Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
14
1 stars
19
1-20 of 89 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Gross gloss
2/1/2017

Customer review by Jeannie Marie

1.0 stars 2/1/2017 by Jeannie Marie
by Jeannie Marie

I was looking for a replacement for my Color Riche Le Gloss as I can no longer find it anywhere. This infallible gloss goes on smooth like color riche but after 5 minutes becomes sticky and tacky. I don't want sticky gloss to stay on my lips for 8 hours. Here's why: Having a tacky substance on my mouth for 8 hours picks up all kinds of bacteria, pollin, animal hair, dust and whatever else is floating around in the air. Gross. This gloss also has a funky make-up, chemical scent to it. Gross. Part of the sexiness of lip gloss is reapplying in front of that cute guy, who is now drawn and focused on your lips and mouth. And guys (and girls) don't want to be trying to wipe off a tacky sticky smelly gloss from their mouths. Gross.

Comment from - 2/2/2017

Hi Jeannie Marie! We apologize for your experience with our Infallible ® 8 HR Le Gloss. Let us make it right! Please give us a call at 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST. Give the rep the reference number 02076465. We look forward to hearing from you!

Jeannie Marie
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I used to love it!
2/11/2017

Customer review by Montie

2.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Montie
by Montie

I've been wearing #815 for years. I loved it because it was a sheer nude. Now, it seems that they don't make the ones with the mirror top anymore. I purchased several with the black top and it's too thick. Please bring the sheer line back!

Montie
,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Hazel
Gender:Female
Very disappointed. Bring back glam shine...
2/2/2017

Customer review by carver_mj

1.0 stars 2/2/2017 by carver_mj
by carver_mj

I bought two of these yesterday and opened them in my excitement to try the colours...I remember how I loved Glam Shine from moment one. Total and utter disappointment. The color is thin and it feels sticky. I forgot I still had it on when i went to wash my face it still felt hard to wash off. Yuck. What a total waste of money. I wish I could get my money back.

carver_mj
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bring back Glam Shine!
1/29/2017

Customer review by lipgloss22

1.0 stars 1/29/2017 by lipgloss22
by lipgloss22

I used to ONLY use the Glam Shine gloss. Can't understand why companies discontinue awesome products. This gloss is uncomfortable and sticky. Not a good substitute at all. Very disappointed!!!

Comment from - 1/30/2017

Hi! We are sorry to hear this and would love to help! Please call us @ 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 2056390. It would help to have the product with you when you call.

lipgloss22
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This is the lip gloss I am looking for
12/24/2016

Customer review by InSearch4Gloss

5.0 stars 12/24/2016 by InSearch4Gloss
by InSearch4Gloss

I am impressed. It does heal chapped lips, moisturizing and wears evenly (more like a cream lipstick). The staying power is great! I'm a Pilates instructor and my teaching style involves talking and explaining techniques in every single exercise. I have back to back classes (ex. 3 hours session) and I never encounter any white thin residue around my mouth and the sides. I usually get these when wearing other lip glosses especially when I have been talking a lot. After 4 hours my lips are still tinted, shiny and moisturized. I see the difference because usually, after 4 hours of teaching I already look pale because of my pale lips. Another proof of staying power was when I applied this at around 330pm then went out to watch a movie at 6:30pm (ate chicken nuggets, buttered popcorn and sweet potato fries during the movie) went home by 9pm without retouching. The color was still there, it was light, subtle and still moisturized. Consistency is sticky to be honest. But it is in the way you apply it that makes it work. First, I make sure my lips are exfoliated. Before applying I moisturize my lips with aquaphor, let it stay for about 5 seconds, then remove any residue by pressing lips on an oil absorbing sheet, strip off from lips so all the extra lose skin goes with it. Now, the lips are ready for the gloss application. This will make the gloss infallible. Don't make the mistake of applying this over a lip balm. I have Sangria (with very subtle powdery glitters but it's so subtle it doesn't leave glitters on the mouth) and Undeniably Mauve (plain creamy texture). They will not give you a very rich pigment. But it will surely give you a splash of color. You will notice it! When it wears it will be subtle but still visible. This pigment works for me. It is perfect for work and play. I'm planning to get more colors.

InSearch4Gloss
Henrico, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
8/1/2016

Customer review by writer

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by writer
by writer

I started using L'Oréal lip gloss in 1979, when it came in a pot. I bought almost every shade. I could put on my favorite (Brique) and go for all-day research in the largest library in the state and never need a touchup because of dry lips! In the early '80s, owing to sanitary concerns, L'Oréal went to a squeeze-tube, and those colors possessed the same properties as the ones in pots--without worry of applying germs to one's lips. When the Infallible 8 HR line debuted, I went with it, needing the same long-wear formula I needed. I know when I put on Infallible 8 HR gloss, that it will be there (usually over a matching lipstick) until I chose to reapply it. Please do not stop making this formula.

writer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Missing Shades
9/1/2016

Customer review by KimC47

4.0 stars 9/1/2016 by KimC47
by KimC47

Do you still make shade 808? It was the only one that worked for me. I can't seem to find it anywhere.

KimC47
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1/9/2016

Customer review by Tawana

4.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Tawana
by Tawana

I love this color! I usually only wear Mac Lipstick and lip liner because they wear so well, and I don't have to reapply. I must say this is a beautiful lip color and I don't need a lip liner with this gloss! I don't like the smell, but I love the color and finish which is totally worth ignoring the smell. I gave it 4 stars due to the smell. You do have to reapply opposed to lipstick and lip liner but that is to be expected when using lip gloss. I also tried adding lip liner and got a beautiful shade of a deeper red ... so it plays well with my Mac lip liners!

Tawana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding - This is how you put it on!!
3/2/2012

Customer review by ArtistPaula11

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by ArtistPaula11
by ArtistPaula11

This is the best on the market, but you have to know how to put it on. Put it on and LEAVE IT!! Don't lick your lips, don't rub your lips together, just LEAVE IT! It will last and last if you just leave it!! PERIOD!! So, if you're looking for something to apply and reapply and reapply, don't bother buying it. Again, this is the best lip gloss on the market and I hope they never, ever discontinue it. I'm 55 years old and I will never stop looking beautiful and I'll never stop using lip this!!

ArtistPaula11
Jasper,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So disappointed.....
12/14/2011

Customer review by Saltwater

1.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Saltwater
by Saltwater

I bought this gloss to replace the discontinued L'Oreal Glam Shine Gloss, thinking that this was the improved version. Boy was I wrong. Infallible is so sticky and has an awful repelling chemical flavor to it, whereas the Glam Shine had always been smooth andd flavorless. I use gloss everyday and I'm interested in having a gloss that I can use all day or night in great colors. I will not buy this product again, and I'm a thirty year customer of L'Oreal. I MISS GLAM SHINE!!!!! Bring it back!!!!

Saltwater
Would recommend to a friend? No
Could be better
12/18/2012

Customer review by Fair38

3.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Fair38
by Fair38

Colors are great, however, the lip applicator is a horrible design, it gives an unnatural feel to applying the gloss, doesn't go on your lips as well. You'll end up putting too much on, clumpy in the corners of your mouth or not enough, fades easily. I apply a lip primer before the gloss, not long after, my lips feel gross like there peeling, sticky and clumpy from this product. I tried a different lip applicator, PERFECT! Redesign this flaw and I’ll purchase again, but I won’t for now.

Fair38
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nothing Special
8/19/2011

Customer review by megs13049

2.0 stars 8/19/2011 by megs13049
by megs13049

I bought this lip gloss in Sunset because I wanted a coral colored lip gloss for day looks that would stay on. Personally, I LOVE the color, I have pale skin, light eyes and dark hair, which makes it hard for me to find colors that arn't too harsh and don't wash me out, Sunset was perfect! This lip gloss stays on well, but you won't get 6 hours by any means, I'd get 2.5 if I didn't talk a ton. This gloss was also VERY sticky. Overall, it was good enough, but I doubt I'll get it again.

megs13049
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best gloss I have tried
7/21/2010

Customer review by Shoebacca

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Shoebacca
by Shoebacca

I bought the Truffle colored lipgloss because I wanted a bronze colored gloss to last through a couple cups of coffee or drinks out on the town. I bought this product instead of the Plumping gloss b/c I liked this color better. It has a pearl sheen that you cannot detect online and the Plumping Brown has more of a gillter effect. I like the applicator, it makes defining your lips easy. It is a little sticky but I don't mind. Seems to last long enough for me, but not really 6 hours.

Shoebacca
Columbus,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One of the best products on the market
10/24/2012

Customer review by babansonia

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by babansonia
by babansonia

This product is completely underrated. I have been using it for years now and cannot go back to lipstick/gloss. This is highly pigmented, true to the color lipcolor. It only needs a good lipliner and the color stays solid and glossy without stickiness for truly the whole day. All of the shades are beautiful and catch the light to compliment the color you may be wearing. I love this product and cannot do without it. I have almost all the shades and buy more whenever I get a chance.

babansonia
Schaumburg,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sticky, Doesnt last, not worth buying!
2/10/2012

Customer review by KMahoney1102

1.0 stars 2/10/2012 by KMahoney1102
by KMahoney1102

This product is nothing like I thought it would be! The applicator brush is not the best shape, making it akward to use. The "gloss" itself is very sticky feeling. It doesnt last 8 hours like it says it does. Mine lasted about 2 hours, without eating or drinking. I cant imagine how it would last 8 hours if I were to eat and drink while wearing it! I would much rather wear another companies gloss, the one with color on one side and gloss on the other, It work SOOO much better!!!!

KMahoney1102
Would recommend to a friend? No
This isn't your Grandmother's lipgloss...LOVE IT!
1/27/2012

Customer review by evolet0680

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by evolet0680
by evolet0680

It's not like any other gloss i've tried. It's long lasting, sheer (I have it in suede) and shimmery...and the perfect nude color for my lips. I have ultra fair skin and dirty blonde/brown hair with dark brown eyes. I love this gloss because a) it stays on, b)it doesn't leave those gross clumpy gunkies on your lips like some long wearing colors, and c) it moisturizes the heck out of my lips. My other secret-- I use the nude color as an overnight lip softening treatment. LOVE IT!

evolet0680
Bakersfield,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad
10/28/2011

Customer review by Tawny6Beauty

3.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Tawny6Beauty
by Tawny6Beauty

Bought this on a whim and at first I wasn't wild about it. I thought it was sticky and drying. But I gave it another try and it isn't that bad. Cute applicator, glides on nice. I decided to try my favorite Lip Ointment as a base first and it's helped with the stickiness. I soak my lips with Ointment then blot and apply the Gloss. It doesn't last 6 hours but it gets me by most of the day. It has a slight sparkle and is very sheer which I like. It's gloss, so I can't expect much.

Tawny6Beauty
San Diego,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a fan
3/20/2012

Customer review by kaw620

1.0 stars 3/20/2012 by kaw620
by kaw620

I too was hoping for alternative to the discontinued Glam Shine, but this is very thick and sticky, where the Glam Shine was light and silky. It does seem to have more staying power than most glosses, but I can't get past not being able to rub my lips together without all the gluey feeling. I also noticed a slight smell, which normally wouldn't bother me, but I also experienced a weird tingly feeling too. Too bad, because the colors are so nice and the applicator is great.

kaw620
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
enough lasting power, but not too much
4/27/2011

Customer review by janie

4.0 stars 4/27/2011 by janie
by janie

compared to the super long lasting lip colors, this is not drying, and when it starts to wear off, you can press your lips togetehr to redistribute the color so you don't get that patchy look. it's easy to remove and re-apply. it lasts a few hours. I treat the rebel red like a sheer stain. if you put on just a small amount it looks like a berry stain. after the gloss wears away, there is a sheer wash of pink left behind. I wish this came in more sheer dark colors!

janie
seattle,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing
4/30/2010

Customer review by missfoxxxxxxx

1.0 stars 4/30/2010 by missfoxxxxxxx
by missfoxxxxxxx

I am very disappointed with this purchase and won't buy this type of lipgloss again. It smells great, kind of like cherries. I like the shape of the sponge applicator. It works better than a regular shaped sponge applicator as it gets into the angles, curves and points of my lips with more precision. It did last longer than 6 hours and did not feather. However, it is very sticky and gummy. If I took bubblegum and smeared it on my lips, that's what this looks like.

missfoxxxxxxx
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews