Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

70 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

70 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
5
1-20 of 59 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Ok, but you can do much better
4/20/2008

Customer review by DocDiTTo

3.0 stars 4/20/2008 by DocDiTTo
by DocDiTTo

As a geocacher, I've owned a number of GPS units including the Legend. The Legend was (and is) a decent unit but it uses old technology that doesn't hold a signal well under tree cover. Newer Garmin units (like those in the eTrex H series) offer a color screen, more memory, better battery life, and much better signal reception than old models like this one. If you want a Legend, get one with the High Sensitivity chip (aka the H series) so you won't lose signal in the woods where you need it most. This model's glory days are gone, and it's really ready to be retired. Garmin should just drop the old eTrex line completely and focus on the newer eTrex H series. Spend a few dollars more and you'll wind up much more satisfied with a GPS that won't let you down.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocDiTTo
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
DO NOT BUY
8/5/2008

Customer review by Fallin

1.0 stars 8/5/2008 by Fallin
by Fallin

I used my GPS for geocaching and it could not get me anywhere. It cant get a signal and takes forever. But the GPSMAP 60Cx its better and will get you where you want. This thing is a pice of junk!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fallin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
8/16/2007

Customer review by nrums

5.0 stars 8/16/2007 by nrums
by nrums

I was very impressed with the GPS that we received. It is everything that we expected it to be and it was priced cheaper than other electronic stores.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nrums
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good All around beginners GPS
12/7/2007

Customer review by rdjennin

5.0 stars 12/7/2007 by rdjennin
by rdjennin

Great, I use this product for pretty much everything, from being on the road, to figuring out acreage of property sizes, to hunting usage. This product was exactly all that I was looking for. It has major roads, works great, if you are new to GPSs then this is the GPS to buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rdjennin
Camden, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great GPS
11/30/2007

Customer review by Gooster

5.0 stars 11/30/2007 by Gooster
by Gooster

I purchased this GPS for hunting purposes and have found that it is very easy to operate right out of the box. I would highly recommend this GPS. I did a lot of checking on all the top name brands and the legend met all my needs for the money. After taking it on many day elk hunts here in the thick timber of Washington State, I was always able to receive satelite signal. Thank you Garmin and Wal-mart for an awesome product and price!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gooster
Cougar, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good starter GPS
1/14/2008

Customer review by IFISHAZ

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by IFISHAZ
by IFISHAZ

Bought for my son for his birthday. Good starter unit that has ok basemap and the ability to add more maps. Computer connecting cable should be upgraded by manufacturer to a usb data cable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IFISHAZ
Buckeye, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
7/6/2007

Customer review by Crazboutshopping

2.0 stars 7/6/2007 by Crazboutshopping
by Crazboutshopping

This product did not do enough for what I paid. Maps that can be downloaded for specific areas should be more accessible. I didn't really need many of the maps that were available and the cd available didn't provide the area details that I needed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crazboutshopping
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
whatch out for this GPS unit
11/7/2007

Customer review by NotThisOne

2.0 stars 11/7/2007 by NotThisOne
by NotThisOne

This GPS unit is slow to react to changes in position - it has a low contrast screen with small icons and letters and is thus hard to read - it also has a very large number of options and settings making a real pain to use. The star ratings aren't working but the product would get at best average to fair ratings ( 2 or 3 stars) - I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotThisOne
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A Good Guide
9/17/2007

Customer review by HuntingGuideAndFishing

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by HuntingGuideAndFishing
by HuntingGuideAndFishing

The price was right but the adapter to download map CD's is to old to use on today's computers. I had to purchase a $35.00 additional adapter and this still has not worked. I love the GPS but the package deal is not a deal when the computer adapter is so old.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HuntingGuideAndFishing
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
fun & useful
12/24/2007

Customer review by biggiver

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by biggiver
by biggiver

great value, easy to use,

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biggiver
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Entry Level GPS
12/24/2007

Customer review by moonbrother

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by moonbrother
by moonbrother

I purchased this GPS about 5 years ago. My wife and I are avid backpackers and this unit has not failed us. Occasional deep, heavily treed canyons have made signal reception sporadic, but the unit picked it back up pretty quick. The Topo maps are accurate and detailed and are easy to download to the unit. The adapter cable is designed for com plugs, so you'll need an adapter for USB ($20 or so from W*M). The only adjustment necessary is to assign the adapter a com # through the Device manager to less than 10 and it works fine. Many features for a basic GPS... anything above this is not much more than showing off, in my opinion. Color and touch screen aren't necessary when you're 10 miles into the brush. I have dropped, dunked, frozen, baked, and generally taken this unit everywhere, and it has proven itself very reliable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moonbrother
Used in CA, NM, CO, WY, ID, UT...
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Speedometer
9/28/2007

Customer review by FullTimeRVing

5.0 stars 9/28/2007 by FullTimeRVing
by FullTimeRVing

The speedometer in my truck quit working and I got this to use to watch my speed while going round and round with GM over who is going to pay to fix the problem in the truck! We made a total of three trips between Boise, ID and Brenda, AZ using this little GPS. Even using the backlight at night the batteries lasted for well over the 14 hour drive each way. All the data that the Trip Computer stores is very handy. I have used Garmin products in the past and have always found them to be very reliable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FullTimeRVing
Boise, ID (summer) Brenda, AZ (winter)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It performs exactly as I expected!
9/28/2007

Customer review by MtnTracker

5.0 stars 9/28/2007 by MtnTracker
by MtnTracker

If you're going from the standard E-Trex to the Legend, and not looking to spend a small fortune but would like knowing the surrounding streets and roads WITHOUT buying anything additional, Then this might be what you'd like. I live in the mountains and these roads are all dirt roads and I was able to zoom out and it showed the road names. There are many useful features also and too many to list. Just read the specs and if it sounds like something you need, then go for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MtnTracker
San Luis Valley, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
9/28/2007

Customer review by fastforty

5.0 stars 9/28/2007 by fastforty
by fastforty

This is an excellent product with an even better online price. There are better GPS devices (that cost 2-3 times as much), but this one will do everything that most people need it to do. Easy hookup to home computer for lightening fast batch transfers of waypoint coordinates.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fastforty
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good product
10/1/2007

Customer review by cedarcreekfarm

5.0 stars 10/1/2007 by cedarcreekfarm
by cedarcreekfarm

Very useful product. Recently used in Rocky mountains checking elevation and tracking path while riding ATV's on trails. Unit worked great. Also used at farm to determine acreage. Unit is fantastic for this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cedarcreekfarm
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just what I wanted
10/2/2007

Customer review by gunnyN

5.0 stars 10/2/2007 by gunnyN
by gunnyN

I have used the eTrex before and knew just what I was buying before I purchased it. This little handheld GPS is perfect for hunting and fishing. It is quite accurate and easy to use. The thing people have to remember is the navigation page shows what direction you are going, it is not a compass. The only downfall I found is you have to buy the topo mapping and lakes and then try to load them in. I just wish it came with that instead of the road maps currently loaded.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gunnyN
Northeast MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does everything I need it to do!
12/26/2007

Customer review by Montanaman

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by Montanaman
by Montanaman

This is a great Garmin product. It picks up the satelites fast and is incredibly accurate. The buttons are in great locations for easy use. If you like getting way out into the high country, you will now be able to navigate and know exactly where you are all the time; great for 4-wheeling and rafting. Montanaman

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Montanaman
Bozeman, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
10/11/2007

Customer review by sedevacante

5.0 stars 10/11/2007 by sedevacante
by sedevacante

My husband uses it for hunting large pieces of public hunting land - and it gets him back to his car everytime. Of course he still brings a compass just in case - but the Garmin has come through everytime so far - and he likes the fact that you can download topo maps of the area you plan to hunt or scout.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sedevacante
Park Falls, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
1/13/2009

Customer review by PairOfBeagles

5.0 stars 1/13/2009 by PairOfBeagles
by PairOfBeagles

The Legend is very lightweight and user friendly. It is great for hiking or hunting and has been very easy to learn to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PairOfBeagles
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
best product ever
1/13/2009

Customer review by forcefulbull

5.0 stars 1/13/2009 by forcefulbull
by forcefulbull

HELPED ME FIND MY WAY TO HEAVEN QUICK EVERYONE GO TO THE GRAND CANYON at 130 degrees north and 120 degrees west! TO HEAVEN! very durable product as well. like it alot. i like heaven.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
forcefulbull
HEAVEN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews