Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 108 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

108 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

108 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
24
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
10
1-20 of 98 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
No replacement parts for plug? Why Not?
10/17/2016

Customer review by rstein

1.0 stars 10/17/2016 by rstein
by rstein

This is basically a solid performer for size, wheels and the convenience of the split lid. But other complaints about the leaky plug are dead on and now that ours is lost, I am irritated to learn that no replacement part is available.

rstein
Mountan West
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Absolutely LOVE this cooler!
7/6/2014

Customer review by TCjr

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by TCjr
by TCjr

I've had this Cooler for MANY MANY YEARS (At least 7-8yrs) and I have put this thing through some pretty treacherous camping trips, crazy weather sitting outside, plenty of user abuse sitting on, digging around in and packing bags and such on top while rolling out to camp sites or around in general.... Needless to say this cooler is still doing a fantastic job keeping things ice cold and we now live in Scottsdale AZ and filled the cooler up with some adult goodies early for the 4th, and dumped in 20lbs of ice. As most can assume the temps out here are much higher then 90 degrees... The cooler has been sitting in direct sunlight on the pool deck since July 4th morning and even after being opened numerous times, the cooler still has the majority of the ice that was originally put in it friday! :) The only thing I'm bummed about, is while the cooler is doing a fantastic job and still looks practically brand new... This weekend we noticed the drain nozzle seems to have failed, and now the melting ice drains around the valve which seems to be shifting back and forth freely all of the sudden. Hope we can find a replacement part for it. This cooler has a lot of life left in it otherwise.

TCjr
Scottsdale, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
+5 days of Awesomeness
8/6/2013

Customer review by BillMedic

5.0 stars 8/6/2013 by BillMedic
by BillMedic

I have a silver 50 qt for +5 years, and now I just bought the big brother (75 quart 6 day). I camp a lot in summer with temps in the 90's these coolers would keep things cold for 5+ days. If you freeze the foods you are eating later in your trip, they'll keep frozen for many days. The double doors save the trouble of opening the whole door for beverages. I was used of coolers being a great disappointment and have tortured my fair share of them leaving them outside for weeks in the summer and winter. After the a few years of abuse the only thing with any problem is the handle eventually rusted and bent from ice freezing inside but it still works. I'd also use this cooler like a pack mule and load things on top of it to be wheeled into my camp site. Great work rubbermaid!

BillMedic
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best I've Found
8/5/2013

Customer review by Thrasherville

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by Thrasherville
by Thrasherville

I had a silver one of these for 8-10 years and have 2 now. I camp a lot, in hot Georgia summers in the 90*F range this cooler would keep things cold for 5+ days. If you freeze the foods you are eating later in your trip, they'll keep frozen for 4+ days. I'd camp for 7-10 days and have to top off with a bag of ice on day 5 or 6 for those trips. The double doors are great to keep cold drinks/snacks on one side and food on the other so you are not getting in an out of that side all of the time. Cup holders on top are convenient as well. Wheels were sturdy and never failed, handle eventually bent a bit and didn't always go up and down easily, but it was my fault because I'd use this cooler like a pack mule and load things on top of it to be wheeled into my camp site.

Thrasherville
Metro Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wheel Cooler
10/18/2009

Customer review by Boricua

4.0 stars 10/18/2009 by Boricua
by Boricua

The cooler really works because keeps cold all the beverages and food for several days; Including Jello, belive me. Excelent for campings and field trips! The size is a kind of tricky because is more long that deep this makes you think that have enought space but its not. Next time I prefer a deeper cooler so I have more space available to fill up. Also the wheels are hard to use in the beach sand, but works. One problem is that the valvule, the water drainer, after some time of use its detach from the cooler and the water start to wet all the floor. Finding the replacement part havn't easy to find for me, even thoug that the cooler its in perfect conditions. The cooler itself have a good price.

Boricua
CAROLINA, PUERTO RICO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Cooler
9/5/2008

Customer review by VolunteerMom

5.0 stars 9/5/2008 by VolunteerMom
by VolunteerMom

We purchased this cooler 4 years ago preparing for a hurricane. It took me awhile to find this cooler, as I was determined that this style, the wheels on the long side of the cooler were best for hauling around. I learned this from taking field trips with the elementary school my children attended. They had quite a selection of coolers. This was my favorite. It was more durable, had two lids and you could pile more coolers on top of it with the extended handle. I use it every week now to haul produce from a retail store to a food pantry. It's always ready for the pending hurricane.

VolunteerMom
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely Disappointed
7/22/2008

Customer review by ethresh

1.0 stars 7/22/2008 by ethresh
by ethresh

It is supposed to keep cold for up to 5 days. The ice completly melted within 12 hours. The lids pop off very easily which is nice for cleaning, but bad if you just want to get something out of it or when you tilt it a little too far while using the wheels and everything spills out. Very disappointed in this Rubbermaid product. I have an Igloo cooler that we have had for 15 years and although it is beat up and one of the hinges is cracked, I'm going to keep using it because it still works for what is was designed for; keeping food and drinks cold!

ethresh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall best cooler
7/6/2014

Customer review by FamilyOfBoysAndMom

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by FamilyOfBoysAndMom
by FamilyOfBoysAndMom

We have had two of these coolers for MANY years. My husband takes them hunting, they get used for my son's wrestling tournaments, we take them on vacation and to the beach. We have used both of them so much! The plugs now need to be replaced so we will try to do that. We will keep the old ones but are buying two new ones. Best cooler ever. Love the pull handle. I pile all kinds of stuff on top or hooked over the pull handle for easy transport. At sporting events, it has also served as a seat.

FamilyOfBoysAndMom
Middleburg, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Another Wheeled Cooler
10/5/2008

Customer review by rhfjr

4.0 stars 10/5/2008 by rhfjr
by rhfjr

The cooler rolls easily when filled. It could seal a little better. One night the squirrels attack it. I have pictures of same. They did not manage to break in but they did do some damage. I repaired the bite marks and torn parts. I just happen to have some Recreational Vehicle roof repair left over and repaired all the damage. It still works as good as new but slightly better. There hasn't been anymore squirrels attempting entry.

rhfjr
Newbury Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed....Like the chest but handle broke
3/11/2013

Customer review by Kasey53

3.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Kasey53
by Kasey53

I like the chest and it is convenient. Love the fact that you can wheel it around like luggage, even when full of drinks. We only use it a couple times a year and that last time we used it the handle broke. This is far too soon for the amount of use we have given it. Disappointed! Looking for a replacement handle, otherwise I will need to trash it! Please help me locate the replacement handle to repair!

Kasey53
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lid could disppear
5/31/2014

Customer review by Peng

3.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Peng
by Peng

I purchased this cooler several years ago and only got to use it a few times. I placed it in the back of my pickup truck and time I got home one half of the lid was gone. We still use for for short time periods over just a few hours and take the ice bag and cover the ice on the side of the missing lid. It looks like you could replace just the missing side or maybe the whole lid.

Peng
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best cooler ever!
9/16/2008

Customer review by wood1951

5.0 stars 9/16/2008 by wood1951
by wood1951

I have taken this cooler to Kodiak, Alaska at least 10 times. We clean fish at river's edge and haul 80 to 90 lbs. of fillets 3 (rough dirt road) blocks up to the cabin to package. It has also been to Baja a dozen times bringing back a full load of ahi. It is a work-horse. It tilts like rolling carry-on luggage and I load other bags on top and roll through the airport.

wood1951
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Cooler!
9/4/2008

Customer review by Aesha23

5.0 stars 9/4/2008 by Aesha23
by Aesha23

We use our 5 day cooler for camping, as well as daytrips. Even in a hot vehicle, our drinks are cold and the ice takes ages to melt. With the wheels on the back, it is easy to take our cooler everywhere, including a day at the zoo! On camping trips, our chocolate for s'mores is solid and our bacon and eggs stay fresh - plus you have an end table with cupholders.

Aesha23
Redford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plug Leaks
10/5/2015

Customer review by Cholder

1.0 stars 10/5/2015 by Cholder
by Cholder

I thought this would be a good product but 2 things are bad about it. 1. The area around the plug leaks BADLY. 2. If you get the handle wet, it will not retract or come out correctly. Would not recommend it for anyone.

Cholder
Rhea County, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Love This Cooler!
2/6/2013

Customer review by rsigmon4wv

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by rsigmon4wv
by rsigmon4wv

I purchased this cooler a year ago. I can honestly say it is one of the best coolers I have ever had. Not only is it excellent for keeping things cold and getting around easily, but I also use it to transport itmes other than food. I love the retractable handle, and the split top lid. Thanks Rubbermaid for such an excellent product. I love it.

rsigmon4wv
Princeton, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
drain plug leaks!
8/5/2014

Customer review by JerryQ

2.0 stars 8/5/2014 by JerryQ
by JerryQ

we have used the cooler only 4 times and this past week the back of my suburban was WET! the plug was in place, but the plug was cracked and it leaked. looking at the placement of the plug, it is well protected from an accidental bump, so the only reason for the leak must be inferior product quality or bad engineering of the drain plug.

JerryQ
Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
a great cooler
10/14/2009

Customer review by momarazi

5.0 stars 10/14/2009 by momarazi
by momarazi

i bought this cooler and it is the best ever! perfect size for me and my family. i take it on my vacation and everything i want fits in it. i accedentally droped it down from the back of my van and nothing broke, fell out or came open. i was very very happy. great product recommend to everyone.

momarazi
la porte indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaker
8/20/2014

Customer review by Kent

2.0 stars 8/20/2014 by Kent
by Kent

Well the same review is being repeated. Our stem value cracked and leaks like a sieve. Back of car soaked on a long weekend get away. Not good. We hope we can get a replacement part but they can not be purchased on line. Bummer!

Kent
Concord, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not a 5 Day Cooler
2/20/2009

Customer review by TTCamper

2.0 stars 2/20/2009 by TTCamper
by TTCamper

My wife and I find we have to buy ice every 24 - 36 hours, even though we leave the cooler in the shade all day. A Walmart purchase. I would be surprised if it contained an ounce of duratherm insulation.

TTCamper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best cooler we have ever had/ better than Yeti!!!
6/18/2015

Customer review by Tracy R

5.0 stars 6/18/2015 by Tracy R
by Tracy R

Love it!!! Best cooler ever, even better than the overpriced Yeti!!!!! Wish they made smaller sizes of the same cooler.

Tracy R
Amabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews