Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 41 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Best Trimmer Yet
4/6/2010

Customer review by InvoiceGal

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by InvoiceGal
by InvoiceGal

I have always used a gas trimmer and after having problems keeping my recent purchase of a (Weed Eater) running properly, I gave up and purchased the battery operated Black and Decker Grasshog. Let me just say "I love it". They couldn't make it any easier. Just pop in a charged battery and you are on your way to a nice trimmed lawn. I have a fenced in yard and I was able to do it all on 1 and a half batteries and that was with tall grass. You can't go wrong with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (85) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InvoiceGal
Wrightstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Beat All Expectations, Very Nice Product
4/21/2011

Customer review by JustANormalGuy

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by JustANormalGuy
by JustANormalGuy

I bought this just yesterday with some trepidation after reading bad reviews of these battery trimmers, but thought that if it didn't work for me, then it must be a piece of junk, which I was pleasantly surprised to find otherwise. We have a modest house on a quarter acre, and trimming is the driveway, walkway, around a planter in front, and all the way around the fenced in back yard. Not a ton, but I figured I'd be happy if the two batteries included were sufficient. Turns out they were more than. I charged both batteries for over 8 hours and didn't even use up one completely for the whole job, front and back. I must say I love the instant-on, no-mess electric deal without having to mess with an extension cord, and if I ever get any other Black and Decker 18V tools, I can use my batteries with them. This isn't the product for you if you've got a huge yard or are whacking through an acre of weeds, but for the normal middle-class house with average trimming needs, this is the perfect trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustANormalGuy
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good cut . . . Terrible Batteries
6/16/2010

Customer review by markthib

3.0 stars 6/16/2010 by markthib
by markthib

I've owned this product for one year. I use it on approx 4/10ths of an acre with a medium amount of trimming needed. I use it every other week. At first I made it through with having to change to the second battery just as I was finishing up. By the tenth use, I was using both batteries; and now, in my second year with less than 20 uses, I have to recharge the first battery after it runs out in order to finish after the second runs out. I've tried running them all the way down in order to get a full charge with only limited extra power. Be advised that this trimmer cuts quite well on full power and that longer lasting batteries are available at upwards of $70 a piece. This not just a B'n'D problem. I have purchased other 18 volt tools with similar results.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markthib
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
THE BEST TRIMMER I HAVE EVER OWNED
9/13/2010

Customer review by maxiesnana

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by maxiesnana
by maxiesnana

I have used this trimmer weekly and love it. I have always owned gas trimmers but this battery operated one is by far my #1 pick! Love it because it is so light weight. No yanking on a cord or primeing to get it to start. Does not make the annoying, blaring noise a gas one does and it has not fallen apart like the WEED EATER gas trimmer I bought last year and only used a few times!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maxiesnana
MAINE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Trimmer--Until Handle Snaps Off
4/19/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/19/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an excellent and fairly lightweight rechargeable trimmer/edger, as far as capability goes. But if you have a lot of sidewalk areas to edge, you will run out of power before you finish. I have bought two of these Grass Hog trimmers but will not be buying a third. The adjustable handle on the top side of the unit, where most people hold the trimmer with their left hand, is made of plastic. It is attached to the main trimmer shaft with a plastic sleeve, and can be adjusted/tightened with a plastic bolt. After using the trimmer for about one year, the plastic handle snapped off in my left hand on both trimmers, rendering it all but useless. The warranty already expired, so no recourse for me. Two hundred bucks down the drain in two years. Surely B&D has rec'd complaints about this design flaw. This handle, sleeve and bolt should be made from aluminum, not hard hollow plastic! So, I'm off to Wal-Mart for the third staraight summer to buy a trimmer. This time I'm going with a gas Poulon that has a sturdy aluminum/metal handle.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
JUNK!
6/16/2010

Customer review by DLH10

1.0 stars 6/16/2010 by DLH10
by DLH10

This trimmer is a total piece of junk! The batteries are it's weak point. You get 2 batteries and a charger that will charge one battery at a time and takes 8 hours to do so. Run time on a fully charged battery is about 10 to 15 minutes when used on very light weeds (nothing with a fiberous stalk).

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DLH10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Waste Your Money
12/13/2010

Customer review by Deb123456

1.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Deb123456
by Deb123456

You can't even tell when your battery is charged. The light stays the same color all the time. It didn't seem to matter how long I left the battery on the charger, after just a few times using the trimmer the batteries didn't take much of a charge. I could run through both batteries in about 20 minutes. I had the same problem with a Black and Decker dust mop. The battery just stopped charging after a few times of use, and then it wouldn't work at all. I will NEVER buy a Black and Decker product again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deb123456
Would recommend to a friend? No
works great
6/6/2010

Customer review by cyberfast

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by cyberfast
by cyberfast

this is a very good product. 1 acre property with lots of trees and a pond. (lots of trimming) i can do all the trimming with one battery. it is very lite. power is great cuts threw 3/4 inch stock weeds around the pond. you will be very happy with this product. also for those that say the battery don't last long you should read the instructions and full charge the battery before first use if you don't do that it damages the battery. i have many black & decker products and the battery's are all interchangeable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyberfast
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Light Weight Weedeater
5/4/2010

Customer review by ciaamy

5.0 stars 5/4/2010 by ciaamy
by ciaamy

The Black and Decker 18V battery operated Grosshog Trimmer & Edger is light weight and easy to handle. It has a protector cover that I really like. I have always been to scared to do the weedeating for fear of the weedeater-string hitting my legs. Glad I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ciaamy
Independence, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
works like a charm
4/16/2010

Customer review by texaslawngirl

5.0 stars 4/16/2010 by texaslawngirl
by texaslawngirl

Does everything it was advertised to do. Lightweight and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texaslawngirl
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Pleasant surprize!
6/14/2010

Customer review by Framster

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Framster
by Framster

I was a bit worried about this purchase but bought it anyway on a hunch. I'm glad I did. It works really well for my small front and back yard edging. For my needs the less-overpowering cutting works fine. One battery lasts for an entire cut now that my lawns are "trained" for this trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Framster
Queen Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Battery Life
5/24/2011

Customer review by Turbopilot

4.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Turbopilot
by Turbopilot

Only problem is a short run time. I have an average yard(front & back)and both batteries run down before the job's finished. I guess that's why two batteries are shipped with the unit. Otherwise, a great product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Turbopilot
Henrico, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
OK for small yard
5/22/2010

Customer review by RonInSI

2.0 stars 5/22/2010 by RonInSI
by RonInSI

Got this trimmer 2 years ago. Thought it would be a nice change from a gas trimmer. It has worked ok but has no where near the power of a gas trimmer. And the batteries don't hold up very long in mine. I will say the line feed has worked flawlessly, unlike some others I have had. If you have a really small yard, this trimmer is for you. But if you plan on trimming a yard with lots of landscaping, get a better one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RonInSI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Dosen't cut your weeds but cuts into free time.
8/19/2010

Customer review by Yardbirdtoo

1.0 stars 8/19/2010 by Yardbirdtoo
by Yardbirdtoo

If you have nothing better to do than sit at home and drink iced tea and watch your battery charge, then this is the product for you. Or maybe you are the type of person who only likes to work in time slots of forty five minutes or less then this product is for you because the battery life becomes drained quickly. And that is not even best part ladies and gentlemen The best part is that you need eight eight hours to fully charge your battery once it becomes drained. So if you plan on using a weed eater all day please stick to your carbon imprinting gas burning weed eater because this battery operated equipment is going to let you down.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yardbirdtoo
Marion
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just the thing for senior citizens
10/7/2010

Customer review by PatsPlot

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by PatsPlot
by PatsPlot

I have really enjoyed this Black and Decker Grasshog because it is not heavy and I just pull the trigger to start it. I would like to buy 6 for my children for Christmas but can't afford them but it is a nice thought. I would definitely buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatsPlot
Lee County, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good buy for quick jobs
6/24/2011

Customer review by jtournoux

4.0 stars 6/24/2011 by jtournoux
by jtournoux

This trimmer/edger is very easy to use but seems to lose power rather quickly. It comes with two rechargable batteries which are handy but take 8 hours to charge. It cuts well and is lightweight and also has a telescoping handle for easy use for anyone. A good item for quick trimming (for smaller yards).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtournoux
North Benton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product, easy to assemble and use!!
7/20/2011

Customer review by kstu28

4.0 stars 7/20/2011 by kstu28
by kstu28

Bought this because I was tired of repairing my gas powered trimmer. Assembly took was very simple and only took about 20min. Came with two batteries and charger. Works very good for normal trimming and edging needs, only downside is that the battery doesnt last long if you are using it in thick grass, but with a full charge it tackles just about any type of grass you need it to. I have alot of buildings and trees and fence lines on my property of about .75 acres. It takes about three full battery charges to do the whole yard, which isnt to bad, I start with two full charges and trim with the two and then mow the property, and after use a third charge to finish up. It is lightweight which is a big plus, and alot easier to use and maintain than a gas powered trimmer. The inital spool of line has lasted me over 6mo now and I use it almost weekly. A quality product from Black and Decker!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kstu28
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LOVE MACHINE, HATE BATTERIES.
6/2/2011

Customer review by beba50

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by beba50
by beba50

This trimmer is lady friendly. Light, easy to use. It takes us two days to trim though. The two batteries lasts around 15 minutes - "both". It takes 8 hours to charge them. We found two batteries and a charger on Ebay. Now we can trim all in one day. Foundation of house, walk, around garden, and 30' of fence line it takes all four batteries. But I like the trimmer other than that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beba50
Markleysburg, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Horrible batteries, expensive to replace!
5/13/2011

Customer review by WrestlingWife06

3.0 stars 5/13/2011 by WrestlingWife06
by WrestlingWife06

I have owned this trimmer for at least 3 years. As a woman, I found it difficult to start a gas trimmer and was thrilled with the B & D cordless trimmer. I use it for both trimming along fence lines and edging the sidewalk on my small property. Two fully charged batteries, even when brand new, do not have enough power to complete the job. I have purchased 2 replacement 18v batteries. At first, they are powerful, but by the end of the summer they are so weak, even with a full charge. At almost $50 per battery, this is not an economical choice. I love that the trimmer is lightweight and easy to start/use, but the lack of battery life is just laughable. I could not even trim and edge my tiny front yard last night using BOTH batteries. Guess I'm out another $100 to replace them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WrestlingWife06
Northern IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This Thing Stinks
7/12/2010

Customer review by johnnyboyc4

1.0 stars 7/12/2010 by johnnyboyc4
by johnnyboyc4

I bought this, got it home, and took the time to take turns charging up both the batteries all week before I used it. When the time came to actually put it into action, the thing wouldn't even make it around my front yard without the battery running out. I then changed the dead battery for the "Good" battery and it ran out in half the amount of time the first one took! I then put the first battery back on after pulling it off the charger again and it barely ran at all. This trimmer does not hold a charge AT ALL. I can't believe they sell pieces of junk like this. I will never buy another B&D product again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnnyboyc4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews