Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
18
1-20 of 70 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
A pleasant surprise for the money
11/18/2009

Customer review by Byzantyndragon

5.0 stars 11/18/2009 by Byzantyndragon
by Byzantyndragon

This little guy is my primary DVD player! It plays everything I put into it and the optical/coaxial outputs do surround sound perfectly. The 1080 upconverted HDMI-out gives me a perfect picture even on a 1080p 37" tv. It had a brief problem with the video-scan in HDMI (but still played alright with standard A/V hookups), but somehow fixed or reset itself by just disconnecting the HDMI and using the composite output a few times (it looked like a progressive/interlaced scanning conflict that reset itself either in my set or in the unit). The best testimony is that I bought a Blu-Ray player to replace it, but returned the Blu-Ray because it couldn't play all my disc formats and the surround sound was available only through the HDMI connection (even the optical-out only delivered l+r stereo!). And I didn't even notice the "improvement" in the picture! Also, it's so cheap I can run it into the ground and just buy another-or-two for backups. A diamond in the rough!

Was this review helpful? (56) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Byzantyndragon
Hatfield, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ubelievable value for the money!
12/18/2009

Customer review by DigitalMan5

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by DigitalMan5
by DigitalMan5

Like others have mentioned, the price of the player is right one: Less than $50 and it upscales DVDs and plays back a wide variety of data files. Though the box only mentions Divx playback, I got it to play MPEG, VOB and a variety of AVI encoded with Divx, Xvid and other methods. They all played without any issue. It was incredible. The upscaling of the player, though not the best I've ever seen, is still excellent. Find a nicely encoded DVD and it will almost make it look like it's displaying in true HD. Finally, it also displays pictures from disc. Unlike HD video files(see next paragraph), the picture playback will allow you to view pictures of any given size. Not only that but you can actually resize and rotate them. Even has some nice transition effects. The only downside to any of this is that the player will not run video files encoded at 720p or higher(gives you a "resolution not supported" error), thus killing true HD playback. Also, it doesn't include an HDMI cable...but, really, you can get one at Big Lots for $2.99 so that's not that big of a deal. All in all, one of the best deals out there for those not ready to start all over with the HD discs, or go through the time and effort it takes to set up an HTPC(Home Theatre PC). Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DigitalMan5
Texas, unfortunately
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best $45 spent
11/29/2009

Customer review by AVIfan

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by AVIfan
by AVIfan

I have an older Philips dvp and have been totally in love with it. Bought this one to give as a Christmas gift took it home and this one does just like my other one. Plays AVI files that are burned onto Cds or DVDs. Looks great on my 65" tv.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVIfan
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Just as Good!
11/13/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/13/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After weeks of comparing products, the Philips DVD Player did everything I wanted for the price I was looking for. With easy set-up and hassel free directions you'll be watching you favorite movies in no time

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
barely lasts a year
3/9/2010

Customer review by KitKatBlack

1.0 stars 3/9/2010 by KitKatBlack
by KitKatBlack

At first this was a wonderful product, now it has barely been a year and the dvd player will not read any dvds or cds. It keeps making a horrible grinding sound. It is not worth the price paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitKatBlack
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed!!!
2/7/2010

Customer review by fretsurfer

1.0 stars 2/7/2010 by fretsurfer
by fretsurfer

We initially bought this product as an immediate solution to spacing issues. Before too long the player's color turned to, like a, photo negative. We promptly returned the product a got the same for a replacement considering the qualified name. To our insurmountable, the very same issue happened again. I will not be wasting my time and money on this product again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fretsurfer
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Buyer beware!!
3/16/2010

Customer review by BidGrid

1.0 stars 3/16/2010 by BidGrid
by BidGrid

The Philips DVP3982/F7 is not a good product. We bought on Cyber-Monday for a family Christmas present and I hooked it up a couple days before New Years. It worked great until this weekend when the menu screen turned a bright fluorescent orange. When we started the movie it was bright orange and purple (a friend commented it looked like a bad acid trip). I googled this situation and got several hits-- apparently a common problem with this model. But when I emailed Philips they told me to check the online FAQ's for a solution (none) then told me to check out their warranty policy. Nice. Like I'm going to spend 14 hours of my time haggling about a warranty claim on a $50 DVD. You got me! Lesson learned...no more Philips products. I'm taking it back to Wal-mart tonight to see what they'll do. Wish me luck!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BidGrid
Buckeye Nation
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Junk
12/5/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/5/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The sound started skipping on my player after about a year. The picture also goes out sometimes and will not come back on until you unplug and replug it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Council Bluffs, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
12/23/2009

Customer review by Agrajag

1.0 stars 12/23/2009 by Agrajag
by Agrajag

The player stopped reading discs altogether after 4-5 USES.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Agrajag
Would recommend to a friend? No
not worth the money
12/19/2009

Customer review by allieskin

1.0 stars 12/19/2009 by allieskin
by allieskin

i bought this for my 1080i tv to convert to the more desirable 1080p. the picture was no better than my original non-HD dvd player. then some remote buttons stopped working, batteries replaced, still problems. then the sound went but no fear, i could plug it into my stereo and had sound. until that went too. this is the second Phillips product i have had problems with. If you are looking for a short term DVD player then this may work for you but don't expect it to last more than a year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allieskin
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/20/2010

Customer review by LenInDallasTX

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by LenInDallasTX
by LenInDallasTX

Purchased to play DVDs on a 720p HDTV (w/upconversion). It does the job very well. I have not tried DivX media.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LenInDallasTX
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
wow
4/22/2010

Customer review by chico756

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by chico756
by chico756

this dvd player is the best out there for the price. it plays regular dvd's along with mpeg's, svcd, vcd, jpeg mp3's and divx. simply put you can't go wrong

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chico756
bronx, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great DVD Player 5 stars
12/28/2009

Customer review by CJD1

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by CJD1
by CJD1

Great DVD Player, Flawless, crystal clear picture, movie theater sound. Easy hook up, easy to navigate options. All around 5 stars !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJD1
Akron Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bargain
12/31/2009

Customer review by HypnoTerry

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by HypnoTerry
by HypnoTerry

This little DVD player is really a great bargain for the price. Though Wal-mart has raised the price point from $39.99 to $44 and some change, it's still most likely the cheapest DVD player out there. What makes this DVD player different from the rest is its ability to play AVI files and upconvert regular DVD's to High Definition, though the HDMI cable will set you back almost half the price of the DVD player itself. All-in-all, for the size and price, it is a great deal. I highly recommend it and have bought quite a few of these for my family & friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HypnoTerry
Washington, D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Daughter Loves
12/29/2009

Customer review by FulofSurprses1

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by FulofSurprses1
by FulofSurprses1

Daugher loves this DVD, and was pretty reasonable in price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FulofSurprses1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what we needed
12/30/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This player has met my expectations. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
'Bama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I love it
12/30/2009

Customer review by centxshopper

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by centxshopper
by centxshopper

This player is great for the price. I especially like that it picks up where I left off in a movie. I have it on a rca universal remote and have not experienced usage problems with basic controls.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
centxshopper
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a good dvd player
1/4/2010

Customer review by pebbles12345

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by pebbles12345
by pebbles12345

The Phillips dvd player is easy to use and hook up directions are very user friendly. The slim design makes it easy to put almost anywhere, the weight is extremely light but works out well when installing on top of other components.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pebbles12345
Hartwell, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
you get more than what you paid for!
1/27/2010

Customer review by fabbie72

5.0 stars 1/27/2010 by fabbie72
by fabbie72

This is my first dvd player. I must say I was skeptical first, but then it met my expectations. Sometimes you get what you pay for. Well, I was wrong. It turned out to be an amazing purchase. It works perfectly (on my standard tv - no into HD yet). Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fabbie72
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
1/25/2010

Customer review by pwalls23

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by pwalls23
by pwalls23

I found this DVD while comparison shopping for a new DVD player to replace the one that broke. It is fantastic! I especially love the feature that lets me resume a movie in the same spot even if I remove the disc! It was easy to set up, and I love it! I would highly recommend this player to anyone who wants one. Oh, and by the way, the price is excellent!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwalls23
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews