Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

127 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

127 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 123 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews
Glad I made the switch

Customer review by ovokeith

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by ovokeith
by ovokeith

To preface, I was a big fan of Windows XP. When Vista was released, I wanted absolutely nothing to do with it, because I was so satisfied with Windows XP, and didn't want to change. I heard various horror stories about Vista, but didn't have a first hand experience with it. When it was time to get a new machine, I reluctantly agreed to go with Windows 7, seeing how my job requires me to be on the forefront of technology, how would it look to be using an OS three generations old? Boy, am I ever glad I made the switch. The OS is just so much "smarter" than XP, and it really saves me a lot of time. It's a much quicker OS, meaning that it boots up and loads programs much quicker than before. My new machine had comparable specs to the old machine, so I believe it's in part due to the OS that I'm seeing less wait time between program loads. For whatever failures Vista may have brought, I can say that Windows 7 not only corrected the course, but put Microsoft back in front as well they should be.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mature, reliable operating system

Customer review by TachyonWalker

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by TachyonWalker
by TachyonWalker

Several people argue that Windows 7 is only Windows Vista sucessor with "facelifting". The software market became similar to automotive. There's a competitors' race. The period between issuing new product has shortened a lot. In such situation is very difficult to avoid problems. Fortunately Windows 7 ommited the reef that was so painful for Windows Vista. Microsoft had listened to the users and the results of this feedback made a great influence for the system. Windows 7 is encourages "conservative" users to to "touch and play". The word "conservative" means for me the users who were using XP for years and omitted Vista. Trying Windows 7 may convince them to stay with the system for a longer time. By the other side Windows 7 dedicated to the IT enthusiasts too. The new look, imroved architecture and richness of functionalities should fulfill their needs. For Windows 7 software isn't a limit. Several bottlenecks may lay in hardware but there's quite different story....

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very stable, Windows XP Mode!

Customer review by Rale

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Rale
by Rale

I started with Windows 7 RC back in '07, I believe. I was pretty impressed with how stable the operating system was right off the bat when compared with Vista. I have never had a BSOD with the release version and it runs all of my software flawlessly. I current have two virtual machines set up with Windows XP Professional (free, courtesy of Microsoft) and Windows Vista Home Premium for software testing purposes. The VM integrated very well into both of them and allow me to easily test software on a few different platforms. The install is pretty much automated and I didn't encounter any problems running it on a bare disk. I upgraded from Windows XP Professional x86 to Windows 7 Professional x64, so I had to perform a clean install but that wasn't a big deal. I rather like that, unlike Vista, Windows 7 has gone back to a smaller collection of version choices for the user. They made it pretty easy for the user to decide what fit their needs the best.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the DEFINITIVE version of Windows!

Customer review by CaffeineCarl

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by CaffeineCarl
by CaffeineCarl

I've used Windows 7 ever since the beta stage and have been thoroughly impressed since day one, and even at that early stage, it became my default operating system. Generally satisfied with Windows Vista, I love how the interface learned even more tricks that it hadn't already had, like Aero Snap, Peek and Shake. The Start menu's search bar has been immensely important and useful to finding exactly what I need at any moment and has really sped up my workflow. Also, all the organizational features have helped make several third party tools unnecessary. Thankfully, all of this hasn't had an exorbitant resource hit. As a matter of fact, it runs even better than Vista, with significantly lower memory usage. I've been running this operating system for over three years and have used Windows since the Windows 3.1 days. Even with the release of Windows 8, this is the BEST of the brains of Microsoft! I would DEFINITELY buy this again and again!

Detroit, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Insufficient Info to Choose Full vs Upgrade

Customer review by GoGoGoBigO

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by GoGoGoBigO
by GoGoGoBigO

Not as of now. Microsoft® gives too little information, or distributes its information too cleverly, to choose between Upgrade and the full license. It says only that the license for Upgrade has the same features as the license for the full version. This leaves open the question, how do the two Products compare? The webpage indicates that either license and product costs the same, and if the two products are no different, then, why should there be two (2) different licenses to choose between? SO, there MUST BE some differences in the products, else Microsoft® would not offer these choices. Also, there is cognitive dissonance when M$ say there is no difference in features but then says elsewhere that Windows Anytime will not support upgrading any Vista® or XP and we must go to the Microsoft Store to buy a Full something-or-other. So, are there two kinds of Full licenses, thus, three (3) kinds of licenses and/or three (3) kinds of products all labelled Windows 7 Professional? Am wishing that M$ would disambiguate its webpages (but have little reason to hold out hope for that).

Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product, but.....

Customer review by John67

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by John67
by John67

I love what Windows 7 brings to the table, but it's still a bit buggy. Overall, I still love this version due to the increased flexibility and ease of use. Although I'm an XP fan BIG-TIME, I have to say, once you grow comfortable using Windows 7, you'll never want to go back!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day

Customer review by Ppipanman

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Ppipanman
by Ppipanman

yes if you but the "Upgrade" for Windows Vista Home edition that product will not work. i think your review was meant for that product. If you have Windows Vista Home (not Professional, or Ultimate) then you need to get one of 2 products. either buy the Windows 7 Home or Ultimate Upgrade, or buy the Windows 7 Professional Full Version. (which will require wiping your computer and starting from scratch) all of this can be found by doing a bit of research on the product before you buy it. it is spelled out right on Microsoft's Website.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Not bad, but it could use some improvement.

Customer review by Dreamer

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Dreamer
by Dreamer

The design is in no way innovative; the majority of those idea's (Snap, Zoom-in, Pin and Taskbar Previews ) were borrowed from other sources, like KDE. On the positive side, installation was very easy: all the drivers on my computer were found and installed. While the product is good, in my opinion the price should be lowered or some office software (Word and Excel) should be include. One strange glitch I did find is that the clock doesn't automatically sync online with Microsoft's servers, so the time is always off and I have to manually make it sync. Also the Aero zoom-in feature looks awful. Windows 7 is basically Windows Vista on a diet, not worth upgrading from Windows Vista, but promising for new computers and a great security upgrade from Windows XP (if the computer can handle the upgrade).

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IIS is excellent! .NET 4.0 applications start near instantly!

Customer review by IDWMaster

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by IDWMaster
by IDWMaster

As a developer, Windows 7 Professional is an essential. It comes with all the essentials (IIS, remote desktop, etc) and some added bonuses (such as Aero, Flip3D, and taskbar thumbnails). These are interesting features to experiment with while developing software, to enhance the end-user experience, and provide closer integration with Windows 7. I would however; prefer a better way to develop desktop widgets (similar to how Kubuntu/KDE does it) and a standard social networking service with developer APIs (in the taskbar or something, like how Ubuntu does it, but it would be great with Windows Live Messenger), and media player integration into the taskbar (similar to how it was done in previous versions of Windows, where it could be minimized into a small player on the taskbar.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy and wonderful to use

Customer review by RealbigSwede

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by RealbigSwede
by RealbigSwede

I have used Microsoft OS since the beginning I use the first MS-Dos and the first MS Windows 3.11 and I have had them all since then, But I have tried other OS like the OS2. I even have a Ubuntu on one table computer but I'm not happy with it. The Win7 is the best of them all it was easy to in stall and very easy to us, wife is learning it and she really like it. The game is running very fast and with no hiccups, So far I have not found any program or game that will not run on my computer even games and program from the win95 era runs great. MS Win7 have never given me a blue screen and I pushing the program to the MAX. I downloading all kind of beta and testing them and then deleting them and still the win7 keep on ticking, the other windows did not do that, they had a tendency to crash. The updating and upgrading the program is so easy it doing it self. Could not ask for better and easier. My Computer: CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 MoBo: Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UP4P PSU: Ultra X3 1000w, sli Ram: 8 Gigs, ddr2 pc6400, 4-4-4-12 Video: Sparkle NIVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 GDDR5 (768Meg) Case: Lian Li V1200 Cooling: Koolance INX-720SL Cooling System Optical: 2, HP 1040 / LightScribe Hard disks: 8 WD = 3.125TB

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best OS

Customer review by DisiX

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by DisiX
by DisiX

I personally love this ooperating system because it is so compatible with everything as far as programs and games. The only thing that I've seen that has had a major bug with it would be the WDDM that hasn't read my information about my video card correctly and its not a major thing for me anyway. I am however an avid gamer and PC enthusiast, and everything else about this OS is the easiest to use and the most compatible with all of the hardware and the software that I use everyday. Not to mention that everything looks great in terms of style and design. I am currently a great fan of Microsoft Windows and I hope that they continue to work to be the very best at giving the absolute best services to the personal computer. Thanks to the people who made it. :D

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional

Customer review by Yams

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Yams
by Yams

Overall and amzing Operating System, the only signifigant loss that I see between Windows 7 Professional and Windows 7 Ultimate is the absence of Windows BitLocker, but there are third party programs that can compensate for that. One other little comment that I had is that for some reason, I appreciated the GUI (Graphical User Interface) of Windows Vista a bit more than I do with Windows 7's, but I guess you can get passed that with the fact that the Windows Vista GUI used alot more resources. Other than what I mentioned though, Windows 7 Professional to me is an awesome asset to have whether you are a home user who just surfs the web and does some word proccessing or if you are a business user making databases and so on, I would strongly recommend it!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome OS!

Customer review by 255493477

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by 255493477
by 255493477

I use to use Windows Vista on my computer, but now I use Windows Seven Professional. It is a great operating system. Before with Windows Vista I would have to wait a long time for simple things to open or for things to pull out of the hard drive. My HD was fairly clean and it was defragmented some what often, But things were still sluggish. Now with Windows Seven it is way faster and easier for my computer to run. With Windows Vista it you could tell was harder for my computer to run, it was a heavy Operating system. My computer was hot when I would run it in my desk so when I upgraded, it's temperature decreased a lot. I was amazed with all of the easy flicks and gestures. I do really love Windows Seven. It is an Awesome OS.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Completely awesome!

Customer review by ImLikeYes

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by ImLikeYes
by ImLikeYes

So I've had this OS since the release date and it has been amazing. Networking is a breeze and using programs such as virtual pc is easier then ever. Currently running 5 virtual pc boxes on my Windows 7 Professional and it honestly is seamless. I get no reduction in speed whatsoever. Upgrading from Vista it also made viewing my inhome camera's away from home a lot more simple where Vista had a few issues loading the streams Windows 7 seems to pick up the slack and give me perfect pictures of my home from where ever I happen to be. Honestly if you haven't tried Windows 7 yet, go to a local electronic store and play around with the computers set up there. =D

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An excellent OS from Microsoft.

Customer review by BhairavO

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by BhairavO
by BhairavO

I have been using Windows 7 Professional 32 Bit since my masters days. It is a great OS with significant improvements in terms of stability compared to XP OS and a lot faster response compared to Vista OS. It's features are at par compared to Apple or any open source including Android. Windows 7 simply makes working experience lovable. I never need to reformat or reinstall this OS since I bought it in 2009! Windows 7 is one of the best OS roll out after Windows XP. I am a developer and from my experience, Windows 7 is a great OS so far! It's highly compatible with old software while running them under compatible mode.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 7 Pro

Customer review by Flash

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by Flash
by Flash

You talk about entertainment, photos, videos and I say talk about spreadsheets and documents. If that is the supject then Windows 7 Pro is awful. I now have several extra steps to do my work. i.e. Windows Explorer is awful. I want the original Explore. It was so much easier and faster with the ability to see everything on the left side. Now, with everything heading to the top I have to have 2 or 3 Explorers open to see all the sub-folders. Windows 7 Pro may be great for entertainment as for working with data I hate it. There are more steps involved with the work I do & wastes my time. Very unhappy.

Would recommend to a friend? No
What an amazing OS

Customer review by Zippy

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Zippy
by Zippy

Windows 7 in general have great features that I use daily. The aero snap feature is amazing and I use that probably 30-40 times a day to compared objects such as photos. The boot-up time from windows XP to windows 7 is such an amazing increase. The OS loads super fast even on older computers that Windows Vista couldn't handle. If someone asks you if you have windows 7 and the answer is no that means you need to go out and get it because it truly is that amazing. I got mine 2 days after it released and have used it everyday and never have had a problem with it. Best OS ever. Way to go Microsoft.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 7 Professional Original

Customer review by Chanda

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Chanda
by Chanda

Original version's security is much more better then pirated. I have core i7 930 @ 2.80GHZ, memory(RAM) 6GB(ddr 3),Gigabyte radeon HD 6850(graphic card) and Gigabyte X58A-UD7(motherboard),but my pc speed not so fast compared to any i5 pc. I think windows 7 gives good speed on median configuration pc but on high configuration desktop its speed as same as median configuration pc. So, i think microsoft should produce new version of windows 7 which only applicable on high configuration PC like core i7. Then people will realize the combine speed of both core i7 and windows 7.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 7 Professional has extraordinary features never seen before

Customer review by Diosvaldi

5.0 stars 4/9/2011 by Diosvaldi
by Diosvaldi

Windows 7 Professional is a system which has a special way to provide you a smartest and easiest world into your own computer, supply the facility and comfort in use that you need. This system has been more than a dream for those who dreamed since 1970s for a perfect, fast, and stable system. Also, this system support the easiest facility for those beginners which are starting to enter in the wonderful systems' world. That's why I recommend this Operative System because we do not need have knowledge about it to use it, owing to its facility and comfort in use.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by 31547

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by 31547
by 31547

I installed a new hard drive in my laptop....and installed Win7 on it.....soo easy! And I love Win7 great OS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews