Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 311 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

311 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

311 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
222
4 stars
74
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 269 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 269 total reviews
1-20 of 269 reviews
love.it.
3/1/2010

Customer review by elevan

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by elevan
by elevan

So you know how people are avid loyal fans to Apple? Well that's how I am with Sony. You get the same product and same working excellence for a cheaper price. I may be the only person in this universe who doesn’t buy into the Apple craze. So be it. I had a read previous review stating the speakers were a little on the 'eh' side. Since it's a small contraption, I figured it wasn't going to work as well as my laptop. Well I was surprised at how clear and loud the music got. Very lovely surprise :) My only issue is the case I bought to go with it. The case I had before for my old Sony player was clear and plastic, so covering the screen was do-able. The case that comes with this one doesn't cover the screen. My solution: Don't leave it chillin’ in my bag or purse so nothing scratches it. I’m just a little nervous about the time that I actually do drop it. I’ve dropped my old one at least four times. With the screen not being protected, it’s more liable to get scratched or ::gasp:: even break. But I’m not thinking about that. All in all this mp3 player is amazing, and I love it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elevan
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
GREAT MP3 PLAYER!!
10/18/2009

Customer review by highschooler1994

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by highschooler1994
by highschooler1994

okay.. i just got this mp2 player today and the very first thing i did ( after i charged it for about 2.5 hours) is see how good the speakers are. and to tell you the truth they are actually pritty good for an mp3 player i am very very very satisfyed the screan is great.. clear and bright just like what the discription had said. the pictures are pritty good too ( it comes with a few) and the videos are okay. i havnt figured out how to put some on but i will. id also have to say that the mp3 player looks better in person than on the screan.. it is a desent size and no the buttons dont look like mickymouse lol more like a panda or sumthn with smaller ears.. but this is the cheapest place to get this great mp3 player that ive seen. I absolutly love it. and if you need a ipod but you have rhapsody just get this.. its better and cheaper than an ipod and ipods dont work on rhapsody yet. and im still tryn to figure out where the alarm clock is lol.. but this is a great mp3 player for a VERY reasonable price.. u can get the 8gb for 100$.. but u can get the 16gb for 120$.. id say go for the 16gb cuz u get more for the extra 20$ :)

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
highschooler1994
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SO VERY HAPPY
3/10/2010

Customer review by varis00

4.0 stars 3/10/2010 by varis00
by varis00

I love the player. Prior to buying it, I read all of the reviews from this site as well as another stores website. The product meets almost all of my expectations. My battery life is great. I have a 3hr roundtrip bus ride to work and home. The player usually last me about 3 days before I need to charge. My mom and sister have the IPOD touch and they are both mad that they spent more money, have less storage space and less versatility. I love, most of all, that I can use so many different programs to load music onto the player. My only problem with the player is the videos having to be a particular format. I have to try and figure out how to convert some of my files. But I didn't buy it to store videos on anyway, so I'm not that bothered.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
varis00
Hollywood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good MP3 Player with Speaker at Good Price
8/27/2010

Customer review by easycity

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by easycity
by easycity

One year ago I bought 8 MB one at $90, and I enjoyed every minute of using it. Now I saw the 16 MB at $80, and I rushed to buy one for my daughter. This is a player purely for audio. With the small screen and hassle of loading video in any format into the player, the video experience simply does not justify the effort. But for me I only want this for audio. Its superb sound quality, built-in speaker, drag-and-drop loading of audio files, and beautiful styling, all make this a superb buy. My wife has a iPod nano 3G, and I could not stand the hassle of loading files (educational podcast) into iPod through iTunes. I have to admit that even though the features of iPod 3G is limited, every feature, other than file uploading, is superb. Last version of iPod nano makes up for the feature shortage, but remain the hideous iTunes. That is why I refuse to consider iPod. With Sony MP3 player as good as this one, I do not need to compromise and suffer needlessly. Highly recommend this Sony player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easycity
Lexington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GET TWO! THEY ARE AWESOME!
9/13/2010

Customer review by PhilNewYauker

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by PhilNewYauker
by PhilNewYauker

I noticed this MP3 player listed under the "specials" and the description sounded too good to be true - the price was right and the specs were great so ordered one for my wife who is technically challenged. The first one that arrived would not turn on for some reason - So I returned it and ordered another and it more than met my expectations - I teach computer science and have used many of these devices over the years, and this little thing is really cool - the display is bright and easy to read - the menu is idiot-proof, anyone can figure it out in a minute -16 MB is plenty of storage and it automatically converts videos for display on the device - MP3s are drag-and-drop -and the built-in speakers really are a deal-breaker - they sound GREAT! perfect for laying down and taking a break listening to music or an audio book, without having to have uncomfortable headphones on. The case and controls are sturdy aluminum and it feels indestructible in your hand. ~ & now I'm a big hit with my wife ~ don't get one, get two!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhilNewYauker
LI, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
9/25/2009

Customer review by BJAUSSSTHIANM

4.0 stars 9/25/2009 by BJAUSSSTHIANM
by BJAUSSSTHIANM

This is a great Mp3 player. It has everything I need in order to have a quality listening experience. It is definitely not top of the line, but for the price, it is an all around very good deal. There are many really cool functions. I originally had purchesed a Philips Aria, and I was very dissapointed. So, after returning that I got this, and it went leaps and bounds over what the Aria could do.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BJAUSSSTHIANM
Auburn, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It rocks
7/11/2010

Customer review by yagnub

5.0 stars 7/11/2010 by yagnub
by yagnub

just got the mp3 player today..it was very easy to set up and was very very nice. It looks so much better when you get it..I tried to find this in store but they charge $120 plus tax of course so it was really a great value online for $79 only plus tax and it was free shipping to home.$79 for a 16gb? very great value the 8gb they charge $98 bucks so where do you go for right?the sound was clear and good.the lcd was very clear and smooth.easy to transfer music.it also comes with some music of its own when you get just a few.fast charging but long lasting battery.highly recommended..speakers was good also

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yagnub
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2009

Customer review by PRAISEHIMDAILY

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by PRAISEHIMDAILY
by PRAISEHIMDAILY

I PURCHASED THIS MP3 PLAYER FOR MY 13 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN PLACE OF GETTING HER THE IPOD TOUCH. CONSIDERING THE COST AND FEATURES WE ARE BOTH VERY HAPPY WITH THIS MP3 PLAYER. SHE HAS BEEN HAPPIEST WITH THE LONG BATTERY LIFE AND THE SPEAKERS. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLAYER TO OTHERS.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PRAISEHIMDAILY
RIPLEY, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
FORGET IPOD!!!!
9/2/2010

Customer review by NaKeshia

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by NaKeshia
by NaKeshia

Ok, now I've played with enough Ipod Nano's to know that they are NOT worth the money. This is a 16gb mp3 player for $79.00! It has almost every function that an Ipod Nano 16gb has and is 1/2 of the cost. I got my entire 12gb music library on it and still got room for videos, photos and such. There is confusion on how to put a playlist on this product. If you are using windows media player then you need to follow these instructions below: Open media player and create your playlist and save it. Plug in your mp3 player and click on the sync button on the right hand side above the mp3 player picture. Next click on playlists on the left hand side of windows media player and it will show an icon of your playlist. Simply drag it into the sync side of windows media player (the part you just opened on the right) and click sync. After that....let it sync and DONE! Honestly, get this product. You won't be disappointed. I'm very tech savvy and love my electronics. I wanted an Ipod for years, but extremely happy that I got this Sony instead. No more Apple products for me any more!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NaKeshia
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use and very capable
8/23/2010

Customer review by Tex999

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by Tex999
by Tex999

After reviewing the Operating Guide I found the player easy to use. I bought the Player for my Wife and she performed the steps below. She used the Windows Explorer method and did a copy-paste of her selected MP3 and WMA music files to the player. She had transfered the music files she wanted to use on the player to a NEW folder on her computer, did a Control A to select all the files followed by a Control C to copy them to the computer's scratch pad memory. Next she connected the Sony Walkman's USB cable to the computer. Then She located the WALKMAN\MUSIC folder and did a Control V to paste all the music files from the computer to the WALKMAN\MUSIC folder. The very large 16 GB memory of the WALKMAN allows for a generous number of files. She loaded 1200 songs and used less than 5 GB. This took about 10 minutes. A new Windows 7 computer purchased from Walmart was used. Using the player was a snap. So far she has only used the music feature.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tex999
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lots Of Storage
10/30/2009

Customer review by DJTimmyG

5.0 stars 10/30/2009 by DJTimmyG
by DJTimmyG

I needed something with lots of storage mainly, but I saw this and thought I may like the other features and I do!! The speakers are nice, not too loud but still louder than my samsung juke, good enough for my camping trips. Video playback is great but the content transfer software sometimes messes up videos when converting, so I used sony vegas 8 to convert my files and now they're perfect. Most importantly, I have entire artists collections on here & still plenty of space left. Included earbuds are actualy pretty good as well, nice crisp sound with clear bass.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJTimmyG
Harrisonburg VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Perfect Travel Companion
1/10/2010

Customer review by SenorFarrari

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by SenorFarrari
by SenorFarrari

This was a Christmas present for me by me. This Sony NWZ-S545 meets and exceeds all of my expectations. I do not listen to a lot of music but I love Audio Books so this is just right for me. The sound is exceptional, the clarity of the human voice on this MP3 is what I have been looking for but had not found in previous devices I owned (none being Sony's).With the 2.4 inch screen I am able to carry pictures and videos of family members as this Sony displays both so well. The batteries seem to really last between rechargings and even this proceedure did not take a long time. The size is perfect for the pocket, I am still trying to find some type of holster. It seems they make everything for IPod as far as cases or holsters. The price I paid for it was the lowest at WALMART. I checked many sites and stores and no one could beat WALMART's price. I am quite happy with this MP3 and with 16 mb's I am sure I will be happy for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SenorFarrari
Fort Lauderdale, Florida USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One word: Awesome!
8/5/2010

Customer review by FullyLoaded

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by FullyLoaded
by FullyLoaded

That's it. Awesome. Seriously though, I love this gadget. My husband got me the 8gb model last year for my birthday, and I was so thrilled with it I thought I couldn't possibly be any happier. This year he wanted one, so we ordered 2 of the NWZ-S545 16 gig models. We are even more jazzed about these. As nice as the 8 gig is, the 16 gig not only has more space, but a bigger video screen, and more features like voice and FM radio recording, external speakers, and onboard intuitive software that makes adding content to the player an absolute breeze! It works with Windows Media Player 11 as well as iTunes, and features drag and drop functionality. Since the player utilizes flash technology for storage, it is practically impervious to accidental drops and bumps, and you can store data (documents etc.) other than music and video files on the capacious drive. The video quality is so crisp and colorful, you can almost forget you're watching on a tiny screen. The sound quality is superb, and nicely drowns out bickering children. The user interface is easy to navigate, setup is a snap, and battery life is impressively long. My only complaint, and it's a teensy tiny complaint, is that the earphones provided are too large for my elfin ears, so I bought a set of the tiny ones that fit comfortably inside my ear. The NWZ-S545 is altogether a great value and a great product, one that I will continue to recommend and purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FullyLoaded
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Sony Walkman MP3 16 GB was a good buy
8/18/2010

Customer review by GGi33

4.0 stars 8/18/2010 by GGi33
by GGi33

I am very pleased with my Sony MP3 and would buy it again. I love having my recordings on the go, and it's very attractive and compact. The sound quality is excellent, and I have more than half of my space left after saving all my downloaded recordings, I estimate nearly 100 hours worth, plus a few family photos. I'm experienced using a PC and Windows which made it easy to set this up. If I did not have this experience, I think I might have needed some help. But it's really simple to "drag and drop" copies of MP3s and photos you have saved on your PC. If you want, you can customize music "playlists" for yourself on your PC by creating folders in Explorer that you name and organize songs into, then you will drag and drop these folders to the Sony MP3. They will line up nicely. But they'll be called Music "Folders" on the MP3, not "Playlists." Or there's a way to mirror your actual existing Windows Media Player Playlists from your PC if you would rather to do it that way; they will show up as "Playlists" on the Sony. In addition to MP3s and photos, you can make live voice recordings, listen to and record from FM radio, and copy videos from your PC that play with sound. You'll need regular access to a PC because that's how to recharge the Sony MP3 - by connecting its USB plug to your PC. If there's a plug-in charger available, I don't know, but if so, you will have to buy it separately. The limitations I wish were not there include, there doesn't seem to be a way to fast forward within a song, like if you wanted to skip to the "good part." Instead it goes right to the next recording. And the earplugs are not all that comfortable after a while. I think they're designed to help you know which ear to plug into and maybe to fit and stay put, but that little wedge caused some real irritation inside my ears. So I had to go out and buy some new earplugs that are more comfortable. For these reasons only, I couldn't rate it all 5 stars. I don't have experience with other MP3 players to know how this one compares, and a lot of people already have these capabilities on their cell phones now. But overall, I am happy with my purchase. Also it arrived from Walmart in good order within a week with standard shipping.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGi33
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Quality - Nice Price
9/25/2010

Customer review by Brownstone4

4.0 stars 9/25/2010 by Brownstone4
by Brownstone4

I don't care about owing the 'Status' Products. I just wanted a good quality MP3 player with a verity of features, quality sound and video. That is why I looked at the Sony Walkman. So far, this product has delivered what I wanted. The online Walmart price was right in my target range. The unit has a decent battery life when using audio. (I haven't used the video or picture features very much so I cannot comment on the battery life when using those options). The sound quality very is good but I did upgrade to better quality earbuds. So far, I have uploaded about 850 songs and still have plenty of storage space left for audio. The only problem has been the On-Off controls; they are VERY sensitive. When the unit has been turned off, the slightest bump to the button will turn it back on. This occurs most often when the unit is in my purse. Usually not a big problem but if it has been on for a long time and you don't realize it right away, the battery may be discharged when you want to use it again. Other than the on-off problem. I'm pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brownstone4
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I'd have to be surgically removed
6/30/2010

Customer review by ChrissyTS

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by ChrissyTS
by ChrissyTS

I compared it long and hard to the Nano, and finally decided that I will not spend twice as much for an Apple logo. But I kept my fingers crossed, wondering... Not only is my little toy about half the price, but it has extra features the Nano does not have. It is a really nice design, has a great sound, excellent video play-back, a clear as a bell FM radio...but get this: built in speakers, voice recording, and recording off FM radio...which really blew me away. The Sony Customer Service is not so great, and the manual not all that helpful...but with a little fiddling, you'll figure it all out. The most annoying thing a recent download seems to have fixed: you could remove music, but not recorded books (?!) I would strongly recommend it...I have it with me everywhere and it makes waiting totally tolerable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChrissyTS
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME MP3 PLAYER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/13/2010

Customer review by CTEmomma

5.0 stars 8/13/2010 by CTEmomma
by CTEmomma

I purchased this product for myself and I LOVE IT! It was on sell for $80 and reg it is $130. It is 16GB and has a radio, shuffle mode, storage for pics and videos, and speakers. I personally like the speakers when I am washing dishes, cleaning the house, putting on make-up, etc. I hate earphones in my ears and the wires always get in the way so the speakers are an extra bonus. I don't really get a lot of channels for the radio but I just wanted it for mp3's. So far I have 640+ songs and still 10GB left. I bought two 4GB Ematic mp3's for my sons and both were broke in less than 2 months. My husband has also had several different kinds to use while on the job but nothing compares to the Sony Walkman. I will eventually like to get my husband one. Again, AWESOME product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CTEmomma
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Neat Features, But...
10/4/2010

Customer review by abe1

3.0 stars 10/4/2010 by abe1
by abe1

My wife uses the Walkman for audio books. The walkman works great, but there are two things that I feel could be better. 1. The battery does not seem to last as long as advertised, and 2. you can't skip forward or backward by Chapters. Each "part" of a book is a separate Disc, and each part or disc has several chapters in it. On a disc you can skip by chapters, but on the Walkman if you press the advance button momentarily it skips to the next part or disc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abe1
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the Price
9/7/2010

Customer review by MarianInMO

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by MarianInMO
by MarianInMO

This is a great value for the price, particularly for a 16 GB memory with FM radio. However, there are a few things to note: (a) unlike the ipod, you cannot progressively back up the music. So if you only want to hear the last music verse, you'll have to start from the beginning; (b) upload of your music into this player is not as easy as it claims. I did not expect to work that hard to transfer my playlist; (c) battery life is not as long lasting as I expected. With 2 hrs of listening, one of the battery "bars" is already gone. Then, there's the wait from Walmart. It took 10 days from the date I ordered this to the day I received it. So keep that in mind. On a positive note, the sound is incredible. the price is right, unit is light, and accessories (like skins) are available without costing you an arm and a leg like ipod accessories. Overall, I will recommend this to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarianInMO
Lake Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
8/10/2010

Customer review by mark510

4.0 stars 8/10/2010 by mark510
by mark510

Wow - sounds as good as an IPOD or a Creative Touch, but I like it much better since you don't need any software to move over your files, and it will play all the songs you put into a windows-style folder regardless of what the ID3 tags say. You can't do that with an IPOD or a Creative Touch (where if your id tags don't all match it won't play the whole folder's worth of music). But this only matters if you like to make your own music folders up instead of ripping all your cds yourself. It's also amazingly light since it's flash based. I hope it lasts a long time. I only gave it 4 stars because although it's volume is loud enough for headphones, it's not quite loud enough to play through my car's cd player. Not enough power output.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mark510
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 269 total reviews
1-20 of 269 reviews