Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2279 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

2279 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

2279 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1678
4 stars
392
3 stars
101
2 stars
56
1 stars
52
1-20 of 2166 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2166 total reviews
1-20 of 2166 reviews
Love it!!
3/6/2011

Customer review by navywife43

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by navywife43
by navywife43

I love my dyson!!!!! Would highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
navywife43
washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The BEST vacuum EVER!!
12/23/2010

Customer review by Shannon99709

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by Shannon99709
by Shannon99709

I am writing this review after having my Dyson animal ball upright vacuum for over a year. I would have to say that this is a dream come true! I've never had a clog! It sucks up things that no vacuum should be able to. I spilled a houseplant and sucked up the entire pot of dirt and my vacuum was packed full and STILL didn't lose ANY suction! I was so surprised. The filters are awazing because they are washable. Yes I said washable!! No more expensive hard to find filters to buy for my old windtunnel. I've saved sooooo much money with this machine. My carpet is not beat up eighther. I never have to pull out carpet by the threads in the roller. It just sucks so darn good! Hahahaha. I never let anyone vacuum anymore. Geeze. I didn't realize just how much I loved my vacuum until I had to review it.…if you buy it you won't be upset about anything. Except that you don't own the small handheld one. Because that would be awesome to let the family use for all their quick mess clean ups. Hehehehe

Shannon99709
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum!
12/20/2010

Customer review by CCinCRCO

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by CCinCRCO
by CCinCRCO

The only reason I didn't give five stars is that maybe I'm a bit meticulous about taking care of it. About once a month, I will pull the canister off and remove the filter etc., and literally blow everything out with my air compressor. That, and I will also go in and remove any thread or anything else that has wound its way around the brush spindle. The only other complaint we've had about it is that you have to remove the entire cord to be able to use the wand and attachments , so for quick jobs, it's kind of a pain. Aside from those things, I can't say enough about how well this machine performs. We're always teasing about how much it sucks (literally!) It's truly been a wonderful machine and with two dogs who shed quite a bit, it really does the job. We recently changed out our flooring on the main level of our house to hardwood and it does the trick there too. Great attachments. I'd highly recommend this machine to anyone looking for a high quality vacuum without paying a fortune.

CCinCRCO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
I really can SEE the difference!
12/20/2010

Customer review by FurFree

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by FurFree
by FurFree

I've been married for 34 years and take great pride in keeping a clean house. We've always had one long-haired cat and I've owned a few different vacuums (uprights, electric brooms and handhelds) to ensure that we didn't "look like cat people." The Dysons looked too good to be true until I heard some testimonials on a home shopping network one day, so I went out and bought one at a local department store...it is AMAZING! I will never part with it! I had already cleaned that morning and filled the canister with the first run! I've had our carpets cleaned twice in the last year, yet the Animal 28 pulled out cat hair from our cat that died last year! Imagine how much deep down dust/dirt there must have been! After about 3 trips over the carpets, my home FEELS really clean. My furniture no longer looks as though it needs to be dusted every other day. I use the attachments to clean around ledges, picture frames, lamp shades, between the washer/dryer. I don't regret a penny I spent on it!

FurFree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC28 Animal - Great on carpet, not on hard floors
12/22/2010

Customer review by erexroth1

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by erexroth1
by erexroth1

We've had this vacuum for several years now and it is wonderful on carpet! Picks up everything and thoroughly cleans carpet. We recently moved to a new home with more hardwood and it's not the best for hardwood floors. Doesn't do as well at picking things up. One thing I don't like about Dyson's is how you have to use the hose. I do not like that the hose is also the handle to the vacuum. If you pull it very far at all the vacuum tips over. Also, to even get the hose out you have to completely unwrap the cord, which I also hate b\c sometimes I would like to only use the hose and not completely unravel the entire cord. For this reason alone I bought a swiffer vac for hard floor messes so I could just use it for small messes rather than lugging out the vacuum, unwrapping the entire cord and then lugging around the vacuum while using the hose. So, overall, great on carpet, not so great for hard floor and using the hose. I would still buy another Dyson, just hope the revamp the hose placement!

erexroth1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
I finally have a grown up vacuum
8/5/2011

Customer review by LShow

4.0 stars 8/5/2011 by LShow
by LShow

After years of going through vacuums, and spending a little more each time only to be looking again with in 2 years I had enough. I have a Cat, Dog, and guinea pig and 12 year old. Needless to say I need a vacuum that is reliable, sturdy and easy to use. I found all of the above and more with my Dyson DC25. The amount of dirt it picked up the first use was shocking. It made me wonder if i have ever owned a vacuum that was worth anything. I personally HATE to Vacuum. . Now that I go my dyson, ! I was all over the house, stairs, kitchen bedrooms. Its not only light weight, its easy to use. I put it together in 5 min. I figured out how to use it in a flash. The only issue i ran into was when I picked up Hay that had been tossed from the guinea pigs cage. It did get clogged in the tube. It was an easy fix and I was back to it in a flash. I also wish the cord was longer. It seems on the short side. Lastly the tube's material is stiff and i tended to pinch my fingers when using the hand held tools

LShow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Good, but not great
12/20/2010

Customer review by CADreamin

3.0 stars 12/20/2010 by CADreamin
by CADreamin

Both of my daughters have Dyson vacuums and love them so, after listening to them extol the virtues of this machine, we purchased the Dyson Animal. (Just as background, we have hardwood floors, two long-haired dogs and two cats.) I must say, that picking up the animal hair is a dream with the Dyson Animal. It sucks up hair from six inches away. However, picking up dirt and leaves is another matter. We have fine soil and lots of leaves on our property so when these are tracked into the house, picking them up with normal vacuuming is not easy. Most of the time, I resort to using the hose attachment on the leaves ... which can be a pain since there's a lot of area to cover (and I've tried vacuuming using the beater brush and without and neither seems to make a difference). I do love the fact that I no longer have to buy vacuum bags (which can be quite expensive) and that the Dyson seems to keep a constant suction. All in all, I am pleased with the machine but am unsure I would buy another one.

CADreamin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Dyson Ball
12/21/2010

Customer review by Jazzy123

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Jazzy123
by Jazzy123

I already owned the DC07 Pink and had been extremely pleased with it's overall performance. It does carpet and hard floors very well and is easy to operate. I own a cleaning business so I decided to purchase a second Dyson and keep my older one as a back up. I purchased the Dyson Ball because of its light weght and maneuverability. I was dissapointed however when after using it a few times I realized my hand and arm would ache from holding the weight of the vacuum as it pivots on the ball. I also did not like the way you have to "pop" it twice to sit it up. The other models sit up very easily. The cord is too short to clean a very big house, you have to keep moving it. The canister is too small for a large house, you have to empty it during cleaning.The hose is so tight the vacuum bumps you in the back when you try to extend it to clean with it. I love my other Dyson upright and will continue to tell my friends what a great product it is. But the Dyson Ball has issues that need to be resolved.

Jazzy123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Dyson DC25
12/31/2010

Customer review by gdel64

4.0 stars 12/31/2010 by gdel64
by gdel64

We bought this machine because we had read in several places that it was the best vacuum to own if your pet shed. We also got it for much less than the listed price because of a special sale and discounts. It does work well on our couch and on the floors. On my wood floors it works great. On rugs is were to fails to work as well as my last vacuum. The reason I have graded it a 4 rather than a 5 is that the beater brush does not work on small particles and many times the suction is not enough to suck up those small particles. Also it fails to fluff up the carpet as much as my old vacuum did. Is it easy to maneuver? Yes. Does it pick up the hair and dust that lies on the carpets? But Fluffing the carpets, and picking up the small, strings, paper, and other stuff it fails at unless you really work on it. Dyson needs to work on the beater bar brush to get that part of the machine really working. I'm not sure it is worth the list price and I would not buy it for that price anytime.

gdel64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Answer to my dog and cat hair prayers!
12/20/2010

Customer review by Nikki

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Nikki
by Nikki

We had a baby last December. The first thing I worried about after bringing him home was all of the dander and hair from our pets. So my husband and I researched and finally decided on a Dyson DC25. I already knew I wanted a Dyson by reputation and suggestions from friends who already owned their products. All I can say is I was not disappointed at all. The ball feature makes it SO easy to navigate around rooms, the cord is conveniently long so I don't have to continually find new places to plug it is as I move from room to room and it leaves no trace of dog/cat hairs on the floors. I use it every morning before my son plays in our living room and weekly throughout the rest of our home. The attachments are great and I love how the handle ejects from the unit and can be used as a far reaching extension. It has never lost suction and I love how easy it is to empty the debris container. I could go on and on, but you get the idea - this is an awesome vacuum cleaner and I can't imagine not having it.

Nikki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Excellent!! Just excellent!!
12/21/2010

Customer review by CathyJI

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by CathyJI
by CathyJI

I have had the Dyson DC25 Animal for a year now and could not be more pleased. I purchased this particular model because I have 3 indoor cats and found that other vacuums just couldn't get the hair out of my carpet...and they didn't stand a chance at getting the hair off the furniture!! This vacuum does everything you could want it to do, and it will do it better than you expect. I can't believe how much it picks up! And the wand attachment with the spinning bristles gets all of the hair from the furniture with ease. And of course, the ball. This makes it feel like you have so much control. You never have to re-situate yourself to get the vacuum to go in a certain direction, you just simply twist your wrist and it rolls right where you want it to. The canister can be emptied with the push of a button over a trash can and easily popped right back into place so you can continue cleaning in a snap! I would, and do, recommend this to all of my friends and family. You can't go wrong with this purchase.

CathyJI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Better than most
12/20/2010

Customer review by Mygoofynewfie

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Mygoofynewfie
by Mygoofynewfie

This vacuum is better than most, it's light weight and the ball makes it easy to go about. It has alot of suction so this takes some getting used to especially while using the wand to pick stuff up, I don't know how many times I had to pull out stuffed cat toys from the canister because I would vacuum under cabinets and such and voilà a stuffed mouse I would have. I have several cats and doggies in my house so I need a good vacuum as I use it everyday and my other vacuums were only lasting a year at most. I found the dyson animal on sale and had wanted to try it ,I'm still using it over a year later. The only 2 complaints I have with it are the hose attatched to the wand is not very flexible, but I have gotten used to it, Second I have area carpets and it doesn't glide easily across them as it does the tacked down carpet. I do however like this vacuum as a whole,it is easy to use and not near as noisy as other brands, it does pretty well at picking up pet hair too. I would not want to be without it.

Mygoofynewfie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
excellent suction - heavy - a little awkward
4/12/2012

Customer review by shopperintucson

4.0 stars 4/12/2012 by shopperintucson
by shopperintucson

incredible suction. I resisted getting a bagless, knowing that I'd have to empty it a lot, but now I think it's worth it. I loved my Orick - so nice and lightweight purchased before we had a dog. I've had the DC 28 Animal for a couple weeks and vaccuum almost every single day and every single time it is picking up a lot of fine dirt and lots of what at first I thought was dog hair but now don't know what it is - carpet fibers? I got the heaviest duty model because of the dog situation. I would prefer to get one with a ball but thought i'd better go with the heaviest duty one. It is awkward and very heavy, I don't like the way you have to step on the front of it - really putting your weight on it while pulling the handle down to start vacumming and using the attachments is little awkward, but attachments do seem to work very well for a lot of situations, also with excellent suction. I wonder whether a lighter model with a ball would have been a better choice but not sure.

shopperintucson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Just one really difficult feature
6/5/2016

Customer review by cberra

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by cberra
by cberra

This machine is REALLY GOOD at getting the cat hair out of our carpets -- it's what we bought it for. HOWEVER, the hose on the attachment handle that telescopes out of the main handle is IMPOSSIBLE in terms of its absolute lack of flexibility. When I pull it out to vacuum the carpet on the stairs with that wonderful little device that has a rotating brush, the whole machine falls over because the hose is so stiff it won't telescope. I have to hook the hose over my shoulder and lift it. Not good -- not good at all. GIVE US FLEXIBLE HOSES, Dyson!! What were you thinking????

cberra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC25 Dyson Ball Animal Vacuum
12/20/2010

Customer review by nana3

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by nana3
by nana3

I absolutely love my Dyson. The suction on it is fabulous. I love the ease of going from carpet to wood floors with the press of a button. The glide of the roller ball works very well also (easy to manipulate through different areas.). This Dyson emptys very easy as well. One of my most favorite things about my Dyson is you never have that animal smell that gets held in with the bag vacuums. I have never had a problem with that at all. No animal odor ever! All of my other vacuums held that odor in from the animal hair being left in the bag.I gave this vacuum a 4 rating only because I wish I could handle the hose attachment with more ease. It still seems stiff even after the constant use. At times it's hard to put the hose back in. The only way I can explain it is the hose seems to get twisted when I try to put it back together, and it won't go back in. Sometimes I really have to work at it to get it back in. However, this is by far the best vacuum I have ever owned.

nana3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
great machine
12/20/2010

Customer review by ChristineW

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by ChristineW
by ChristineW

I have had this for over 6 months and am generally happy with it. With several pets I was buying a new vacuum every year since my other ones just kep losing all suction. I went ahead and broke down and got the dyson. It does a wonderful job getting dog hair our of my carpet and works great across my kitchen floor. I have only experienced two negative aspects of the vacuum. The first is that as I vacuum, it sometimes leaves chunks of dog hair on my carpet. I am not sure why it does that, but I just vacuum back over the chunks. Also, I have been having trouble with the hand cleaner. When I try to pull the tube out, it has started getting stuck inside and I have to fight to pull it out then when I try to push it back in, it gets stuck and i have to fight to get it back in. I am not sure why this has started to happen. Overall I am glad I have the vacuum, it handles a lot of animal hair and has yet to lose any type of suction. I would absolutely recommend this product.

ChristineW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Awesome machine
12/21/2010

Customer review by ChrisB

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by ChrisB
by ChrisB

I thought our old bag machine cleaned the carpet. it lifted the pile and seemed to be sucking up all the stuff on the carpet and floors. My old machine was also spewing tons of dust and smelled like bad feet whilst using it. Not to mention buying the best upright bags for a lot of money every month. Fast forward to my new Animal :o) My neighbor bought a new Animal while her husband was in Iraq on deployment and had my wife and I come over and see her new find. She had me try out her old upright on a section of the carpet and it looked clean ( Sheep dog and Lab hair) a muck. Then the Animal got plugged in!! Amazing the amount of dog hair and whatever it picked up on the same pass as the upright. Needless to say we went out and bought us one and live happily ever after with our two dogs and cat hair free. The only thing in my eyes that could be improved is the cord length. Customer service rocks too!!!!!!! Thank you for a great vacuum and an almost dust free house!!

ChrisB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
second dyson
10/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the second upright Dyson vacumm we have owned. The first dyson is 6 years old and still operating wonderfully. The ball concept for ease of movability is the reason we purchased our second Dyson. By far Dyson upright vacuum stands heed over heals with its competion. Never did I ever think that care of carpet and other services could be cleaned so well. With two small dogs with long hair the Dyson insures me that the carpet is clean. The crazy thing of how good Dyson is: I have used our older model to vacuum the garage floor. When there is small amounts of debri I use the vacuum instead of the labor consumming time of washing the garage floor with soap and water. With the abilities of our first vacuum my intention is to use it for cleaning out the trunk of the cars and cleaning up in the garage. I know there are shop vacs. for that. With limited storage space the Dyson has it all right there in neat concise space. Dyson has created one of the greatest inventions of the 20 & 21 century for home care.!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Like the vacum but not the odors or escaping dust
12/20/2010

Customer review by dog3cats3

3.0 stars 12/20/2010 by dog3cats3
by dog3cats3

I've used a canister vac for years and do still own one. As much as I dislike having to buy bags, they are costly; I do like the fact that every thing that has been vacumed up does go away with the bag, dustless. Emptying the DC25 bin is easy, yes; but not all the dust goes away in the trash, some collects on the outside of the canister as it is being emptied and also much dust remains stuck to the inside of the cyclone part of the vacum which leaves odors lingering in the vacum itself. There is no easy way to remove this dust unless you have strong compressed air to blow it out clean. Hepa filters do not remove odors even though they do a good job with filtering particulates. It is fair to say that I threw out the bag from the canister vac after each use so if I had left it in and started the vacum up it would probably smell as bad if not worse than the DC25 but at least I had the option of controlling that stale odor by throwing it out and very cleanly at that.

dog3cats3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Some pros and some cons
5/16/2011

Customer review by Godlloveyou

3.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Godlloveyou
by Godlloveyou

We recently bought this vacuum as a result of the media advertisement about how powerful it is to pick pet's hairs, (we have a 8 years labrador which hair is all over carpets and floors). So, after using this vacuum a couple of times, l would like to summarize the cons and pros of this vacuum...PROS 1) Powerful 2) Quiet. CONS 1) Heavy (as a "young woman" i can still carry it out, but for a senior person, back hurt people, etc it is not as light as l would like it) 2) the "clear bin" gets full too fast (l have to empty it after cleaning every bedroom) 3) the "high reach cleaning" does not get streched so easy, it is hard to pull and does not get strechted much 4) To clean pet's hair you have to use another head, which means to clean it using the "high reach cleaning" and so, practically do it manually 5) The operating Manual does not describe,for instance, the best way to use it on wood floors or if you can use it on them. l will call them tomorrow for some doubts

Godlloveyou
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
1-20 of 2166 total reviews
1-20 of 2166 reviews