Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 181 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
15
1 stars
34
Sort by: 
1-20 of 175 reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
Good iron
9/12/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a good brand, but I have big hands and the cord was too close to hand holder so I had to return it. Instead I choose the biggest one for 48 dollars which is heavier and more sturdy and it's shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Finally...an iron that works!
11/2/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Hi, I have been searching for a good iron for years...bought 4 in the past 3 years. Have spent $20-$70. Tried Panasonic, Rowenta, Black and Decker and now this Shark. This Shark is hands down the best performer out of the box! The steam is tremendous. I have only had it a week but expect the love of this unit to continue. It recieved high marks from Consumer Reports and has the Good Housekeeping seal of approval. It also made the best 5 professional iron list for those on a budget. It does require more refills than my others...but thats because it actually makes steam! So far it is not leaking and the front spray is the finest, most consistent of any i have used. one of the tech reviews stated this was the best to stay at a steady temp...even compared to the most expensive irons. This is critical if you work on delicate fabrics. I just don't see how you can go wrong with this iron. It should not have been this hard to find an iron that works. I am glad my search is over and am enjoying ironing again...if that is possible! Hope this helps those who have been as frustrated as I have to find a good iron.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (274)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
simply the best
9/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
please note I do not work for Shark, but need a very strong steam iron for my work. This unit is perfect for travel or at home. My likes are it produces a lot of steam, better than handheld units, ( not be used around children!). I have tried two or three competitors and had to return them all. The price of this unit is too good to be true and I bought another two for backups when and if this one dies. Sadly a good product may not be around as a lot of companies fell pressure to introduce *new and improved" models. This unit is perfect now, and I bought the extras in case Shark falls to model changes. Its a small size, and it can get into small spaces and is not heavy to hold. I use it for over 3 hours a day and it holds up great. Only wish is I did not have to refill it as much, but thats the price you pay for it pushing out great steam at a light weight unit. My unit does not leak and heats up within a minute to full steam. I am sometimes brutal in a review if product is bad, but I love this unit and hope Stark never changes it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Spend the money, but not on this iron
8/19/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was willing to spend the money on this iron if it was going to perform. I'm very disappointed. There are some good things about it, but overall, I'm not pleased and am going to return it. It's got a nice feel to it, the iron glides nicely across the fabric, and it heats up like a champ. Ironing was so quick. I didn't know that was possible. This was my first truly good iron that way and I'm now sold on buying a quality iron. Just not this one. The cons: - spits and drips water, despite being touted as a non-spitter, to the point of frustration (and I had it on the hottest setting) - bad design for water opening cover; it flips up rather than dropping down which forces you to have to hold the iron at an awkward angle while pouring the water in; if you try to pour it in while sitting on it's heel, it goes all over the place; also because of this, you can't leave the cover open to let the iron dry inside when done (it falls back down over the opening) - water opening is so small it takes ages to pour the water in, and to pour extra back out at end
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Iron!!! Haven't experienced any problems....
10/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
... even after not following the instructions verbatim.. I have owned this iron for a couple of years, have used it almost every single day and have never had any issues. No leaks, no variable temps, no nothing. It has worked GREAT! It recently started leaking a little and I did a self-cleaning, which I had never done (although the instructions say to self-clean every two weeks or so). It now works again as good as new. Yes, I understand that every now and then faulty electronics straight from the manufacturer are a given, and I'm sure that some of the reviewers may have received some faulty irons. However, I would bet that many people may not have followed the instructions or just didn't know how to properly use the iron. I have had a great experience thus far, even after 2 years. I used to be a die-hard Sunbeam iron fan; however, after a few months to a year, they always leaked sum'n awful. I don't believe in paying $100+ for an iron, and I'm not a cheapskate either. This iron has really proven to be a good deal and great value. It has been great and lived up to everything that it advertised. I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love It!
10/9/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I put off buying an iron, because of the poor choices of irons in the past. This iron surpasses all expectations! I have to iron my clothes every week, and this iron makes that easy. It heats up quickly, and works like dry cleaner press! Wow. Have you every ironed your clothes and you couldn't tell that you have iron them? Not with this iron. You can iron the traditional way or use it like a steamer. The water will not leak either way.If you go slow because of a heavier cloth, the iron automatically steams the cloth for you if you are in the steam setting! On top of all this, it is very affordable. I love ironing for the first time ever!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (123)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would not recommend this iron.....
12/12/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this iron three years ago. I wanted to give a Shark iron a try because I love their vacuums. While using the iron on the highest setting, it would always go to the lowest setting and get cool. I never figured out why that happened. It also often leaked water. During the year's warranty, in ten months the iron stopped working. I called customer support and was told to send the receipt and iron back to them for repair. I had to pay $9.95 to ship it back to them and send them a check for $9.95 for return shipping. The rep said without the receipt they couldn't do anything for me. Luckily I save all of my receipts. I shipped the iron back for repair. A month later they sent the iron back to me. The iron did not get hot like it used to and did not iron as well after getting it back. This iron is not worth it. It was a "decent" iron while it lasted. It's very sturdy and well made; it just didn't last as long as I thought. Buy another iron besides this one. It will save you the headache of it going out on you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not the best brand
12/23/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This iron worked great for about 2 years. Now, it will not heat up, nor will the lights come on. It just stopped working in the middle of me ironing. I was expecting a longer life span or at least some indication of an upcoming failure. I will definitely try a different brand in the future.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
shark irons
3/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've purchase my last shark iron. First to go out is burst of steam button and if you put up with that the next to go wrong is the cord connection. I've had 3 sharks & the same thing happened on each one. Won't buy another.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasted less than a year!
6/6/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this iron as a gift and was happy that it was such a solidly made product. Unfortunately the heft of it wasn't an indicator of it's durability. The iron broke (the plate stopped heating) after less than one year of use, and after a lenghtly process of navigating customer service I was able to get EuroPro to send me a refurbished iron at no charge. I noticed that the replacement had 'hot spots' where certain areas of the plate were hotter than others, and the steam function often didn't work even when the resevior was full. I kept using it, but less than a year later the iron broke and wouldn't heat up at all. Now EuroPro is refusing to replace or fix the iron. I've just bought another brand, and suggest you do the same! There are much less expensive irons out there that last longer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a disappointment!
4/16/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used a steam iron for 30 years and know to let the iron heat completely before using the steam setting. While I loved how the stainless ironing surface glided over fabric, I hated the random sputtering of dirty water staining my clothes and ironing board cover. Very frustrating! Also, the swiveling cord is not designed well and doesn't allow the iron to sit securely on the ironing board, without adjusting the cord every time you set it down. Luckily, Walmart has a great return policy and I returned it and bought a less expensive GE that works much better!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst iron I've ever used!
7/11/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought one Shark iron from Wal-Mart and after approximately 6 months the cord failed due to a short. I gave Shark another chance and now the second iron has a bad cord and will not stay hot. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A GREAT iron!
5/14/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First of all, I have put off reviewing this iron because before I purchased it, I did read all of the reviews, and was concerned about the durability. I too have purchased Shark brand before and was VERY disappointed in the lack of durability in their products. Having said that, I purchased this iron back in October of 2013 after looking at the various irons which our local Walmart carried. Of them, we had purchased several and would not purchase those same ones again. In addition, I liked the features, the stainless soleplate and the feel of this one. Here are my thoughts thus far. First of all, it has held up very well so far. There is no sign that it might quit or die soon. I LOVE the stainless soleplate. On my other irons (and in a 32 1/2 year marriage, I can't even begin to count how many irons we've had!) the ones with the ceramic soleplates were forever discoloring and getting brown "gunk" on them and on the clothing. I would have to purchase iron cleaner (the paste you squirt on a rag and iron over) in order to begin to get it clean. This would happen even if I did not burn fabric, and we typically do use filtered water. This iron does not do that and I have to say that this is (I think) the first iron that I have had which DOES NOT DRIP on the clothes!! The reason why I have only rated it 4 stars is simply because where the "settings" are, which is to say that they are on the iron, under the handle. Not easy to see the text at all, however if you typically use it on the same setting, there are a series of lights and you know where the light is for the setting you use most of the time. When the iron is plugged in, you push the settings button until you get to the appropriate one and the light flashes until the iron is warmed up. Once it's warmed up, the light is a steady green. If you wait until it's warmed up, the iron does NOT drip. This fact alone makes the purchase of this iron worthwhile for me. It does a great job, and is a bit heavier iron than some of the others that are cheaper or even 1 or 2 more expensive. Anyone who irons a lot will tell you that the extra weight helps. It's not too heavy though, but it's enough weight to help iron out wrinkles quickly. I also made the mistake of cranking it all the way up to iron something only to realize I did not want it to be that hot. I simply pushed the button until it got to the correct setting and waiting until the flashing stopped, and it was cool enough to use. The steam is very good though it is very LOUD compared to every other iron I've ever had :) It also spritzes water and so far so good on those not clogging (had that problem too on every iron). As I said before, we do use filtered water however are not very good about emptying the iron after every use like you should. All in all, I am quite pleased with this iron, though still kind of waiting for the other shoe to drop and have it be completely dead one day. Until then and at this point, I can say that I would purchase this iron again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Iron!
12/26/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Agree with all posts here so far. I spent 8 years ironing military uniforms with a $9 iron. I had to dump that iron when I got out of the service because when I tried ironing my white and lighter colored shirts they would stain (Never had to worry about staining camo! LOL) This iron has made me regret the past 8 years of my life. I sooo wish I had known the value of a good iron sooner. Dunno how it stacks up to the competition in the same price range but I will say that if you iron any more than twice a week it's worth double the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It broke!
8/12/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this iron and 9 months later it just stopped working. I called the company who won't give me a refund. I need to send the iron to them and then they said I will get it back repaired or replaced in about 6 weeks. Not much help since I can't to 6 weeks wearing wrinkled clothes. Don't buy it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great iron
10/25/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i'm a guy, didnt think i would ever have to iron but now i do! just picked this up at the walmart store the other day.works great! read some reviews on here for help on other irons since i knew nothing about them and took a shot with this one. has a lot of steam and does a great job on my uniforms. give it two thumbs up! :0)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasted 5 years...
6/27/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
...or so. The steam was great, it heated up fast and I like that it turns itself off after awhile if not used. It just died on me after approximately 5 years. The ex wife wanted to toss it out after about a year because it wouldn't let steam out and it dribbled. I kept it, and cleaned it out with some vinegar (we have very hard water) and it worked great! Made a habit out of using distilled water so that the calcium wouldn't build up. If I can't fix this one, I'd buy the same one again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST IRON EVER!!!!!!!
7/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I HAVE PURCHASED MANY IRONS OVER THE YEARS.....FROM $25 TO $90....ALL HAVE FAILED ME.....MY SISTER GAVE ME THIS IRON TO TRY OVER 2 YEARS AGO AND IT IS STILL GOING STRONG ....I AM PURCASING ANOTHER AS A "JUST IN CASE"....I HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO FAMILY AND FRIENDS....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic iron
11/11/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
FINALLY, found an iron that meets my needs and so far exceeded my expectations. This is probably the 5th iron I've purchased and by far the BEST! It cuts my ironing time in half! I would absolutely recommend this iron! Great purchase!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
broken already
7/31/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've owned this iron for less than a year and all of the sudden it just quit working. It won't stay on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640682, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-