Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 328 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

328 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

328 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
252
4 stars
58
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 255 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews
Really Quite Decent for the Price
11/13/2015

Customer review by toblaz

4.0 stars 11/13/2015 by toblaz
by toblaz

It's not Le Creuset but it's a good kitchen work horse. I'm having issues with chipping after a couple years but the company quickly agreed to replace it so I think it must be unusual. PROS: very cheap. great heat distribution. lovely color. lid fits nicely. unbeatable browning. CONS: chips easily. heavy as all get out (like all cast iron cookware). not easy to clean but that's mostly due to hand washing something this heavy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toblaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product. Great price
6/12/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/12/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was very happy with the size and weight. Didnt find the seasoning explanation to be elaborated enough (because I have heard you are not suposed to use a liquid oil) so I googled "seasoning" and ended up making a mess and stainning the pot so I had to work really really hard to get the fat stains away. it was really hard to get off. but I think it was my fault. I later only greased the edges which I guess is what I should have done to negin with and not grease the entire pot. after all it is covered with the white stuff. then I made rissoto in it and it turned out great and was easy to clean. The color is not that attractive but I guess you cannot have it all for this price. I want a Le Creset but I cannot afford it at the moment. and I bought it because Food Ilustrated said basically that it is just as good as the expensive thing. So all in all I am happy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Surprised
2/18/2008

Customer review by womanonamission

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by womanonamission
by womanonamission

My only dislike of this dutch oven is the knob. I wish it could withstand higher temperatures. The color is a bit odd for me, but the quality of the pot is really good. I will most likely try to replace the knob on the lid so that I can use this pot at higher temperatures. I made a big pot of country style beans and they cooked perfectly. I can't wait to make coq au vin in this pot. I definitely tried finding a similar pot at TJMaxx/Marshall's but could not find a pot of this size at this price. Since I don't have an unlimited budget and would like to be able to afford to cook in the pot after my purchase this is definitely a great bargain. I can afford to shop for food after purchasing it. Not sure if this is an issue for LeCreuset, Chantal, or Lodge dutch ovens but one down side to this pot is that you have to season the rims of the lid and the pot. Not a big deal though.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
womanonamission
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Limited by Temperature!
2/28/2008

Customer review by CindyLou50

4.0 stars 2/28/2008 by CindyLou50
by CindyLou50

I was really excited when I purchased this Dutch Oven. I love my old cast iron, but not the maintenance. Upon opening this I found that the maximum temp for the base is 450 and for the lid 350 (because of the cheap knob). This is a well-made, sturdy Dutch Oven, but those temperature limits will also limit what I can cook in it (I use my Big Green Egg for a lot of cooking in the 500-600 range and the old cast iron can handle it). Also found out that the porcelain coated cast iron cannot be preheated in the oven empty (which I also do for several recipes). I also wish they had offered this in something other than avocado green! All that being said, if you cook your soups, cobblers, casseroles and roasts using "normal" temperatures you'll love this dutch oven.

Was this review helpful? (119) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CindyLou50
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Knob suggetion
10/17/2009

Customer review by cooksalot77

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by cooksalot77
by cooksalot77

On America's Test Kitchen they suggested going to your local hardware store to pick up an oven save knob. Just get a metal draw pull, I did this for just over $1 it works great.

Was this review helpful? (73) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooksalot77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cooks illutstrated was right!
12/24/2007

Customer review by msloobakes

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by msloobakes
by msloobakes

I made my first loaf of no knead bread ala Cooks Illustrated who also recommended this dutch oven. Happy with the pot and the bread!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msloobakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cast Iron Dutch Oven
2/26/2009

Customer review by siimba55

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by siimba55
by siimba55

I bought this item on recommendation of America's Test Kitchen. It is everything they said it was! Cooked a couple stews and soups. You must remember to follow usage directions as properly. For example: not to raise the heat too high. Low and low/medium seems to be the best on the stove top. It can also be used in a 400F oven. Haven't tried that yet. Yes it is heavy. It is enameled cast iron after all! But, its 6.5 quart capacity is more than enough even for a family of four or five. Clean up was a snap with a non-scratch Scotch-like scrubber [Didn't need to actually scrub.]. Cook times are long, but that was the whole point of this type of purchase. Great tender and tasty is the final product. You want fast, get a microwave. You want tender tasty meat and veggies? This is the way to go, if you do not want a crock pot. Cost wise, I think it is a great deal for the quality! The most expensive Dutch oven got the best ratings from ATK. This one was very close and for the money was a better buy for the occasional user like me. Definitely a great buy! Walmart had a great price too! Their site to store with no shipping cost is a definite plus!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
siimba55
Danvers, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
5/15/2011

Customer review by CookininBrooklyn

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by CookininBrooklyn
by CookininBrooklyn

Wanted an enameled cast iron pot/dutch oven. Checked prices all over the place - on line, local stores with sale events, etc. Accidently saw an on-line comment about a review/comparison in Cook's Illustrated and searched for it. In the neighborhood of $40 to $50 including shipping, this absolutely cannot be beaten. The Tramontina dutch oven is heavier than others from Le Crueset, Mario Batali, and others I saw on line, which is not a bad thing. If any vapors get out of that lid leave the house because they must be poison gas. The edge of the lid and bottom are not enameled - not a big deal. Tramontina makes commercial coookware and if you think about it, the edges of the lid and bottom portion would be the places most likely for chips to occur through use. Once that happens, you would need to season them to avoid rusting. Not a big deal. Love this pan and every time we use it we thing about the $250 we saved. You won't go wrong with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CookininBrooklyn
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
heavy but good
3/29/2009

Customer review by tiva

5.0 stars 3/29/2009 by tiva
by tiva

I bought this because of the Cooks Illustrated review. We already have 2 stainless steel dutch ovens, which we use constantly, but they are small and lightweight. We also have a cast iron dutch oven, but acidic food has problems in it, and it rusts when you store food in it. So now we have 4 dutch ovens, including this one. We cook a lot of grass-fed meat at very low temperatures, so dutch ovens are my main cooking tool. The more the merrier. This dutch oven is very heavy, but the quality seems excellent. The beef coquette recipe from Cooks Illustrated worked very well, and food came off easily. We will replace the plastic handle with a steel one asap, even though we'll mostly use this at very low oven temperatures. 25 years ago I was given a bunch of Le Creuset, but they left with an ex-husband. It's nice to find much less expensive versions (of the cookware, if not the first husband).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tiva
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Perfect
4/6/2009

Customer review by foodguy

5.0 stars 4/6/2009 by foodguy
by foodguy

No difference between the Tramontian at $40 and the top of the line Le Creuset dutch oven for nearly $275. Have tried both.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foodguy
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
Great Value
4/28/2010

Customer review by Sheba123

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by Sheba123
by Sheba123

I bought this dutch oven after reading about it on cooks.com. They rated it very highly just ahead of the lodge porcelain dutch oven which costs 10 dollars more. After using it several times I can tell you it is an incredible value and I am shocked that it is as affordable as it is. It heats and cooks evenly and quickly and I love it. You have to read the instructions and take care of it or you will scratch or nick the porcelain enamel. I have had absolutely no issues with mine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sheba123
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best bread I ever made!
1/4/2008

Customer review by SeizeTheDay

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by SeizeTheDay
by SeizeTheDay

On the strength of the Cook's Illustrated recommendation in the February 2008 issue, I purchased this Dutch oven at a store 30 miles away -- yes, a 60 mile round trip just to buy a pot! Most Walmarts carrying this item within a 100 mile radius of where I live are constantly out of stock, and I'm starting to wonder if Cook's Illustrated has provoked a nationwide "run" on this product! I've only had this Dutch oven for 4 days, but I have already made the most beautiful round loaf of bread I've ever made in my life; it looks exactly like the ones you see on all the bread cookbook covers. It has a perfect crust and tender crumb with the prerequisite holes found in European style artisan breads, and the recipe ("No-Knead Bread 2.0") can be found in the same February issue of Cook's Illustrated. I can't wait to start braising meat and look forward to a long and happy relationship with my new Dutch oven! I had a few dark streaks from baked-on oil (possibly from the seasoning I gave the raw edge around the rim), but a damp paper towel with a little baking soda took it off easily. I'm very happy with this product, and delighted with the money I saved.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeizeTheDay
Windsor, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Recommended by America's Test Kitchen
8/5/2009

Customer review by ANN9172

5.0 stars 8/5/2009 by ANN9172
by ANN9172

America's Test Kitchen rated this as performing as well as the most expensive brand. A couple of important information items they mention. 1) Handle: Only safe to 400 degrees. However, you can purchase a metal cabinet handle at the hardware store to use in an oven up to 500 degrees. 2) They claim they contacted the manufacturer who said it would be safe to use in a 500 degree oven as long as you put it in the oven before turning on the heat. The danger is putting it into an already hot oven. This is such a great value! Don't forget to season the exposed cast iron before use. I expect I'll get many years of use out of this, and I saved a ton of money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ANN9172
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for No-Knead Bread!
6/1/2008

Customer review by BakerBoy1

5.0 stars 6/1/2008 by BakerBoy1
by BakerBoy1

This Dutch Oven is the perfect heavyweight pot for baking the no-knead (or low-knead) bread popularized by Mark Bittman of the New York Times. When baking this bread, the oven (and the pot) must be preheated to 500F, and the actual baking is done at 425F. Since this Dutch Oven's resin knob is only rated to 350F, it is a simple matter to replace the knob with a metal knob for a cabinet door (available for a couple of dollars at any hardware store) and a stainless steel or brass screw. If you want to keep the bread off the bottom of the pot (to prevent burning or overbaking), an 8" round wire cake rack inserted in the Dutch Oven will do the trick!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BakerBoy1
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Dutch Oven, bad packaging
1/24/2011

Customer review by JiminNesconset

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by JiminNesconset
by JiminNesconset

I had high hopes for this Dutch Oven. It was highly recommended by America's Test Kitchen. It's perfectly sized and it would have fit my needs pefectly. But alas, like many other reviewers, mine arrived damaged. The blame for the damage lies entirely with Tramontina. The plastic shims used to keep the top and bottom from grinding into each other during shipping became dislodged and the top took a good sized chip out of the bottom. It's not a Fedex problem. It's not a Walmart problem. It's Tramontina's packaging that caused the problem. I took the oven to my local store and they promptly refunded my money. I could have taken a chance and re-ordered the Tramontina but it's very likely the next one is going to arrive in the same condition. I decided to go with the Lodge. That arrived in perfect condition. In both cases Walmart's service was 5 Stars. I received both items in less that 48 hours from time of order.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JiminNesconset
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A beautiful product
7/3/2010

Customer review by KitchenKate

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by KitchenKate
by KitchenKate

I wouldn't have known about the Tramontina Dutch oven if it hadn't been for America's Test Kitchen, which recently rated Dutch ovens under $100. I needed a Dutch oven for soups, stews and curries, but couldn't afford Le Creuset. The French cookware maker is the Gold Standard, no question, but I couldn't afford the almost $300 price tag. So I was interested in the ATK's assessment, which ranked the Tramontina tops -- and attributed its affordable price to its country of origin: China. I Googled the company, read about the product, then shopped online. Amazon.com wanted $59. Walmart's price was $34. With tax and shipping my gorgeous new Dutch oven was $42.12. It's a beauty -- it's heavy, the finish is perfect, the lid fits as it should and, since I don't have cupboard space big enough for it, it sits on top of my stove … a place of honor. This was my first-ever Walmart purchase and I'm thrilled with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitchenKate
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for the money
1/22/2010

Customer review by jowal

3.0 stars 1/22/2010 by jowal
by jowal

This isn't Le Creuset, but it has good weight, performs well in typical dutch-oven tasks, and seems easy to clean (now). Overall, good value for the money. The negative is that the iron grates on my stove have already scraped some of the enamel off the base, which suggests the enamel isn't as permanent/durable as one would like. (The first one I received had a chip in the interior enamel where the cover meets the base; I successfully returned it.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jowal
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/5/2010

Customer review by BlankStart

1.0 stars 4/5/2010 by BlankStart
by BlankStart

America's Test Kitchen recommended this product in as a good purchase instead of the$200.00 purchase. I was so excited because I always wanted this pot. I washed and seasoned the pot as recommended. There was a rust like substance dripping from the ridge of the pot. Walmart was extremely cooperative and gave me the option of either getting another pot,which I wanted, or a full refund. I thought since there was a lifetime limited warranty I would call the manufacture. They were not very helpful and gave me the impression they would not stand behind there product. They told me they would clean it and return it to me. I asked what if the stains were still there. I had the pot for days at this time. They refused to answer the question. I told them I tried to clean the stains with oxiclean to no avail. They could care less. That is the reson I would not recommend this pot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlankStart
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Best Bang for The Buck!
11/25/2007

Customer review by LeMichel

5.0 stars 11/25/2007 by LeMichel
by LeMichel

Was so excited to see this in the Canal Winchester, Ohio Walmart because I wouldn't have to go to Williams Sonoma! My first dish was Boeuf Bourguignonne and it turned out FANTASTIC! I am cursed (for now) with using an electric range but this product was made so well, temp. control was not a problem. I am hoping that the Canal Winchester store carries the the Tramontina cast iron line as well as the cutlery.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeMichel
Baltimore, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Very pleased!
2/1/2009

Customer review by Funfoodie

5.0 stars 2/1/2009 by Funfoodie
by Funfoodie

I, like many others, heard of this dutch oven from Cooks Illustrated. It seemed to always be sold out, but one day it was back in stock and I ordered it online quickly. I've only used this once (made a delicious Beef Burgundy), but it cooked well and was amazingly easy to clean. I suggest lining your sink with a silicone/rubber mat when you wash it (to protect your sink and the pot). I don't know if I'll be making the infamous no-knead bread in this; if I do, I'll just unscrew the knob and plug the hole with foil. (I might order the Le Creuset stainless steel knob someday, but I don't need it yet.) Contrary to what one reviewer said, the instructions DON'T say you can't preheat this -- especially since the lid rim requires seasoning, which means that it's okay to heat the pot while it's empty. Overall, I'm very pleased with this dutch oven, especially for the price I paid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Funfoodie
Van Nuys, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews