely enough for what I can lift. As for a beginner and someone who is out of shape, I'd say this is worth it. Like everyone else, it did take us to set it up and put together for about 5 hours and all the screws, nuts, bolts, etc, are labeled and all parts weren't hard to identify. I'm not a handy man but my husband is and I was able to do it. I'd say have someone there to help also just because one can hold and one screws in or one screws in while the other gets the next step ready. :)

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bella143
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Nice gym...Schedule a day to get it together
7/13/2010

Customer review by Youwanthowmuch

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by Youwanthowmuch
by Youwanthowmuch

This took a few hours to get together, but after that it is really great. Works well. -Make time to get it together, it will take about 4-6 hours. -Do not overtighten any parts with plastic, they will snap! -Do not let your husband try to put it together without instructions, it won't work.

Was this review helpful? (155) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Youwanthowmuch
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
shipping issue
2/5/2010

Customer review by mosb2

4.0 stars 2/5/2010 by mosb2
by mosb2

When picked up box was ripped open and then taped up. Naturally we had great concern that parts would be missing. This proven to be the case. One critical part was missing . We ordered from the manufactor and received in a few days. The set up took us almost 5 hours. The most confusing part was telling which cable was which. The directions said "identify arm cable". The three cables were all in a package together with no hints to tell which was which. It does matter since they are different lengths. The directions should give more information like length or color code the cables. The screws and bolts on the other hand were are labeled and shrink wrappped which was great. The unit in self works very well and meets expections. We would recommend it for an at home medium workout.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mosb2
Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
A well-made home gym for a beginner.
2/4/2012

Customer review by Infectant

5.0 stars 2/4/2012 by Infectant
by Infectant

The item arrived less than a week after ordering it. The box was beat up pretty bad and held together with a lot of clear packing tape, but everything was there and in perfect condition when opened and inspected. Take a few minutes to read the instructions once or twice and to identify each part before assembly. It took me about 6 hours over 2 days to assemble the gym by myself, and that was without rushing. Have someone help if you can, though. And don't skimp on the grease, there's plenty provided to grease all the areas that require it. Fit and finish is good, all parts went together well and the gym looks great when fully assembled. I use this gym every other day and I really like it, right now it has enough weight for me to get the results I'm looking for. I use it for about an hour, along with some free weights I use while doing my routine. My wife and son also use the gym and they like it a lot, so it gets used every single day. You have to be careful and remember to place your foot on the front of the gym when doing some leg exercises otherwise the whole machine can tip over, and the cable seems a bit too hard to pull when doing curls on the preacher attachment, but these are minor quibbles. I use free weights when doing curls on the preacher attachment now, that works better for me. Otherwise you'll notice results very quickly when using this gym. After 5 months it still works and looks great. This home gym is great for beginners or for people who are interested in getting into good shape without massively bulking up, there are a lot of exercises you can do to develop all the major muscle groups. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Infectant
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Many parts not labeled
2/14/2017

Customer review by TBone

3.0 stars 2/14/2017 by TBone
by TBone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item description is misleading. Only 173lbs. of bench resistance. A little confusing to assemble do to lack of parts labeling. Machine itself seems solid.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 215 total reviews
1-20 of 215 reviews