Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1264 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

1264 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

1264 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
464
4 stars
296
3 stars
119
2 stars
137
1 stars
248
1-20 of 978 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 978 total reviews
1-20 of 978 reviews
Great Buy For The Price
2/16/2011

Customer review by adkshop

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by adkshop
by adkshop

We were looking for a good thearter system for our townhouse and found it here! This system was very easy to hook up and sounds great. (I hooked it up by myself, while watching my 3yr & 10 month old kids!!) I used TWO HDMI cables and now our PS3, Xbox 360 and surround sound are all hooked up to our TV! We are very happy with this product and its price!

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
adkshop
Adirondacks,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Entertainment System 4 The Price
4/12/2014

Customer review by SimplyRed14

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by SimplyRed14
by SimplyRed14
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would highly recommend this product love the bass it has especially when you got neighbors who you want to quite lol.

Was this review helpful? (43) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SimplyRed14
Kingman AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
happy with the purchase
1/10/2011

Customer review by smartpants29

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by smartpants29
by smartpants29

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. I was a little bit concerned that it wouldn't be that good considering the price was so low, but I decided to go ahead and buy it because Walmart has a pretty flexable return policy. I could always return it if it didn't sound good. It turned out that I didn't have to return it after all. The sound is great and my husband is very happy with this product. A special note- we did have to buy additional, longer wires for the speakers so that we could stretch them behind our sofa. The wires that came with the system were not long enough to stretch the length of my livingroom. THis means they are extremely short because I live in an apartment and my livingroom is not big at all. So you may want to go ahead and buy additional longer wires at the same time you purchase this surround sound system.

Was this review helpful? (67) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smartpants29
Pasadena, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!
10/4/2009

Customer review by EDstudent

4.0 stars 10/4/2009 by EDstudent
by EDstudent

I have a 24'' RCA boob tube flat screen that i purchased about five years ago. It would be nice if i could afford a flat screen, but i'm in college and my 24'' has a good picture for not being a LCD or Plasma. I wanted surround sound to go with this, so i purchased this model at another store for $99 bucks. It is great for surround sound. It rumbled the room when the movie reached its peak sounds. People need to remember that this is a home theater and not for Music. If you want something to pump out your tunes then this is not for you, but if you're looking for something to spice up your home movie experience then i would reccomend this to you. Make sure you read the booklet and adjust individual channel volumes. You might want the surround speakers up louder than the front ones, and the sub woofer should be on "powerful" to get the best contrast between treble of the 5 spearks and the 1 subwoofer. You might experience a tinny sound when you first put it together, but adjust the different channel volumes and place them right and you'll solve the problem. you can't beat this item for the price. Especially $99 that i paid on sale.

Was this review helpful? (303) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EDstudent
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Returned
3/23/2014

Customer review by BlueTide

2.0 stars 3/23/2014 by BlueTide
by BlueTide

I purchased this system as part of a bundle with a 50 in tv. I thought it was a pretty decent system until I set it to 5.1 output. If there is any delay in changing channels or if the sound is muted it made a very annoying buzzing sound. In addition, I had to buy a converter piece because the tv had digital out and the receiver only accepted optical input. If you're going to bundle a tv and receiver why have the consumer by additional parts to make it work. Sure I could have used standard rca cables but what's the purpose of buying this type of system only to use stereo output. I was able to overlook this issue since I had already purchased the bundle but the Dolby digital 5.1 issue was a deal breaker so I returned it and purchased a sound bar with subwoofer that uses hdmi. Before returning, This was used in my bedroom. I would not recommend as the sound source for your main tv. I would invest in something better for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueTide
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Superior quality
1/17/2011

Customer review by AliceLovesToShop

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by AliceLovesToShop
by AliceLovesToShop

I have been wanting a home theater system for sometime but could not find an affordable one. I purchased this product based not only by price but also on the brand name reputation and experience I have with RCA and it paid off. This system provides theater-quality sound, was easy to setup and is very user friendly. I would recommend this system to anyone wanting better quality sound for their entertainment system.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AliceLovesToShop
Wilkesboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Basics
3/5/2010

Customer review by Chocolate83

4.0 stars 3/5/2010 by Chocolate83
by Chocolate83

This item is for someone who wants a traditional five speaker stereo system. The DVD player is the real value. It plays wonderfully in both picture quality and sound. Wow. However, on a scale of quiet to very loud, this system stops short at loud. Definitely not enough volume for a house party, but enough to feel the effects of watching a movie. The surround sound speakers are wired only, so it would take too much reconstruction for me to hook them up. It would be much better if they offered wireless back speakers. Instructions and set-up were a breeze. Definitely for someone who just wants the basics.

Was this review helpful? (367) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chocolate83
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extreme value for the dollar
12/2/2011

Customer review by Nanook1

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Nanook1
by Nanook1

Note: You will need to purchase an audio cable for this or you can use an old a/v cable from an old TV (the kind that connected VCRs and DVD players on the pre-digital TVs). If you use the latter, you will only need to utilize the red and white cable endings (not the yellow). You will also need one HDMI cable to go from the player to the TV. If you elect not to use an audio cable, you will only be able to hear sound from the RCA speakers when you view DVDs through the player. The audio cables will enable you to hear surround sound via the RCA speakers coming from your new TV. When you open up this package to assemble, you will need to wire the speakers into the back of the DVD player. Don't worry, the've made it bryan (me)-proof. The wires are color coded, and the process is simple to figure out. I have never done anything close to wiring in the past, and it took me less than 5 minutes to complete. It is really easy. While I still haven't had much of an opportunity to get the sound just the way I like it, I can say that the quality of sound is much better than what I was expecting given the price that was paid. It isn't Bose quality, but I didn't pay Bose prices for it. This unit is a good deal for what you get. We purchased it as part of a package deal with a Sceptre 42" TV. I sure hope this helps someone out there.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanook1
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT SOUND & QUALITY
3/20/2011

Customer review by RgvGirl

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by RgvGirl
by RgvGirl

It was easy instructions and great design. I love that is came with the surround sound speakers. We watched paranormal activity 2 with them and it sounded like we were there. It really scared us. It's a great buy and we love it.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RgvGirl
McAllen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simply Amazing Sound!
7/5/2010

Customer review by BoogerBoyMeister

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by BoogerBoyMeister
by BoogerBoyMeister

This RCA sound system was very easy to hook up. All the wires are color coded and easy to connect. The surround sound is very clear and sounds like your at the movies. The am/fm radio is also a very cool feature. The HDMI Dvd upscaler makes regular dvds look amazing too! The RCA Dvd Home Theater System is well worth the price of admission. I’d recommend it to anyone that likes sound.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoogerBoyMeister
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall good deal
5/12/2010

Customer review by butterflygirl2878

4.0 stars 5/12/2010 by butterflygirl2878
by butterflygirl2878

We purchased this product as part of an LCD 42 inch television bundle and I think this is the perfect size system for us with a small living room. The DVD player works great and it was simple to hook up and operate. The looks and size of the system are nice. You will need to purchase a sound/audio cable to hook the system up to the television to listen to the television in surround sound, if not, it will only come through the speakers when the DVD player is used.

Was this review helpful? (259) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butterflygirl2878
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Startlingly impressive
8/8/2014

Customer review by Tuit14

5.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Tuit14
by Tuit14

The speakers, subwoofer, and DVD player are very well made and look very nice. They come very well packed, with the instructions manual, RCA cable, and FM antenna. Read the manual before connecting to your TV. To get the best from the equipment, use digital cable connection, the picture quality is beautiful. Learn how to use the remote control, adjust picture quality and sound level of all speakers to your taste, load Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, and you will feel around your room the true quality Dolby 5.1 surround sound. Thank you RCA for making such quality equipment and to Walmart for selling it for an excellent price. Get the popcorn and enjoy your home theater!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tuit14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for a small room, GOOD PRICE!
12/26/2010

Customer review by Raiders510

4.0 stars 12/26/2010 by Raiders510
by Raiders510

I bought this product for a small bedroom, im happy with it, i thought 250w would be really weak but its really not, it s decent. It was a little annoying cause i couldn't figure out how to connect the ps3 to it. I ended up buying an optical audio cord from radio shack and it cost me $24. the volume only goes up to 30, it dosent sound that good with football games, its better with movies and games. there arent that many presets or settings you can mess with for the sound. two main settings for audio, surround and sick, you cant change the dbs on all of the speakers including the subwoofer. The sub isnt bad, it has enough bass, you can feel it in the floor. over all its worth the price and it has decent sound. you def. feel the difference going from your tv speakers to this setup. i give it a B.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raiders510
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not what I expected
5/26/2012

Customer review by mab0532

1.0 stars 5/26/2012 by mab0532
by mab0532

I've been using this product for two weeks and it sounded good. I turned it on "tuner" this morning to listen to the radio while I worked. I started hearing a lot of static type noise and then suddenly there was no souond. My mom said that she heard static type noise yesterday when she had the TV on. I have not been able to get the system to function since. I have no idea what happened. I did not have the system playing loud nor did I have the subwoofer on. I just had it in a normal low tone. I think the sound bar was at 9 or 10. I will be contacting Walmart to see what I need to do next. i've alread tried everything that I know to do - checked all connections - everything is connected properly and tightly. I even tried unpluging the unit and waited 30 seconds and replugged it back in. That didn't work either. I don't know if I just got a "lemon" or what. I've had problems with Walmart products in the past. My prior TV purchased from Walmart quit working after 1 year and after 6 years needed to be replaced.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mab0532
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's cheap and it's cheap
4/4/2011

Customer review by flmommom

1.0 stars 4/4/2011 by flmommom
by flmommom

I read the reviews that said this wouldn't last. I should have listened. I got this in August had to send it back last month, it would just freeze up and no sound. Sent it back, pd. the postage, just got it back, sound goes in and out. Two hours on the phone with cust. service and it still doesn't work. Spend a little more and get a better system.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flmommom
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price
11/25/2010

Customer review by Kletus4Ever

4.0 stars 11/25/2010 by Kletus4Ever
by Kletus4Ever

Let's start with the complaints first. -The instruction "manual" was actually nothing more than just a poster, rather than being a booklet. That was a pain. They couldn't have put it into book form? -Let's say you're watching your tv show and someone needs to get the dvd out of the dvd player. When they push the "open" button, the sound automatically switches to dvd audio and you can't hear your tv show. Minor annoyance. -the dvd player and sound system are together as one component. Someday the dvd player will stop working, and you'll be left with dead electronics taking up shelf space. They should have had the dvd player as a separate component so it can be easily replaced if needed. -they got cheap with the accessories. They could have given us better cables Now for the good stuff. -It was easy to set up. I had mine ready to go 20 minutes after it arrived. -even though this sound system is a different brand than my tv, they seem to work well together. I turn down the tv's own volume, and the stereo's volume automatically adjusts too. I like that. -Even rented and worn out dvd's work great, never freeze up like they do on my computer. -Usually generic electronics tend to disappoint me, but this one is a great deal. Turned out to be a great value Overall I think the average person would love this product, especially people that don't have much money to spend. It's not really for the biggest electronics experts. But I recommend it for busy people with little free time, and people with strict budgets

Was this review helpful? (85) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kletus4Ever
Earth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good enough for the price.
2/7/2010

Customer review by Edifah

4.0 stars 2/7/2010 by Edifah
by Edifah

The system is great for the price. However I have two complaints. One is the bass isn't quite enough but for he price... And the other one which is quite annoying when living in an apartment with paper thin walls, trying to be quiet...if that's possible is that the difference between Volume level 1 and 2 is significant. It sounds more like going from 1 to 5. The picture quality is great though.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edifah
Western Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No FM Antenna provided......unsatisfactory!
5/18/2013

Customer review by DedicatedProfessional

1.0 stars 5/18/2013 by DedicatedProfessional
by DedicatedProfessional

I'll be frank. This system may end up being adequate for my simple needs. It is very inexpensive, so perhaps I should not expect much. But, the packed box does NOT provide a 75-ohm FM antenna, which is required to have ANY FM-radio reception, at all! This is simply unsatisfactory! THERE IS NO MENTION, IN THE SALES LITERATURE, THAT A 75-OHM FM ANTENNA MUST BE PURCHASED, SEPARATELY, TO USE THE FM RADIO! I'm ANGRY at Walmart for selling this incomplete product! The instructions mention a "pig-tail" antenna wire. There's an F-type female coaxial input for a 75-ohm antenna. The piece of wire provided in the box WILL NOT work! What is needed is a standard FM dipole antenna with 300-ohm twin leads, and an F-type balun for the 75-ohm coaxial input. The TOTAL cost to provide these items would have been about $4.00 (maximum). But, this RCA product bamboozled the customer, and left him WITHOUT the capability to use the FM radio. I will have to purchase these items, separately, if I want to use the FM radio. Now, I could send this back, and ask for a refund, because the packed box is incomplete, but it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DedicatedProfessional
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
LOVE IT !
4/5/2010

Customer review by MAX620

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by MAX620
by MAX620

EASY TO HOOK UP. EASY TO USE. GREAT SOUND.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MAX620
VENICE, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
remote arrived dead (not batteries)
12/16/2010

Customer review by simp1364

3.0 stars 12/16/2010 by simp1364
by simp1364

The remote for the system isn't working. It took about 1/2 hour with the manufacturer to work things out. It seemed that customer service is out in china? the language parrrior made things a little tough. I had to fax my receipt to NY 5$, purchase a box to send it back 2.59, now send it aprox 5 bucks. I was sent a defective remote and I have to pay 13.00 bucks to correct their mistake. I had to fax the receipt, but they were emailing the english manual (in 36 hrs) I thought it was me so I had an electrican friend check it out 20.00 for lunch. The batteries were fine we checked them in another remote. Joe (his english name) had me do some rediculous reset process. He had me remove the batteries (the power) Then hold down the number 1 key until he said it was ok. He thought this would reset the remote? I was affraid the whole time I was on the phone. Joe said I will get my new remote within 2-4 weeks. whatever. I feel like there was some customer abuse happened put I can't put my finger on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simp1364
stratford CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 978 total reviews
1-20 of 978 reviews