Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 680 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

680 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

680 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
433
4 stars
162
3 stars
37
2 stars
17
1 stars
31
1-20 of 600 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 600 total reviews
1-20 of 600 reviews
My Little Bug
8/25/2009

Customer review by Beachkween

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by Beachkween
by Beachkween

I thought my lawn was small enough to cut with a weed wacker but I was wrong so I tried to find the cheapest and smallest lawn mower - Walmart was my first choice, found this little devil on the website and had it shipped site to store and it was delivered in about 3-4 days - this lawn mower works great!!! the only thing I had trouble with was adjusting the blade, the instruction do not include how to adjust the blade, the first push of the mower and you could see dirt - anyway - my neighbor helped me, you adjust the wheels - there are 3 notches, it was on the lowest notch so we moved it to what I call the number 2 notch and it's now at the perfect height for cutting - without diggin up dirt - and it only took me about 15 minutes to put this little sucker together - LOVE IT !!!!!! and it's Green twice, Green in color and Green for the environment - ooh one more thing, the bag fills up very fast, about 3 or 4 mows - so if you want to use the bag, have a trash bag handy to deposit the clippings, this mower is super for small yards - see pics of the lawn attached

Was this review helpful? (465) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachkween
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great mower for a beginnner
7/9/2015

Customer review by 2bright

5.0 stars 7/9/2015 by 2bright
by 2bright

I don't review products until I have had them for some time, next month will make a year that I have had this product and so far no problems or issues whatsoever, love it

Was this review helpful? (68) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2bright
DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE THE MOWER
6/10/2010

Customer review by KentOhio

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by KentOhio
by KentOhio

Last year, I planted 125 baby shrubs, two feet apart, and needed something capable of mowing/trimming between them, without breaking my back! After waiting way too long to decide what tool would best serve this purpose, I researched and purchased this item from Walmart.com. Once I finally figured out precisely how to attach the clipping bag, I used it for the first time today, and it is marvelous! It cut right through the tall weeds that I had neglected for too long. It is quiet, reasonably light, and and quickly produced a neat, trim appearance around every shrub. So far, I am highly pleased!

Was this review helpful? (106) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KentOhio
Kent, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
My first lawnmower!
6/20/2013

Customer review by 12Altima

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by 12Altima
by 12Altima

I just got this lawnmower today after a lot of comparisons and I absolutely love it! - It is lightweight, takes about 20 minutes to assemble and the manual is very explanatory. The settings are very easy to set at the bottom and it looks like a small smart car! It gets alot of attention and the only drawback is the cord so as long as you get at least a 100 ft. cord so you can manuever it around you'll have a lot of fun with it. The motor is not too noisy so it doesn't hurt your ears and you can drive it with one hand if you need to...Great for any age and a great workout!

Was this review helpful? (97) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12Altima
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great mower
5/22/2016

Customer review by Grass

5.0 stars 5/22/2016 by Grass
by Grass
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It cuts great better then I thought it would.it's great for small yards like how it comes with a bag as well I would buy again easy to put togeter and it don't take much room to put away

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for small jobs.
4/5/2013

Customer review by Spadesgirl

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Spadesgirl
by Spadesgirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is amazing that a product so small, does such a good job. Thumbs Up Sun Joe (:).

Was this review helpful? (47) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spadesgirl
Jacksonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An ergonomic mower
7/22/2009

Customer review by AGHomer

4.0 stars 7/22/2009 by AGHomer
by AGHomer

The "Mow Joe" is a well designed, ergonomic mower, exactly what I was looking for. I learned about it from here: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07105999000P and took a chance to order one. Everything mentioned in the review at the aforementioned URL is right on, including the poorly written instructions in the manual, the only downfall of this otherwise excellent product. It took me hours to put the thing together because frankly the instructions are poor - in fact I have yet to figure out how to use the "cable relief." But in operation this thing is a joy; it is light-weight and easy to operate, and the "grassbox" (for catching the cut grass) is easy to put on and take off (once you figure out how, in spite of the misleading instructions), allowing me to dump the grass into my composter with minimum effort. I recommend it highly, but be prepared for some frustration in assembling the thing. And do check out the information in the review posted at the URL mentioned above.

Was this review helpful? (224) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AGHomer
Califronia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
8/17/2010

Customer review by NotoriouslyBroke

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by NotoriouslyBroke
by NotoriouslyBroke

It is a great lawn mower for small yards and light as a feather. I'm 4'10" and 97lbs and I can lift this mower with one hand to bypass my rock garden yard entrance. Try that with a gas mower or even the black and decker electric mower, just too heavy for me. This mower isn't self-propelled but it rolls like butter on my uneven lawn even on high grass. Also with the narrow wheels I barely have to use my edger as this gets right up to my metal landscape edging. True the bag fills fast and the wheels aren't very big and their plastic but you can replace them if you want with bigger more durable ones. I found by just adjusting the height the wheel size wasn't a prob. at all and regular mowing prevents changing the bag a lot. There's hardly any metal on this one so treat it like a vacuum and store carefully in the garage. Its very quiet as well, my two chihuahua sunbath while I mow now, they use to run inside with my gas mower. Its just a less scary mowing experience for my pups and I.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotoriouslyBroke
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good buy for the money
7/1/2016

Customer review by hardworker

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by hardworker
by hardworker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This little lawnmower is easier to use that the 'push/roller blade' one which I was using. It was easily assembled, and does a good job of cutting my grass. My yard is 'lumpy' and I was using the weed wacker instead of pushing the push mower. This one gives a nice even cut. Not too bad to push around. My yard is small and it takes me about 45 mins. to get it done. Starts right up. Folds to put it in my shed with the grass catcher sitting on top of same. I've only used it 4 or 5 times. One just has to be careful not to run or trip over the cord. I'm almost 72 and it works fine for me. I also purchased an extra blade, in case there are none available when I need a new one :) I have a number of objects in my yard to work the mower around ... but it was pretty good.. I am trying to load said pictures but I don't know how to make them smaller in order to fit... ???

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hardworker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent for the price
7/2/2014

Customer review by SWTulsa

3.0 stars 7/2/2014 by SWTulsa
by SWTulsa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's small but fairly powerful. Very maneuverable but since the body is totally plastic it can twist when you adjust the wheel height. Mine has 1 wheel off the ground when it's at the highest setting ... they are all on the ground on the middle setting. Doubtful you want to use the low wheel setting unless you're trying to totally remove your grass and have bare dirt. I don't like the fact you have to use the bagger unless you rig the back flap to stay open. If you do that you get pelted with anything and everything shooting out of the mower. Could be dangerous - definitely painful. The bagger is very small. When they say it's for small lawns they should really say it's for postage stamp sized lawns. But so far I can't complain - if you're looking for something a bit sturdier or with some bells and whistles you definitely do not want this mower - it's very basic. For home lots in most states in smaller metro areas it really isn't big enough. Major metro areas with small lawns would be best.

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWTulsa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sun Joe Mow MJ401E height adjustment
8/9/2010

Customer review by KMJ1

4.0 stars 8/9/2010 by KMJ1
by KMJ1

I've only used this mower once, but so far, I like it. It's perfect for very small lawns. However, it did need a minor adjustment of the cutting height to work properly. When I first tried it, it cut too short and kept shutting down. I think it was just cutting so short that the blade was getting bogged down in the roots of the grass. Anyway, I looked in the manual for how to adjust the cut height, but there was nothing. So I looked on the internet and found a more complete manual. The adjustment is really easy. (I'm not all that mechanically inclined, so if I can do it, it must be easy.) You just turn the mower on it's side (unplugging it and removing the catcher first, of course) and adjust the metal rod axel into a different slot for all four wheels. It's easiest to adjust the two top wheels, then turn the mower on it's other side and adjust the two top wheels again. The middle setting worked best for me. Hope this helps someone else.

Was this review helpful? (215) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMJ1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
I love my Mow Joe!!!!
6/11/2014

Customer review by Floridalivingstone

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by Floridalivingstone
by Floridalivingstone

It is so easy to use...lightweight and I like the lime green color and how easy it is to dump the grass catcher. Took about 45 minutes to mow the front yard and I dumped the grass catcher about 7 times. Looks like a well manicured lawn. When I finished mowing and put the mower away it started raining and I was so happy, laughing and dancing around in the rain. And it was a nice rain...no lightning. Your Mow Joe brought me so much joy!!! I bought a 100 ft. 12 gauge cord after learning about 16 gauge cords burning motor up. Works great in an outlet that can handle the draw. Cord holder must have 100 ft cord looped in it not the mower cord or it will unplug when mowing. Setting grass cutting height was a little difficult and tried changing pattern of mowing from what book said but it would have run over cord so went back to book way. So glad I found this with over 400 4 and 5 star reviews it had to be good and it was!!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Floridalivingstone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
i did not like this mower
7/4/2016

Customer review by Tracy

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Tracy
by Tracy

I do not like this mower at all. My yard is small and I thought that this would work great. 1st the cord becomes unplugged all the time. So you have to stop to plug it back in every couple of minutes or so. 2nd the lawn bag does not hold much grass. So you have to empty it every 5 minutes or so. 3rd, my yard has a lot of divots in it. The lawn mower does not like the divots and will shut off every time that you go over one. So what should be a very fast job, turns into an hour or longer every time that I go out there.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful little machine!
10/17/2012

Customer review by Tadei

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Tadei
by Tadei

When I unpacked mower, I was concerned about it as it looks like a toy. However, after assembling handle and bagger, perhaps 10 minutes, we were up and running. Not a toy!!! As my grass was a bit higher than I normally let it get, as my old lawn mower had died and factoring in shipping on this one, I thought I had made a mistake getting something so small. Obviously, it did take a bit longer than normal to finish the lawn, as I had to stop more often to empty bag, but I was astounded at the power of this little mower! When I re-cut it a few days later, it was a snap! I had reservations regarding the dragging around of the extension cord, but after a few minutes getting the hang of flipping it around to keep it out of my way, I had a system going, and it serves me well. All in all, I would recommend this mower highly to anyone who would prefer to not use gas, and doesn't mind a smaller cut. You don't have to baby it, it just goes!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tadei
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Pleased with this purchase
3/11/2014

Customer review by mowerhappy

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by mowerhappy
by mowerhappy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This mower was not hard to put together. And didn't take too long to put together. It does the job of mowing the small yard just fine. The collection basket is small so had to empty it a couple of times - that didn't bother me. The only thing I don't like about this product is the collection basket keeps coming apart. The basket just tucks in on the sides but the grooves it snaps into are not deep enough so when the basket gets heavy with cuttings the basket pulls apart and grass starts to spill out. I am thinking of going all around the bottom seam of the collection basket with needle and thread - then when the collection basket fills and gets heavy the seams won't pull out and will just be permanantly together (which is the way the basket should be in the first place). When I finish with the needle and thread upgrade - this item will be just fine. I am a small person and the small size of this mower is just right for me. I can't push the bigger mowers - this one I can. Other than the little problem with the basket (which I can fix easily - this product is fine).

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mowerhappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Karen
6/29/2016

Customer review by Karen

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Karen
by Karen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a mobile home with a small lot in Florida and this is just perfect for the yard. No messes with gas or oil. Just start from nearest the plug and mow out away from it and the electric cord is pretty good at staying out of the way. I love the little grass catching bag. The mower has a handle and is light enough to pick up to put away. It does a nice job in cutting. I keep mine at the highest setting.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First time, every time
7/22/2016

Customer review by Robbie

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Robbie
by Robbie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just as surely as the azaleas bloom so beautifully here in VA in the Spring, you can bet my lawn mower will fail to crank the first time I go to mow the lawn after the winter. This season was no different and I followed through on my pledge to purchase an electric mower. The Sun Mow Joe is a neat trick and delivers in every way I'd hoped. It, of course, starts right up. This model uses a cord and I have no trouble with that. The extra bit of time spent being careful w/the cord pales in comparison to my travails w/ my previous gas mowers. And I don't have a postage stamp sized lawn. The bag removes and returns w/ease. The lightness of the mower makes the extra passes necessary to cut my lawn inconsequential. I'm very pleased w/ this most affordable and equally dependable mower.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a TOY! Great Compact Mower!
11/6/2013

Customer review by Rayukix22

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Rayukix22
by Rayukix22

First of all, totally shocked by how fast this mower got to my house. Placed the order on Saturday and it got delivered to my house on Tuesday (one full week ahead of estimated delivery date). Anyways, back to the mower --> just like many reviews have stated before, it does look like a toy out of the box but it definitely don't work like one on the lawn. Assembly took less than 10 minutes, easy adjustments on the heights (3 different height adjustments). It's relatively quieter than the gas one I owned before. Only thing is I've yet to figure out how to use the cord clip/ holder. Make sure you use the 14 gauge extension cords with this mower. I have small yards, 600 sq ft back and 300 sq ft front and I only had to discharge the bag three times total. Overall, really satisfied with my purchase and this is the best deal out there for an electrical mower that doesn't take up much real estate in your garage.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rayukix22
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Mower
3/21/2015

Customer review by JaeMomSoFly

4.0 stars 3/21/2015 by JaeMomSoFly
by JaeMomSoFly

Shipped fast and was assembled in a matter of minutes! I have to be honest I was a bit worried because when we first started, the grass had gotten quite high, we have a bunch of weeds throughout the grass AND because of previous gophers the lawn is "hilly" but this little mower still did a great job. We've had it for a month but our grass grows pretty fast so we use it once every week. Haven't had a problem yet! Its not too loud so that's nice and it has a basket in the back to catch the grass. I have a medium size front yard and a good size back yard and this mower flows through the grass smoothly with no issues. The basket is a bit on the smaller side so you will have to dump it every 2-2 1/2 rows or so but we don't mind it. It has two settings. The lowest level with mow the grass practically down to the dirt if that's what you need and the second level will leave you a short, yet still good amount of grass. I'm happy with my purchase! You DO NEED a heavy duty cord which I also bought from Walmart. Other than that you're good to go or "mow" rather :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaeMomSoFly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
mixed feelings
11/20/2012

Customer review by Ladywong

3.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Ladywong
by Ladywong
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

well, the sun joe mower was really cute. it was easy to use - however right out of the box the left back wheel kept popping off - i thought it was just a fluke thing but as i tried to use the mower it continued to pop off. i called the warranty and explained exactly what the problem was - evidently there was a miscommunication because the warranty people sent me an item that i could n't even put into the wheel housing because it was a part of the machine that was never to be assembled by the consumer. (i thought they were sending me a whole new wheel). Needless to say the item they sent me couldn't be used. i was a bit discouraged because i really had high hopes for the machine. the mower really picked up alot of grass - and the basket filled up pretty quickly. i gave it an average rating because it seemed effective however getting it broken out of the box really kinda ruined it for me. i could have sent back for another one but hired a lawn service instead.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ladywong
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 600 total reviews
1-20 of 600 reviews