Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 29 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Very Nice for the Money
12/1/2009

Customer review by Buffy28

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by Buffy28
by Buffy28

I think that this telescope is an excellent value for the money. We purchased it for our 5 year old, and we chose this one for several reasons - I was concerned with other telescopes that they could be easily bumped and moved from what was being looked at, but this telescope "locks in" with the turn of a knob. It is fairly light (I would trust my 5 year old to carry it), and it is easy to focus. Other telescopes in this price range were all on tall easels, and were junky - all made of plastic and wobbly. This telescope gave us the portability and ease of use for a child, and great value for the money that we were looking for.

Was this review helpful? (62) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buffy28
Bedford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great telescop
12/18/2009

Customer review by Eleanor2

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by Eleanor2
by Eleanor2

I bought this for my grandson as a beginner telescope. I have two telescopes that I used and decided to try this one out before I sent it to my grandson. I love it, it's portable, I can take it with me when I go somewhere and I'm getting one for myself. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eleanor2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value!
1/7/2010

Customer review by SORmom

4.0 stars 1/7/2010 by SORmom
by SORmom

This product was purchased as Christmas gift for my 8 year old son. My husband seems more impressed than my son, but both are enjoying it. We've seen creators on the moon and lots of stars. I think we've managed to locate a nebula, but it just looks like a glowing mass at this point. We bought this telescope after reading a very helpful review on Amazon.com from someone who knows more about telescopes than I. He recommends buying a Barlow and better eye pieces - "celestron plossl: the 15mm first, then try something in the 4, 6 or 9mm range." We have not done this, but when it gets warmer, we certainly will. He also did not recommend the accessory kit, but we have found that it is very hard to locate specific items in the sky and I think the spotting scope from the accessory kit would help with this; we are also going to try that in warmer weather. Overall, we are pleased with the purchase and for the price, you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SORmom
Kingston, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great gift
10/1/2010

Customer review by scbasteve

5.0 stars 10/1/2010 by scbasteve
by scbasteve

My daughter is 8. This is the best way to start out for her age, for any age really. The price cant be beat for the quality of the product. I was impressed with how well you can see moon craters and stars for the cost of this and size. Awesome starter

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scbasteve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
grandson loved this
5/7/2010

Customer review by okiedokie06

5.0 stars 5/7/2010 by okiedokie06
by okiedokie06

I bought this telescope for my 7 year old grandson. It was a great buy and my grandson loved it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okiedokie06
quinlan, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/11/2010

Customer review by BigSea

4.0 stars 1/11/2010 by BigSea
by BigSea

I brought this as a present for my 13 year old daughter. She loves it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigSea
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Pretty nice beginner scope
9/20/2010

Customer review by Cacio

4.0 stars 9/20/2010 by Cacio
by Cacio

My child and I enjoy looking at the moon and it is really clear. Not the greatest but for the price pretty easy to use and fun.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cacio
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Stargazing
1/8/2010

Customer review by Tambo58

4.0 stars 1/8/2010 by Tambo58
by Tambo58

I ordered this Site to Store for my husband for Christmas. The delivery was speedy and is an exceptionally easy way to receive merchandise. My husband and I enjoy stargazing so I ordered this telescope for him. He loves it! It was a bit confusing because the insert sheet shows a CD and tote which we thought were part of the package, so we returned the first one and ordered another one. I had to contact the manufacturer directly to find out that is part of an accessory kit that's sold separately. It was disappointing not to have more info on the best use of the telescope in locating planets & star systems, but overall I'd highly recommend it for the amateur star gazer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tambo58
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Aptly-named, great first scope
1/6/2010

Customer review by dad65

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by dad65
by dad65

My 6-year-old daughter just got this for Christmas, and despite the mostly cloudy sky, we took it out in the cold and looked up at the half moon. We were impressed at our ability to see the craters and other features. Out of curiosity, I aimed my cell phone camera into the eyepiece and got a few shots. I've also since learned about taking a webcam, removing its lens, and attaching it to a 35mm film canister to create a digital eyepiece with USB interface! Haven't tried it yet, but certainly plan to.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dad65
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Better than expected
1/11/2010

Customer review by SnackChick

5.0 stars 1/11/2010 by SnackChick
by SnackChick

Our family loves this little telescope. It is very easy to set up and use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnackChick
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Starter Telescope
10/14/2010

Customer review by diggerhouse

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by diggerhouse
by diggerhouse

I purchased this for my grandson who is 5 years old. He must use it with his father because of age but he enjoys looking and finding stars..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diggerhouse
Whitehall Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use
1/4/2010

Customer review by msfidget

4.0 stars 1/4/2010 by msfidget
by msfidget

I bought this for my nephew and he is really enjoying it. This was the best value for the money for someone just starting out. We told him we would make additions to the telescope once he got comfortable with using it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msfidget
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for kids
1/10/2010

Customer review by PanchoVillaShopper

4.0 stars 1/10/2010 by PanchoVillaShopper
by PanchoVillaShopper

This was a great product for my daughter, she is 7 years old. We can see the moon and some of the starts with a lot of clarity. I guess this is a good product if you are new to watching the sky.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PanchoVillaShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Impressive
12/23/2009

Customer review by bowhunter9658

5.0 stars 12/23/2009 by bowhunter9658
by bowhunter9658

Out of all the telescopes, this has got to be the greatest deal available on earth. The price is great and the quality is world class. I would recommend this product to anyone who enjoys astronomy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bowhunter9658
Monticello, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/18/2010

Customer review by phoenix5

5.0 stars 5/18/2010 by phoenix5
by phoenix5

Husband and grandkids really enjoy star gazing, good value for just starting out

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phoenix5
Greenville SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Telescope
12/26/2009

Customer review by Angel1995

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by Angel1995
by Angel1995

I would highly recommend this telescope. It's easy for the whole family to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angel1995
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Starter Scope!
1/9/2010

Customer review by Universeexplorer

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by Universeexplorer
by Universeexplorer

The market has needed something like this for a long time. It's an amazing value for the price! I got it for my five year old aspiring astronomer daughter, and within six or seven minutes on our first viewing session, we experienced the moon in magnificent detail with both lenses, and saw Jupiter with five of it's moons! Amazing clarity for a 76mm scope. Crystal clear optics! Easy, well made controls and mount, and for less than $50! I've been into astronomy for about twenty years, and have never had an experience like this with a small scope for four times the price, and Celestron is a trusted, respected name in optics. It was the perfect scope for my daughter's first, with no fear of insufficient size, poor-quality optics, or difficulty of use discouraging even a five year old from a lifelong journey through the universe! It also has room for expansion with optional filters and lenses, as it uses the standard 1.25" size. A+++!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Universeexplorer
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My greatgrandchildren love it!
2/15/2010

Customer review by patcllew

5.0 stars 2/15/2010 by patcllew
by patcllew

My great-grand children look thru it almost every evening, they love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patcllew
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME!!
1/1/2010

Customer review by GRIZZLEY50

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by GRIZZLEY50
by GRIZZLEY50

Got this product for my kids. I found myself enjoying it more then them. it is small and portable and provides great viewing of any celestial objects you like. the product can be upgrade with new eye pieces and other stuff from the manufacture website. i would recommend this to a novice star viewer like myself.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GRIZZLEY50
corpus christi, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Would not recommend
1/14/2010

Customer review by HG85

1.0 stars 1/14/2010 by HG85
by HG85

We bought this for our 8 year old. This product is not what they say it is. IT'S JUNK. You can't see out of it. Trying to look through the lens isn't any different with the cap on. We can't even see across the street with this telescope. You just aren't able to see anything out of this. I would not recommend this telescope. You will be very disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HG85
Fort Madison
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews