Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-9 of 9 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

It is the best of smokers
11/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had one of these smokers for over fifty years and they are the best. I am now going to purchase my fifth one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Olive Branch, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great product
3/22/2013

Customer review by SkyVballsMom

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by SkyVballsMom
by SkyVballsMom

I highly recommend this product. I had one before years ago and was afraid I wouldn't be able to find it again. I am thinking about buying a second one just so I will always have one if they decide to stop making it. I take the top part off and start the charcoal in the bottom part and so far I haven't had to adjust the charcoal, but just knowing that all I will have to do is lift the top part off to add or adjust the charcoal is worth every penny I paid for this product. We had another charcoaler that cost more and only my husband could operate without burning the food we cooked on it. I've already used this one three times this week. We threw a big piece of Mesquite wood on top of the charcoal and since it was away from the food, I didn't burn anything. I also love the Hunter Green color I chose for it. You can't go wrong here.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkyVballsMom
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great smoker.
1/15/2013

Customer review by BigDave66

4.0 stars 1/15/2013 by BigDave66
by BigDave66

The smoker arrived slightly damaged. Dent on the dome cover. Smoke chamber, dome cover and the charcoal pan arrived slightly out of round probably due to rough delivery. Easy to assemble. I prepared the smoker as per instructions. I made no modifications other than to add a temperature gage to the dome. I smoked a 9 lbs boston butt for 11 hours. It was great. Minimal fussing with the charcoal and water pan.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDave66
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Arrived Early, In Good Condition and Easy Assembly
6/23/2013

Customer review by Midwest007

4.0 stars 6/23/2013 by Midwest007
by Midwest007

Having owned and loved my original Gourmet for about 18 years, it was time for a new one. The workmanship and materials are pretty much the same as they were 18 years ago, which is nice since most mfgs tend to cheapen things to keep the price down. Assembly went well with no tricky issues. Although I doubt Brinkmann will ever see this, I wish they'd stop using slotted bolts and go with something like a Phillips head. Slotted makes it easy for the screwdriver to slip out and scratch the smoker's finish. Also, I would have no problems spending $3 more if they were to use stainless hardware. This ensures no rusting for those who like to leave their smoker outdoors all the time. Next up is seasoning, then its first smoke. Since it looks like my original one, I am not expecting any problems. Also, if you get one, check the Web for easy mods that will improve its performance. For example, doing the charcoal grate mod will result in using less than half the amount of charcoal! Very pleased so far with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Midwest007
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A great beginners smoker
6/25/2013

Customer review by PostcardTowninPA

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by PostcardTowninPA
by PostcardTowninPA

I bought this smoker as a recommendation from a friend who has one. This smoker is great for a beginner or for someone who does not smoke food that often. Granted the temperature gauge on the smoker could be nicer but for the money this does the job. Was easy to put together and I have smoked Ribs and Brisket since buying the smoker and both were excellent. I would advise to have a digital meat thermometer to test the foods internal temperature when finished cooking but definitely a great smoker!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PostcardTowninPA
Gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
packing/shipping problems
6/9/2013

Customer review by billybob177

4.0 stars 6/9/2013 by billybob177
by billybob177

I read the reviews before I ordered and decided on the gourmet smoker for the convenience of maintaining the fire. This was the first smoker I had in the early '80s. I couldn't find it in the store anywhere so ordered online. I also, had a damaged part, the water pan was dented bad enough to crack the ceramic coating. After calling customer service they sent a new one within a week. I am happy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billybob177
jacksonville FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Time to start smoking!
1/13/2011

Customer review by IsleBwild

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by IsleBwild
by IsleBwild

First smoker. Went with a charcoal smoker given there ruputation of making a quality product. Came as described. Easy to assemble. Looking forward to smoking some fresh venison in it!

Was this review helpful? (12) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IsleBwild
Yooper, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very good charcoal smoker for the money
12/31/2013

Customer review by Fabricflyer

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Fabricflyer
by Fabricflyer

Just bought one for my Son-in-Law. Had mine since the 70's and still using it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fabricflyer
Tylertown, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the beginner or occasional smoker
1/9/2014

Customer review by Chris2345

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Chris2345
by Chris2345

Had a regular brinkmann smoker and decided to upgrade to the gourmet as it offered a few more things. Spent a few hours making some modifications to it and think it will perform well. Have not used the product yet but am excited to soon. For the price and cost of modifications it's a great smoker for the beginner or someone who doesn't want to shell out hundreds for the higher end models, like myself (smoking only a few times a year). The product will work with no mods but is definitely not as efficient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chris2345
South carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.