Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 177 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

177 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

177 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
141
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 165 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews
Love this Vac!
3/9/2010

Customer review by supersearchersue

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by supersearchersue
by supersearchersue

I did a LOT of research over about 3 months for a new vac. I had bought cheap $30-$50 vacs in the past, but now I am in my own home (and the last old one i had died) so I decided to spend a little more and get a better vac. I really like all the reviews and hype about the Dysons but I wanted to stay under $200, and really, my house is just not big enough to worry about a large, high priced vac like the Dysons....Well I found this one and every one was saying it was great and it was almost as good as a Dyson, and it had the best reviews for the price I had found....So I bought it. I paid about $175 after tax, and let me tell you.....I have used it once on my living room, and if it keeps working like this, it will be worth every penny of that $175!!! It picked up soooo much stuff I had to empty 4 times (and I have a small living room)!!! I used my old vac about once a week and the Shark still picked up that much stuff!!! (granted I knew the old one was about dead)...So I will give this 5 stars for now and update later after I have used it a bit!!! LOVE IT so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supersearchersue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Wow!
7/31/2009

Customer review by McKitty

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by McKitty
by McKitty

I've been using an Oreck XL for over 5 years. I bought this Shark a few days ago and used it yesterday and today. The cat hair, dirt and dust that it removed from my wall to wall carpeting made be ill - it was disgusting. (I also shampoo my carpets regularly with an upright carpet cleaner.) Was my Oreck picking up anything? I was planning to buy a Dyson DC 14 when I saw the Shark on display right next to it. It has the same amazing 5 year warranty and makes the same claims about not losing suction so I figured why not for half the price. I actually like the looks of the Shark better also. I also like that the floor cleaner/brush is small enough to get around and under furniture so easily and gets right up against the walls/baseboards. And the unit goes under furniture easily and lays almost flat. The dust canister comes off very easily and is easy to empty. I love this vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McKitty
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What a Difference
1/17/2010

Customer review by pdkmurr

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by pdkmurr
by pdkmurr

My wife had purchased a shark handheld vacumm about 5 or 6 years ago and honestly I was not impressed with the product at all. Recently she wanted a new upright vac to replace the Kenmore she had for years. The Kenmore was ok, but she wanted something not as heavy and easier to manuver around the house. (she wanted a Dyson) After reading the many reviews on the Navigator and the comparison to the Dyson I figured lets give Shark a try again. It has the 5 year warrenty same as Dyson and garantees never to lose suction. If she did'nt like it I could always return it. My wife could'nt be happier. with a dog and all the grandkids running around the house the carpet is always taking a beating. The Navigator is the best vac we've ever had. It gets up all the pet hair and I mean All the pet hair. Its great in high traffic areas with the kids constantly running in and out of the house. I would recommend the Navigator to everyone. Why spend $500 dollars on a unit that you can get the same results with the same warranty for $159. Shark has really improved their products over the last few years and I'm very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pdkmurr
Tannersville, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Comparable to Dyson
7/30/2009

Customer review by lifelesslived17

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by lifelesslived17
by lifelesslived17

Bought this vacuum a month ago, and I couldn't be happier! It is built very similar to the Dyson, and I don't have any filters to take out and clean all the time like other vacuums. It has awsome suction and it is very lightweight. I can carry it up and down the stairs with one hand. There is no question that this vacuum is picking up all the dirt and pet hair. Only gave it 4/5 stars on features because, unlike the Dyson, the dirt has to go through the hose before going into the canister (Dyson is a direct feed). Other vacuums built the same way tend to clog up in the hose, but so far the Shark has not. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and everyone looking for a Dyson but not able to afford a $400 vaccum!

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lifelesslived17
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Vacuum Cleaner!!!
8/2/2009

Customer review by MrDoRight

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by MrDoRight
by MrDoRight

This is an awesome Vacuum Cleaner at a great price! This cleaner is $40 cheaper at Wal-mart than any other store! I like the vacuum cleaner better than the Kirby G5 that I previously owned. Actually the carpet looks better than it did when I vacuumed with my $1600 Kirby. If you are looking for a great vacuum cleaner at a great price, this is the vacuum for you! Very powerful, very quite and a great price for the quality. I think you will love the Shark Navigator vacuume cleaner!!!

Was this review helpful? (86) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrDoRight
Calhoun, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AMAZING PRODUCT!!!!!
12/30/2009

Customer review by brandywine806

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by brandywine806
by brandywine806

I searched and searched for a vacuum after my Bissel died. After reading the positive review of this product, and its affordable cost I decided to go ahead and give it a whirl. I am soooooooo glad I did. This is by far the most AMAZING vacuum cleaner I have had. First of all to see the amount of junk you pull from your so called clean carpets is fascinating and disgusting at the same time. It is a joy to vacuum now, because you can see first hand the difference you are making in your home, not to mention my carpet is less than a year old, and now looks like it did the day they laid it down. After continuing to use the vacuum cleaner you pull less and less dirt up each time, so it gives me peace of mind knowing my little girl has a clean surface to play on. I also have ceramic tile as well and it does a fabulous job on that as well. I am a firm believer in this product and have sold my mother on one as well. Once you get the product, it really will sell itself. You just have to see it to believe it!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brandywine806
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
YOU HAVE TO GET THIS CLEANER!!!!!!
9/2/2009

Customer review by yankee1972

5.0 stars 9/2/2009 by yankee1972
by yankee1972

This is the cleaner to beat all cleaners!!! I bought the one that Walmart sold and I bought the one that they sold on the infomercial because I couldn't find a website that would explain the difference between the two and I just couldn't believe it...no dust bunny on the carpet or bare floor could hide from this vacuum. The difference between the two vacuum's is the attachments it comes with..thats it. The Walmart vacuum does not come with the power paw pet attachment or the 24" crevice tool, (which I HIGHLY recommend if you have pets), it only comes with the upholstery brush and short crevice tool. The suction on this vacuum is PHENOMENAL...I put my hand over the end of the hose and the suction literally pulled the vacuum off the floor. I love how I can vacuum the carpets and then the bare floors without having to change the height. Its compact, not bulky and its easy for the kids to push, they find it fun to use..which is a MAJOR PLUS, LOL. It revitalized my carpets and made them brighter. The suction pulls the debris to the vacuum instead of scattering it. Emptying the dust cup is a breeze, just one touch of the button and it opens. The hose is long and the way it wraps around the vacuum keeps it from tipping over. I went to the floor display of the dyson ball and it seems to be very comparable in size and features. There is only one draw back and for me I can live with it...the dust cup is small, but the cup is just as small on the dyson ball. I do recommend getting the power paw attachment, its great for stairs, beds, furniture and the suction on that attachment is AWESOME!!! My floors are ceramic tile, laminate, carpet and concrete. I can't wait to see how well it does on my car. I will update with the results. I do highly recommend this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (76) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yankee1972
Cadet, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets my high expectations
3/31/2010

Customer review by ExpectsThingstoWork

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by ExpectsThingstoWork
by ExpectsThingstoWork

I LOVE this vacuum! I was forced into purchasing a new vacuum after having a low-quality vacuum fiasco at home. After doing some research, I decided to go with the new Shark Navigator. I'm so glad I did. The suction is wonderful and the vacuum is very lightweight to push and pull. The canister is easy to empty - even more so than other Shark models. I was leary about the smaller base, but I found that it's so easy to maneuver and sneak into small spaces. I can clean under all of my chairs & tables without moving them. Plus, this vacuum actually works on bare floors. It doesn't just blow debris around like other vacuums - it sucks up the dirt! I can vacuum and go right to mopping without having to sweep in between. This vacuum is definitely worth investing in, especially if you can get in on Walmart's sale price. If you're sick of spending money on appliances that don't work, this one will make you happy. If you're just starting off in a household, invest in this vacuum - it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExpectsThingstoWork
Twin Cities, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OH MY GOSH!!!
12/2/2009

Customer review by TheMabes

5.0 stars 12/2/2009 by TheMabes
by TheMabes

Ok, so my title should say it all. I am absolutely amazed with this machine. What amazing quality for the price. I researched for a couple of days... hours of online reading and talking to different people about their preferences with vacuums. I purchased a different vacuum but took it back (it did great on my hardfloors but awful on my carpets), then I purchased another different kind of vacuum (it did great on my carpets but terrible on my hardfloors) so, I took that one back. Finally I decided to fork out the money and get this one. This was my last attempt and I'm so glad I did it! It is absolutely amazing! Not only does it pick up all the crumbs and dirt on the carpets but does well on the hardfloors. Now, instead of using two different vacuuming methods to get both types of floors clean, I use one machine and keep going. The only draw back is that the dust cup is a little small which I had to empty about 4 times. I absolutely recommend this vacuum! It is well worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMabes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
The BEST for PET HAIR/DeepClean
1/8/2010

Customer review by lizzy68

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by lizzy68
by lizzy68

This is by far the best vacuum in this price range. I have owned electrolux (which is comparable but price is 1,500) oreck and kirby and this is the only one that got every last white hair out of a navy bliue carpet! The old electrolux would have but it lasted 20yrs and thru its warranty so I pitched it in 2005 and until today have not been able to replace it. The only drawbacks on this are it is not as durable but it is lightweight so that is the trade-off. It is also not the most attractive and does not get UNDER furniture and other obstacles well, but what you can get to it SUCKS all foreign debris away. Like other reviews, when I first got it and vacuumed my whole house I was horrified to see 8 empty canisters later how inefficient my other vacuums were. I got this because my oreck broke down (again) over xmas and my husband still hasn't brought it to repair. I don't care now if he ever does! I am hooked on the SHARK NAVIGATOR! Go get it girlfriends, you won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lizzy68
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not for a house with hardwood floors
11/16/2009

Customer review by laidbackshopper

2.0 stars 11/16/2009 by laidbackshopper
by laidbackshopper

I had high hopes for this vacuum. After owning a Kenmore canister for 10 years, I wanted to try something new and upright. The Shark got such great reviews I figured it was a sure thing, but sadly it was not meant to be. The Shark works great on area rugs and does not pull them up when vacuuming. Made my white area rug look new again. The vacuum does okay on Berber but not much for deep vacuuming. The baking soda deodorizer did not come up from the carpet and several particles were still visible. When using the bare floor option, it blows particles around on hardwood floors and does not have much suction. The hose will pull the vacuum over if you let go of the handle or attempt to vacuum under the bed. Also, the hose has a lot of suction until you put on the attachments, then suction is lost. Holes in attachments are probably responsible for this, so I'm not sure why the manufacturer put them there. If you want to vacuum under the bed, couch, chairs, or corners it is not going to happen. The canister gets in the way. Apparently when the brush roller is off and it is not on carpet, the suction decreases considerably. I have primarily hardwood floors and berber carpet so this vacuum isn't going to work for me. Will be returning as soon as a suitable canister vacuum is found.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laidbackshopper
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unexpectedly disappointed
2/10/2010

Customer review by Oritam

3.0 stars 2/10/2010 by Oritam
by Oritam

Our Hoover Turbopower 7300 Windtunnel finally died after quite a few years of pet hair and long human hair. The awesome reviews for the Shark and the idea of never changing filters or belts appealed to me, as did the smaller footprint and lighter weight. So I got it. My boyfriend does most of the vacuuming and he complained that this new vac wouldn't pick up feathers (from down pillows) and that he needed to go over the same spot a few times to get up other bits of stuff. I thought maybe he was using the bare-floor mode instead of the carpet brush, so I tried it myself. And he was right. We were so spoiled by the awesome cleaning power of our Hoover Windtunnel that this Shark was a huge disappointment. It was even more expensive than the Hoover. So we're packing it up today and bringing it back to exchange it for a Hoover. =( Huh... I just remembered that I bought a Shark iron a year or two ago that was advertised as "dripless," and the darn thing poured water all over the ironing board when it got hot.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oritam
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Cleans Great
2/21/2010

Customer review by ParisDog

4.0 stars 2/21/2010 by ParisDog
by ParisDog

The vacuum cleans amazingly well. It got deeply embedded dirt and grit out of my rugs and carpet that the previous machine had obviously missed. Also cleans wood and tile floors well, although with only suction and no brushing, sometimes it misses things in the grout. The long cord is good for reach, but gets in the way during use, and the wrapping area is very low on the handle. I expected to be able to go under furniture as is demonstrated on the infomercials, but it is too wide to go under some things. It is heavier than I expected it to be. The best part is, it really gets the dirt up, and after all, that's what it's for. I'm amazed at the amount collected in the cannister after each use. Upon emptying, however, some dust clings to the sides of the cannister, and that bothers me. Being used to sealed bags, I worry about breathing in the concentrated dust with all those mites when I empty it. I suppose everything has its trade-offs. For the price, it does the job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ParisDog
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WOW!
8/20/2009

Customer review by dmp223

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by dmp223
by dmp223

I had been thoroughly disgusted with my Rainbow vacuum, it was too much work BEFORE I even started vacuuming, putting it together, filling up the water holder, etc.. I was desperate to find something that I felt would work as well as my Rainbow and when I started to see the infomercials on the Shark Navigator, I knew I had to try it out. Like other reviewers have said.. my carpets (all area rugs) look amazing, almost brand new! I don't know what the Rainbow was picking up, but the rugs look better than they ever have. Assembly is easy, I had it up and running within 10 minutes out of the box. Easy to manuever, lightweight and just easy.. just plug it in and go. I know this may seem silly, but I no longer feel like a slave to my vacuum and vacuuming. I have 2 pomeranians and so I have a lot of pet hair to deal with, the Shark gets it all off of my rugs and hardwood floors.. Amazing product for the money. I am very pleased!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmp223
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/27/2012

Customer review by ccravensb

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by ccravensb
by ccravensb

A couple of years ago I had bought a Bissel upright from WalMart. It was the WORST Vacuum I ever used. It had NO suction and finally it died. I kept reading all the reviews on the Shark. I told my wife I wanted one. My wife went out and bought a Shark Navigator from WalMart. It is absolutely the BEST Vacuum I have ever used. We picked up dirt out of our Carpet that I never knew was there. I used the upper attachments on the ceiling fans and the ceilings. The Ceilings look as If I had just painted them!! You can tell once you turn it on that it is really going to clean your Carpet!! It is that powerful. I only wished it had a light on the front, but what do I need with a 15 pound flashlight on wheels?? Which is what most of the other Vacs are compared to this one. I like that it does not pollute the air and no Bags are needed. Even my sister's Oreck cannot compete with this Shark...AND she has to keep up with Bags. Best 130.00 you will ever spend. Don't waste your time or money with anything other than a Navigator.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ccravensb
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Vacuum
8/9/2009

Customer review by cwilson

5.0 stars 8/9/2009 by cwilson
by cwilson

I just bought this vacuum because I saw the infomercial on TV that says it never loses suction so I decided to give it a try. When I brought it home I had to try it immediately and I have to say I love it. I went over a few spots that I had already vacuumed with two seperate vacuums and to see what the shark got up. I was so disgusted with my other vacuums. It was like I had never vacuumed before. I believe this one will out perform those higher priced vacuums and Wal Mart sells them for $50 less than other stores.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cwilson
Navarre, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Vacuum!!
8/24/2009

Customer review by CAA1970

5.0 stars 8/24/2009 by CAA1970
by CAA1970

This is by far the BEST vacuum cleaner I have ever purchased. It puts much higher priced vacuum cleaners to shame! It is lightweight, easy to use, and has fantastic suction and performance. I HIGHLY recommend the Shark Navigator to anyone who is considering purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAA1970
Yakima, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/2/2010

Customer review by rooskie03

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by rooskie03
by rooskie03

This thing is amazing. I was thinking about buying a dyson but couldn't get myself to pay that much when I could buy 3 of these for the same price. After reading all the reviews I got it and I am so happy that I did. The cord is long and makes cleaning multiple rooms easy, the dirt canister is small but I can clean over 1000 sq/ft without dumping it. I really like how you just press the button to drop the dirt into the trash. The filters do need cleaning but you get an extra set so when the old ones are drying, you can still have a backup set. I had a bissel with filters and they were always plugging and needing replaced now I don't have to worry about buying filters again. I thought I would have a problem with the small size but now that I have used it multiple times, I don't even realize its smaller. Its actually nicer to have because you can get into tighter places. If you want an amazing vacuum, get this one. Plus it has a 5 year warrenty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rooskie03
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent Performance - Poor Ergonomics
3/7/2010

Customer review by 99XC600

3.0 stars 3/7/2010 by 99XC600
by 99XC600

Have has the shark for about 4 weeks now and have formed a pretty good opinion...here it goes. First - Anyone who is considering purchasing this vacuum should really go into a store and take it off the shelf and really check it out. Honestly it feels more like a toy more than anything off any substance. The vacuum is too light...the powerhead is too small and doesn't hold the vacuum in place when using the extension wand and tools. Second - The dust cup is too small. Fills frequently and you must reach into the top of the chamber to remove the fine hair and dust that accumulate on the metal pre-filter. Third - The design of the hose and the hand tools when using to clean along walls and edges is very poor. The hose has so much recoil and the vacuum is so light. That the vacuum is usually tipping over and landing on the floor if you extend the hose more than 3 feet from the vacuum. This is after removing the hose from the bottom retaining hook and allowing it to swivel. Fourth - The diameter of the extension tube is larger than standard and is very uncomfortable to hold for any length of time. Fifth - It compares itself to the Dyson as far as not losing suction. This is true however, the machine does not generate enough suction in the front of the power head on bare floors. Unless you hit the spot dead center it doesn't pick anything up. There is no suction on the sides of the powerhead. Resulting in poor cleaning along edges and corners. If you don't have kids or pets and live in an apartment than this is the machine for you. But if you have the other I would recommend going to a larger machine. I'm coming from a Hoover Twin Chamber Wind Tunnel that worked great other than the drive belt frequently falling off every couple of weeks. I'm seriously considering selling this and purchasing the Dyson Animal. I read the reviews but didn't actually check it out in the store...just went and bought it. I knew it was the wrong decision as soon as I pulled it out of the box and put it together. But I wanted to try it out before I completely condemned it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
99XC600
New England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best vacuum I've ever had!
12/3/2009

Customer review by kimana517

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by kimana517
by kimana517

Although, granted, that's not saying much. Previously I went with a cheap Bissell, which stopped sucking anything up within two years, and a cheap but highly-rated Hoover, that stopped sucking up dog hair in less than a year. Finally, I had it with disposable vacuums, and paid more than the two of them combined for this Shark Navigator and its blessed 5-year warranty. So worth the money! This vacuum is far lighter and easier to push than either of my previous vacuums, plus it has much better suction. The canister and how you empty it is genius - you never have to have the emptied dust and hair float around, because you can just hold it at the bottom of a new trash bag. The only negative to this vacuum is that the part of the canister that holds the junk you vacuum up is very small. It fills up very quickly because of my oft-shedding dog. But because it is so easy and clean to empty, that really doesn't bother me. Overall, I say BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kimana517
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews