Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1263 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

1263 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

1263 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
464
4 stars
296
3 stars
119
2 stars
136
1 stars
248
1-20 of 977 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 977 total reviews
1-20 of 977 reviews
The Basics
3/5/2010

Customer review by Chocolate83

4.0 stars 3/5/2010 by Chocolate83
by Chocolate83

This item is for someone who wants a traditional five speaker stereo system. The DVD player is the real value. It plays wonderfully in both picture quality and sound. Wow. However, on a scale of quiet to very loud, this system stops short at loud. Definitely not enough volume for a house party, but enough to feel the effects of watching a movie. The surround sound speakers are wired only, so it would take too much reconstruction for me to hook them up. It would be much better if they offered wireless back speakers. Instructions and set-up were a breeze. Definitely for someone who just wants the basics.

Was this review helpful? (363) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chocolate83
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal!
10/4/2009

Customer review by EDstudent

4.0 stars 10/4/2009 by EDstudent
by EDstudent

I have a 24'' RCA boob tube flat screen that i purchased about five years ago. It would be nice if i could afford a flat screen, but i'm in college and my 24'' has a good picture for not being a LCD or Plasma. I wanted surround sound to go with this, so i purchased this model at another store for $99 bucks. It is great for surround sound. It rumbled the room when the movie reached its peak sounds. People need to remember that this is a home theater and not for Music. If you want something to pump out your tunes then this is not for you, but if you're looking for something to spice up your home movie experience then i would reccomend this to you. Make sure you read the booklet and adjust individual channel volumes. You might want the surround speakers up louder than the front ones, and the sub woofer should be on "powerful" to get the best contrast between treble of the 5 spearks and the 1 subwoofer. You might experience a tinny sound when you first put it together, but adjust the different channel volumes and place them right and you'll solve the problem. you can't beat this item for the price. Especially $99 that i paid on sale.

Was this review helpful? (302) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EDstudent
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall good deal
5/12/2010

Customer review by butterflygirl2878

4.0 stars 5/12/2010 by butterflygirl2878
by butterflygirl2878

We purchased this product as part of an LCD 42 inch television bundle and I think this is the perfect size system for us with a small living room. The DVD player works great and it was simple to hook up and operate. The looks and size of the system are nice. You will need to purchase a sound/audio cable to hook the system up to the television to listen to the television in surround sound, if not, it will only come through the speakers when the DVD player is used.

Was this review helpful? (257) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
butterflygirl2878
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/5/2009

Customer review by mediajunky

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by mediajunky
by mediajunky

I really like this product. The install instructions are great. I had this puppy up and running within 30 minutes. All of the speaker cables are color coated so you don't have to wonder what plugs into where. The best part is, it is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (203) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mediajunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Two thumbs up
9/2/2009

Customer review by jackw123

5.0 stars 9/2/2009 by jackw123
by jackw123

This is by far one of the best piece of equipment I have invested on. The sound quality is great and I just purchased a second one as a gift for a friend of mine and she is extremely happy. Quality of the sound is so crisp and vivid.

Was this review helpful? (102) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackw123
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
happy with the purchase
1/10/2011

Customer review by smartpants29

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by smartpants29
by smartpants29

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. I was a little bit concerned that it wouldn't be that good considering the price was so low, but I decided to go ahead and buy it because Walmart has a pretty flexable return policy. I could always return it if it didn't sound good. It turned out that I didn't have to return it after all. The sound is great and my husband is very happy with this product. A special note- we did have to buy additional, longer wires for the speakers so that we could stretch them behind our sofa. The wires that came with the system were not long enough to stretch the length of my livingroom. THis means they are extremely short because I live in an apartment and my livingroom is not big at all. So you may want to go ahead and buy additional longer wires at the same time you purchase this surround sound system.

Was this review helpful? (66) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smartpants29
Pasadena, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price
11/25/2010

Customer review by Kletus4Ever

4.0 stars 11/25/2010 by Kletus4Ever
by Kletus4Ever

Let's start with the complaints first. -The instruction "manual" was actually nothing more than just a poster, rather than being a booklet. That was a pain. They couldn't have put it into book form? -Let's say you're watching your tv show and someone needs to get the dvd out of the dvd player. When they push the "open" button, the sound automatically switches to dvd audio and you can't hear your tv show. Minor annoyance. -the dvd player and sound system are together as one component. Someday the dvd player will stop working, and you'll be left with dead electronics taking up shelf space. They should have had the dvd player as a separate component so it can be easily replaced if needed. -they got cheap with the accessories. They could have given us better cables Now for the good stuff. -It was easy to set up. I had mine ready to go 20 minutes after it arrived. -even though this sound system is a different brand than my tv, they seem to work well together. I turn down the tv's own volume, and the stereo's volume automatically adjusts too. I like that. -Even rented and worn out dvd's work great, never freeze up like they do on my computer. -Usually generic electronics tend to disappoint me, but this one is a great deal. Turned out to be a great value Overall I think the average person would love this product, especially people that don't have much money to spend. It's not really for the biggest electronics experts. But I recommend it for busy people with little free time, and people with strict budgets

Was this review helpful? (83) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kletus4Ever
Earth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Deal!!
1/13/2011

Customer review by lilmrcl

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by lilmrcl
by lilmrcl

I didn't need one of those $1000 systems, just something small for us, so didn't expect more than I paid for with this system. I was pleasantly surprised after setting it up, it certainly exceeded my expectation. The entire system is quite advanced, and has great picture and sound. I'm impressed to say the least.

Was this review helpful? (79) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmrcl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Superior quality
1/17/2011

Customer review by AliceLovesToShop

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by AliceLovesToShop
by AliceLovesToShop

I have been wanting a home theater system for sometime but could not find an affordable one. I purchased this product based not only by price but also on the brand name reputation and experience I have with RCA and it paid off. This system provides theater-quality sound, was easy to setup and is very user friendly. I would recommend this system to anyone wanting better quality sound for their entertainment system.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AliceLovesToShop
Wilkesboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good enough for the price.
2/7/2010

Customer review by Edifah

4.0 stars 2/7/2010 by Edifah
by Edifah

The system is great for the price. However I have two complaints. One is the bass isn't quite enough but for he price... And the other one which is quite annoying when living in an apartment with paper thin walls, trying to be quiet...if that's possible is that the difference between Volume level 1 and 2 is significant. It sounds more like going from 1 to 5. The picture quality is great though.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Edifah
Western Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT SOUND & QUALITY
3/20/2011

Customer review by RgvGirl

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by RgvGirl
by RgvGirl

It was easy instructions and great design. I love that is came with the surround sound speakers. We watched paranormal activity 2 with them and it sounded like we were there. It really scared us. It's a great buy and we love it.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RgvGirl
McAllen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy For The Price
2/16/2011

Customer review by adkshop

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by adkshop
by adkshop

We were looking for a good thearter system for our townhouse and found it here! This system was very easy to hook up and sounds great. (I hooked it up by myself, while watching my 3yr & 10 month old kids!!) I used TWO HDMI cables and now our PS3, Xbox 360 and surround sound are all hooked up to our TV! We are very happy with this product and its price!

Was this review helpful? (57) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adkshop
Adirondacks,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simply Amazing Sound!
7/5/2010

Customer review by BoogerBoyMeister

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by BoogerBoyMeister
by BoogerBoyMeister

This RCA sound system was very easy to hook up. All the wires are color coded and easy to connect. The surround sound is very clear and sounds like your at the movies. The am/fm radio is also a very cool feature. The HDMI Dvd upscaler makes regular dvds look amazing too! The RCA Dvd Home Theater System is well worth the price of admission. I’d recommend it to anyone that likes sound.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoogerBoyMeister
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/17/2010

Customer review by vaafoor

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by vaafoor
by vaafoor

The performance is above average with a surprisingly low price.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vaafoor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extreme value for the dollar
12/2/2011

Customer review by Nanook1

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Nanook1
by Nanook1

Note: You will need to purchase an audio cable for this or you can use an old a/v cable from an old TV (the kind that connected VCRs and DVD players on the pre-digital TVs). If you use the latter, you will only need to utilize the red and white cable endings (not the yellow). You will also need one HDMI cable to go from the player to the TV. If you elect not to use an audio cable, you will only be able to hear sound from the RCA speakers when you view DVDs through the player. The audio cables will enable you to hear surround sound via the RCA speakers coming from your new TV. When you open up this package to assemble, you will need to wire the speakers into the back of the DVD player. Don't worry, the've made it bryan (me)-proof. The wires are color coded, and the process is simple to figure out. I have never done anything close to wiring in the past, and it took me less than 5 minutes to complete. It is really easy. While I still haven't had much of an opportunity to get the sound just the way I like it, I can say that the quality of sound is much better than what I was expecting given the price that was paid. It isn't Bose quality, but I didn't pay Bose prices for it. This unit is a good deal for what you get. We purchased it as part of a package deal with a Sceptre 42" TV. I sure hope this helps someone out there.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanook1
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT !
4/5/2010

Customer review by MAX620

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by MAX620
by MAX620

EASY TO HOOK UP. EASY TO USE. GREAT SOUND.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAX620
VENICE, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Quality
8/14/2009

Customer review by dzeebz

4.0 stars 8/14/2009 by dzeebz
by dzeebz

Good sound and picture quality have had this for a year....Just wish it had a sleep timer

Was this review helpful? (46) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dzeebz
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Inferior equipment
9/12/2011

Customer review by Arnie123

1.0 stars 9/12/2011 by Arnie123
by Arnie123

We purchased this system along with an RCA TV in February, 2011, by May 2011 it had stopped working properly. It keeps making a loud popping sound and the sound goes off. Now I find I must pay to have it shipped to RCA for attempt at repair. I will not purchase any more RCA equipment. The TV that came with the package isn't much better.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arnie123
South Park, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Entertainment System 4 The Price
4/12/2014

Customer review by SimplyRed14

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by SimplyRed14
by SimplyRed14

I would highly recommend this product love the bass it has especially when you got neighbors who you want to quite lol.

Was this review helpful? (42) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimplyRed14
Kingman AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT PRODUCT
11/19/2009

Customer review by NOTORIOUSMATT

5.0 stars 11/19/2009 by NOTORIOUSMATT
by NOTORIOUSMATT

I REALLY LIKE THIS PRODUCT. IT MAKES WATCHING DVD'S FEEL LIKE I'M ACTUALLY IN THE MOVIE THEATRE. IT ALSO PLAYS RADIO (AM/FM) WHICH IS A ADDED FEATURE. I LOVE IT.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NOTORIOUSMATT
BROOKLYN, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 977 total reviews
1-20 of 977 reviews