Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

10 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

10 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-9 of 9 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Hear be good
12/15/2009

Customer review by Goodear

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by Goodear
by Goodear

These hearing aids are very comfortable. My hearing is excelent with them in place. My friend paid $6000 for her's. I think this is a good value.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goodear
Granbury, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very practical solution
5/3/2010

Customer review by Martini747

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by Martini747
by Martini747

As a professional musician, I have been exposed to louder than average sound levels for 45 years. As a result I have recently been diagnosed with noise induced hearing loss. After several professional consultations and extensive testing, I was advised to invest $4000.+ in hearing aids to embellish the frequencies that have diminished over the years. After hours of online surfing I discovered General Hearing Instruments(GHI) has designed a system that seemed tailor made for my situation. I took the gamble(less than $1000.) and I am absolutely thrilled with the instant improvement in my ability to hear everyday sounds and music as I did years ago. Thank you GHI and Walmart for making these available at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Martini747
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everyman's hifi
4/11/2010

Customer review by basstones

5.0 stars 4/11/2010 by basstones
by basstones

These hearing aids add uncolored top end without artifacts making them ideal for musicians with mild to moderate hearing loss. They are also able to withstand high SPL levels (105db) so you can actually use them on gigs without distortion, unlike the other 2 major brands that I tried before finding these. Feature wise they only have one preset curve and a volume control so they are limited in that respect. I returned mine and got the "Simplicity" model because they work better for my hearing loss where speech is concerned but I'm so happy with the Simplicity model that I'm considering reordering the Hi Fi's. See my review for the Simplicity model. By the way, buy one for each ear. It makes the listening experience much better than having just the one

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
basstones
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far, so good. Best yet actually!
10/24/2013

Customer review by pnganly

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by pnganly
by pnganly

I think I have tried out almost all of the online purchase, preset hearing devices on the market at this stage of the game, and these Simplicity Hi Fi 270 are the best that I have come across so far. For my ears anyway! I started out 2 years ago with the $600 a pair, MD hearing aids, and then returned them before the end of their 45 day trial period, as I found the Able Planet company, in ear hearing aids, (shipped to my door for $954) to be better. Even better than the Walmart Simplicity Smart Touch hearing aids, which I also tried and returned to my local Walmart store, for my refund. I also tried the Wamart in ear ones, Terrible! Don't even bother with those. I was trucking along with the afore mentioned Able Planet hearing aids for 8 months and impressed with the sound quality. They work by tapping your ears twice to change the settings from 1 thru 4. The problem with this, I found was that when closing my car door from inside the car, or driving with the window open, they would change settings by themselves. Also when in a loud music enviornment like a bar, the base or drums would also change the settings on them. I got these Hi Fi 270's shipped out to me just 2 weeks ago, and I've been wearing them ever since in place of the Able Planet ones, which now sit in a drawer at home as spares, as it is now too late to get a refund for them. Just before I ordered these Hi Fi 270's, I went to Costco's and did a free in store trial of their, much more expensive stuff (over $2000 a pair), which they program for you in the store, but found them not even as good as the Able Planet ones which I was then using. To conclude my review, and I hope it is not getting too confusing, I feel that these Hi Fi 270's for $954, are as good as it's going to get for me, even if I were to go out there and give $6000 or more to an audioligist. I like the volume controls turning knobs, which allow me to adjust the volumes independantly, and they can be turned up louder than any of my previous sets. The origional size 10 batteries are still going strong, even after 2 weeks!! which makes me feel that I was correct in not going for the bulkyier looking 270 EP's with the bigger size 13 batteries. As well as appreciating music again with these units, I can still hear people speaking more clearly, than with all the others I have used. Thank you GHI (General Hearing Instruments) and Walmart respectively, for the best product and a great service.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pnganly
Yonkers, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A superb hearing aid, at the right price!
2/11/2014

Customer review by KaraokeKids

5.0 stars 2/11/2014 by KaraokeKids
by KaraokeKids

I procrastinated for years on buying hearing aids due to high prices, and the thought of visiting an ear doctor several times to get them to work correctly. What a thrill it has been to find the Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aids. The price was reasonable and they worked perfectly right out of the box. It took me about one minute to put on both the Left and Right, and another minute to adjust the volume level to provide significant amplification without whistling. I immediately heard sounds that I had been missing for years. They greatly improve my high frequency hearing for both music enjoyment and speech recognition. At the same time, they don't over-amplify loud sounds or lower frequencies. I routinely work with a variety of loud power tools and their sounds don't cause any problem with these hearing aids. Batteries last me about 2 weeks, based on wearing them 7 days a week, for 16-18 hours per day. The only annoyance I found is when I wear my cowboy hat, the brim causes some feedback (whistling sound) due to the Hi Fi device located behind and near the top of my ear. It’s a fairly minor issue that forces me to turn down the hearing aid volume a bit to stop the whistling. Interestingly, the lower volume doesn't really reduce my hearing because the hat brim directs sounds down toward my ears anyway. Simply put, the Hi Fi 270's enable me to hear musical highs, people who speak very softly, and my TV turned down a couple of notches from where it used to be. They accomplish all this without overpowering the sounds that I can already hear well. I commend Walmart for offering these devices at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KaraokeKids
Wickenburg, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/11/2012

Customer review by Bewar

1.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Bewar
by Bewar

Don't waste your money on this item. I bought them and they whistle too much, you will not like it. This product is worth $200

Was this review helpful? (6) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bewar
Would recommend to a friend? No
As good, or better than much more expensive ones.
2/26/2015

Customer review by Tallen

5.0 stars 2/26/2015 by Tallen
by Tallen

These hearing aids work very well. I tried out several others from much more expensive sources, and these are at least as good, maybe even a bit better than those.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tallen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really great, BUT...
7/19/2014

Customer review by JazzMan1940

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by JazzMan1940
by JazzMan1940

These replaced a different brand that was bigger and therefore less comfortable. The sound quality is very good, but the right ear worked fine and the left ear quickly broke, nothing but static. I'm awaiting a replacement from the manufacturer. Shoppers should be aware that these have only a volume control, no frequency adjustments. Also no on/off switch. I open the battery compartment at night when I take them off in order to extend battery life. I've had the one ear for a couple of weeks and the battery is holding up okay. Also, while there is some feedback, it is much much softer than what I experienced with my previous pair (the different brand ones). Assuming I get good replacement service, I would recommend these for moderate, high frequency hearing loss.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JazzMan1940
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poly tube to short.
12/13/2013

Customer review by Kaiser54

1.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Kaiser54
by Kaiser54

The poly tube is to short and keeps jumping out of the ear canal. I have to keep inserting it to get any use of the hearing device.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaiser54
Boston, ma.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.