Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 598 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

598 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

598 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
376
4 stars
145
3 stars
33
2 stars
16
1 stars
28
1-20 of 518 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 518 total reviews
1-20 of 518 reviews
Great Product
8/1/2009

Customer review by CactusCritter

5.0 stars 8/1/2009 by CactusCritter
by CactusCritter

Mower was easy to assemble and operate. I have a small lawn and bought this to cut up the weeds that grow during our rainy season in AZ. Did exactly that. Bonus is the rear grass catcher which can fill up every 15 minutes or so. You need to stop and empty it or the clippings build up. I like it because it allows me to compost the clippings and gives myself and the mower a break!. Only issue is if you need a long power cord, it can be difficult to pull around with you. Same issue if you had an electric weed trimmer. Mower is light weight and can be pushed easily with one hand, no matter what grade the yard is. Mower gets heavier when the clippings bag fills up. Still much lighter then a gas mower. Is not that loud and I did not need ear plugs. Hardly any grass clippings kicked out under the mower. I wore shorts and nothing hit my legs nor dirtied my shoes. The rear bag does a good job holding materials. If you have a big lawn and heavy growth, this is not your mower. If you have something you can mow in 20-30 minutes, this may be an alternative to a gas mower. Easy to clean up after mowing. Wheel adjustments take seconds to do and middle setting, from 3 available, gave my grass a nice even look. Hardly hit any stones. A problem in the desert where we try to have lawns. An elderly family member in his 80's used the mower with no problem. He said it was effortless and felt it was no more exercise then just walking around. He felt safer using it since it was not as loud and as large as his old gas mower. He also liked the maintenance free aspect of the mower. Blade looks easy to change and a tool is included for removing it for sharpening or replacing. Mower comes with a 2 year warranty. So far I am very satisfied with the mower.

Was this review helpful? (513) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CactusCritter
Southern AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
My Little Bug
8/25/2009

Customer review by Beachkween

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by Beachkween
by Beachkween

I thought my lawn was small enough to cut with a weed wacker but I was wrong so I tried to find the cheapest and smallest lawn mower - Walmart was my first choice, found this little devil on the website and had it shipped site to store and it was delivered in about 3-4 days - this lawn mower works great!!! the only thing I had trouble with was adjusting the blade, the instruction do not include how to adjust the blade, the first push of the mower and you could see dirt - anyway - my neighbor helped me, you adjust the wheels - there are 3 notches, it was on the lowest notch so we moved it to what I call the number 2 notch and it's now at the perfect height for cutting - without diggin up dirt - and it only took me about 15 minutes to put this little sucker together - LOVE IT !!!!!! and it's Green twice, Green in color and Green for the environment - ooh one more thing, the bag fills up very fast, about 3 or 4 mows - so if you want to use the bag, have a trash bag handy to deposit the clippings, this mower is super for small yards - see pics of the lawn attached

Was this review helpful? (355) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachkween
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Sun Joe Mow MJ401E height adjustment
8/9/2010

Customer review by KMJ1

4.0 stars 8/9/2010 by KMJ1
by KMJ1

I've only used this mower once, but so far, I like it. It's perfect for very small lawns. However, it did need a minor adjustment of the cutting height to work properly. When I first tried it, it cut too short and kept shutting down. I think it was just cutting so short that the blade was getting bogged down in the roots of the grass. Anyway, I looked in the manual for how to adjust the cut height, but there was nothing. So I looked on the internet and found a more complete manual. The adjustment is really easy. (I'm not all that mechanically inclined, so if I can do it, it must be easy.) You just turn the mower on it's side (unplugging it and removing the catcher first, of course) and adjust the metal rod axel into a different slot for all four wheels. It's easiest to adjust the two top wheels, then turn the mower on it's other side and adjust the two top wheels again. The middle setting worked best for me. Hope this helps someone else.

Was this review helpful? (188) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMJ1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
An ergonomic mower
7/22/2009

Customer review by AGHomer

4.0 stars 7/22/2009 by AGHomer
by AGHomer

The "Mow Joe" is a well designed, ergonomic mower, exactly what I was looking for. I learned about it from here: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07105999000P and took a chance to order one. Everything mentioned in the review at the aforementioned URL is right on, including the poorly written instructions in the manual, the only downfall of this otherwise excellent product. It took me hours to put the thing together because frankly the instructions are poor - in fact I have yet to figure out how to use the "cable relief." But in operation this thing is a joy; it is light-weight and easy to operate, and the "grassbox" (for catching the cut grass) is easy to put on and take off (once you figure out how, in spite of the misleading instructions), allowing me to dump the grass into my composter with minimum effort. I recommend it highly, but be prepared for some frustration in assembling the thing. And do check out the information in the review posted at the URL mentioned above.

Was this review helpful? (194) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AGHomer
Califronia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hot is not good!
6/18/2010

Customer review by ArizonaArizona

3.0 stars 6/18/2010 by ArizonaArizona
by ArizonaArizona

This product worked great the first time we pulled it out of the box! However after sitting in the garden shed for three days the heat must have warped the plastics and now when we mow the blade will hit the front plastics and it makes a very loud noise. The mower still works but I know that it is not going to last long. So if you live in an area that is hot spend a little more money and buy something that has a metal frame.

Was this review helpful? (63) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArizonaArizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
My first lawnmower!
6/20/2013

Customer review by 12Altima

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by 12Altima
by 12Altima

I just got this lawnmower today after a lot of comparisons and I absolutely love it! - It is lightweight, takes about 20 minutes to assemble and the manual is very explanatory. The settings are very easy to set at the bottom and it looks like a small smart car! It gets alot of attention and the only drawback is the cord so as long as you get at least a 100 ft. cord so you can manuever it around you'll have a lot of fun with it. The motor is not too noisy so it doesn't hurt your ears and you can drive it with one hand if you need to...Great for any age and a great workout!

Was this review helpful? (51) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
12Altima
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent mower... happy customer!
7/11/2010

Customer review by TucsonUser

5.0 stars 7/11/2010 by TucsonUser
by TucsonUser

We have a mid size lawn (400 Sq. ft) and didn't want a noisy mower. We also didn't want to spend a whole lot of money. This fit our need very well. PROS: It is very light in weight. Does an excellent job mowing (3 height settings), picking and mulching grass. Hardly makes any noise. Don't have to fill gas or maintain the mower. CONS: Need an extension cord that sometimes gets in the way... but that is true with any corded tool. Size of the bag requires periodic emptying. I wish this was slightly bigger. LOVE IT. COULDN'T HAVE BEEN BETTER FOR THIS PRICE.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TucsonUser
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LOVE THE MOWER
6/10/2010

Customer review by KentOhio

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by KentOhio
by KentOhio

Last year, I planted 125 baby shrubs, two feet apart, and needed something capable of mowing/trimming between them, without breaking my back! After waiting way too long to decide what tool would best serve this purpose, I researched and purchased this item from Walmart.com. Once I finally figured out precisely how to attach the clipping bag, I used it for the first time today, and it is marvelous! It cut right through the tall weeds that I had neglected for too long. It is quiet, reasonably light, and and quickly produced a neat, trim appearance around every shrub. So far, I am highly pleased!

Was this review helpful? (55) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KentOhio
Kent, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Little Mower
6/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have a very small yard and needed a mower that I could carry through narrow spaces to get to where I mow. This little unit is just the right size! I mowed an area that was 6" high and it did great! I am a bit worried about the plastic blade cowling wearing out over time, but the unit did wonderfully. Very powerful for its size. As many reviews have showen, the catcher needs to be emptied frequently, but it is simple to do, so it is not a problem. i would recommend this to anyone that has a very small yard.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value
8/17/2010

Customer review by NotoriouslyBroke

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by NotoriouslyBroke
by NotoriouslyBroke

It is a great lawn mower for small yards and light as a feather. I'm 4'10" and 97lbs and I can lift this mower with one hand to bypass my rock garden yard entrance. Try that with a gas mower or even the black and decker electric mower, just too heavy for me. This mower isn't self-propelled but it rolls like butter on my uneven lawn even on high grass. Also with the narrow wheels I barely have to use my edger as this gets right up to my metal landscape edging. True the bag fills fast and the wheels aren't very big and their plastic but you can replace them if you want with bigger more durable ones. I found by just adjusting the height the wheel size wasn't a prob. at all and regular mowing prevents changing the bag a lot. There's hardly any metal on this one so treat it like a vacuum and store carefully in the garage. Its very quiet as well, my two chihuahua sunbath while I mow now, they use to run inside with my gas mower. Its just a less scary mowing experience for my pups and I.

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotoriouslyBroke
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
8/10/2010

Customer review by BarneyPia

2.0 stars 8/10/2010 by BarneyPia
by BarneyPia

The bag fills up extremely fast because it is so small. The worst problem is that the rear axle collapses down to the lowest setting which is way to low. I tried to cut the grass at the highest setting but as soon as you push the mower the axle drops down to the lowest setting. I've taken it apart and added bolts and washers to keep the axle in place.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BarneyPia
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love it
12/16/2009

Customer review by OakViewShopper

4.0 stars 12/16/2009 by OakViewShopper
by OakViewShopper

I just got this yesterday and it is a great little mower. It assembled quickly and works pretty darn good. The only bad thing is that I did have to empty the bag 5 times and my yard isn't that large. It had not been mowed in awhile though so I think, on average, I will only have to empty it 2 to 3 times at the most. Super light weight. The color makes it look like a toy. Cute mower and works great. I do wish the tires weren't plastic though. I am concerned about how long those will last!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OakViewShopper
Oak View, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Pleased with this purchase
3/11/2014

Customer review by mowerhappy

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by mowerhappy
by mowerhappy

This mower was not hard to put together. And didn't take too long to put together. It does the job of mowing the small yard just fine. The collection basket is small so had to empty it a couple of times - that didn't bother me. The only thing I don't like about this product is the collection basket keeps coming apart. The basket just tucks in on the sides but the grooves it snaps into are not deep enough so when the basket gets heavy with cuttings the basket pulls apart and grass starts to spill out. I am thinking of going all around the bottom seam of the collection basket with needle and thread - then when the collection basket fills and gets heavy the seams won't pull out and will just be permanantly together (which is the way the basket should be in the first place). When I finish with the needle and thread upgrade - this item will be just fine. I am a small person and the small size of this mower is just right for me. I can't push the bigger mowers - this one I can. Other than the little problem with the basket (which I can fix easily - this product is fine).

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mowerhappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sun joe mow joe 14" electric mower
5/11/2013

Customer review by Sarpeg

1.0 stars 5/11/2013 by Sarpeg
by Sarpeg

I bought this mower about a year ago. I loved it until I had to replace the blades. I ordered the recommended blades and they did not fit at all. No resolution was found. Also no help could be obtained. Therefore the mower that I loved was useless. So after a considerable time I trashed it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarpeg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product for small jobs.
4/5/2013

Customer review by Spadesgirl

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Spadesgirl
by Spadesgirl

It is amazing that a product so small, does such a good job. Thumbs Up Sun Joe (:).

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spadesgirl
Jacksonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poorly put together.
8/18/2011

Customer review by mompom55

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by mompom55
by mompom55

This mower was so cute and I have a tiny yard so I thought it would be perfect for me. It came assembled except for the handle and the grass bag. When I got my parts onto the mower I started mowing. I didn't even get one complete row done in my little yard and the wheel fell off. I found the pieces for the wheel assembly and looked in the booklet to see how to put it on and there were no instructions. Did the best I could and mowed some more of my yard. I must say when the wheel was on the mower worked pretty well. It started quickly and really chopped the grass up well. Unfortunately the same wheel fell off again, this time in taller grass and I couldn't find all the pieces to the wheel assembly. By then I had reached my limit! I packed the mower back into the box it came in and returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mompom55
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great little mower...just don't blow a breaker
2/10/2012

Customer review by PurpleEverything

4.0 stars 2/10/2012 by PurpleEverything
by PurpleEverything

Make sure and use a good 14 gauge cord with this 12 amp electric mower. Powerful little booger, mows and bags great. Be aware the grass catcher box has a hard top but the rest is mesh. Right after I bought this, I went to the manufacturer's website and could have gotten it for $30 cheaper for a refurbished one, plus I could have saved almost $10 on sales tax. Snowjoe.com will ship it right to your door for free. As of this date, this exact mower, refurbished on their website, is $89 total. Dummy me for not saving more $$$ for this Sun Joe. We did order a new long cord for it over on Amazon, which beat both Walmart and Home Depot on price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurpleEverything
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/8/2009

Customer review by qtHush

3.0 stars 9/8/2009 by qtHush
by qtHush

Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. Grass catcher is too small. Had to empty every other pass. I have a very small area to mow and this mower was still not what I expected. Low quality, all plastic, flimsy. Aside from the height adjustments being more precise I could of just used a weedeater.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qtHush
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Maybe "nice" at first but will not last!
9/10/2012

Customer review by ssecretgirl

1.0 stars 9/10/2012 by ssecretgirl
by ssecretgirl

We were pretty happy with it at first even though it is a little small and ALL plastic. We had to do quite a few more passes to get the job done but it is light enough that it didnt seem to bad. well now that we have had it for just over a year it is dieing. We get it started and it just keeps on cutting out. Very frustrating to have to re-start it 50 times to mow the lawn. Now we are looking for yet another lawn mower. Wish we would have just spent a little more and got a better made one in the first place... Works at first but wont last. Honestly I would say it is a piece of just toy, not a tool! Spend a little more and get a better one, seriously.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssecretgirl
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love my Mow Joe!!!!
6/11/2014

Customer review by Floridalivingstone

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by Floridalivingstone
by Floridalivingstone

It is so easy to use...lightweight and I like the lime green color and how easy it is to dump the grass catcher. Took about 45 minutes to mow the front yard and I dumped the grass catcher about 7 times. Looks like a well manicured lawn. When I finished mowing and put the mower away it started raining and I was so happy, laughing and dancing around in the rain. And it was a nice rain...no lightning. Your Mow Joe brought me so much joy!!! I bought a 100 ft. 12 gauge cord after learning about 16 gauge cords burning motor up. Works great in an outlet that can handle the draw. Cord holder must have 100 ft cord looped in it not the mower cord or it will unplug when mowing. Setting grass cutting height was a little difficult and tried changing pattern of mowing from what book said but it would have run over cord so went back to book way. So glad I found this with over 400 4 and 5 star reviews it had to be good and it was!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Floridalivingstone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 518 total reviews
1-20 of 518 reviews