Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 269 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

269 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

269 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
197
4 stars
42
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 265 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews
Glad I made the switch
9/15/2011

Customer review by ovokeith

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by ovokeith
by ovokeith

To preface, I was a big fan of Windows XP. When Vista was released, I wanted absolutely nothing to do with it, because I was so satisfied with Windows XP, and didn't want to change. I heard various horror stories about Vista, but didn't have a first hand experience with it. When it was time to get a new machine, I reluctantly agreed to go with Windows 7, seeing how my job requires me to be on the forefront of technology, how would it look to be using an OS three generations old? Boy, am I ever glad I made the switch. The OS is just so much "smarter" than XP, and it really saves me a lot of time. It's a much quicker OS, meaning that it boots up and loads programs much quicker than before. My new machine had comparable specs to the old machine, so I believe it's in part due to the OS that I'm seeing less wait time between program loads. For whatever failures Vista may have brought, I can say that Windows 7 not only corrected the course, but put Microsoft back in front as well they should be.

ovokeith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Glad I made the switch
9/15/2011

Customer review by ovokeith

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by ovokeith
by ovokeith

To preface, I was a big fan of Windows XP. When Vista was released, I wanted absolutely nothing to do with it, because I was so satisfied with Windows XP, and didn't want to change. I heard various horror stories about Vista, but didn't have a first hand experience with it. When it was time to get a new machine, I reluctantly agreed to go with Windows 7, seeing how my job requires me to be on the forefront of technology, how would it look to be using an OS three generations old? Boy, am I ever glad I made the switch. The OS is just so much "smarter" than XP, and it really saves me a lot of time. It's a much quicker OS, meaning that it boots up and loads programs much quicker than before. My new machine had comparable specs to the old machine, so I believe it's in part due to the OS that I'm seeing less wait time between program loads. For whatever failures Vista may have brought, I can say that Windows 7 not only corrected the course, but put Microsoft back in front as well they should be.

ovokeith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mature, reliable operating system
2/25/2011

Customer review by TachyonWalker

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by TachyonWalker
by TachyonWalker

Several people argue that Windows 7 is only Windows Vista sucessor with "facelifting". The software market became similar to automotive. There's a competitors' race. The period between issuing new product has shortened a lot. In such situation is very difficult to avoid problems. Fortunately Windows 7 ommited the reef that was so painful for Windows Vista. Microsoft had listened to the users and the results of this feedback made a great influence for the system. Windows 7 is encourages "conservative" users to to "touch and play". The word "conservative" means for me the users who were using XP for years and omitted Vista. Trying Windows 7 may convince them to stay with the system for a longer time. By the other side Windows 7 dedicated to the IT enthusiasts too. The new look, imroved architecture and richness of functionalities should fulfill their needs. For Windows 7 software isn't a limit. Several bottlenecks may lay in hardware but there's quite different story....

TachyonWalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mature, reliable operating system
2/25/2011

Customer review by TachyonWalker

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by TachyonWalker
by TachyonWalker

Several people argue that Windows 7 is only Windows Vista sucessor with "facelifting". The software market became similar to automotive. There's a competitors' race. The period between issuing new product has shortened a lot. In such situation is very difficult to avoid problems. Fortunately Windows 7 ommited the reef that was so painful for Windows Vista. Microsoft had listened to the users and the results of this feedback made a great influence for the system. Windows 7 is encourages "conservative" users to to "touch and play". The word "conservative" means for me the users who were using XP for years and omitted Vista. Trying Windows 7 may convince them to stay with the system for a longer time. By the other side Windows 7 dedicated to the IT enthusiasts too. The new look, imroved architecture and richness of functionalities should fulfill their needs. For Windows 7 software isn't a limit. Several bottlenecks may lay in hardware but there's quite different story....

TachyonWalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very stable, Windows XP Mode!
11/22/2010

Customer review by Rale

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Rale
by Rale

I started with Windows 7 RC back in '07, I believe. I was pretty impressed with how stable the operating system was right off the bat when compared with Vista. I have never had a BSOD with the release version and it runs all of my software flawlessly. I current have two virtual machines set up with Windows XP Professional (free, courtesy of Microsoft) and Windows Vista Home Premium for software testing purposes. The VM integrated very well into both of them and allow me to easily test software on a few different platforms. The install is pretty much automated and I didn't encounter any problems running it on a bare disk. I upgraded from Windows XP Professional x86 to Windows 7 Professional x64, so I had to perform a clean install but that wasn't a big deal. I rather like that, unlike Vista, Windows 7 has gone back to a smaller collection of version choices for the user. They made it pretty easy for the user to decide what fit their needs the best.

Rale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very stable, Windows XP Mode!
11/22/2010

Customer review by Rale

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Rale
by Rale

I started with Windows 7 RC back in '07, I believe. I was pretty impressed with how stable the operating system was right off the bat when compared with Vista. I have never had a BSOD with the release version and it runs all of my software flawlessly. I current have two virtual machines set up with Windows XP Professional (free, courtesy of Microsoft) and Windows Vista Home Premium for software testing purposes. The VM integrated very well into both of them and allow me to easily test software on a few different platforms. The install is pretty much automated and I didn't encounter any problems running it on a bare disk. I upgraded from Windows XP Professional x86 to Windows 7 Professional x64, so I had to perform a clean install but that wasn't a big deal. I rather like that, unlike Vista, Windows 7 has gone back to a smaller collection of version choices for the user. They made it pretty easy for the user to decide what fit their needs the best.

Rale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the DEFINITIVE version of Windows!
1/13/2013

Customer review by CaffeineCarl

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by CaffeineCarl
by CaffeineCarl

I've used Windows 7 ever since the beta stage and have been thoroughly impressed since day one, and even at that early stage, it became my default operating system. Generally satisfied with Windows Vista, I love how the interface learned even more tricks that it hadn't already had, like Aero Snap, Peek and Shake. The Start menu's search bar has been immensely important and useful to finding exactly what I need at any moment and has really sped up my workflow. Also, all the organizational features have helped make several third party tools unnecessary. Thankfully, all of this hasn't had an exorbitant resource hit. As a matter of fact, it runs even better than Vista, with significantly lower memory usage. I've been running this operating system for over three years and have used Windows since the Windows 3.1 days. Even with the release of Windows 8, this is the BEST of the brains of Microsoft! I would DEFINITELY buy this again and again!

CaffeineCarl
Detroit, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Insufficient Info to Choose Full vs Upgrade
11/28/2011

Customer review by GoGoGoBigO

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by GoGoGoBigO
by GoGoGoBigO

Not as of now. Microsoft® gives too little information, or distributes its information too cleverly, to choose between Upgrade and the full license. It says only that the license for Upgrade has the same features as the license for the full version. This leaves open the question, how do the two Products compare? The webpage indicates that either license and product costs the same, and if the two products are no different, then, why should there be two (2) different licenses to choose between? SO, there MUST BE some differences in the products, else Microsoft® would not offer these choices. Also, there is cognitive dissonance when M$ say there is no difference in features but then says elsewhere that Windows Anytime will not support upgrading any Vista® or XP and we must go to the Microsoft Store to buy a Full something-or-other. So, are there two kinds of Full licenses, thus, three (3) kinds of licenses and/or three (3) kinds of products all labelled Windows 7 Professional? Am wishing that M$ would disambiguate its webpages (but have little reason to hold out hope for that).

GoGoGoBigO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Insufficient Info to Choose Full vs Upgrade
11/28/2011

Customer review by GoGoGoBigO

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by GoGoGoBigO
by GoGoGoBigO

Not as of now. Microsoft® gives too little information, or distributes its information too cleverly, to choose between Upgrade and the full license. It says only that the license for Upgrade has the same features as the license for the full version. This leaves open the question, how do the two Products compare? The webpage indicates that either license and product costs the same, and if the two products are no different, then, why should there be two (2) different licenses to choose between? SO, there MUST BE some differences in the products, else Microsoft® would not offer these choices. Also, there is cognitive dissonance when M$ say there is no difference in features but then says elsewhere that Windows Anytime will not support upgrading any Vista® or XP and we must go to the Microsoft Store to buy a Full something-or-other. So, are there two kinds of Full licenses, thus, three (3) kinds of licenses and/or three (3) kinds of products all labelled Windows 7 Professional? Am wishing that M$ would disambiguate its webpages (but have little reason to hold out hope for that).

GoGoGoBigO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not bad, but it could use some improvement.
2/23/2011

Customer review by Dreamer

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Dreamer
by Dreamer

The design is in no way innovative; the majority of those idea's (Snap, Zoom-in, Pin and Taskbar Previews ) were borrowed from other sources, like KDE. On the positive side, installation was very easy: all the drivers on my computer were found and installed. While the product is good, in my opinion the price should be lowered or some office software (Word and Excel) should be include. One strange glitch I did find is that the clock doesn't automatically sync online with Microsoft's servers, so the time is always off and I have to manually make it sync. Also the Aero zoom-in feature looks awful. Windows 7 is basically Windows Vista on a diet, not worth upgrading from Windows Vista, but promising for new computers and a great security upgrade from Windows XP (if the computer can handle the upgrade).

Dreamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IIS is excellent! .NET 4.0 applications start near instantly!
5/5/2011

Customer review by IDWMaster

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by IDWMaster
by IDWMaster

As a developer, Windows 7 Professional is an essential. It comes with all the essentials (IIS, remote desktop, etc) and some added bonuses (such as Aero, Flip3D, and taskbar thumbnails). These are interesting features to experiment with while developing software, to enhance the end-user experience, and provide closer integration with Windows 7. I would however; prefer a better way to develop desktop widgets (similar to how Kubuntu/KDE does it) and a standard social networking service with developer APIs (in the taskbar or something, like how Ubuntu does it, but it would be great with Windows Live Messenger), and media player integration into the taskbar (similar to how it was done in previous versions of Windows, where it could be minimized into a small player on the taskbar.

IDWMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy and wonderful to use
4/7/2011

Customer review by RealbigSwede

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by RealbigSwede
by RealbigSwede

I have used Microsoft OS since the beginning I use the first MS-Dos and the first MS Windows 3.11 and I have had them all since then, But I have tried other OS like the OS2. I even have a Ubuntu on one table computer but I'm not happy with it. The Win7 is the best of them all it was easy to in stall and very easy to us, wife is learning it and she really like it. The game is running very fast and with no hiccups, So far I have not found any program or game that will not run on my computer even games and program from the win95 era runs great. MS Win7 have never given me a blue screen and I pushing the program to the MAX. I downloading all kind of beta and testing them and then deleting them and still the win7 keep on ticking, the other windows did not do that, they had a tendency to crash. The updating and upgrading the program is so easy it doing it self. Could not ask for better and easier. My Computer: CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 MoBo: Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UP4P PSU: Ultra X3 1000w, sli Ram: 8 Gigs, ddr2 pc6400, 4-4-4-12 Video: Sparkle NIVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 GDDR5 (768Meg) Case: Lian Li V1200 Cooling: Koolance INX-720SL Cooling System Optical: 2, HP 1040 / LightScribe Hard disks: 8 WD = 3.125TB

RealbigSwede
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 7 Gets Most of it Right
2/15/2012

Customer review by RancherDan

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by RancherDan
by RancherDan

I started using Windows 7 as soon as it was released. The operating system has worked well on most any system that I have used it. There are still the ocassional unexpected errors, but most of the features appear to be solid. I like the fact that Windows 7 normally determines the correct drivers for the computer system and installs them. The use of Windows 7 along with Microsoft Security Essentials also is a good match. As I am also now testing the Windows 8 Developer Preview, it is interesting to see the changes that are ahead for the Windows systems. I think they will be good. Keep it up Microsoft. I just wish you would offer better pricing on your operating systems. There are still plenty of computers that can run previous and/or new versions of the operating systems, but, the upgrade cost makes the path less attractive.

RancherDan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best OS
11/5/2011

Customer review by DisiX

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by DisiX
by DisiX

I personally love this ooperating system because it is so compatible with everything as far as programs and games. The only thing that I've seen that has had a major bug with it would be the WDDM that hasn't read my information about my video card correctly and its not a major thing for me anyway. I am however an avid gamer and PC enthusiast, and everything else about this OS is the easiest to use and the most compatible with all of the hardware and the software that I use everyday. Not to mention that everything looks great in terms of style and design. I am currently a great fan of Microsoft Windows and I hope that they continue to work to be the very best at giving the absolute best services to the personal computer. Thanks to the people who made it. :D

DisiX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
6/23/2011

Customer review by Yams

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Yams
by Yams

Overall and amzing Operating System, the only signifigant loss that I see between Windows 7 Professional and Windows 7 Ultimate is the absence of Windows BitLocker, but there are third party programs that can compensate for that. One other little comment that I had is that for some reason, I appreciated the GUI (Graphical User Interface) of Windows Vista a bit more than I do with Windows 7's, but I guess you can get passed that with the fact that the Windows Vista GUI used alot more resources. Other than what I mentioned though, Windows 7 Professional to me is an awesome asset to have whether you are a home user who just surfs the web and does some word proccessing or if you are a business user making databases and so on, I would strongly recommend it!

Yams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad, but it could use some improvement.
2/23/2011

Customer review by Dreamer

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Dreamer
by Dreamer

The design is in no way innovative; the majority of those idea's (Snap, Zoom-in, Pin and Taskbar Previews ) were borrowed from other sources, like KDE. On the positive side, installation was very easy: all the drivers on my computer were found and installed. While the product is good, in my opinion the price should be lowered or some office software (Word and Excel) should be include. One strange glitch I did find is that the clock doesn't automatically sync online with Microsoft's servers, so the time is always off and I have to manually make it sync. Also the Aero zoom-in feature looks awful. Windows 7 is basically Windows Vista on a diet, not worth upgrading from Windows Vista, but promising for new computers and a great security upgrade from Windows XP (if the computer can handle the upgrade).

Dreamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome OS!
7/10/2011

Customer review by 255493477

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by 255493477
by 255493477

I use to use Windows Vista on my computer, but now I use Windows Seven Professional. It is a great operating system. Before with Windows Vista I would have to wait a long time for simple things to open or for things to pull out of the hard drive. My HD was fairly clean and it was defragmented some what often, But things were still sluggish. Now with Windows Seven it is way faster and easier for my computer to run. With Windows Vista it you could tell was harder for my computer to run, it was a heavy Operating system. My computer was hot when I would run it in my desk so when I upgraded, it's temperature decreased a lot. I was amazed with all of the easy flicks and gestures. I do really love Windows Seven. It is an Awesome OS.

255493477
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IIS is excellent! .NET 4.0 applications start near instantly!
5/5/2011

Customer review by IDWMaster

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by IDWMaster
by IDWMaster

As a developer, Windows 7 Professional is an essential. It comes with all the essentials (IIS, remote desktop, etc) and some added bonuses (such as Aero, Flip3D, and taskbar thumbnails). These are interesting features to experiment with while developing software, to enhance the end-user experience, and provide closer integration with Windows 7. I would however; prefer a better way to develop desktop widgets (similar to how Kubuntu/KDE does it) and a standard social networking service with developer APIs (in the taskbar or something, like how Ubuntu does it, but it would be great with Windows Live Messenger), and media player integration into the taskbar (similar to how it was done in previous versions of Windows, where it could be minimized into a small player on the taskbar.

IDWMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Completely awesome!
6/22/2011

Customer review by ImLikeYes

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by ImLikeYes
by ImLikeYes

So I've had this OS since the release date and it has been amazing. Networking is a breeze and using programs such as virtual pc is easier then ever. Currently running 5 virtual pc boxes on my Windows 7 Professional and it honestly is seamless. I get no reduction in speed whatsoever. Upgrading from Vista it also made viewing my inhome camera's away from home a lot more simple where Vista had a few issues loading the streams Windows 7 seems to pick up the slack and give me perfect pictures of my home from where ever I happen to be. Honestly if you haven't tried Windows 7 yet, go to a local electronic store and play around with the computers set up there. =D

ImLikeYes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best OS
11/5/2011

Customer review by DisiX

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by DisiX
by DisiX

I personally love this ooperating system because it is so compatible with everything as far as programs and games. The only thing that I've seen that has had a major bug with it would be the WDDM that hasn't read my information about my video card correctly and its not a major thing for me anyway. I am however an avid gamer and PC enthusiast, and everything else about this OS is the easiest to use and the most compatible with all of the hardware and the software that I use everyday. Not to mention that everything looks great in terms of style and design. I am currently a great fan of Microsoft Windows and I hope that they continue to work to be the very best at giving the absolute best services to the personal computer. Thanks to the people who made it. :D

DisiX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews