Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 106 reviews
5 stars
89
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-20 of 96 reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
It's a Weber
9/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have expectations that if it has a Weber brand name, it will perform well and be well made. It is well made. It took perhaps 5-10 minutes to asemble. I was able to cook on it just as every other Weber product I own. I am pleased with it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a portable grill.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SmokeyJoe
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This grill is made extremely sturdy. I owned one previously and gave it to a neighbor over 10 years ago when I purchased a larger WEBER grill that I still own. My neighbor is still using the Smokey Joe I gave him. I purchased this one because with just me and my wife it's kind of overkill to fire up my 22 inch WEBER for 2 hamburgers, steaks, hotdogs, etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love my Smokey Joe!
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have a huge gas grill, but when I only want to bbq something small, it becomes an inconvenience. This portable grill makes it so easy for me to bbq a couple of hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken quarters or salmon w/ little hassle. I also like the fact that you don't have to buy a lot of charcoal to keep the flame going either!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect size
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have a gas grill, but sometimes we really like to cook over charcoal. The size is perfect for the 2 of us. And Weber is pure quality!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
JUST TRY IT.
9/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is still the perfect grill. All you will ever need for charcoal grilling. I cook for 3 people on it and sometimes we have leftovers for lunch the next day. If you considering a gas grill, just invest the $29 and you will never buy a gas grill. You just cannot get that charcoal flavor with gas. Invest $10 for a charcoal chimney, forget charcoal liter, and help out the environment. For that smoke flavor, get a bag of hardwood chips (hickory, cherry, mesquite, etc) Here's a tip: just fill the charcoal chimney 1/2 full and light the newspaper. You will have ample charcoal to cook a full meal. This is no fuss charcoal grilling (and smoking) at its best. And you can take it anywhere. Two of my friends have purchased the grill after eating at my house. BUY IT.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (120)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great grill for singles or apartment dwellers
9/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to set up. Perfect size for one or two people. I sold my big Weber kettle and bought this one. Works as well as the big on if you have limited space.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Weber Smokey Joe feeds Stanky Pockets
7/8/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I LOVE this grill! It may seem small, but it's got a lot of heart. We were camping out in the Rocky Mountains while traveling with the awesome Denver jam Band "Stanky Pockets." We got road weary, and rained on, but this little grill served up hot corn on the cob, fresh veggies, baked potatoes, Catalina Chicken, broccoli beef, gourmet burgers, fried rice, and brats--enough to fill up a hungry entourage of a dozen people--all on a 14.5 inch cooking surface, in the rain, in a little over an hour! I owned a Weber One Touch Gold that served me well for fifteen years. I decided to go with a Smokey Joe for portability, and was amazed at how much I could get done with it. Way to go Weber!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (100)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really Good!!
7/23/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This will be the (2nd) little Smokey Joe that I have purchased. The first one was about 15 years ago. This little grill is awesome to say the least. It has seen so many burgers, chicken, ribbs, you name it. I am now in need of a new one and was so glad to see that they still make this small grill. We have the Big Webber Grill also, but this little one is the way to go. If you just want to grill steaks for two, the coals are hot in a heart beat because of the smallness of the area to try to heat. I do indeed recommend this little SMOKEY JOE!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Weber Jr
10/16/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This purchase replaces an almost 20 year old Smokey Joe that finally burned thru at a leg bolt! This unit is an ideal portable unit to augment Weber's 22" family unit. Smokey Joe is great and extra fast for preparing food for two and has also worked well out on my boat! Be sure to sign up for Weber's periodic newsletters and recipes!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
4/23/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to assemble - AWESOME Bar-B-Q'd results! I'm in Iraq and the grill really makes a connection to back home.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Little Grille
5/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live alone so a big grille is a waste. I can grill for myself and a friend just fine on this. Instead of pouring a half a bag of charcoal on a big grill just to feed myself, I load just enough to do the job. I just did a big T-Bone yesterday - perfect. I put smoke pellets in an empty tuna can (on the coals) and meat came out tasting like it was smoked for hours. Well made and engineered. No wobbly legs and both grates nest stably. Great value!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Little Grill with Big Permance!
9/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this grill about 1 month ago. Took it to the park and set it on a concrete park table. This little grill does a great job. I grilled 2 small racks of baby back ribs, 8 peices of chicken thighs, hotlinks, 8 burgers and a pack of hotdogs (not all on the grill at 1 time). Everything cooked really great. Assembly was very easy. Very portable grill, it fit easily into the trunk of my car. Very easy to store in my small apt. I am pulling out this grill again this morning to grill more food. I usually buy a tray of a variety of cooked meats from a local barbecue restaurant for almost $55. But thankfully since I bought this grill I haven't purchased any barbecue trays! I defintely recommend this grill.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great saver
12/5/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This compact grill is great for cooking everyday. The round design helps move food items off hot spots. Charcoal does not continue burning after lid is closed with vent closed. This saves money. My husband is a chef and it is the only grill he likes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect little grill
1/27/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Weber grill is well made, of course you have to assemble it yourself, but it only took me about 10 minutes, it was so easy. It's perfect for me because I have small grandchildren and I was concerned if I bought a taller one, they would accidentally knock it over. This grill is low to the ground. I have it on my deck in the back, so I just sit in my lawn chair and grill burgers, etc. It's got a vent on the lid which is nice. When I'm finished grilling, I close the vents but since the lid is too hot to touch, I have to use a spoon or something to close the vents so I won't get burned. It has a little drip pan that catches the ashes. I set the grill on a big tile that I found in the garage because it's on my wooden deck, just for a precaution.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great size and value!!!
6/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have had a gas grill for years! Now that our kids are grown and it's just my husband and me, we didn't need such a huge grill. We really missed the taste of burgers, chicken, etc cooked on a charcoal grill! It is a perfect grill for 2-4 people! It sits out on our patio table and I just grill from there! We Love It and the quality of a Weber is unmatched!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Small Grill
8/5/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good little grill for the money. Works well and is easy to assemble. The only complaint I have is that I originally bought the gold model thinking it would be better(more $=better right?) and it was not. The gold model has the holes for getting ash out on the sides of the grill for some reason, so you gotta tilt and shake the grill to get ash out. Stick with the silver model it does a good job and is good if you have a small family or just grill occasionally.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WOW
4/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
ive owned a weber gas portable grill for five years and when I went to a friends house he had this version of the weber....the food he cooked was phenomal and I decided to get one.....fill with about 20 briquettes and allow ample time to turn white....then spread even, and place the crome grate on top.....leave the vent open about a 1/4 inch and put on the lid.....check from time to time, and enjoy....great grill, never will buy a gas grill again and never buy a product for grilling without a weber name
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for my petite patio
8/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Perfect size for one or two people. Well designed and constructed. Easy to clean. What's even better, Smokey Joe sits on my patio table top where I grill and then I/we dine. Yup perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice for grilling for two easy clean up
7/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Nice for grilling small amounts and easy to clean
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect Patio Grill
8/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Why buy a huge grill for $100 or more when you can grill for 4-5 people easy on this well made, long lasting grill? I used Walmarts ship to store for free and that went great. When I got it home I assembled it in 10 minutes and started grilling. The size is great for our family of four and we don't waste charcoal using a bigger grill. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641756, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-