Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 230 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

230 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

230 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
46
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
46
1-20 of 210 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
Greatest thing since sliced bread
12/15/2009

Customer review by rogerradio

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by rogerradio
by rogerradio

I got off to a rocky start with this unit. Didn't work properly at first. Contacted customer support which was very helpful. I'm embarrassed to admit the problem was that I needed to update the driver which I should have checked myself. This is very easy to do by simply clicking update driver for this device. In XP you simple navigate to system(properties) from the control panel. Then click the Hardware tab > Device Manager. If you see an item(USB Internet Phone by TigerJet or something similar) with a yellow exclamation point, click it. Then click the Driver tab > Update Driver & let it do its thing (may take a minute or so). Then you can select telephone if desired by going to menu in the magicJack interface & selecting Volume/Headset Control & ticking Telephone which will then allow any modern phone plugged into the magicJack's phone jack to operate normally. Really easier than it might seem. What I REALLY love is that with a USB bluetooth adapter you can use a bluetooth headset just like you do with your cellphone. VERY COOL!

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rogerradio
The Buckeye State (GO BUCKS!)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/11/2011

Customer review by merriwidow

3.0 stars 7/11/2011 by merriwidow
by merriwidow

It was easy to instal, basicly just plug it in and it did the rest on its own. The reason for my low rating is because I physicly have to start it before it will work whenever the computer has idled out ( not done anything with the computer for a elapsed time period) and I have to start it when ever I do a log off, restart (whenever it does a restart in the middle of the night because of a upgrade, or shutdown. As this is my only home phone so need it working all the time, of course I understand that it wont work whenever the computer is off, but I dont really turn off my computer.( unless a upgrade decides to do it again.) Otherwise seems to work as advertised, though I had it hang up on the first call I made. As I dont use it often less than once a week I kind of have to put up with it. Though I would be happier if it would start itself back up for calls coming in, though again I have yet to have a call come in and have owned it over a month now.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
merriwidow
65542
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Home Phone almost?
1/2/2010

Customer review by weld387

4.0 stars 1/2/2010 by weld387
by weld387

Works at making calls. Need to figure out how too recieve them yet. Has to do with my firewall? If someone calls me it goes strait to message service. Messages can be checked on your email account. My PC is a quad core with 8 gigs of ram OS is Windows 7 64 bit. I run with Eset NOD 32 virus protection plus the firewall. Also have a router. This a great deal for a land line. The only exception to it. THE PC HAS TO BE ON FOR THE PHONE TO WORK. If you have it connected with a server type PC thats always on you should be good to go. Lets me make calls when at home, with out the worry of using up my minutes on my cell phone. I have clear connection and no problem with hearing the party I am talking with. It was basic, and strait forward with a plug and play setup. My Windows 7 found the drivers then I did the update after setting up the phone #. All in All a no brainer. Get it and enjoy something extra from your DSL line. I already have a internet connection. Now I am also enjoying a $20.00 a YEAR phone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weld387
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Always Working Properly
10/2/2009

Customer review by serenitysmom5

2.0 stars 10/2/2009 by serenitysmom5
by serenitysmom5

I bought and starting using the magic jack a couple of weeks ago. I honestly do not use it but maybe a couple of times a week because my cell is my main telephone. I've only used it maybe 8 times in the past 3 weeks and out of the 8 times I had trouble 2 times when dialing out. I would dial the number but couldn't here the line ringing. The person I was calling was receiving the call but I wasn't getting anything on my end. I would eventually hang up and when they would call me back the phone would ring, I'd answer, and the call went just fine. On one occasion we were disconnected during a conversation and I am not sure if it was the magic jack or not. For $40.00 and then just $20.00 dollars a year I guess you get what you pay for. The $20.00 a year will be worth it even if it only works half of the time especially when it comes to making long distant phone calls. I would recommend this product as long as you do not plan to use it as your main source of communication and definately wouldn't depend on it in an emergency type situation.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
serenitysmom5
Aberdeen, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Magic Jack
3/13/2010

Customer review by Planetmarrs

4.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Planetmarrs
by Planetmarrs

So far I've been happy with the magicjack. There are a few issues while using it, but I am willing to deal with them for the price of service. One issue is that my computer needs to be on for me to receive calls, but the upside to that is that my calls go to a voicemail which I can get later on my email or phone, or I can also forward my calls to my cell so I don't miss a call. The second issue is, that when I am on the phone, and someone on the computer starts to watch videos online, my phone starts to cut out. I just make sure to let my family know I am on the phone and to hold off on looking at videos online until I finish my phone call. For the amount of money I am saving a month, which is about $30, I make it work for me. Another good thing about it is that you can get on the magicjack homepage and talk with someone on instant chat any time and they help you deal with any problems you have. I would recommend it because of the savings, It is not perfect, but in my situation, it works for me. I really don't need a home phone, but it is nice to have so I don't use up my minutes on the cell phone. It all depends on your needs.

Was this review helpful? (291) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Planetmarrs
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
MagicJack for Overseas Calls
8/17/2009

Customer review by DoctorM

5.0 stars 8/17/2009 by DoctorM
by DoctorM

My wife called me here in Texas from the Philippines using MagicJack at a friend's house there. They have DSL, and the voice signal was clear and strong. They have a "Maryland"" US number assigned. It doesn't matter where the MajicJack is installed -- it could be anywhere in the world, so long as there is a good internet connection. The internet connection allows the calls to be virtual US to US calls. Since my wife normally spends $50 to $60 dollars a month calling "home" to the Philippines, the MagicJack can save her a lot of money - providing the receiver also has a computer, with MagicJack installed, and a good internet connection. Theoretically, if my wife's family had a MagicJack in the Philippines, with an Austin, TX phone number, we wouldn't even need a MagicJack in Austin Texas to call - it would be as if it was a local call. The downside in the Philipiines for MagicJack is getting a good broadband internet signal. It is much more expensive to have broadband internet service there.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorM
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No more regular phone! this is the best deal!
10/22/2009

Customer review by Ramart

4.0 stars 10/22/2009 by Ramart
by Ramart

I had Magic Jack for 3 months, then decided to cancel my regular phone service, I have Magic Jack only and it is fantastic. Practically free the first year, then you pay approx. 12.50 a year when you subscribed for 5 yrs. I love it! I just travelled overseas and took my Magic Jack with me, I had forwarded all the calls and when able, I connected Magic Jack to a computer and I got all my calls, if not I got an e-mail message with the recorded messages I had received when i was not in the Internet. The ONLY COST is you need FAST INTERNET, but it sure has paid off forme, I am enjoying fast internet and MAGIC JACK is the best, seldom do I have problems with noisy connection, it probably has to do with the weather, but it clears up in no time. I do not loose any calls, it is all recorded and if Magic Jack does not work for a few minutes a month, I can live with that. GET MAGIC JACK.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ramart
OCALA, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/2/2011

Customer review by lumbar45

1.0 stars 8/2/2011 by lumbar45
by lumbar45

i bought the mj so that i could drop my landline and still get good phone service through my internet,(which i was already paying for, so why pay twice?). BAD IDEA! No local numbers available to begin with, so my neighbors, friends, and family pay a long distance fee everytime they call me; Nothing but trouble when attempting to dial another phone; rarely even get a dial tone; if it actually dials the #, the quality is pathethic! Can barely hear the other party and they can barely hear me; in addition, the line makes loud crackling and popping noises into our ears and then goes blank for a few seconds. Forget customer service; it doesn't exist. Nothing is wrong with my computor, router, server, or brand new phones. It's the product, itself. I would return it,but the box and reciept went out into the trash before I tried out the mj, (which is where the Magic Jack is going). The only magic about this Magic Jack is if I ever could actually talk to someone while using it! I would never reccomend this product to anyone, except to a couple of people that I really dislike.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lumbar45
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
terrible echo
11/13/2009

Customer review by Aninspector

1.0 stars 11/13/2009 by Aninspector
by Aninspector

I was truly disappointed. From most reviews my expectations were high. Maybe the problem is with my computer, but I can't see how. The unit did work, made calls, the sound quality was good but there was an echo. I'm not talking about something faint, if you said "hello" the delay and volume was such that it sounds like your answering yourself. I tried all the things they listed to do on their FAQ (apparently I'm not the only one that had that problem) to no avail. Then I contacted their customer service (chat line- all they have.) I will say they really tried. After repeating the things I had already done they put me up to the supervisor level and he worked with me for quite a while checking and changing settings on my computer, removing and reinstalling MagicJack and even downloading some sort of fixit program. After all that I restarted the computer and still had exactly the same problem. I had used 2 different phones and called different numbers, so the problem had to be in the MagicJack. I spent about 2 hours with MagicJack customer service. That was enough. I returned it to Walmart. That's why I bought it there, I didn't want any hassles if it didn't work.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aninspector
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
saving money
6/13/2010

Customer review by meatncandy

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by meatncandy
by meatncandy

I have been using magicjack for the past couple days. Im happy with the product. I was using skype but the soft phone went bad so I decided to go this rout. So far no issues and no issues installing very basic.The only problem i have had is my baby loves to go pull it out of the computer... otherthan that its worth the money You do have to dial your area code first, which is hard to remember at first and I have to tweak my computer so it dosent go into sleep mode because your PC has to be on which is the only downfall from SKYPE With Skpe you dont have to have a PC on AT all which is nice. I also switched to straight talk(for cell service) Which I love and am paying half the price than when I was with verizon!!! all together I have saved us 60.00 a month!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meatncandy
cottonwood ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Money Saving Product
12/5/2009

Customer review by purplelizard

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by purplelizard
by purplelizard

The MagicJack is perfect for our family! Bye to monthly telephone bills, hello extra money in my pocket. One payment once a year (less than $25.00) and you have crystal clear phone service all year long! It's portable too. You can take it with you and plug it into another computer to use when you are not at home. It never interferes with your computer usage. You can talk on the phone and surf the net at the same time. You even have voice mail. MagicJack sends you an e-mail to let you know if you've missed a call and you can play the message back with the click of your mouse. This is one of the best purchasing decisions I've made all year!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
purplelizard
Denton, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Happy With MagicJack
5/9/2011

Customer review by repoprimo

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by repoprimo
by repoprimo

I was looking for a dedicated line, for incoming calls which was portable, without having to become involved with major telephone companies, or with cell phones. When I hooked up the system, it was very easy but takes a little patience, for the software download and the steps of registering the unit is completed. However, once the set up completion screen is seen and you are assigned your new phone number, It has been great!!!! Very low static, very functional for what I needed it for... In regards to negative feedback, none here.. For those who are complaining, I am sorry you are experiencing the issues, but you might want to take a more patient approach to the MagicJack, I believe you may change your minds about your perceptions on it.. If Not: Then Just Remember, you Spent 40.00 buck to buy it, and it costs only 19.95 to keep it going.. The phone companies charge more than 65.00. to set in a new line.. Cheers!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
repoprimo
Riverside, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saving $304 a year from Vonage
8/23/2009

Customer review by PaullyFi

5.0 stars 8/23/2009 by PaullyFi
by PaullyFi
Walmart associate

Switched to Vonage 3 years ago and saved 50% off my regular phone bill.. Now with Magicjack i saved and additional $304. Went from $600 a year for home phone, to $324 with Vonage and Now $19.95 a year!. Just plugged it into the back of my Mac. It installed the software, i registered (3 minutes) and plugged in my phone. Made a call and DONE! Quick simple and easy. It really is that cheap, simple and easy to to do!

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaullyFi
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
BetterThanFromInventor
1/8/2010

Customer review by Guss8

4.0 stars 1/8/2010 by Guss8
by Guss8

We own magic jack before. However, due to poor, to no customer support, we were unable to renew our license through magic jack. Dealing with a retailer like Walmart, We don't have those concerns. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guss8
American Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Junk
9/7/2009

Customer review by GeauxLSU1

1.0 stars 9/7/2009 by GeauxLSU1
by GeauxLSU1

I hooked up Magic Jack to my computer and installation was quick and easy as they advertise. They do not offer at this point to change your previous phone number over which was something that I was hoping for since we've had or same number for thirteen years. None of the area codes offered matched my area, but that's not that big of a deal. My problem with Magic Jack is I can call out just fine, but I cannot receive calls. If I dial my number from any phone landline or cell it says the number is not in service. I spent all day on the computer chat tech support (they don't have a number you can actually talk to someone) and got no where. I taking this off my computer and trying to find another way to lower my phone bill. This was a waste of $40.00 for me.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeauxLSU1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't Beat It For The Price!!
2/21/2011

Customer review by Jennlfer

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Jennlfer
by Jennlfer

I bought the magicjack a few years back. I LOVE IT!! It seems to have issues with random silent pauses every now and again. It also sometimes echos, but its pretty rare. It breaks up if you are using up to much bandwidth through the internet. HOWEVER, I can send and receive calls all day long with no real issues that can't be easily fixed. I am writing an honest review not complaining. So for those who are considering buying this or have discontinued service I say it's $20 a YEAR! For that price you'll survive the little cliches it has.

Was this review helpful? (162) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jennlfer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everyone should have this.
8/3/2009

Customer review by HeeeeyJohnny

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by HeeeeyJohnny
by HeeeeyJohnny

We've all seen the commercials, but does it really work? The answer is yes. It works great. Simply plug the magicjack into an available usb port and follow the onscreen instructions and you are up and running in no time. I was even able to choose a local number so when people call me (who don't have a magicjack) it won't be a long distance phone call. All you need is a broadband connection and for only $19.95 a year I will never have a land line again. Buy this and make your last payment to the phone company.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeeeeyJohnny
Elkhart, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I should have purchased this a long time ago !!
10/1/2011

Customer review by mslhsmith

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by mslhsmith
by mslhsmith

I switched to the Magic Jack because I was tired of paying companies $30 - $50 per month for home phone service. Like most people nowadays I rarely use a house phone. I've been hearing about the Magic Jack for years, knew someone with it I was just reluctant to try but now that I have I wish I would have a long time ago. For $40 I really can't complain. Some people I speak to I am unable hear them clearly or they complain of static in the line but that only happens with the same 2 people. For the most part majority of my calls are clear. I am able to see the id for everyone that calls. Store numbers into memory, receive voice mail and call waiting. Two things I should mention is that it doesn't allow you to make 3 way calls and I haven't figured out how to use it when my computer is not on. So therefore if I shut the computer down the phone service will be down as well but neither of those things bother me. There is a way to use it when the computer is shut down i just have yet to figure it out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mslhsmith
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected!
12/4/2010

Customer review by tandi88

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by tandi88
by tandi88

After reading the reviews, I had very mixed feelings about the Magic Jack. I was skeptical that something like this would work. Especially after seeing the negative reviews. My frugal-ness (if that's a word) won out though and I thought I would give it a try. I was tired of paying so much a month to have a phone line that we very rarely use. Not only was I skeptical, but after going to the Magic Jack website and checking out all of the FAQ's, I was very doubtful that it would work for my fax machine. Just an occasional fax is really all I was asking for. My package came, I plugged the jack into one of the USB ports on our desktop and it started installing the software. It told me step by step how to proceed. It was very simple. I then plugged in my phone line to other end and tried my first call. I couldn't believe it! It sounded just like I was used to from my other phone service. So, after I played around with it for a bit, I decided to go for the gold and plug in my fax machine to see if that would work. Guess what? It did! No problems whatsoever! I am absolutely won over! What a huge savings this is going to be. I left my other phone service connected for about a week after installing the Magic Jack, just to be absolutely sure that it was going to continue to perform as I had first experienced. I haven't been disappointed yet. I will say that the only semi-negative that I have noticed is occasionally while on a call, the voice of the person on the other end will sound like a cd that has a scratch on it. It will drag and skip for a short period of time but then it's fine. I'm sure this has something to do with net congestion or speed. We have DSL at a speed of 7 mbps , which is pretty standard. We have several wireless devices that are constantly running and an xbox that stays connected. Even while all of this is going on, the phone connection is good. All in all, the Magic Jack exceeded my expectations and I am so glad that I didn't let the negative reviews keep me from following my instinct and giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? (231) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tandi88
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6 years for $100!!!
8/18/2009

Customer review by ComputerEze

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by ComputerEze
by ComputerEze

MagicJack is a great product. I already have high speed internet and now with this product I do not pay long distance anymore. It works great. There have been a few issues but for $100 for 6 years what do you expect? It has worked so well for me that I cancelled my landline. You can use the product to dial 911 but you need power, a working computer and working high speed internet to do so. In this case I do recommend a cellphone for backup just in case. Buy this product. You can save over $400 a year compared to a landline!

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerEze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews