Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 610 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

610 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

610 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
384
4 stars
148
3 stars
33
2 stars
16
1 stars
29
1-20 of 530 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 530 total reviews
1-20 of 530 reviews
My Little Bug
8/25/2009

Customer review by Beachkween

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by Beachkween
by Beachkween

I thought my lawn was small enough to cut with a weed wacker but I was wrong so I tried to find the cheapest and smallest lawn mower - Walmart was my first choice, found this little devil on the website and had it shipped site to store and it was delivered in about 3-4 days - this lawn mower works great!!! the only thing I had trouble with was adjusting the blade, the instruction do not include how to adjust the blade, the first push of the mower and you could see dirt - anyway - my neighbor helped me, you adjust the wheels - there are 3 notches, it was on the lowest notch so we moved it to what I call the number 2 notch and it's now at the perfect height for cutting - without diggin up dirt - and it only took me about 15 minutes to put this little sucker together - LOVE IT !!!!!! and it's Green twice, Green in color and Green for the environment - ooh one more thing, the bag fills up very fast, about 3 or 4 mows - so if you want to use the bag, have a trash bag handy to deposit the clippings, this mower is super for small yards - see pics of the lawn attached

Was this review helpful? (367) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachkween
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My first lawnmower!
6/20/2013

Customer review by 12Altima

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by 12Altima
by 12Altima

I just got this lawnmower today after a lot of comparisons and I absolutely love it! - It is lightweight, takes about 20 minutes to assemble and the manual is very explanatory. The settings are very easy to set at the bottom and it looks like a small smart car! It gets alot of attention and the only drawback is the cord so as long as you get at least a 100 ft. cord so you can manuever it around you'll have a lot of fun with it. The motor is not too noisy so it doesn't hurt your ears and you can drive it with one hand if you need to...Great for any age and a great workout!

Was this review helpful? (53) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12Altima
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
LOVE THE MOWER
6/10/2010

Customer review by KentOhio

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by KentOhio
by KentOhio

Last year, I planted 125 baby shrubs, two feet apart, and needed something capable of mowing/trimming between them, without breaking my back! After waiting way too long to decide what tool would best serve this purpose, I researched and purchased this item from Walmart.com. Once I finally figured out precisely how to attach the clipping bag, I used it for the first time today, and it is marvelous! It cut right through the tall weeds that I had neglected for too long. It is quiet, reasonably light, and and quickly produced a neat, trim appearance around every shrub. So far, I am highly pleased!

Was this review helpful? (57) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KentOhio
Kent, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great mower for a beginnner
7/9/2015

Customer review by 2bright

5.0 stars 7/9/2015 by 2bright
by 2bright

I don't review products until I have had them for some time, next month will make a year that I have had this product and so far no problems or issues whatsoever, love it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2bright
DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product for small jobs.
4/5/2013

Customer review by Spadesgirl

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Spadesgirl
by Spadesgirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is amazing that a product so small, does such a good job. Thumbs Up Sun Joe (:).

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spadesgirl
Jacksonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An ergonomic mower
7/22/2009

Customer review by AGHomer

4.0 stars 7/22/2009 by AGHomer
by AGHomer

The "Mow Joe" is a well designed, ergonomic mower, exactly what I was looking for. I learned about it from here: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07105999000P and took a chance to order one. Everything mentioned in the review at the aforementioned URL is right on, including the poorly written instructions in the manual, the only downfall of this otherwise excellent product. It took me hours to put the thing together because frankly the instructions are poor - in fact I have yet to figure out how to use the "cable relief." But in operation this thing is a joy; it is light-weight and easy to operate, and the "grassbox" (for catching the cut grass) is easy to put on and take off (once you figure out how, in spite of the misleading instructions), allowing me to dump the grass into my composter with minimum effort. I recommend it highly, but be prepared for some frustration in assembling the thing. And do check out the information in the review posted at the URL mentioned above.

Was this review helpful? (203) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AGHomer
Califronia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
8/17/2010

Customer review by NotoriouslyBroke

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by NotoriouslyBroke
by NotoriouslyBroke

It is a great lawn mower for small yards and light as a feather. I'm 4'10" and 97lbs and I can lift this mower with one hand to bypass my rock garden yard entrance. Try that with a gas mower or even the black and decker electric mower, just too heavy for me. This mower isn't self-propelled but it rolls like butter on my uneven lawn even on high grass. Also with the narrow wheels I barely have to use my edger as this gets right up to my metal landscape edging. True the bag fills fast and the wheels aren't very big and their plastic but you can replace them if you want with bigger more durable ones. I found by just adjusting the height the wheel size wasn't a prob. at all and regular mowing prevents changing the bag a lot. There's hardly any metal on this one so treat it like a vacuum and store carefully in the garage. Its very quiet as well, my two chihuahua sunbath while I mow now, they use to run inside with my gas mower. Its just a less scary mowing experience for my pups and I.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotoriouslyBroke
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Decent for the price
7/2/2014

Customer review by SWTulsa

3.0 stars 7/2/2014 by SWTulsa
by SWTulsa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's small but fairly powerful. Very maneuverable but since the body is totally plastic it can twist when you adjust the wheel height. Mine has 1 wheel off the ground when it's at the highest setting ... they are all on the ground on the middle setting. Doubtful you want to use the low wheel setting unless you're trying to totally remove your grass and have bare dirt. I don't like the fact you have to use the bagger unless you rig the back flap to stay open. If you do that you get pelted with anything and everything shooting out of the mower. Could be dangerous - definitely painful. The bagger is very small. When they say it's for small lawns they should really say it's for postage stamp sized lawns. But so far I can't complain - if you're looking for something a bit sturdier or with some bells and whistles you definitely do not want this mower - it's very basic. For home lots in most states in smaller metro areas it really isn't big enough. Major metro areas with small lawns would be best.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWTulsa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sun Joe Mow MJ401E height adjustment
8/9/2010

Customer review by KMJ1

4.0 stars 8/9/2010 by KMJ1
by KMJ1

I've only used this mower once, but so far, I like it. It's perfect for very small lawns. However, it did need a minor adjustment of the cutting height to work properly. When I first tried it, it cut too short and kept shutting down. I think it was just cutting so short that the blade was getting bogged down in the roots of the grass. Anyway, I looked in the manual for how to adjust the cut height, but there was nothing. So I looked on the internet and found a more complete manual. The adjustment is really easy. (I'm not all that mechanically inclined, so if I can do it, it must be easy.) You just turn the mower on it's side (unplugging it and removing the catcher first, of course) and adjust the metal rod axel into a different slot for all four wheels. It's easiest to adjust the two top wheels, then turn the mower on it's other side and adjust the two top wheels again. The middle setting worked best for me. Hope this helps someone else.

Was this review helpful? (194) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMJ1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
I love my Mow Joe!!!!
6/11/2014

Customer review by Floridalivingstone

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by Floridalivingstone
by Floridalivingstone

It is so easy to use...lightweight and I like the lime green color and how easy it is to dump the grass catcher. Took about 45 minutes to mow the front yard and I dumped the grass catcher about 7 times. Looks like a well manicured lawn. When I finished mowing and put the mower away it started raining and I was so happy, laughing and dancing around in the rain. And it was a nice rain...no lightning. Your Mow Joe brought me so much joy!!! I bought a 100 ft. 12 gauge cord after learning about 16 gauge cords burning motor up. Works great in an outlet that can handle the draw. Cord holder must have 100 ft cord looped in it not the mower cord or it will unplug when mowing. Setting grass cutting height was a little difficult and tried changing pattern of mowing from what book said but it would have run over cord so went back to book way. So glad I found this with over 400 4 and 5 star reviews it had to be good and it was!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Floridalivingstone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleased with this purchase
3/11/2014

Customer review by mowerhappy

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by mowerhappy
by mowerhappy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This mower was not hard to put together. And didn't take too long to put together. It does the job of mowing the small yard just fine. The collection basket is small so had to empty it a couple of times - that didn't bother me. The only thing I don't like about this product is the collection basket keeps coming apart. The basket just tucks in on the sides but the grooves it snaps into are not deep enough so when the basket gets heavy with cuttings the basket pulls apart and grass starts to spill out. I am thinking of going all around the bottom seam of the collection basket with needle and thread - then when the collection basket fills and gets heavy the seams won't pull out and will just be permanantly together (which is the way the basket should be in the first place). When I finish with the needle and thread upgrade - this item will be just fine. I am a small person and the small size of this mower is just right for me. I can't push the bigger mowers - this one I can. Other than the little problem with the basket (which I can fix easily - this product is fine).

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mowerhappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works out for my needs
12/5/2015

Customer review by RodMow

4.0 stars 12/5/2015 by RodMow
by RodMow

I'm enjoying this mower. I don't have a large yard and it's a leveled surface. I use a 100ft power cord to cover the ground I need. I love the design and it's light weight. Although small, it stores away and doesn't take up space. It's not noisy and isn't difficult to push around. Issues I had was the rear height adjustment kept slipping the back wheel off its track. I just had to be mindful to not force this mower around. The bag isn't large so I keep a waste bin near and cut the yard at low height. Dealing with tall grass is possible but expect to make several evolutions emptying the bag. The important thing to realize is - this is and electric mower. This is my first electric mower I've managed to appreciate it. I've gotten used to handling the power cord and developed a pattern so I don't trip on it. Overall, I still recommended this mower.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RodMow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful little machine!
10/17/2012

Customer review by Tadei

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Tadei
by Tadei

When I unpacked mower, I was concerned about it as it looks like a toy. However, after assembling handle and bagger, perhaps 10 minutes, we were up and running. Not a toy!!! As my grass was a bit higher than I normally let it get, as my old lawn mower had died and factoring in shipping on this one, I thought I had made a mistake getting something so small. Obviously, it did take a bit longer than normal to finish the lawn, as I had to stop more often to empty bag, but I was astounded at the power of this little mower! When I re-cut it a few days later, it was a snap! I had reservations regarding the dragging around of the extension cord, but after a few minutes getting the hang of flipping it around to keep it out of my way, I had a system going, and it serves me well. All in all, I would recommend this mower highly to anyone who would prefer to not use gas, and doesn't mind a smaller cut. You don't have to baby it, it just goes!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tadei
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very good electric lawn mower!
7/9/2011

Customer review by NightRacerX

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by NightRacerX
by NightRacerX

I used this lawn mower for a little over a month now. I have a fairly average size yard in NJ with a little less than 1/4 acre lot. I used to use a Craftsman lawn mower with Honda gas engine, it was more powerful than this electric one but I couldn't stand the smell of gasoline and exhaust fumes. It does take a bit longer to get the job done due to the smaller blade size, only about 14" compare to the 21" I had with the Craftsman. But this little machine is extremely light with only about 30 lbs., mostly made out of plastic, not sure how long will it last but they seem durable for now. The cord can get in your way when you mow the lawn but if you plan out carefully with the pattern you are going the cord isn't a big concern. The bag is not very big so you need to empty out frequently but it is reasonable due to its size. Overall I'm very happy with it and will no longer use a single drop of gasoline.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NightRacerX
Edison, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The actual mower was better than the reviews---
6/9/2013

Customer review by lewstermax

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by lewstermax
by lewstermax
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched electric cord mowers for 2 weeks and finally settled on this mower for my situation. I had plenty of electric cord. I went out bought a cord reel. Then the mower arrived at Walmart. I picked it up. Brought it home and assembled it. By accident I set the front wheels higher than the back wheels, but the mower still did a fine job. Yes I had to change my mowing pattern from my gas mowing pattern but I had plenty of cord. The mower did a fine job despite my error in setting the wheel height. I did not use the bagger, however. I just mulched the grass clippings. Lifting the mower up and letting the clippings out was an important part of mowing. Also stopping to clear the mower and set the cord for the next section of my odd shaped lawn. I have about five or six sections of lawn. This gave the motor a chance to cool off in between mows. I'm truly impressed. I store the mower in the trunk of my Saturn SC! with the cords and room to spare. In a few years, when the motor finally quits, I'll buy another Sunjoe Mower like this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lewstermax
Coon Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a TOY! Great Compact Mower!
11/6/2013

Customer review by Rayukix22

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Rayukix22
by Rayukix22

First of all, totally shocked by how fast this mower got to my house. Placed the order on Saturday and it got delivered to my house on Tuesday (one full week ahead of estimated delivery date). Anyways, back to the mower --> just like many reviews have stated before, it does look like a toy out of the box but it definitely don't work like one on the lawn. Assembly took less than 10 minutes, easy adjustments on the heights (3 different height adjustments). It's relatively quieter than the gas one I owned before. Only thing is I've yet to figure out how to use the cord clip/ holder. Make sure you use the 14 gauge extension cords with this mower. I have small yards, 600 sq ft back and 300 sq ft front and I only had to discharge the bag three times total. Overall, really satisfied with my purchase and this is the best deal out there for an electrical mower that doesn't take up much real estate in your garage.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rayukix22
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Mower
3/21/2015

Customer review by JaeMomSoFly

4.0 stars 3/21/2015 by JaeMomSoFly
by JaeMomSoFly

Shipped fast and was assembled in a matter of minutes! I have to be honest I was a bit worried because when we first started, the grass had gotten quite high, we have a bunch of weeds throughout the grass AND because of previous gophers the lawn is "hilly" but this little mower still did a great job. We've had it for a month but our grass grows pretty fast so we use it once every week. Haven't had a problem yet! Its not too loud so that's nice and it has a basket in the back to catch the grass. I have a medium size front yard and a good size back yard and this mower flows through the grass smoothly with no issues. The basket is a bit on the smaller side so you will have to dump it every 2-2 1/2 rows or so but we don't mind it. It has two settings. The lowest level with mow the grass practically down to the dirt if that's what you need and the second level will leave you a short, yet still good amount of grass. I'm happy with my purchase! You DO NEED a heavy duty cord which I also bought from Walmart. Other than that you're good to go or "mow" rather :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaeMomSoFly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First impressions aren't always the best
10/30/2011

Customer review by frequentshopper12345

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by frequentshopper12345
by frequentshopper12345

We have a small cabin which sits on a nice size lot. We don't have a lot of grass (more like weeds) and my husband has been using a gas powered weed wacker to mow the "lawn" a couple of times a year. He decided to do some research to find an inexpensive mower which he could use instead of the wacker. The order was placed on-line and a few weeks later, we received notice it was available for pick up at our local Wal-Mart. Easy. First impression when opening the box ... uh oh -- big mistake. This thing is all plastic and won't handle the job. Assembly was pretty easy for a do-it-yourselfer. The hardest part was raising the cutting height (moving the wheels). Second impression upon using the mower ... great deal and great value! It cut through the tall grass, grinding up pine needles and pine cones with ease. Our lot has plenty of small rocks and they weren't a problem at all. The bagger holds a lot! It's easy to use and handle. We really like the fact that it's an electric mower since we don't have a garage and it's stored in our basement. No need for more gas. Just make sure you have plenty of cord and avoid it when mowing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frequentshopper12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Poorly put together.
8/18/2011

Customer review by mompom55

2.0 stars 8/18/2011 by mompom55
by mompom55

This mower was so cute and I have a tiny yard so I thought it would be perfect for me. It came assembled except for the handle and the grass bag. When I got my parts onto the mower I started mowing. I didn't even get one complete row done in my little yard and the wheel fell off. I found the pieces for the wheel assembly and looked in the booklet to see how to put it on and there were no instructions. Did the best I could and mowed some more of my yard. I must say when the wheel was on the mower worked pretty well. It started quickly and really chopped the grass up well. Unfortunately the same wheel fell off again, this time in taller grass and I couldn't find all the pieces to the wheel assembly. By then I had reached my limit! I packed the mower back into the box it came in and returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mompom55
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Product
8/1/2009

Customer review by CactusCritter

5.0 stars 8/1/2009 by CactusCritter
by CactusCritter

Mower was easy to assemble and operate. I have a small lawn and bought this to cut up the weeds that grow during our rainy season in AZ. Did exactly that. Bonus is the rear grass catcher which can fill up every 15 minutes or so. You need to stop and empty it or the clippings build up. I like it because it allows me to compost the clippings and gives myself and the mower a break!. Only issue is if you need a long power cord, it can be difficult to pull around with you. Same issue if you had an electric weed trimmer. Mower is light weight and can be pushed easily with one hand, no matter what grade the yard is. Mower gets heavier when the clippings bag fills up. Still much lighter then a gas mower. Is not that loud and I did not need ear plugs. Hardly any grass clippings kicked out under the mower. I wore shorts and nothing hit my legs nor dirtied my shoes. The rear bag does a good job holding materials. If you have a big lawn and heavy growth, this is not your mower. If you have something you can mow in 20-30 minutes, this may be an alternative to a gas mower. Easy to clean up after mowing. Wheel adjustments take seconds to do and middle setting, from 3 available, gave my grass a nice even look. Hardly hit any stones. A problem in the desert where we try to have lawns. An elderly family member in his 80's used the mower with no problem. He said it was effortless and felt it was no more exercise then just walking around. He felt safer using it since it was not as loud and as large as his old gas mower. He also liked the maintenance free aspect of the mower. Blade looks easy to change and a tool is included for removing it for sharpening or replacing. Mower comes with a 2 year warranty. So far I am very satisfied with the mower.

Was this review helpful? (534) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CactusCritter
Southern AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 530 total reviews
1-20 of 530 reviews