Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
88
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 119 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
GREAT PRODUCT
1/13/2010

Customer review by Ppipanman

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Ppipanman
by Ppipanman

yes if you but the "Upgrade" for Windows Vista Home edition that product will not work. i think your review was meant for that product. If you have Windows Vista Home (not Professional, or Ultimate) then you need to get one of 2 products. either buy the Windows 7 Home or Ultimate Upgrade, or buy the Windows 7 Professional Full Version. (which will require wiping your computer and starting from scratch) all of this can be found by doing a bit of research on the product before you buy it. it is spelled out right on Microsoft's Website.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ppipanman
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product, but.....
9/9/2010

Customer review by John67

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by John67
by John67

I love what Windows 7 brings to the table, but it's still a bit buggy. Overall, I still love this version due to the increased flexibility and ease of use. Although I'm an XP fan BIG-TIME, I have to say, once you grow comfortable using Windows 7, you'll never want to go back!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John67
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/11/2011

Customer review by 31547

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by 31547
by 31547

I installed a new hard drive in my laptop....and installed Win7 on it.....soo easy! And I love Win7 great OS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
31547
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Upgrade Warning
12/28/2009

Customer review by 3KidsMom11

3.0 stars 12/28/2009 by 3KidsMom11
by 3KidsMom11

Be careful - while all packaging and item descriptions state that this is an update for Vista, this is not entirely the case. You can only use this as an upgrade from Vista Professional. It cannot be run as an upgrade from any home version of Vista. I learned this the hard way. The only way that I can use this version is to do a brand new install, which means that all settings, programs and files will be lost. If you are running a home version of Vista, you can only upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium or Ultimate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3KidsMom11
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
3/5/2013

Customer review by OkieDukie

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by OkieDukie
by OkieDukie

I will need a new computer soon and I don't like Windows 8. So now I can load this OS on to a new computer. Have fun.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OkieDukie
SE Okla.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty Much Just Vista
6/3/2010

Customer review by jaytheman

4.0 stars 6/3/2010 by jaytheman
by jaytheman

this product is just like vista. the only difference is the bottom bar on the screen...and the snap features....

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaytheman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sleek, simple installation, faster boot times, powerful and easy-to-use features.
11/16/2010

Customer review by Dirgon

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by Dirgon
by Dirgon

After skipping Windows Vista on my main PC for it's entire life cycle, I played with Windows 7 during it's RC phase, and was instantly impressed. Installation was as easy as Vista (both are huge steps up from XP) and installation over a flash drive (takes some tweaking) is actually FASTER than Windows XP or Vista ever was. Features brought over from Vista, such as desktop gadgets and start-button search are immeasurable in how much use they receive. The GUI is much cleaner and easier to use, the start-button search is incredibly faster and more accurate than Vista's was, and the Aero Snap feature for someone, such as myself, running two monitors makes it easier than ever to manage multiple applications. Driver support in Windows 7 is lightyears ahead of Windows XP or Vista. Most hardware doesn't require it's factory driver disk, or drivers downloaded from the internet, as Windows 7 will find them and download necessary drivers for you automatically. Getting connected to your network in XP or Vista was always a hassle if you didn't have drivers on-hand, as you'd need a second machine in order to get internet access, find, download, and transfer drivers. With Windows 7, you just turn it on and it works. Windows XP virtual-machine is an amazing bonus, as well. Windows 7's built-in remote desktop client is also very smooth and extremely easy to use, and is incredibly useful for controlling my old XP machine-turned-file server, as I don't need any I/O devices connected to it other than power and a network cable. After using Windows 7 Professional since it's release, I cannot function NEARLY as well on any other OS platform. Windows 7 is the standard. It's modern, sleek, looks great, very customizable, extremely powerful, and is, in my opinion, the best Microsoft product ever created.

Dirgon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is great
11/16/2010

Customer review by GAMERAIDER99

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by GAMERAIDER99
by GAMERAIDER99

This product is great. I ordered it from newegg for $110 and it was totally worth it. The only problem I had with it was the networking. I Bing the problem and was able to fix it in about 20 mins. I have 5 computers in my house all running 64 bit copies of windows 7. 3 are home edition the others are Professional. All run great and the Compatibility is awesome, it is much better than vista and blows xp out of the water. I would totally recommend this product.

GAMERAIDER99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing and easy to install.
11/22/2010

Customer review by Ninja

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Ninja
by Ninja

When I bought Windows 7 Professional Edition, I though the install would take an hour or two. But it didn't, it took less time than XP or Vista.

Ninja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What an amazing OS
11/22/2010

Customer review by Zippy

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Zippy
by Zippy

Windows 7 in general have great features that I use daily. The aero snap feature is amazing and I use that probably 30-40 times a day to compared objects such as photos. The boot-up time from windows XP to windows 7 is such an amazing increase. The OS loads super fast even on older computers that Windows Vista couldn't handle. If someone asks you if you have windows 7 and the answer is no that means you need to go out and get it because it truly is that amazing. I got mine 2 days after it released and have used it everyday and never have had a problem with it. Best OS ever. Way to go Microsoft.

Zippy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall much better interface, some big quirks
11/16/2010

Customer review by Albert

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by Albert
by Albert

Installation was easy. I literally got a call half way through installing from a friend who wanted to go to the movies so I left it to do its thing and came back to a new OS. It's worked beautifully. Since then I've only had to do 1 single complete system wipe and that was due to my trying to teach myself some programming on it. Ease of use is a major increase. I love all of the program window manipulation features that were added. I will never go back to xp...except for compatibility mode. Which brings us to the downfall. Many programs that were designed to be used on XP do not run right on Windows 7. So for example I have a series of games that I love and are dear to me. They do not install right on 7 and I cannot play them right unless I install a virtual box to run it off of. The XP compatibility mode does this, but I found it to be absurdly complicated to set up and a third party one works just as well if not better (more efficiently). It would almost be worth it to partition your hard drive and dual boot XP and 7 so that you can run those programs. The toolbar at the bottom of the screen is much better. It will shrink down the tiles for windows open to the programs that are open so that if you have 20 internet explorer windows open they show up as 1 tile and when you scroll over it they all pop up with pictures of the window. Also media player interfaces are built into those little windows so minimized you can still control the music to a degree. The filing system is nowhere near as organized as XP, but it makes searching for any folder ridiculously easy. I never used the search feature in XP or Vista and I find myself using it all the time in 7 ven to pull up my programming calculator.

Albert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 7 with Intel i7 is unbeatable!
2/2/2011

Customer review by Baugher117

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Baugher117
by Baugher117

I built my computer for the first time with an Intel i7 Processor and with Windows 7 Professional- (64-Bit). I admit was extremely impressed with Microsoft. The start menu search bar is faster than ever, it's perfect for gamers, Windows Live Essentials is awesome, personalization is better than ever, better security, extremely stable, and I absolutely love the aero snap. Of course this was only tested on my PC but I'm pretty sure most people would agree with me.

Baugher117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My review of Windows 7 Professional
2/5/2011

Customer review by SimonP

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by SimonP
by SimonP

Absolutely brilliant. This is OS is fast, yet packed with features. Ease of use is 11 out of 10! This OS will last for a long time before it gets taken over by the next Windows. Anyway, excellent! All I can say is excellent. Except a price drop would be nice :)

SimonP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I definitely recommend windows 7 to everyone. Excellent experience, easy to use!
2/20/2011

Customer review by Justin

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Justin
by Justin

Excellent software. Easy to use and understand. Thank you Microsoft

Justin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best OS that I have used.
2/21/2011

Customer review by geekster

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by geekster
by geekster

Why did I call it the best OS that I have used? -- because it installed in 25 - 30 minutes from start to finish. It has been absolutely stable. In fact, I will not even install Service Pack 1 at this time. In my 25+ years of computing I have become very familiar with the process of upgrading or doing a clean install of an OS. This was by far the easiest that I have ever done. I like the new features, as well as, the things that have stayed the same. For users of previous versions of Windows there will be a very short learning curve.

geekster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far I am greatly impressed.
2/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used Windows 7 for only a short time but have found it easier to use than other systems I have had and much less complicated for someone like me who does not like complications.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great OS!!
2/22/2011

Customer review by iceblue217

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by iceblue217
by iceblue217

Win7-Pro was easy to install. It really did it's own thing with very little intervention. Apart from a few driver's missing, it set-up quickly and runs everything I had used in WinXP-Pro. I like it and really don't see why MS has to bring out another OS (Win8). But I guess we'll see what it brings.

iceblue217
Mature, reliable operating system
2/25/2011

Customer review by TachyonWalker

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by TachyonWalker
by TachyonWalker

Several people argue that Windows 7 is only Windows Vista sucessor with "facelifting". The software market became similar to automotive. There's a competitors' race. The period between issuing new product has shortened a lot. In such situation is very difficult to avoid problems. Fortunately Windows 7 ommited the reef that was so painful for Windows Vista. Microsoft had listened to the users and the results of this feedback made a great influence for the system. Windows 7 is encourages "conservative" users to to "touch and play". The word "conservative" means for me the users who were using XP for years and omitted Vista. Trying Windows 7 may convince them to stay with the system for a longer time. By the other side Windows 7 dedicated to the IT enthusiasts too. The new look, imroved architecture and richness of functionalities should fulfill their needs. For Windows 7 software isn't a limit. Several bottlenecks may lay in hardware but there's quite different story....

TachyonWalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is great.
2/28/2011

Customer review by CountryGirl

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by CountryGirl
by CountryGirl

At first I thought Windows 7 would be hard to get used to but it has been great. I wish it was a little easier to find the answers to the things I do have problems with I usually figure those out too. I love everything about it. I would recommend that everyone upgrade to Windows 7.

CountryGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Im a Tech i seldom recommend but this is one i will
3/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Windows 7 is finally the tht e windows we have been waiting for it fast it does not crash it works and works and talk about multi tasking i have 20 windows open and never have a problem amd i boy do i have attention deficit disorder. Well take it from a pro sell your old system get what you can and move to windows 7 get the 64 bit version and all the ram you can afford the get ready to blow your socks off this is the system to holler hurraaa wow dam oh my you know the words go ahead say them its about time Way to go MS

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews