Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
18
1-20 of 50 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Nice appearance and easy to clean.
11/21/2009

Customer review by Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006

5.0 stars 11/21/2009 by Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006
by Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006

I received this recently as a gift and, never having owned an electric skillet previously, was anxious to try it out. It is so deep which is a nice safety feature when little kids are around. I love the clear lid and the steam vent. It would take talent to burn food in this also. Super easy to clean since has teflon coating. Only thing I would change is to put digital temp setting on the dial. Low-Med-High is good, but sometimes you have to be more specific than that with 375 / 400 etc which is where a dial would be nice like on the griddles. Definitely would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2BoyGirlTwins2006
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I LIKE IT!
3/2/2010

Customer review by speakerofthehouse

4.0 stars 3/2/2010 by speakerofthehouse
by speakerofthehouse

LIKES: I've owned several electric skillets. This one is by far the largest in terms of capacity. I've owned this unit for nearly 2 months, and use it about four times a week. I often make goulash - and 5 pounds of hamburger fits with room left over, and cooks quickly, then is ready for freezing in smaller plastic containers. It's perfect for eggs and bacon/sausage, and I've yet to burn anything - so I believe the temperature is evenly applied. The legs and "feet" are truly non-slip, non-skid and what a blessing that is! DISLIKES: The temperature control needs "numbers" indicating approximate temperatures - not just a series of lights. This unit has come in VERY handy when cooking for medium size groups - such as band members on weekends - it's quick to setup, comes to temperature rapidly, and is a breeze to clean.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
speakerofthehouse
Sedalia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GE product 169216
10/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This electic fryer has a woefully inadequate and miscalibrated electical control. It has no specific visual digital numerical readout on the temp control plug or anywhere else. To be specific: first, it has absolutely no digital electrical temperature visable numerical readout. Second the med hi setting most likely cannot reach 375 degrees F. At least it did not ever get the temp of veg cooking oil above 350 degrees F which is the logical and accepted temp required for frying flour- coated room temp chicken, not even when set above the med hi setting to the hi setting, either before or after the chicken was placed in the hot oil. Third, the quick temp boost heating setting, which should have gotten to temp up to the max 415 degrees F before dropping the temp down to the major temp setting of med hi per booklet info, never worked even after 16 minutes had lapsed. It should have succeeded after 8 minutes. The only sane method of properly and safely frying cut up chicken parts---3 boneless breasts and 11 drummettes--- with my particular GE model 169216 was to turn this particular newly purchased (today 7Oct09) to hi and fry 1/3 of the batch for 5 minutes on one side, change the temp setting on the plug to med hi, and fry the other sides for an additional 5-6 minutes. The entire operation of frying 3 boneless chicken breasts and 11 drummettes required doing three batches of about equal amounts of input chicken parts counted piece wise. This promising GE fryer did not solve the hassle of putting veg oil into a big frying pan and manipulating a top stove electic eye's dial control while watching a thoroughly proven dial thermometer's dial to ensure the required temp was reached before putting in the chicken parts and afterwards to insure that the temp didn't rise or fall based on comon sense of a medium intelligent chicken cook radically or effectually or marginally. I have no tolerance for poorly engineered equipment, nor should I. I have used this once. Only once. The options given for how often I used or use this product did not and does not include "have used this only once in my lifetime". Forms tee me off. This is an example. James M Hicks, Tucker, GA aged 67 and former and retired chemist and medical technologist.

Was this review helpful? (83) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tucker, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
The Worst
12/3/2009

Customer review by Sandmanwv

1.0 stars 12/3/2009 by Sandmanwv
by Sandmanwv

The worst small appliance I have ever bought! I have had this skillet for a year now and will never buy a GE small appliance again if this is representative of their products . Just wiping the thermostat after use, and the letters/numbers disappeared in just a couple of months. The heat is not uniform at all frying pork chops or bacon or most anything and you are constantly turning it. Otherwise part would be raw and part burnt!

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sandmanwv
Beckley,WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Junk
2/18/2011

Customer review by mommytatt

1.0 stars 2/18/2011 by mommytatt
by mommytatt

After having this product for less than 10 months the nonstick is coming off and we NEVER use metal in it. It was very disappointing and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommytatt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would not buy!
4/23/2011

Customer review by DebbyP55

1.0 stars 4/23/2011 by DebbyP55
by DebbyP55

I have had this product for less than 1 year and would not recommend at all. All the numbers have come off of the control. Also, everything is beginning to stick. I can not even cook bacon without it sticking. The whole inside where the heating unit is you can see that the coating is coming off.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DebbyP55
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does not hold up!!
5/3/2011

Customer review by moutonmom4

3.0 stars 5/3/2011 by moutonmom4
by moutonmom4

When I bought this skillet, it was awesome. Looked great, cooked great, and I loved it. Now that Ive had for about 3 months, the nonstick surface on the inside of the skillet is peeling off. I have been VERY careful about what I use to cook and clean it with and am VERY upset that it didn't hold up longer. Spend the money and get a better one...or else you will be replacing this one anyways :(

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moutonmom4
Jasper, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheap pan
3/7/2011

Customer review by Thisabadproduct

1.0 stars 3/7/2011 by Thisabadproduct
by Thisabadproduct

If I knew that this had a non-adjustable temperature control I would not have purchased it. The pan is the correct size but the inability to adjust the cooking temperature between 300 and 375 degrees is unacceptable. Why can't these companies make a good that has and accurate temp control and keep it adjustable. I would even pay a few dollars more if the product had a digital thermometer telling me what temperature it was at. I have used this once and will try to return it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thisabadproduct
Seneca, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
A piece of junk from day one.
12/4/2011

Customer review by dtur

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by dtur
by dtur

I purchased my first one on sale several months ago because I needed it that night since my 10 year old one finally gave up. After cooking one meal the nonstick coating came off. I returned it and got a new one with no problem. The new one has been sitting in my kitchen cabnet since I got it and tonight I decided to use it for the first time, everything worked fine till I went to do dishes I found that the nonstick coating on this one is bubbled up in several large areas. This one I can not return since I have had it sitting around too long before I used it. I treat my cooking utensels with great care and this is not acceptable in a new unit. I could go to my local thrift store and buy a used ten year old one for 3 or 4 dollars and end up with better quality than this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dtur
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
quality not good
4/10/2011

Customer review by frugalkmom

1.0 stars 4/10/2011 by frugalkmom
by frugalkmom

I am a mom living in small apartment with husband and 2 teenagers. I use this skillet a few times a week and have had it for a year. within 6 months the nonstick started to scratch and peel, and no metal utensils were ever used in it. I had the previous GE model for a few years and it didn't peel. We ended up replacing the old model with this one because the temperature control ended up breaking. I was able to use that one a lot more frequently because it was much better quality than this one. the temperature control on this one is much more difficult to regulate to just the right temperature. because it is digital and you must use the preset temp. buttons instead of a dial to get the exact one you need for example, a simmer instead of a rolling boil. A year later this is still the same model GE skillet that walmart offers, so I will not be purchasing a new one. I liked the brand name in the past but obviously will be searching for other options. many other brands have removable pans now.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frugalkmom
massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it but....
2/10/2011

Customer review by AlohaDogMom

4.0 stars 2/10/2011 by AlohaDogMom
by AlohaDogMom

LOVE this product....but the non-stick is NOT holding up. I never, ever use metal utensils and do not put it in the dishwasher. The entire lining of non-stick is bubbling off. Very sad.....this is my favorite thing to cook in.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlohaDogMom
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do Not Buy
9/19/2010

Customer review by Brunoshops

1.0 stars 9/19/2010 by Brunoshops
by Brunoshops

Worst electric skillet I have ever had or used. Food sticks on the heating element and overcooks. The only way to cook is constantly stir and even then it will stick to the sides. Do not buy this product. Very disappointing product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brunoshops
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Don't buy it
1/4/2011

Customer review by theeldest1

1.0 stars 1/4/2011 by theeldest1
by theeldest1

Could not get the digit control to work. Instructions said push control to selected degree of heat and WAIT 5 minutes. Waited 10 minutes and nothing happened. Used the quick start and it heated up fast but only stayed on a few minutes....Took it back!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theeldest1
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
12/18/2011

Customer review by Mcbutter

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Mcbutter
by Mcbutter

I have had this skillet for 2 years now, and I absolutely love it! It cooks the food evenly, and the cooking surface has not warped, unlike a previous electric skillet I owned. It it easy to clean up and the non-stick surface is also very durable. Yes, it does only have 5 heat settings, which at first I thought would be a problem, but it hasn't been an issue at all. I find I cook most things on the middle setting and it does a great job. The first setting is great for keeping foods warm after you are done cooking. I have not owned a skillet that I like better than this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mcbutter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Not very durable.
8/17/2011

Customer review by grammijudi

2.0 stars 8/17/2011 by grammijudi
by grammijudi

I bought this for my camper. One of the legs broke (they are plastic), the 2nd time I used it. And because the legs and handle are made together, it wasn't repairable. The next one I purchase will have metal legs, at least.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grammijudi
Tenn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Makes quick work of a lot of food
12/24/2010

Customer review by sheehanje

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by sheehanje
by sheehanje

I just bought this in a pinch because my old skillet died on me and my wife broke the glass cover for my regular pan. I had to cook 4 dozen sausages and peppers and this skillet made quick work of the meal. This was probably the quickest I've ever cooked that much food, and it came out perfect. The nicest thing is when it's done, just bring everything in the same skillet and put it on buffet mode. Nothing simpler than that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sheehanje
Scotia, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Skillet by GE
12/30/2010

Customer review by fourdogsandcounting

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by fourdogsandcounting
by fourdogsandcounting

We had another make and it only lasted a couple of years and not with heavy use by any means...Rival...this new GE skillet is much nicer, slightly bigger and much nicer to look at and to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fourdogsandcounting
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A great product
1/3/2011

Customer review by number1nana580

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by number1nana580
by number1nana580

I purchased one of these skillet for my sister because she knew how helpful having this big skillet to cook for a big familywould be. I love cooking in mine. The thermostat stays at a constant temperature wherever I need it to be. It is so easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
number1nana580
Hugo, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/25/2012

Customer review by HappyToFindAGreatDeal

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by HappyToFindAGreatDeal
by HappyToFindAGreatDeal

I use this almost every day and use it more than I do my stovetop for everything from fried rice to spaghetti sauce to burgers to scrambled eggs, and much more. It can be used like a large crock pot to slow cook or to saute onions or peppers. I love it! Because I use it usually daily I have to purchase a new one about every 18 months because the inside starts to cook hotter that is over the heating element underneath. I bought this one for my daughter in Texas so she can cook without heating up her kitchen as much with her gas stove since it is so hot where they live and the costs to run their AC is so expensive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyToFindAGreatDeal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/8/2011

Customer review by sunflower1146

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by sunflower1146
by sunflower1146

this is the best electric fry pan i have ever bought. i've several and this is definitly the best

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunflower1146
newark,n.y
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews