Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 193 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

193 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

193 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
67
3 stars
19
2 stars
3
1 stars
19
1-20 of 180 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
good for seniors/women, strengthing exercises for rehab
2/7/2017

Customer review by Lin the senior

4.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Lin the senior
by Lin the senior
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I try to use it daily. I skip when I do physical labor that day. I am a senior and need strength training of legs and arms. This works good for that.

Lin the senior
Roseville Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
When you don't have time to go to the gym....
1/25/2017

Customer review by aavellanet

5.0 stars 1/25/2017 by aavellanet
by aavellanet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a home gym that took the space of a whole room. With the Weider Home Gym a can do the same excersises and it is much more compact in size. I bought it recently, but know it is a great buy and I will give it a lot of use.

aavellanet
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i did tell my friends
1/30/2017

Customer review by handy

4.0 stars 1/30/2017 by handy
by handy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

3 of my hunting buddies come over and after trying mine out they went and got the same thing it only took my 16year old son and myself 1hr and 20 min I am 55.was getting ripped off at the gym so I bought this and enjoy it

handy
independence mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
economical,variety of excersizes
12/25/2016

Customer review by Ted the project manager

5.0 stars 12/25/2016 by Ted the project manager
by Ted the project manager
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

takes up some real estate, moving slides underneath help, slightly jerky with movement, no storage bag onboard for extra front parts, economical, online video helps greatly for setup

Ted the project manager
Portales, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrific Product!
11/4/2016

Customer review by JACK

5.0 stars 11/4/2016 by JACK
by JACK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Value of a gym without the hassle.

JACK
Casper, Wy.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Manufacturing defect
11/14/2016

Customer review by FarooqNaeem

1.0 stars 11/14/2016 by FarooqNaeem
by FarooqNaeem

I bought this nearly 2 months ago. I cant use the forward moving handles (whatever they are called) because of a manufacturing defect. I am surprised to see such thing happening at this level. As you can see the arm that connects the moving handles is longer than it should be and therefore the lever does not fit. It is impossible to contact the manufacturers because of the time difference, plus they work 9-5 ;-)

FarooqNaeem
Kingston, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
I ove it; no time to go to the gym; ...and I am catching up
10/23/2016

Customer review by frantz

5.0 stars 10/23/2016 by frantz
by frantz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great purchase. i start feeling my shoulder

frantz
new york
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I think even 3 stars it's tooooo muchhh
12/17/2014

Customer review by Alexandru

3.0 stars 12/17/2014 by Alexandru
by Alexandru
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Made from cheap materials and the back seat was broken !!!

Alexandru
Rahway,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice gym
2/13/2012

Customer review by popypop

4.0 stars 2/13/2012 by popypop
by popypop

nice gym i like it just started using it so done know to much yet but seems nice

Was this review helpful? (27) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
popypop
parkersburg wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
whoop whoop
4/11/2012

Customer review by Lwow

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Lwow
by Lwow

This is a great home gym to workout with, it was easy to assemble, its easy to work, when i recieved my box at the store to pick up it Was ripped at the end and some poles were sticking out and when we got home to check if all the screws and parts were there we found out the preacher curl and the backrest was ripped, but a simple online chat with the weider customer service fixed that problem they shipped me out brand new parts, I have been using this gym for about a 2 weeks now 2-3 times a day and its everything i thought and more! And also for ppl who may be thinking that 214 may not be enough weight.. trust me it is! thats exactly what i thought, overall this a great home gym, i would deffintley reccomend this to anyone whos looking to get in shape

Was this review helpful? (49) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lwow
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent
9/5/2011

Customer review by LexingtonGreen

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by LexingtonGreen
by LexingtonGreen

Easy to assemble; works well; quality product; excellent value

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LexingtonGreen
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exercise equipment for regular people
4/28/2011

Customer review by OneMtGirl

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by OneMtGirl
by OneMtGirl
Top 1000 contributor

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies. It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there.

Was this review helpful? (86) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneMtGirl
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Weider 2980 Home Gym
1/20/2011

Customer review by Ronco2011

3.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Ronco2011
by Ronco2011

The product had several negative aspects. 1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt. 2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine. 3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable. The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys. The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up.

Was this review helpful? (51) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronco2011
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Machine @ Great Price
2/13/2017

Customer review by Superdave123

5.0 stars 2/13/2017 by Superdave123
by Superdave123

This unit works your entire upper body. It won't do calves because you can't lie down on your belly and work on legs. But it does knee lifts. Operation is smooth and as quiet as a pulley based system can be. The provided weights are more than enough for all except the Mr. Universe types. Some assembly required - make that LOTS of assembly required. It takes from 3 to 4 hours to assemble. It's not hard to do, just time consuming. It comes with a Super good set of instructions by the way, so Just take your time, don't rush, and follow them. Yeah guys, READ EM! When assembled this thing is heavy, about 250 pounds. But if you undo the single bolt that holds the weight slide bars to the top frame and disconnect the cable to the weight selector rod you can lift out the weights, allowing you to drag it to the new location or 2 people can pick it up. This thing is so convenient I find that I actually use it. Plus it only takes up a space about 6 feet long by 4 feet wide. And it looks great too. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Superdave123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value & a quality work out for the money
2/13/2017

Customer review by KevinB

4.0 stars 2/13/2017 by KevinB
by KevinB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Plan on two people for the assembly. It's mush easier to have 1 person reading the instructions while the other gathers the necessary pieces for that step. The instructions are generally easy to follow the nuts and bolts come package on cardboard and all are labeled. Pulley's can be a bit confusing but not terrible. I've had an older Weider model similar to this one, it was about 10 years old and started breaking down. Replacement cables & pulleys are expensive to replace ala carte so I would suggest the extended wear plan. Net for the money it's a good value for the money

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KevinB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Many parts not labeled
2/14/2017

Customer review by TBone

3.0 stars 2/14/2017 by TBone
by TBone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item description is misleading. Only 173lbs. of bench resistance. A little confusing to assemble do to lack of parts labeling. Machine itself seems solid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exercise on a budget
2/9/2017

Customer review by Fitbutoutofshape

4.0 stars 2/9/2017 by Fitbutoutofshape
by Fitbutoutofshape
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worth the money for those who want to exercise but have limited funds. Box arrived slightly damaged, but contents were all there. Being mechanically inclined, it took me just under two hours to assemble with the help of my 12 yr old son. Some say it can take up to 15 hrs to assemble. The weights only add up to 81lbs. But with the resistance of the cables and pulley setup, you can achieve the 215lb rating. I am a slender tall male, who is toned, but completely out of shape. I max out with 5 of the seven weights. The lower pulleys for legs and preacher curls has twice the resistance than the upper body bench press or lateral bar portion. Not sure why this is, but I'm not complaining. It does everything that I want to work on, and my two boys seem to like it also. Only other negative, is it needs a heavier base. Doing leg curls it can lift the front of the machine off the ground. Not enough to cause a tip over, but enough to make you second guess doing it again. You do have to keep in mind, It's not a professional gym system, but compared to some gym membership prices, I went this route, and so far, money well spent. So for the entry level, or somewhat experienced weight lifter, or someone who just wants to get into better shape...... yes, I'd recommend this system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fitbutoutofshape
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk
12/26/2016

Customer review by Ticked623

1.0 stars 12/26/2016 by Ticked623
by Ticked623
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Parts were bent...bolts don't fit. Tried to register it but serial number sticker fell off somewhere between the shipper and me .....hence now I can't register to get replacement parts. I tried to get help on both issues and they send you in circles to get it registered but they won't help you unless it's registered. Original box was in pieces when arrived. So I can't return it and get refund.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ticked623
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
home gym
12/23/2009

Customer review by fishingfever123

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by fishingfever123
by fishingfever123

very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results.

Was this review helpful? (163) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishingfever123
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good little home gym
1/22/2017

Customer review by JEF1

3.0 stars 1/22/2017 by JEF1
by JEF1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seat shorter than on most. Overall not bad for price. This is an economy home gym. You get what you pay for. Good if space is limited in your home.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JEF1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews