Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 230 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

230 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

230 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
46
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
46
1-20 of 210 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
Magic Jack
3/13/2010

Customer review by Planetmarrs

4.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Planetmarrs
by Planetmarrs

So far I've been happy with the magicjack. There are a few issues while using it, but I am willing to deal with them for the price of service. One issue is that my computer needs to be on for me to receive calls, but the upside to that is that my calls go to a voicemail which I can get later on my email or phone, or I can also forward my calls to my cell so I don't miss a call. The second issue is, that when I am on the phone, and someone on the computer starts to watch videos online, my phone starts to cut out. I just make sure to let my family know I am on the phone and to hold off on looking at videos online until I finish my phone call. For the amount of money I am saving a month, which is about $30, I make it work for me. Another good thing about it is that you can get on the magicjack homepage and talk with someone on instant chat any time and they help you deal with any problems you have. I would recommend it because of the savings, It is not perfect, but in my situation, it works for me. I really don't need a home phone, but it is nice to have so I don't use up my minutes on the cell phone. It all depends on your needs.

Was this review helpful? (291) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Planetmarrs
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Saving money so I can live better
8/25/2010

Customer review by NBWallyGuy

4.0 stars 8/25/2010 by NBWallyGuy
by NBWallyGuy

Goodbye cable digital phone, Magic Jack is here! I admit, i was not too sure of this device but decided to give it a try and i am glad I did. This device is great and I will be saving $42ish each month now that I have turned off my "real" phone today. I have been using Magic Jack for a little over a month now and during that month i had my "real" phone forwarded to my Magic Jack number so I have been taking and making calls the entire time with Majic Jack and my daughter was home from college during the time so Magic Jack really had a work out (when she was born I could not wait for her to start talking, now I can't get her to shut up!) Here are some notes/observations: 1. I am using a e-Machines desktop with 2 gig of RAM and Windows Vista Home OS. Not a fast/powerful PC by any defination but Magic Jack works fine with it. 2. I have found that if I restart my PC that I also have to unplug and then plug in the USB dongle to get Magic Jack to also restart. Not a big issue since I do not restart my PC often. 3. I am using a cordless phone with two additional wireless extensions with Magic Jack. The volume is cut almost in half when using the cordless phone vs. using a simple single corded phone. This was resolved to a point by using a powered USB hub for/with the USB dongle. I live with this issue due to the monthly savings to my budget. 4. I called my local police dept. on their non-emergency number and arranged to call their 911 number with Magic Jack, the test worked well so 911 does work with Magic Jack. The police had my address and phone number info on their system. 5. When registering my Magic Jack I had to choose from a short list of cities in my area. My city was NOT on the list so I selected one that I knew was in my local area code (830). This does not appear to be an issue as I still was assigned a local phone number for my city. 6. I have to include the area code when making a local call. Folks calling me do not have to include the local area code when calling me. 7. There is a lot of discussion on the web about not turning off your main phone number when using Magic Jack due to issues with power and/or internet. I choose to turn off my "real" digital cable phone number since I am already exposed to those problems ie: my digital phone service relies on the cable/internet for service and since my digital phone service relies on a modem that in turn relies on local power to work i have already been taking the same chances with my digital phone service as I will be taking with Magic Jack. (granted my cable/phone modem has a battery backup but that only lasts about one hour so big deal). If my PC fails I can simply unplug the Magic Jack dongle from my PC and plug it into my son's PC as a backup. FYI: I do not have cell phone service. 8. Magic Jack will work with VRU"s (where you select options using your number key on the phone). 8. DON'T download extry utilities from the web to enhance Magic Jack functions. I did this once and lost control of my PC! I was able to recover using Fail Safe Recovery. 9. I am using a 15' USB extension cord from Magic Jack to my cordless phone. (phone and PC are on opposite sides of the room). The volume was still the same for both corded and cordless phones. 10. Magic Jack has its own "answering machine" system which is great in that messages are saved for you to hear via the Magic Jack software AND you can have Magic Jack send you an email with the recorded message included in the email. Simply click on the audio link on the email and listen to the recorded message. How cool is that! Thats' it. Get Magic Jack, you and your wallet will love it!

Was this review helpful? (485) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NBWallyGuy
New Braunfels, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Better than I expected!
12/4/2010

Customer review by tandi88

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by tandi88
by tandi88

After reading the reviews, I had very mixed feelings about the Magic Jack. I was skeptical that something like this would work. Especially after seeing the negative reviews. My frugal-ness (if that's a word) won out though and I thought I would give it a try. I was tired of paying so much a month to have a phone line that we very rarely use. Not only was I skeptical, but after going to the Magic Jack website and checking out all of the FAQ's, I was very doubtful that it would work for my fax machine. Just an occasional fax is really all I was asking for. My package came, I plugged the jack into one of the USB ports on our desktop and it started installing the software. It told me step by step how to proceed. It was very simple. I then plugged in my phone line to other end and tried my first call. I couldn't believe it! It sounded just like I was used to from my other phone service. So, after I played around with it for a bit, I decided to go for the gold and plug in my fax machine to see if that would work. Guess what? It did! No problems whatsoever! I am absolutely won over! What a huge savings this is going to be. I left my other phone service connected for about a week after installing the Magic Jack, just to be absolutely sure that it was going to continue to perform as I had first experienced. I haven't been disappointed yet. I will say that the only semi-negative that I have noticed is occasionally while on a call, the voice of the person on the other end will sound like a cd that has a scratch on it. It will drag and skip for a short period of time but then it's fine. I'm sure this has something to do with net congestion or speed. We have DSL at a speed of 7 mbps , which is pretty standard. We have several wireless devices that are constantly running and an xbox that stays connected. Even while all of this is going on, the phone connection is good. All in all, the Magic Jack exceeded my expectations and I am so glad that I didn't let the negative reviews keep me from following my instinct and giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? (231) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tandi88
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't Beat It For The Price!!
2/21/2011

Customer review by Jennlfer

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Jennlfer
by Jennlfer

I bought the magicjack a few years back. I LOVE IT!! It seems to have issues with random silent pauses every now and again. It also sometimes echos, but its pretty rare. It breaks up if you are using up to much bandwidth through the internet. HOWEVER, I can send and receive calls all day long with no real issues that can't be easily fixed. I am writing an honest review not complaining. So for those who are considering buying this or have discontinued service I say it's $20 a YEAR! For that price you'll survive the little cliches it has.

Was this review helpful? (162) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jennlfer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saving $304 a year from Vonage
8/23/2009

Customer review by PaullyFi

5.0 stars 8/23/2009 by PaullyFi
by PaullyFi

Switched to Vonage 3 years ago and saved 50% off my regular phone bill.. Now with Magicjack i saved and additional $304. Went from $600 a year for home phone, to $324 with Vonage and Now $19.95 a year!. Just plugged it into the back of my Mac. It installed the software, i registered (3 minutes) and plugged in my phone. Made a call and DONE! Quick simple and easy. It really is that cheap, simple and easy to to do!

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaullyFi
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Everyone should have this.
8/3/2009

Customer review by HeeeeyJohnny

5.0 stars 8/3/2009 by HeeeeyJohnny
by HeeeeyJohnny

We've all seen the commercials, but does it really work? The answer is yes. It works great. Simply plug the magicjack into an available usb port and follow the onscreen instructions and you are up and running in no time. I was even able to choose a local number so when people call me (who don't have a magicjack) it won't be a long distance phone call. All you need is a broadband connection and for only $19.95 a year I will never have a land line again. Buy this and make your last payment to the phone company.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeeeeyJohnny
Elkhart, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BetterThanFromInventor
1/8/2010

Customer review by Guss8

4.0 stars 1/8/2010 by Guss8
by Guss8

We own magic jack before. However, due to poor, to no customer support, we were unable to renew our license through magic jack. Dealing with a retailer like Walmart, We don't have those concerns. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guss8
American Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Greatest thing since sliced bread
12/15/2009

Customer review by rogerradio

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by rogerradio
by rogerradio

I got off to a rocky start with this unit. Didn't work properly at first. Contacted customer support which was very helpful. I'm embarrassed to admit the problem was that I needed to update the driver which I should have checked myself. This is very easy to do by simply clicking update driver for this device. In XP you simple navigate to system(properties) from the control panel. Then click the Hardware tab > Device Manager. If you see an item(USB Internet Phone by TigerJet or something similar) with a yellow exclamation point, click it. Then click the Driver tab > Update Driver & let it do its thing (may take a minute or so). Then you can select telephone if desired by going to menu in the magicJack interface & selecting Volume/Headset Control & ticking Telephone which will then allow any modern phone plugged into the magicJack's phone jack to operate normally. Really easier than it might seem. What I REALLY love is that with a USB bluetooth adapter you can use a bluetooth headset just like you do with your cellphone. VERY COOL!

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rogerradio
The Buckeye State (GO BUCKS!)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
10/27/2009

Customer review by Bryeguy

4.0 stars 10/27/2009 by Bryeguy
by Bryeguy

This product is awesome! It does require a little bit of bandwidth. I am in Iraq, and sometimes the connection is slow, so the phone doesn't work the best. But it is awqesome when the connection is good. I find that it needs about 12 mb/s to work well!

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bryeguy
Iraq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great Money Saving Product
12/5/2009

Customer review by purplelizard

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by purplelizard
by purplelizard

The MagicJack is perfect for our family! Bye to monthly telephone bills, hello extra money in my pocket. One payment once a year (less than $25.00) and you have crystal clear phone service all year long! It's portable too. You can take it with you and plug it into another computer to use when you are not at home. It never interferes with your computer usage. You can talk on the phone and surf the net at the same time. You even have voice mail. MagicJack sends you an e-mail to let you know if you've missed a call and you can play the message back with the click of your mouse. This is one of the best purchasing decisions I've made all year!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
purplelizard
Denton, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
magic joke
8/4/2009

Customer review by missmyhomephone

1.0 stars 8/4/2009 by missmyhomephone
by missmyhomephone

this product is only good for a few months. mine died and when i asked tech support all they would do is tell me its working fine. i asked if the unit is bad and if they could send me a new one they said sure send us $19.95 and pay for another year of service we will send you another one. they dont stand behind their product. KEEP YOUR HOME PHONE

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missmyhomephone
beaver county, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6 years for $100!!!
8/18/2009

Customer review by ComputerEze

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by ComputerEze
by ComputerEze

MagicJack is a great product. I already have high speed internet and now with this product I do not pay long distance anymore. It works great. There have been a few issues but for $100 for 6 years what do you expect? It has worked so well for me that I cancelled my landline. You can use the product to dial 911 but you need power, a working computer and working high speed internet to do so. In this case I do recommend a cellphone for backup just in case. Buy this product. You can save over $400 a year compared to a landline!

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerEze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
saving money
6/13/2010

Customer review by meatncandy

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by meatncandy
by meatncandy

I have been using magicjack for the past couple days. Im happy with the product. I was using skype but the soft phone went bad so I decided to go this rout. So far no issues and no issues installing very basic.The only problem i have had is my baby loves to go pull it out of the computer... otherthan that its worth the money You do have to dial your area code first, which is hard to remember at first and I have to tweak my computer so it dosent go into sleep mode because your PC has to be on which is the only downfall from SKYPE With Skpe you dont have to have a PC on AT all which is nice. I also switched to straight talk(for cell service) Which I love and am paying half the price than when I was with verizon!!! all together I have saved us 60.00 a month!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meatncandy
cottonwood ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
terrible echo
11/13/2009

Customer review by Aninspector

1.0 stars 11/13/2009 by Aninspector
by Aninspector

I was truly disappointed. From most reviews my expectations were high. Maybe the problem is with my computer, but I can't see how. The unit did work, made calls, the sound quality was good but there was an echo. I'm not talking about something faint, if you said "hello" the delay and volume was such that it sounds like your answering yourself. I tried all the things they listed to do on their FAQ (apparently I'm not the only one that had that problem) to no avail. Then I contacted their customer service (chat line- all they have.) I will say they really tried. After repeating the things I had already done they put me up to the supervisor level and he worked with me for quite a while checking and changing settings on my computer, removing and reinstalling MagicJack and even downloading some sort of fixit program. After all that I restarted the computer and still had exactly the same problem. I had used 2 different phones and called different numbers, so the problem had to be in the MagicJack. I spent about 2 hours with MagicJack customer service. That was enough. I returned it to Walmart. That's why I bought it there, I didn't want any hassles if it didn't work.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aninspector
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Not Always Working Properly
10/2/2009

Customer review by serenitysmom5

2.0 stars 10/2/2009 by serenitysmom5
by serenitysmom5

I bought and starting using the magic jack a couple of weeks ago. I honestly do not use it but maybe a couple of times a week because my cell is my main telephone. I've only used it maybe 8 times in the past 3 weeks and out of the 8 times I had trouble 2 times when dialing out. I would dial the number but couldn't here the line ringing. The person I was calling was receiving the call but I wasn't getting anything on my end. I would eventually hang up and when they would call me back the phone would ring, I'd answer, and the call went just fine. On one occasion we were disconnected during a conversation and I am not sure if it was the magic jack or not. For $40.00 and then just $20.00 dollars a year I guess you get what you pay for. The $20.00 a year will be worth it even if it only works half of the time especially when it comes to making long distant phone calls. I would recommend this product as long as you do not plan to use it as your main source of communication and definately wouldn't depend on it in an emergency type situation.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
serenitysmom5
Aberdeen, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
best product ever
5/14/2010

Customer review by imafish71

5.0 stars 5/14/2010 by imafish71
by imafish71

I think this is the best product ever invented. I works perfectly for us over here in Iraq saving us in the military a bunch of money and making it so much easier to kepp in contact with our families back home. I think this product is going to put cell phone companies out of business.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imafish71
Taji Iraq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MAGIC JUNK!
6/16/2011

Customer review by brent1355

1.0 stars 6/16/2011 by brent1355
by brent1355

This thing is not at all what they claim. sometimes people on the other end cant hear you, also ehco echo echo, then after a couple of weeks the unit went bad, none of my three computers would not boot up if it was plugged in, there support staff is terrible, they dont listen to what you have to say, they just keep telling you its your computer settings, why was it working one minute, then locked up all three computers, then wanted to charge me 21.00 for another one, DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brent1355
Salt Lake City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
piece of junk
7/1/2011

Customer review by snowman89

1.0 stars 7/1/2011 by snowman89
by snowman89

could not hear the other person on the line very well

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowman89
Decatur, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
horrible
7/1/2011

Customer review by Floridabeagle

1.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Floridabeagle
by Floridabeagle

i have had this for 2 years and have had times where it worked fantastic, no problems, great reception and times where the person we are speaking to says we sound very choppy and it's cutting out. recently it has been so bad, that i have given up. my internet speeds are fantastic, and our cable provider offered a triple play which lowered our rates and added phone service. their phone service sounds perfectly fine on both ends of the call. magicjack which is still plugged in is horrendous. i am finished with it and keeping my computer on all the time. when our year is up with our cable provider, we will decide at that point what to do, but i can say without a doubt, magicjack will never be used in our home again.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Floridabeagle
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the worst
8/23/2011

Customer review by sandranikkol

1.0 stars 8/23/2011 by sandranikkol
by sandranikkol

magic jack is not as advertised. the minutes are not unlimited, if you talk more than they proceed as excessive they will shut it off without any refund or notice, and will not turn it back on.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sandranikkol
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews