Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
43
1-20 of 116 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
I require this product
10/14/2009

Customer review by anotcho

5.0 stars 10/14/2009 by anotcho
by anotcho

I'm running two tvs off a roof antenna with a rotor. A cable splitter is used with one cable running to each tv and its converter box. Tv1 has a relatively short cable run, Tv2 has a very long run around my house. The splitter is close to Tv1. For a certain weak channel, picture on Tv1 was good although signal was marginal (digital pictures being either good or broken up); picture on Tv2 would breakup occasionally or be unwatchable (no picture at all). I installed the amp just downstream of the splitter-out connector to Tv2. Before installing the amp, I could not receive the weak channel in question on Tv2. Afterwards, and based upon one days viewing, I experienced no picture breakup on Tv2 with a marginal signal strength similar to that displayed on Tv1. As I write this, Tv2 signal strength for the weak channel in question is ranging from 45 to 60% with no picture or sound breakup. Signal strength for a good quality picture should be 65% (in the green) according to my Digital Stream converter box. The antenna rotor is directed to what seems to be an optimum direction and not changed for each channel. Further improvement would be to add another amp just upstream of the splitter or make my cable runs shorter, as I have much excess.

Was this review helpful? (85) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anotcho
Renton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it says.
9/25/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this amplifier when I finally decided to kick the cable company in the pants. My house is about 22 miles from most of the Television Stations that I want to watch and the house is also on a very high hill. One drawback I have is that there are some tall trees between my house and the TV stations. I have two new HDTVs, and the coax cable from the new Channelmaster 2020 antenna on the roof is about 35' long to the amplifier. From the amp, I split the signal and the cable to each TV is about 40' long. I tested my antenna without the amplifier and got about 14 digital channels. The signal strength was shown as 82% and -53db for channel 12-1 on my television. After this test, I installed the amplifier and rescanned the television channels. With the amplifier installed I now got 20 digital channels and the signal strength on channel 12-1 was now 86% and -42 db. I am now able to receive two channels that my directional antenna isn't pointed at and the stations are about 35 miles away. This amplifier won't "create" a signal that doesn't exist, but it might help you pull in one or two fringe channels that you couldn't get without it. It's a good deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Coventry, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product.
3/1/2010

Customer review by TONYMARTI2007

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by TONYMARTI2007
by TONYMARTI2007

This Amp really improved my my signal strength. I would recommend it to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TONYMARTI2007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works good
12/26/2009

Customer review by Finnish

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by Finnish
by Finnish

I purchased one of these for my in-laws who live over 50 miles from the tv stations and with the analog converter box they were not receiving all the channels. Once we attached this box to their tv they were able to receive all the available channels and they were very pleased. I also purchased one for myself to use with our new digital tv in the hope of sharpening up some of the programs that appear to be a little fuzzy, but it did not seem to improve that area for me. I assume it is because those programs are not being broadcast in high definition yet.

Was this review helpful? (48) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Finnish
Northern MN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
does just what I expected
4/5/2012

Customer review by Cons2200

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Cons2200
by Cons2200

We were losing local cable feeds due to long runs and multiple splitters (fuzzy channels and blocking/complete loss of some digital feeds). Installing this before long cable run and splitters to TVs and everything cleared up with absolutely no loss of digital programming.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cons2200
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked great for me.
10/27/2013

Customer review by aelmo

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by aelmo
by aelmo

I am about 45-55 miles from the T.V. stations. I am down in a low area and my outside antenna is about 30 foot high. I am surrounded by a pine forest. Signals were weak and dropping in a out and some were out nearly all day. After adding the amplifier at the end of run close to T.V. I am now getting all channels with no loss. It did the trick. Worked good and very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aelmo
Greenville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of My Time to try this RCA Amp
1/23/2012

Customer review by 4CManGo

1.0 stars 1/23/2012 by 4CManGo
by 4CManGo

I tried putting this RCA Amp in several locations between my Antenna and TV. It made no difference in the Amount of Signal displayed at my TV. I had read the 'reviews' of others before I ordered it. It seems to be about half and half between Customers getting good results, and those who did not see any improvement. Guess my system is one that does not see any improvement. I really had hoped it would work. You may one who will benefit from trying this RCA Amp. After all, Walmart will accept your 'return' of it, if it does not work for you. I returned the one I tried to Walmart

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4CManGo
Selma, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worth the money
5/17/2010

Customer review by idontknowwhatmynameis

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by idontknowwhatmynameis
by idontknowwhatmynameis

I was adding a tv to a cable outlet and i needed to split the signal. i tried it without this unit and the picture quality was horrible. I added this unit and both tv's show better than when i had one tv to the cable outlet. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
idontknowwhatmynameis
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Locally very helpful
10/2/2010

Customer review by Chuckell

4.0 stars 10/2/2010 by Chuckell
by Chuckell

I am just using rabbit ears antennas and this really brought the local channels in much better plus adding about ten extra channels I wasn't getting before!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuckell
White Bear Lake, Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This will make your TV work better
9/20/2010

Customer review by RobbieSports

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by RobbieSports
by RobbieSports

After we installed the $38 Channel Master 2016 DIGITAL ADVANTAGE (HDTV / VHF / UHF) Outdoor Antenna from Wal-Mart, we installed this $16.95 booster. The picture is perfect! It is better now than it was when we had satellite TV. You really should add both of these to avoid the big satellite/cable bills. Our TV stations are about 35 miles away. When we had an older antenna, we would lose reception if it was windy or stormy. But with the booster and a bigger antenna, that isn't a problem any more.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobbieSports
Sunnyside, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent product
1/6/2010

Customer review by elviseap

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by elviseap
by elviseap

Does exactly what is advertised. It raised the signal strength by 10. I still can't recieve a picture in very cloudy weather. In other words it can't boost a signal when there is none to boost.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elviseap
Leesville, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Signal Amplifier
5/3/2011

Customer review by DrBobJones

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by DrBobJones
by DrBobJones

I live in the country and the signal was weak. It boosted the signal from 15 to 45 and sometimes 75. I run two T.V.'s from the amplifier.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrBobJones
Vian, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
plug in and two coxial in and out
8/7/2012

Customer review by poleg1

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by poleg1
by poleg1

easy to istall,product does what it says. I lost one station but gained 2 to 3 power bars on reception strenght on several more stations though !!! Good product !!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poleg1
vicksburg,ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works but touchy
1/2/2010

Customer review by Videonick

3.0 stars 1/2/2010 by Videonick
by Videonick

This RCA Video Amplifier works as advertised but it is extremely touchy. Do not alter any possible setting. Do not tighten more than by fingers for it may never work again. When it is working, it works well bringing stations, clearing snow and enhancing viewing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Videonick
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/4/2012

Customer review by DDVAP

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by DDVAP
by DDVAP

The antenna amplifier I ordered on-line was returned, because it was only 10 db and on the store shelf Wal-Mart carried in stock a 24db for the same price. Twice the power at the same cost, so it wasn't hard to decide which to chose. I can't honestly tell you how the 10db I purchased on-line worked, but I can tell you that the 24db worked excellent.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDVAP
Hobart, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems to Work
5/31/2010

Customer review by hdthoreau

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by hdthoreau
by hdthoreau

Needed a better signal with digital converter at our cabin in the woods. Got no stations before, got 2 now, enough for news and weather, so guess it helped.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hdthoreau
Woods, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Signal Saver
12/1/2009

Customer review by TopWalmartShopper

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by TopWalmartShopper
by TopWalmartShopper

For digital signals that come in marginal, it boosted them well into the usable range. Made my day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopWalmartShopper
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent amplifier
8/24/2011

Customer review by w5vw

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by w5vw
by w5vw

Very good amplifier. Great value and trouble free operation.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
w5vw
Elk City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good simple antenna amplifier
11/17/2011

Customer review by factfinder

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by factfinder
by factfinder

If you have long cable runs from your 75 ohm cable or antenna or have pixilation and picture drop outs on your tv, install this simple +10db amplifier. I connected it to the far end of the 20 foot cable that comes down from an attic antenna, just before the main distribution splitter. It solved all but the worst of the pixilation problems. Plus, I got several channels that were previously too weak to watch. For the price it does the job as advertised. Note: No amplifier will amplify a signal that isn't already there. This overcomes undisirable signal losses in cables and splitters and results in an improved tv experience.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
factfinder
North East US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent siginal amplifier
1/24/2012

Customer review by Nightowl713

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Nightowl713
by Nightowl713

Great improvement to my TV picture and sound.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nightowl713
Heath, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews