Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

53 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

53 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 35 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Outstanding Product!
8/9/2010

Customer review by Renaldo9582

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by Renaldo9582
by Renaldo9582

When I ordered Equate, I had doubts that it would work to re-pave the open expanse at the top of my head. Boy! Was I wrong! I have been using it twice a day per instructions for just about a month. For several days now, I have been taking time to say Good Morning to the multitude of little silver hairs that cover my once bald pate like newly-sprouting grass on a lawn. Not only is this stuff effective, but it also is inexpensive - especially when compared to the cost of using Rog****. If your skin is bursting through the thinning hair at the top of your head, this is the product to try.

Was this review helpful? (85) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Renaldo9582
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Working for me
5/12/2011

Customer review by Hobbes67

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by Hobbes67
by Hobbes67

Let's see... I had a pretty full head of hair in my late 30's but I started to notice a general thinning of my hair at the vertex/crown and at the front in my early 40's. In November 2010, I started using Equate Extra Strength as well as washing my hair twice weekly with Nizoral Shampoo. When I first started using Equate, I experienced "shedding", which is a normal reaction where you notice an increase in hair falling out (nothing too drastic, mind you, but a few more strands than usual were left in my hands after lathering). After a few weeks, the shedding stopped and by 2 months I noticed new hair growing in the thinning areas. The new hair was finer, which again is a normal experience for most folks that experience hair regrowth. It's now been 6 months since I started and I just bought 2 more 3-month supplies. The new hair is thicker now and my hair is quite a bit fuller than it was. I am very pleased with the results. For those that are thinking of trying this product, do not expect instant results (in fact, prepare for that first inevitable shed). Applied regularly and properly over the course of 4 to 6 months you should start to see noticeable results. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (58) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hobbes67
Niagara Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like better than Name brand Rogaine
6/17/2010

Customer review by KawaCat

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by KawaCat
by KawaCat

I actually like this, Equate, better than the name brand Rogaine. It seems to work better, keeping hair roots healthy, and better value as well. And the foam products just make a mess, for no reason, getting more on the hair than the scalp. This product works the best, and the dropper puts the product right to the scalp where it's needed. Only slight drawback is hair can tend to dry out, but some other hair products could help with this.

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KawaCat
Lompoc, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
better than other generics
6/30/2010

Customer review by districtdave

4.0 stars 6/30/2010 by districtdave
by districtdave

been using for years, switched to costco brand and saw hairloss. switched back immediately. good value and works.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
districtdave
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Minoxidil on the Market!
11/7/2011

Customer review by NYCSteve

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by NYCSteve
by NYCSteve

Ok first I want to say that seeing my hair line recede in my twenties is no fun, but I refuse to just watch it continue. Now I have tried many products with mediocre results, but this stuff really works. I am not trying to give anyone false hope, but out of all of the products I have tried this one gave me the best results. I can honestly say that for it works better than the brand name stuff that’s name begins with an R. This is truly a special product, because I have tried other generic minoxidils’ and they can’t compare to this. One thing that I have noticed is that those other brands are primarily made in Canada, but this one is made in Israel. I think that this may have a lot to do with its effectiveness, so Wal-Mart please don’t change distributors, formulas, or anything about this product. If you need a product like this please look past the brand name stuff and give it a try, you’ll be surprised at how well it works.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYCSteve
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works!
7/22/2011

Customer review by newyorker69

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by newyorker69
by newyorker69

I had my doubts but his stuff really works. I noticed a difference in about 2 weeks. My hair is thicker now and less is falling out. I also see a difference in the front of my hair line which it says does not work in that area but I have seen a difference in the overall appearance of my hair. Great product and much better priced than the name brand R****ne.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newyorker69
Manhattan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOOD VALUE
8/13/2011

Customer review by Yikesthisnicknameisapain

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by Yikesthisnicknameisapain
by Yikesthisnicknameisapain

I TRIED ROGAINE BUT SAW NO DIFFERENCE AT ALL. TRIED USING EQUATE AND IT SEEMS TO WORK. THE PRICE IS ALSO ABOUT 70% LOWER FOR EQUATE. I TEND TO USE IT ONCE A DAY IN AM BUT I USE A LIBERAL AMOUNT BECAUSE IT IS LESS EXPENSIVE THAN ROGAINE. IT LASTS 3 TO 4 MONTHS. DECENT PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yikesthisnicknameisapain
LONG ISLAND NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not doubt this product.
2/14/2012

Customer review by WilMc

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by WilMc
by WilMc

I first purchased a one month supply of the more expensive brand of Minoxidil on another website. I liked it but did not want to pay double to what the Equate brand is selling at. I have finished my first 3 months with this product and am so pleased, my hair is thicker i have sprouts coming up everywhere on my crown! and let me tell you, this also worked for me at my hair line.. This stuff is fantasitic! Believe me because I was sooo skeptial! If u want hair back...get out your cheap wallet and spend $20 on this product. U have very little to lose and so much to gain! :D

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WilMc
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It does indeed work
5/26/2012

Customer review by st8kout

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by st8kout
by st8kout

I started using this some 15 years ago because I was seeing more and more hair in the shower drain. I still had a pretty good head of hair but I read that you get the best results if you start using it before you lose too much. It actually improved the look and feel of my hair over time. Over the years my hair stayed full while all my friends were growing bald spots on top. My barber was the one who first told me about Equate so it's the only version of minoxidil I've ever used. It saved my hair plus a whole lot of money over the years by not going with Rogaine. I'm 61 now, my hair has turned from brown to almost white, which I think looks better. I apply it only only once a day at bedtime instead of twice like they recommend and that seems to work well for me. Of course, your results may vary.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
st8kout
Boulder City, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/11/2011

Customer review by DocJoe

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by DocJoe
by DocJoe

Great product for a great price. Was cheaper than purchasing in store.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocJoe
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't Go Wrong
1/21/2012

Customer review by Yankeefan1188

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Yankeefan1188
by Yankeefan1188

For the price it can't be beat. I've been using it semi-regularly for a couple of weeks now and noticed a substantial decrease in the rate my hair was falling out, but if you stop, it'll start falling out just as fast if not faster. That's not a knock against this, thats true even of the name brand, but for the price, i can afford to stay on it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yankeefan1188
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the Price
10/7/2011

Customer review by Walmoll

4.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Walmoll
by Walmoll

I find that this does help with the hair loss I have in little patches. It makes my hair dryer than the Walgreens generic and my hair sheds in small amounts with this brand. I am giving it a chance because it is a great price point and I can see new growth and my little warn away patch is all filled in. Walmart is the lowest price point for this product possible and that is why I will give it a six month trial to see if this is my new replacement.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmoll
NY Metro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/10/2011

Customer review by myerscollege

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by myerscollege
by myerscollege

Wish is was foam like Rogaine, but it works just as well and is half the price

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myerscollege
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/2/2012

Customer review by santalucia

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by santalucia
by santalucia

I am 67 years old. Every time I brushed my hair it was coming out in the hair brush... I started using this Equate and after only a few weeks I could see new hair growing in at my temples and little by little the hair stopped falling out. It has the same ingredients as Rogaine and its about a fourth of the price. I did not like the foam because I have long hair and it was harder to get on my scalp... but I am a female and use the product for men... this stuff works and very well. I bought some for my husband who has some hair loss and he can't believe how great it works and also for my son who has the bald spot in back and receeding hairline... It really is a great product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
santalucia
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
It works !
8/3/2012

Customer review by rr1317mm

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by rr1317mm
by rr1317mm

I first took some pictures before I started using this product. Three (3) months into using it, it looked like it was working but it was kind of hard to see, took more pictures. Six (6) months of use and you can tell a big difference, took more pictures. I compaired all the pictures and you can clearly see a big difference, this stuff works. Compaired in price to others that claim to do the same, this product is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rr1317mm
Little Rock, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/12/2013

Customer review by BeagleBliss

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by BeagleBliss
by BeagleBliss

As effective, or better, than any others i've tried and can't come near the value in pricing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeagleBliss
Princeton nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seemed to work instantly
7/23/2012

Customer review by minda0391

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by minda0391
by minda0391

I bought this product for my husband (age 26) who has a family history of hair loss, and is in remission from non-Hodgkin lymphoma. As does mostly everyone who deals with chemotherapy, he lost almost all of the hair on his body- especially his head, and when it did grow back, his hereditary baldness was much worse. After him feeling so self conscious about his hair loss, I decided to try to do something about it. His bald spots are on the back of his head as well as the top. When We received to box in the mail it said it would most-likely work only on the back of the head. To our surprise though, it seems to be growing back in all areas of his head- and not believing him when he told me he thought his hair was growing back the very next week, I just had to see for myself. The box said that it could even take up to the four month mark to really notice a change in the hair so I couldn't believe that there really was light peach-fuzz type hair already growing back onto his scalp. Even though this product is not a long lasting solution for hair loss and I'm sure the results will very with this product and will depend on the person, I'd say to just give it a try. It is MUCH less expensive than the Rogaine brand and my husband and I really like this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
minda0391
Manchester PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It takes time but it works
7/1/2012

Customer review by Cubanito76

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Cubanito76
by Cubanito76

When I bought did not think it was going work, use the product with discipline and if it really works my hair grew back where I had begun to lose, it's not magic but work must be patient and disciplined to use it, is a bit dropper uncomfortable, I would have preferred a spray, but the best way to use the exact dosage is a dropper, I recommended it and buy it for my father in law and started using it I hope you have the same results as me, and will know the results when I have to do the review

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cubanito76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring Back the Liquid Equate Extra Stren.Minoxidil
3/1/2013

Customer review by DockingBay327

5.0 stars 3/1/2013 by DockingBay327
by DockingBay327

Excellent Product!! Great Value!! Increasingly becoming scarce in WalMart stores. Now only available on-line, thus far. Bring back the extra strength equate liquid minoxidil to the stores. The foam version doesn't penetrate the scalp like the liquid does!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DockingBay327
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
10/17/2012

Customer review by detailguru

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by detailguru
by detailguru

Equate minoxidil is a great value product. So much more cost savings over the name brand item. Have been using Minoxidil for over 20 years and paying a lot more for it until I found Equate brand. The only reason the "quality" section was not rated is I can only assume the quality is there -- with any medication there is no way of knowing for sure.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
detailguru
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews