Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
18
1-20 of 50 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
quality not good
4/10/2011

Customer review by frugalkmom

1.0 stars 4/10/2011 by frugalkmom
by frugalkmom

I am a mom living in small apartment with husband and 2 teenagers. I use this skillet a few times a week and have had it for a year. within 6 months the nonstick started to scratch and peel, and no metal utensils were ever used in it. I had the previous GE model for a few years and it didn't peel. We ended up replacing the old model with this one because the temperature control ended up breaking. I was able to use that one a lot more frequently because it was much better quality than this one. the temperature control on this one is much more difficult to regulate to just the right temperature. because it is digital and you must use the preset temp. buttons instead of a dial to get the exact one you need for example, a simmer instead of a rolling boil. A year later this is still the same model GE skillet that walmart offers, so I will not be purchasing a new one. I liked the brand name in the past but obviously will be searching for other options. many other brands have removable pans now.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frugalkmom
massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I LIKE IT!
3/2/2010

Customer review by speakerofthehouse

4.0 stars 3/2/2010 by speakerofthehouse
by speakerofthehouse

LIKES: I've owned several electric skillets. This one is by far the largest in terms of capacity. I've owned this unit for nearly 2 months, and use it about four times a week. I often make goulash - and 5 pounds of hamburger fits with room left over, and cooks quickly, then is ready for freezing in smaller plastic containers. It's perfect for eggs and bacon/sausage, and I've yet to burn anything - so I believe the temperature is evenly applied. The legs and "feet" are truly non-slip, non-skid and what a blessing that is! DISLIKES: The temperature control needs "numbers" indicating approximate temperatures - not just a series of lights. This unit has come in VERY handy when cooking for medium size groups - such as band members on weekends - it's quick to setup, comes to temperature rapidly, and is a breeze to clean.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
speakerofthehouse
Sedalia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DON'T BUY!!! TERRIBLE PRODUCT
12/11/2012

Customer review by 15652

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by 15652
by 15652

Ok, I never write reviews but had to on this one. Please don't waste your money. I bought the product about a year ago and when I opened it from the box it had a very "new" plastic like smell. I assumed it was from the teflon being new. Since then I have cooked on it several times and every dish I cook on it has to be thrown away because the food absorbs the "new plastic" like smell. I have wasted so much money in food and meals I have had to throw away. Please dont waste your money like I did. I called the Wal-mart GE customer service # 877-207-0923 and they said since my unit did not have a date code imprinted on the bottom of the skillet they could not help me and I am out of luck. I explained to them that the date code not being on the bottom isn't my fault and they said it did't matter that it wasnt their fault either. They were not willing to help. So between a terrible product and terrible customer service from Jimmy. I would NOT recommend you to buy this product at all . Stay away from GE Skillets.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
15652
Winter Haven FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice appearance and easy to clean.
11/21/2009

Customer review by Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006

5.0 stars 11/21/2009 by Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006
by Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006

I received this recently as a gift and, never having owned an electric skillet previously, was anxious to try it out. It is so deep which is a nice safety feature when little kids are around. I love the clear lid and the steam vent. It would take talent to burn food in this also. Super easy to clean since has teflon coating. Only thing I would change is to put digital temp setting on the dial. Low-Med-High is good, but sometimes you have to be more specific than that with 375 / 400 etc which is where a dial would be nice like on the griddles. Definitely would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A piece of junk from day one.
12/4/2011

Customer review by dtur

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by dtur
by dtur

I purchased my first one on sale several months ago because I needed it that night since my 10 year old one finally gave up. After cooking one meal the nonstick coating came off. I returned it and got a new one with no problem. The new one has been sitting in my kitchen cabnet since I got it and tonight I decided to use it for the first time, everything worked fine till I went to do dishes I found that the nonstick coating on this one is bubbled up in several large areas. This one I can not return since I have had it sitting around too long before I used it. I treat my cooking utensels with great care and this is not acceptable in a new unit. I could go to my local thrift store and buy a used ten year old one for 3 or 4 dollars and end up with better quality than this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dtur
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The Worst
12/3/2009

Customer review by Sandmanwv

1.0 stars 12/3/2009 by Sandmanwv
by Sandmanwv

The worst small appliance I have ever bought! I have had this skillet for a year now and will never buy a GE small appliance again if this is representative of their products . Just wiping the thermostat after use, and the letters/numbers disappeared in just a couple of months. The heat is not uniform at all frying pork chops or bacon or most anything and you are constantly turning it. Otherwise part would be raw and part burnt!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandmanwv
Beckley,WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Junk
2/18/2011

Customer review by mommytatt

1.0 stars 2/18/2011 by mommytatt
by mommytatt

After having this product for less than 10 months the nonstick is coming off and we NEVER use metal in it. It was very disappointing and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommytatt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap pan
3/7/2011

Customer review by Thisabadproduct

1.0 stars 3/7/2011 by Thisabadproduct
by Thisabadproduct

If I knew that this had a non-adjustable temperature control I would not have purchased it. The pan is the correct size but the inability to adjust the cooking temperature between 300 and 375 degrees is unacceptable. Why can't these companies make a good that has and accurate temp control and keep it adjustable. I would even pay a few dollars more if the product had a digital thermometer telling me what temperature it was at. I have used this once and will try to return it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thisabadproduct
Seneca, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
GE product 169216
10/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This electic fryer has a woefully inadequate and miscalibrated electical control. It has no specific visual digital numerical readout on the temp control plug or anywhere else. To be specific: first, it has absolutely no digital electrical temperature visable numerical readout. Second the med hi setting most likely cannot reach 375 degrees F. At least it did not ever get the temp of veg cooking oil above 350 degrees F which is the logical and accepted temp required for frying flour- coated room temp chicken, not even when set above the med hi setting to the hi setting, either before or after the chicken was placed in the hot oil. Third, the quick temp boost heating setting, which should have gotten to temp up to the max 415 degrees F before dropping the temp down to the major temp setting of med hi per booklet info, never worked even after 16 minutes had lapsed. It should have succeeded after 8 minutes. The only sane method of properly and safely frying cut up chicken parts---3 boneless breasts and 11 drummettes--- with my particular GE model 169216 was to turn this particular newly purchased (today 7Oct09) to hi and fry 1/3 of the batch for 5 minutes on one side, change the temp setting on the plug to med hi, and fry the other sides for an additional 5-6 minutes. The entire operation of frying 3 boneless chicken breasts and 11 drummettes required doing three batches of about equal amounts of input chicken parts counted piece wise. This promising GE fryer did not solve the hassle of putting veg oil into a big frying pan and manipulating a top stove electic eye's dial control while watching a thoroughly proven dial thermometer's dial to ensure the required temp was reached before putting in the chicken parts and afterwards to insure that the temp didn't rise or fall based on comon sense of a medium intelligent chicken cook radically or effectually or marginally. I have no tolerance for poorly engineered equipment, nor should I. I have used this once. Only once. The options given for how often I used or use this product did not and does not include "have used this only once in my lifetime". Forms tee me off. This is an example. James M Hicks, Tucker, GA aged 67 and former and retired chemist and medical technologist.

Was this review helpful? (83) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tucker, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Would not buy!
4/23/2011

Customer review by DebbyP55

1.0 stars 4/23/2011 by DebbyP55
by DebbyP55

I have had this product for less than 1 year and would not recommend at all. All the numbers have come off of the control. Also, everything is beginning to stick. I can not even cook bacon without it sticking. The whole inside where the heating unit is you can see that the coating is coming off.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebbyP55
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
12/18/2011

Customer review by Mcbutter

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Mcbutter
by Mcbutter

I have had this skillet for 2 years now, and I absolutely love it! It cooks the food evenly, and the cooking surface has not warped, unlike a previous electric skillet I owned. It it easy to clean up and the non-stick surface is also very durable. Yes, it does only have 5 heat settings, which at first I thought would be a problem, but it hasn't been an issue at all. I find I cook most things on the middle setting and it does a great job. The first setting is great for keeping foods warm after you are done cooking. I have not owned a skillet that I like better than this one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mcbutter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Does not hold up!!
5/3/2011

Customer review by moutonmom4

3.0 stars 5/3/2011 by moutonmom4
by moutonmom4

When I bought this skillet, it was awesome. Looked great, cooked great, and I loved it. Now that Ive had for about 3 months, the nonstick surface on the inside of the skillet is peeling off. I have been VERY careful about what I use to cook and clean it with and am VERY upset that it didn't hold up longer. Spend the money and get a better one...or else you will be replacing this one anyways :(

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moutonmom4
Jasper, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy it
1/4/2011

Customer review by theeldest1

1.0 stars 1/4/2011 by theeldest1
by theeldest1

Could not get the digit control to work. Instructions said push control to selected degree of heat and WAIT 5 minutes. Waited 10 minutes and nothing happened. Used the quick start and it heated up fast but only stayed on a few minutes....Took it back!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theeldest1
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Do Not Buy
9/19/2010

Customer review by Brunoshops

1.0 stars 9/19/2010 by Brunoshops
by Brunoshops

Worst electric skillet I have ever had or used. Food sticks on the heating element and overcooks. The only way to cook is constantly stir and even then it will stick to the sides. Do not buy this product. Very disappointing product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brunoshops
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love it but....
2/10/2011

Customer review by AlohaDogMom

4.0 stars 2/10/2011 by AlohaDogMom
by AlohaDogMom

LOVE this product....but the non-stick is NOT holding up. I never, ever use metal utensils and do not put it in the dishwasher. The entire lining of non-stick is bubbling off. Very sad.....this is my favorite thing to cook in.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlohaDogMom
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not very durable.
8/17/2011

Customer review by grammijudi

2.0 stars 8/17/2011 by grammijudi
by grammijudi

I bought this for my camper. One of the legs broke (they are plastic), the 2nd time I used it. And because the legs and handle are made together, it wasn't repairable. The next one I purchase will have metal legs, at least.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grammijudi
Tenn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Nice skillet!
12/31/2010

Customer review by Mom2Quads

4.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Mom2Quads
by Mom2Quads

Have owned this skillet for about 8 months now and love it! Unfortunately, yesterday the thermostat controller started acting up. It would randomly switch which temp or mode it was cooking in. Then it just quit working. Today it worked for about 10 minutes before it messed up again. Trying to find a replacement power source for it, but no luck. On the plus side...we have not had any problems with the non-stick finish peeling or chipping. It's a very durable skillet. Just unfortunate that our controller stopped working. I an calling GE tomorrow to check for replacement. If not avail, I will just purchase another identical skillet at Wal-mart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2Quads
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/25/2012

Customer review by HappyToFindAGreatDeal

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by HappyToFindAGreatDeal
by HappyToFindAGreatDeal

I use this almost every day and use it more than I do my stovetop for everything from fried rice to spaghetti sauce to burgers to scrambled eggs, and much more. It can be used like a large crock pot to slow cook or to saute onions or peppers. I love it! Because I use it usually daily I have to purchase a new one about every 18 months because the inside starts to cook hotter that is over the heating element underneath. I bought this one for my daughter in Texas so she can cook without heating up her kitchen as much with her gas stove since it is so hot where they live and the costs to run their AC is so expensive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyToFindAGreatDeal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It doesnt work half the time
11/18/2012

Customer review by charly61

3.0 stars 11/18/2012 by charly61
by charly61

If it did everything it was supposed to without just deciding not to work at least half the time, it would be great. I grew up with electric skillets (50 years) and love them. The one I had for the past 15 years (in fact it was my mother's and was @ 40 years old) worked religiously and perfectly every time. I wanted the new one, partially because it was bigger, as I had more people to feed, and more so because it was time to update and the teflon finish was degraded severely. Now, with my new one, the control unit (plug in) does not allow me to change temperature at will, nor does it even stay on all the time, it decides to turn itself off whenever it wants too. I have literally had to transfer my food into a pan on the stove. So, not so happy. Now, I am going to find out how to get a new unit. Hopefully, Walmart will help me out here.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charly61
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
do not waste your money
3/6/2010

Customer review by nativegirl27

1.0 stars 3/6/2010 by nativegirl27
by nativegirl27

This is a terrible product. From the very beginning, the temperature control was a problem. I would barely turn it to 300 degrees and the surface would be smoking and smell like it was overheating. I thought this problem would wear off after I used it a couple times. It didnt. If you cook @ 300 degrees, it chars the outside of your food, but leaves the inside raw. If you turn it just below 300 (simmer), it doesnt cook at all. What a peice of garbage! Please save your money for a better skillet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nativegirl27
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews