Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 20 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

above expectations
3/14/2011

Customer review by beegeespen

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by beegeespen
by beegeespen

i bought this backpack as a birthday gift for my husband who carries his laptop almost daily. he needed a sturdy backpack for his books and laptop. i decided to try this one since the description of the product seem to fit all his needs. he really likes this backpack both for the sturdiness and durability of the seams and stitching but also for the many compartments it has especially for all his heavier books and papers. this backpack is perfect for all his needs. it seems to be alittle pricey but when you see it in person and how well it carries so much and how it just might last a few years -it is well worth the extra money compared to a less expensive one that will wear after a few months. we are very pleased with this product and would recommend to anyone who needs to carry a laptop,books and other paperwork on a daily basis.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beegeespen
san antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent pack for all aspects!
3/19/2012

Customer review by EngineeringStudent

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by EngineeringStudent
by EngineeringStudent

As a student i have been really hard on every backpack I have ever owned, this backpack was perfect! I have had this bag for 3 years and the previous ones i have owned have NEVER lasted more that 8 months without a huge failure (Handle breaking, strap, big holes, etc). This backpack has taken the heaviest loads that i have every put a backpack up to and it has lasted and lasted. The only bad thing about this backpack is that after owning it for 3 years the zipper handles broke off and the water bottle drawstring got caught on a door knob and ripped on one side and the meshing is wearing out. After 3 years of solid use i finally decided to use the lifetime warranty, after telling them about the damage they said they would send free zipper tabs but due to the damage on the water bottle holder they are going to replace the entire backpack. Only bad thing i have to do without my trusty backpack for approximately 20 business days to send it in for a replacement. Otherwise hands down the best backpack I have ever owned!

EngineeringStudent
Milwaukee WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4 continents, 9 countries, 6 years - still going
11/3/2012

Customer review by Princeton

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Princeton
by Princeton

I rarely write reviews for products, but couldn't resist on writing about my trusty CityGear bag. Now, the truth is I've only ever paid for one Targus bag: The year was 1993 and I've been getting replacements ever since. Eventually the bags all wear out -- all except this one. I've literally taken my CityGear bag everywhere I've gone for the past six years on planes, trains and automobiles across four continents, nine countries and hundreds of trips. It's by far the most spacious bag I've ever owned and it can just keep expanding and expanding. I toured Tokyo for 48 hours with nothing but this bag loaded down with all I needed. I did the same in Paris. I've toted it all over South Africa. It's survived Singapore, Oslo, London and Rome. It has pockets in all the right places, protects my laptop well, and is comfortable to wear. After six years, yes the rubber zipper pulls have eroded away and there's a tear in the mesh water bag, but otherwise it's in impeccable condition still. And you have to understand, I'm not careful with it, but rather punishing. You simply can't go wrong with this one.

Princeton
Spring Hill, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good
5/25/2016

Customer review by Hooda

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by Hooda
by Hooda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is cool

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hooda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing all around
9/12/2012

Customer review by Ith683

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Ith683
by Ith683

I have had this backpack for over 4 years now and it has served me well. The mesh water bottle holder on the side is torn, but this was from a steel bottle with a sharper than average bottom. It is starting to show it's age on the shoulder straps and the nylon strings in the front have come undone over time from getting caught on a some rails while running down stairs and required me to tie them up but aside from this it has put up with a lot of abuse with little signs. It fit my 17 inch laptop easily and had room for more. I have never had trouble fitting anything in this in my time owning it. If you can watch the nylon string (if you keep it tightened so it has a little tail) in the back when you are around things it could get caught on it should be fine for anything you need.

Ith683
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greatest bag I've ever owned
12/19/2010

Customer review by afan

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by afan
by afan

I've had this bag for years and it still looks good, still has everything it came with (no broken zippers or zipper pull thingies), and isn't frayed. I have punished it thoroughly and it has held up beautifully. After approximately 5ish years (gosh, it's been so long that I can't remember when I bought it) of use, the ONLY thing on it that is showing a bit of age is one of the shoulder straps because I sometimes carry it on just one side if I don't have a lot of stuff in it, so one strap gets more use than the other. I've even accidentally hooked the elastic bands on things while walking in tight spaces, and they haven't broken. (not sure if the bag still has those as the picture is a bit small) Really good bag.

afan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Go with the Targus 17 XL Instead
9/18/2011

Customer review by John

2.0 stars 9/18/2011 by John
by John

I received this product as the warranty replacement for my Targus 17 XL (which fell apart after 3 years of everyday use). It is one of the least comfortable backpacks on the market. It will hold the same amount as the 17 XL, but since the weight is distributed farther from your back, you have to bend over in order to carry it. It is impossible to use this backpack and walk with correct posture as the connected top of the back straps bite into your neck. My everyday load weighs about 12 pounds (backpack included), and it leaves marks on my shoulders. Overall, if you really want to haul around 20+ pounds a day, get a rolling backpack, or at least the 17 XL, it looks and feels better than the Citygear.

John
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect gadget organizer bag design, not durable
12/2/2012

Customer review by TwistedE

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by TwistedE
by TwistedE

Perfect design for the road warrior with tons of gadgets, but the zipper pulls all fell off within about a year, and the main zipper started failing shortly thereafter. If you're looking for an inexpensive backpack with tons of pockets and organizers for electronics, this can't be beat... just don't expect it to last forever. Like several Targus backpacks I've owned, its zippers and zipper pulls can't take long term use. Although the design of my last 2 Targus bags has been perfect for my road warrior lifestyle, I'm considering a switch to a more expensive brand in quest of a bag that I can get more than 18 months out of without zipper failure.

TwistedE
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love this backpack!!!
10/5/2011

Customer review by akamadison

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by akamadison
by akamadison

I'm purchasing my 3rd one today and have used only the Targus Citygear pack since 3 years ago. I gave my 16" to a friend when I bought my 2nd 17" to accomadate a larger laptop. My friend agrees it's the best they've ever owned. I work alot whether in the office, from home or just about anywhere and my Targus has become my portable office. It has held up great and I can't imagine owning anything else. Wanted to purchase another to have handy in case the City Gear line gets discontinued.

akamadison
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect travel bag
6/26/2013

Customer review by Robert

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by Robert
by Robert

I bought this in 2005 to lug my laptop and other electronics and stuff. I lugged it around the entire country while working in refineries, and I can honestly say i filled this bag to the rim. treated it pretty harshly the entire time. Not only does the bag look great still, I have just now broken a zipper pull. I Highly recommend this bag to any avid traveler I only wish my pack had a tablet holder like the new version but aside from that, I love it.

Robert
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for light to moderate use
6/19/2012

Customer review by student

3.0 stars 6/19/2012 by student
by student

My grad school took the honor of ordering our entire class this backpack in hopes that it would survive for four years. It did not. All of the handles on the zippers have fallen off, the bungie cord broke and hangs down, and the backpack all around has lost it's form. This was after 4 years of hard use, however, and I think it would be fine for mild to moderate use.

student
Fort Lauderdale
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent!
11/25/2010

Customer review by Anipuma

5.0 stars 11/25/2010 by Anipuma
by Anipuma

I purchased this backpack about 3 years ago (if not more). It is the only backpack that I use for my electronic wares. Large enough to hold a laptop, projector and all associated cabling, and have some room left over. Great bag, and I will be grabbing one for my friend (who is insanely jealous of it).

Anipuma
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Backpck ever owned
2/8/2013

Customer review by piston2x

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by piston2x
by piston2x

I've been using this backpack for 9 years and counting now! The most durable product I've ever owned.

piston2x
Monroe, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'd buy it again
3/8/2012

Customer review by Jim

4.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Jim
by Jim

Overall, this is a very good bookbag. It's quite roomy, and it really is quite comfortable when packed full - when you consider the added weight you're asking yourself to carry, that is. The reason I gave it only a 4 star rating for comfort is because it is possible to fill it to the point where carrying it is a chore. This is a good thing, though. The small zippered pocket on the side is the PERFECT size for my TI-83 graphing calculator. The netted pocket on the other side is a wonderful place to put my wireless mouse. However... I found by experience that this pocket is not a good place to put a 4-pack of AA batteries FOR that mouse. The corners of the cardboard ripped the netting, and made the pocket virtually useless. This is why I gave "Durability" only 3 star rating - yes, it's my fault it happened, but a 4 star bag wouldn't have failed in this way. I am a little disappointed in the small zippered section in front (back??) (not the zippered pocket, the section immediately behind it). This is an excellent compartment to store pens. The problem is that it uses only one zipper, and - for me at least - does not always close 100%. As a result, I've lost more pens than I'd like. One feature of this bag that I discovered by accident (and maybe it's become a standard feature in bags - I don't know, this is the first I've ever owned) is the velcro strap in the computer storage compartment. Before I found this, I almost lost my computer when the zipper opened itself (under the strain of being completely full) and, not being strapped in, the computer was a fraction of a second from falling out. One section that I really love is the expandable clippered one. This is a great place for spiral notebooks. It can be opened very quickly and the notebook easily removed. I am taking four courses this semester, and this bag is capable of holding all the textbooks, notebooks, sundry supplies such as pens, instant coffee, coffee cup along with my laptop. If I were to change anything about this bag, I'd use additional reinforcement for the zipper - especially the computer compartment's zipper. The corner of my computer is causing noticeable wear to it after just 6 months. All in all, this bag is one that I'd buy again.

Jim
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality
9/23/2014

Customer review by NJvinman

1.0 stars 9/23/2014 by NJvinman
by NJvinman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Targus bag I have purchased in a years time. I chose these bags because of the capacity. The first one started ripping at the straps and eventually the sides ripped out. This second one has poor quality stitching and is already showing signs of failure, this is the way it looked right out of the box. I thought the first ones failure was a rare occurrence, so I thought I would give Targus a second chance. But now I think it is not a rare occurrence, this looks like poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJvinman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great backback for computer
1/10/2014

Customer review by whydoyouneed

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by whydoyouneed
by whydoyouneed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got a new notebook, so of course I needed something to carry it in. I read the reviews and picked it, and was not disappointed. It came with a place to put an ipad or tablet as well. There is plenty of space to put other things, such as blank dvd/cd, books. The notebook is well protected. The backpack has a handle, so you can carry it out to your car instead of having to put it on. It looks like it will last a long time as others have said. I have had it a week.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whydoyouneed
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product is perfect for me
7/6/2012

Customer review by Julia93

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Julia93
by Julia93

I'm a student and this product has enough space for a few books along with a few other random things I choose to throw in there. It also has plenty of room for my 17.3" laptop. I haven't had any problems with it so far and I really don't think I will.

Julia93
Clombiaville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The best backpack
10/13/2011

Customer review by mustufa1

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by mustufa1
by mustufa1

This is the type of backpack I wanted for college that I can put laptop and other stuff such as books, binders, etc. There was no other backpack I could find like this.

mustufa1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Returned the bag
4/14/2014

Customer review by Cumrya

1.0 stars 4/14/2014 by Cumrya
by Cumrya
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was disappointed with the quality. Poor quality for the money. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cumrya
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Huge Backpack
1/19/2013

Customer review by Ralph123456789

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Ralph123456789
by Ralph123456789
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Huge backpack with big pockets and a lot of space

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ralph123456789
Birmingham AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.