Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

158 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
117
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 154 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews
Glad I made the switch
9/15/2011

Customer review by ovokeith

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by ovokeith
by ovokeith

To preface, I was a big fan of Windows XP. When Vista was released, I wanted absolutely nothing to do with it, because I was so satisfied with Windows XP, and didn't want to change. I heard various horror stories about Vista, but didn't have a first hand experience with it. When it was time to get a new machine, I reluctantly agreed to go with Windows 7, seeing how my job requires me to be on the forefront of technology, how would it look to be using an OS three generations old? Boy, am I ever glad I made the switch. The OS is just so much "smarter" than XP, and it really saves me a lot of time. It's a much quicker OS, meaning that it boots up and loads programs much quicker than before. My new machine had comparable specs to the old machine, so I believe it's in part due to the OS that I'm seeing less wait time between program loads. For whatever failures Vista may have brought, I can say that Windows 7 not only corrected the course, but put Microsoft back in front as well they should be.

ovokeith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mature, reliable operating system
2/25/2011

Customer review by TachyonWalker

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by TachyonWalker
by TachyonWalker

Several people argue that Windows 7 is only Windows Vista sucessor with "facelifting". The software market became similar to automotive. There's a competitors' race. The period between issuing new product has shortened a lot. In such situation is very difficult to avoid problems. Fortunately Windows 7 ommited the reef that was so painful for Windows Vista. Microsoft had listened to the users and the results of this feedback made a great influence for the system. Windows 7 is encourages "conservative" users to to "touch and play". The word "conservative" means for me the users who were using XP for years and omitted Vista. Trying Windows 7 may convince them to stay with the system for a longer time. By the other side Windows 7 dedicated to the IT enthusiasts too. The new look, imroved architecture and richness of functionalities should fulfill their needs. For Windows 7 software isn't a limit. Several bottlenecks may lay in hardware but there's quite different story....

TachyonWalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very stable, Windows XP Mode!
11/22/2010

Customer review by Rale

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Rale
by Rale

I started with Windows 7 RC back in '07, I believe. I was pretty impressed with how stable the operating system was right off the bat when compared with Vista. I have never had a BSOD with the release version and it runs all of my software flawlessly. I current have two virtual machines set up with Windows XP Professional (free, courtesy of Microsoft) and Windows Vista Home Premium for software testing purposes. The VM integrated very well into both of them and allow me to easily test software on a few different platforms. The install is pretty much automated and I didn't encounter any problems running it on a bare disk. I upgraded from Windows XP Professional x86 to Windows 7 Professional x64, so I had to perform a clean install but that wasn't a big deal. I rather like that, unlike Vista, Windows 7 has gone back to a smaller collection of version choices for the user. They made it pretty easy for the user to decide what fit their needs the best.

Rale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is the DEFINITIVE version of Windows!
1/13/2013

Customer review by CaffeineCarl

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by CaffeineCarl
by CaffeineCarl

I've used Windows 7 ever since the beta stage and have been thoroughly impressed since day one, and even at that early stage, it became my default operating system. Generally satisfied with Windows Vista, I love how the interface learned even more tricks that it hadn't already had, like Aero Snap, Peek and Shake. The Start menu's search bar has been immensely important and useful to finding exactly what I need at any moment and has really sped up my workflow. Also, all the organizational features have helped make several third party tools unnecessary. Thankfully, all of this hasn't had an exorbitant resource hit. As a matter of fact, it runs even better than Vista, with significantly lower memory usage. I've been running this operating system for over three years and have used Windows since the Windows 3.1 days. Even with the release of Windows 8, this is the BEST of the brains of Microsoft! I would DEFINITELY buy this again and again!

CaffeineCarl
Detroit, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product, but.....
9/9/2010

Customer review by John67

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by John67
by John67

I love what Windows 7 brings to the table, but it's still a bit buggy. Overall, I still love this version due to the increased flexibility and ease of use. Although I'm an XP fan BIG-TIME, I have to say, once you grow comfortable using Windows 7, you'll never want to go back!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John67
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
GREAT PRODUCT
1/13/2010

Customer review by Ppipanman

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Ppipanman
by Ppipanman

yes if you but the "Upgrade" for Windows Vista Home edition that product will not work. i think your review was meant for that product. If you have Windows Vista Home (not Professional, or Ultimate) then you need to get one of 2 products. either buy the Windows 7 Home or Ultimate Upgrade, or buy the Windows 7 Professional Full Version. (which will require wiping your computer and starting from scratch) all of this can be found by doing a bit of research on the product before you buy it. it is spelled out right on Microsoft's Website.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ppipanman
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Insufficient Info to Choose Full vs Upgrade
11/28/2011

Customer review by GoGoGoBigO

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by GoGoGoBigO
by GoGoGoBigO

Not as of now. Microsoft® gives too little information, or distributes its information too cleverly, to choose between Upgrade and the full license. It says only that the license for Upgrade has the same features as the license for the full version. This leaves open the question, how do the two Products compare? The webpage indicates that either license and product costs the same, and if the two products are no different, then, why should there be two (2) different licenses to choose between? SO, there MUST BE some differences in the products, else Microsoft® would not offer these choices. Also, there is cognitive dissonance when M$ say there is no difference in features but then says elsewhere that Windows Anytime will not support upgrading any Vista® or XP and we must go to the Microsoft Store to buy a Full something-or-other. So, are there two kinds of Full licenses, thus, three (3) kinds of licenses and/or three (3) kinds of products all labelled Windows 7 Professional? Am wishing that M$ would disambiguate its webpages (but have little reason to hold out hope for that).

GoGoGoBigO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Windows 7 Gets Most of it Right
2/15/2012

Customer review by RancherDan

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by RancherDan
by RancherDan

I started using Windows 7 as soon as it was released. The operating system has worked well on most any system that I have used it. There are still the ocassional unexpected errors, but most of the features appear to be solid. I like the fact that Windows 7 normally determines the correct drivers for the computer system and installs them. The use of Windows 7 along with Microsoft Security Essentials also is a good match. As I am also now testing the Windows 8 Developer Preview, it is interesting to see the changes that are ahead for the Windows systems. I think they will be good. Keep it up Microsoft. I just wish you would offer better pricing on your operating systems. There are still plenty of computers that can run previous and/or new versions of the operating systems, but, the upgrade cost makes the path less attractive.

RancherDan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad, but it could use some improvement.
2/23/2011

Customer review by Dreamer

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Dreamer
by Dreamer

The design is in no way innovative; the majority of those idea's (Snap, Zoom-in, Pin and Taskbar Previews ) were borrowed from other sources, like KDE. On the positive side, installation was very easy: all the drivers on my computer were found and installed. While the product is good, in my opinion the price should be lowered or some office software (Word and Excel) should be include. One strange glitch I did find is that the clock doesn't automatically sync online with Microsoft's servers, so the time is always off and I have to manually make it sync. Also the Aero zoom-in feature looks awful. Windows 7 is basically Windows Vista on a diet, not worth upgrading from Windows Vista, but promising for new computers and a great security upgrade from Windows XP (if the computer can handle the upgrade).

Dreamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/11/2011

Customer review by 31547

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by 31547
by 31547

I installed a new hard drive in my laptop....and installed Win7 on it.....soo easy! And I love Win7 great OS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
31547
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Upgrade Warning
12/28/2009

Customer review by 3KidsMom11

3.0 stars 12/28/2009 by 3KidsMom11
by 3KidsMom11

Be careful - while all packaging and item descriptions state that this is an update for Vista, this is not entirely the case. You can only use this as an upgrade from Vista Professional. It cannot be run as an upgrade from any home version of Vista. I learned this the hard way. The only way that I can use this version is to do a brand new install, which means that all settings, programs and files will be lost. If you are running a home version of Vista, you can only upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium or Ultimate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3KidsMom11
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
IIS is excellent! .NET 4.0 applications start near instantly!
5/5/2011

Customer review by IDWMaster

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by IDWMaster
by IDWMaster

As a developer, Windows 7 Professional is an essential. It comes with all the essentials (IIS, remote desktop, etc) and some added bonuses (such as Aero, Flip3D, and taskbar thumbnails). These are interesting features to experiment with while developing software, to enhance the end-user experience, and provide closer integration with Windows 7. I would however; prefer a better way to develop desktop widgets (similar to how Kubuntu/KDE does it) and a standard social networking service with developer APIs (in the taskbar or something, like how Ubuntu does it, but it would be great with Windows Live Messenger), and media player integration into the taskbar (similar to how it was done in previous versions of Windows, where it could be minimized into a small player on the taskbar.

IDWMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best OS
11/5/2011

Customer review by DisiX

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by DisiX
by DisiX

I personally love this ooperating system because it is so compatible with everything as far as programs and games. The only thing that I've seen that has had a major bug with it would be the WDDM that hasn't read my information about my video card correctly and its not a major thing for me anyway. I am however an avid gamer and PC enthusiast, and everything else about this OS is the easiest to use and the most compatible with all of the hardware and the software that I use everyday. Not to mention that everything looks great in terms of style and design. I am currently a great fan of Microsoft Windows and I hope that they continue to work to be the very best at giving the absolute best services to the personal computer. Thanks to the people who made it. :D

DisiX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
6/23/2011

Customer review by Yams

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Yams
by Yams

Overall and amzing Operating System, the only signifigant loss that I see between Windows 7 Professional and Windows 7 Ultimate is the absence of Windows BitLocker, but there are third party programs that can compensate for that. One other little comment that I had is that for some reason, I appreciated the GUI (Graphical User Interface) of Windows Vista a bit more than I do with Windows 7's, but I guess you can get passed that with the fact that the Windows Vista GUI used alot more resources. Other than what I mentioned though, Windows 7 Professional to me is an awesome asset to have whether you are a home user who just surfs the web and does some word proccessing or if you are a business user making databases and so on, I would strongly recommend it!

Yams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome OS!
7/10/2011

Customer review by 255493477

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by 255493477
by 255493477

I use to use Windows Vista on my computer, but now I use Windows Seven Professional. It is a great operating system. Before with Windows Vista I would have to wait a long time for simple things to open or for things to pull out of the hard drive. My HD was fairly clean and it was defragmented some what often, But things were still sluggish. Now with Windows Seven it is way faster and easier for my computer to run. With Windows Vista it you could tell was harder for my computer to run, it was a heavy Operating system. My computer was hot when I would run it in my desk so when I upgraded, it's temperature decreased a lot. I was amazed with all of the easy flicks and gestures. I do really love Windows Seven. It is an Awesome OS.

255493477
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unknown--won't install.
9/29/2013

Customer review by Aspercreme

1.0 stars 9/29/2013 by Aspercreme
by Aspercreme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have repeatedly tried to install my Windows 7 PRO retail full version operating system with no luck. I have a brand new 500 GB hard drive and I cannot get the operating system software to come up with its install instructions. I have tried everything in my knowledge, including booting to the hard drive while the Windows 7 disc is already in the DVD drive--still nothing comes up. Tomorrow I am contacting Friendly Computers to come to my home and see if they can find out what the problem is, at a cost of $99 per hour. I certainly hope I do not have a defective disc from Microsoft because it cost me $290 including tax for this operating system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aspercreme
Georgetown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Completely awesome!
6/22/2011

Customer review by ImLikeYes

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by ImLikeYes
by ImLikeYes

So I've had this OS since the release date and it has been amazing. Networking is a breeze and using programs such as virtual pc is easier then ever. Currently running 5 virtual pc boxes on my Windows 7 Professional and it honestly is seamless. I get no reduction in speed whatsoever. Upgrading from Vista it also made viewing my inhome camera's away from home a lot more simple where Vista had a few issues loading the streams Windows 7 seems to pick up the slack and give me perfect pictures of my home from where ever I happen to be. Honestly if you haven't tried Windows 7 yet, go to a local electronic store and play around with the computers set up there. =D

ImLikeYes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An excellent OS from Microsoft.
10/13/2011

Customer review by BhairavO

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by BhairavO
by BhairavO

I have been using Windows 7 Professional 32 Bit since my masters days. It is a great OS with significant improvements in terms of stability compared to XP OS and a lot faster response compared to Vista OS. It's features are at par compared to Apple or any open source including Android. Windows 7 simply makes working experience lovable. I never need to reformat or reinstall this OS since I bought it in 2009! Windows 7 is one of the best OS roll out after Windows XP. I am a developer and from my experience, Windows 7 is a great OS so far! It's highly compatible with old software while running them under compatible mode.

BhairavO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Windows 7 Pro
7/16/2011

Customer review by Flash

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by Flash
by Flash

You talk about entertainment, photos, videos and I say talk about spreadsheets and documents. If that is the supject then Windows 7 Pro is awful. I now have several extra steps to do my work. i.e. Windows Explorer is awful. I want the original Explore. It was so much easier and faster with the ability to see everything on the left side. Now, with everything heading to the top I have to have 2 or 3 Explorers open to see all the sub-folders. Windows 7 Pro may be great for entertainment as for working with data I hate it. There are more steps involved with the work I do & wastes my time. Very unhappy.

Flash
Would recommend to a friend? No
What an amazing OS
11/22/2010

Customer review by Zippy

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Zippy
by Zippy

Windows 7 in general have great features that I use daily. The aero snap feature is amazing and I use that probably 30-40 times a day to compared objects such as photos. The boot-up time from windows XP to windows 7 is such an amazing increase. The OS loads super fast even on older computers that Windows Vista couldn't handle. If someone asks you if you have windows 7 and the answer is no that means you need to go out and get it because it truly is that amazing. I got mine 2 days after it released and have used it everyday and never have had a problem with it. Best OS ever. Way to go Microsoft.

Zippy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews