Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 552 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

552 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

552 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
268
4 stars
151
3 stars
42
2 stars
18
1 stars
73
1-20 of 459 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 459 total reviews
1-20 of 459 reviews
A good product
10/30/2010

Customer review by Idaho68

4.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Idaho68
by Idaho68

I bought this product but had to return it and order the MDR513H/F7. This has to be used in conjunction with a cable box. If you have just basic cable you can not record TV programs. If it wasn't for that this would have worked great for me.

Was this review helpful? (500) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idaho68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Works great
11/2/2009

Customer review by Jette

5.0 stars 11/2/2009 by Jette
by Jette

I bought it mainly to convert old VHS-C tapes to DVD's - it was very easy to understand the instructions and the quality is great - have cheked it out using a Playstation 3 player on my HDTV - picture perfect - i highly reccomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (462) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jette
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
does what i bought it for
4/29/2010

Customer review by thriftysenior

4.0 stars 4/29/2010 by thriftysenior
by thriftysenior

main reason for purchase was to copy vcr tapes to dvd. have numerous family tapes that will become unusable with age, copying them to dvd will preserve them until the next inovation comes along. Operation of programing is simple and easy to understand.

Was this review helpful? (733) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thriftysenior
SanAntonio, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Exciting
3/11/2010

Customer review by CowPieHigh

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by CowPieHigh
by CowPieHigh

We purchased this product so we could transfer VHS to DVD. My husband hooked it up this morning and we have watched old VHS and are currently recording a VHS to DVD now. The hook up and transfer has gone well, it took just a few minutes to get it all established and to begin. I am very excited to have this technology. I checked into having it done via a service and it was very costly, $29.00 per DVD!! Ooch!!! Good luck with your projects, ours seem to be working very well.

Was this review helpful? (420) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CowPieHigh
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It is what it is.
7/25/2010

Customer review by ThePadre

4.0 stars 7/25/2010 by ThePadre
by ThePadre

First of all, I had to buy it twice. The first unit was defective, the DVD drawer would not open. However the second one worked perfectly. It does everything advertised. Exactly, no more, no less. Do not succumb to the thought in your head that it will copy all of your old VHS tapes to DVD. It will not copy any commercial tapes with copy protection, period. There are ways to do that, but this machine is not one of them. If you want to play VHS and DVD media to your TV it is easy to set up and it does a great job. The video and audio are exceptional and it will copy any home made VHS tapes directly to DVD with chapters and titles as you need them. The controls are easy to use and the manual is easy to understand. I do recommend this product with the exception to those who want to copy their old Disney movies before the tapes go bad, you will need another solution.

Was this review helpful? (125) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePadre
Northwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very satisfied, one caveat
5/8/2013

Customer review by SweetPeaTwo

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by SweetPeaTwo
by SweetPeaTwo

I have hundreds of old VHS tapes that I wanted to convert to DVD. They are mostly recorded off television, therefore I wanted the capability of editing out commercials and junk. This product will do that. Unfortunately, I dubbed about 16 disks (Verbatim DVD-R) before I found out that I have to use DVD+RW in order for this function to work when the disk is played on other DVD players. I finally found this out after calling the service department; it took the guy a while to figure this out. He was so nice and really wanted to help; he finally saw the DVD+RW way up in the top left corner of the relevant page in the maual, in such fine print I had to use a magnifying glass to see it! But anyway, my problem is solved (I hope). I'll have to buy the DVD+RWs and give them a try. When they say "Read the mnaual," they mean ALL the manual!!! Otherwise, this recorder does a great job of transferring the VHS; the quality is improved in the process and it's been such fun seeing all those old recordings!

Was this review helpful? (99) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetPeaTwo
Southwest Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great value and great features
8/4/2009

Customer review by Jetstar329

5.0 stars 8/4/2009 by Jetstar329
by Jetstar329

I purchased the Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR about 6 weeks ago with the specific purpose of transferring my old VHS tapes to DVDs. I don't normally write reviews, but I noticed a prior review that only awarded one star and did not recommend purchasing this product. I honestly disagree with the prior reviewer's opinion. I was able to hook up the unit to my very old spare TV (it involved using an RF modulator to interface between the unit and the TV) without any problems. Another feature that motivated me to purchase this unit was its reverse dubbing ability; it's a long story, but sometimes I need to transfer from a DVD to a VHS tape. Since I have hooked up this unit, I have used every feature that it possesses and it has performed perfectly. The menus that you need to use to program the unit are logical and straight-forward. As a matter of fact, I liked the original unit so much (and it is very good value for the money) that I purchased a second unit for another one of the TVs in my home. I highly recommend this unit as excellent value for your money, for the multitude of features it possesses and because it performed exactly as advertised with no unusual quirks.

Was this review helpful? (152) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jetstar329
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for copying old videos
12/28/2009

Customer review by MCaHNY

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by MCaHNY
by MCaHNY

I bought this to copy old family VHS tapes to DVD. It is very easy to use and if you stop the dubbing then restart it a chapter mark is automatically set. You can then add titles and edit the picture on the chapter marks. The quality on the DVD is also very good. This is an excellent product to dub your old movies onto DVDs.

Was this review helpful? (123) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCaHNY
Columbia City, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/1/2010

Customer review by Tucson92

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by Tucson92
by Tucson92

Love this DVD recorder! It works really well and is easy to use. When deciding whether or not it was the right recorder for me. At first I wasn't totally sure whether or not I needed a recorder that had a built-in tuner, since you save money with this recorder because it doesn't have one. Without the built-in tuner, you have to use the tri-color (red, white, & yellow) cables to connect from your cable or satellite box and also must use the tri-color cables to connect to your tv. It's the tuner that allows you to connect to and from coaxial cable. So as long as you have a newer tv, and get your signal from cable or satellite, it isn't a problem.

Was this review helpful? (162) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tucson92
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Just What I Wanted
2/24/2010

Customer review by LlovesI

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by LlovesI
by LlovesI

I wanted a recorder mainly for recording from my DVR onto DVD. I had bought this one at the store because the one I had my eye on was gone and this was the only one. I am so glad that I did buy it. The quality so far has been great, once I read through the manual everything was pretty easy. My only problem was I bought a HDMI cable because I thought I would need one but I am returning because even though I have an HD TV without the cable the picture quality is still very good (and this is on the 6 hour recording). So if you are looking for a recorder to keep your shows and movies from your DVR to DVD buy this recorder and you will be happy.

Was this review helpful? (123) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LlovesI
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets My Expectations
10/10/2009

Customer review by Turkman143

4.0 stars 10/10/2009 by Turkman143
by Turkman143

The Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, model ZV427MG9 (specifically) was easy to cable and set-up. Since the advent of DTV, this unit replaced a similar VHS/DVD combo (analog) that did not have DVD-RW, and most of the programming on Comcast requires a DTV adapter, and provides the missing tuner application. This unit performs well, and does all the applications/features that the internet research I did beforehand purchasing the unit says it does.

Was this review helpful? (128) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Turkman143
Maple Shade NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great dvd, vcr recorder
12/30/2009

Customer review by regalsea03

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by regalsea03
by regalsea03

i read many reviews that say this unit cannot records programs correctly so i almost decided not to buy it, but after recieving it and trying it i am glad i did. both the dvd and vcr recorders work fine. i have used it to record movies off of the regular channels and off of on demand thru my cable box and the programming recorded perfectly and with very good picture quality. i dont know if the other people had problems because of how they hooked it up, but i had very little trouble hooking it up and as i said, it works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (86) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
regalsea03
gilbert, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
9/7/2009

Customer review by Mikel007

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by Mikel007
by Mikel007

Just bought this today to replace a recorder that died. I never bought one with included cables and instructions on the box before! Less than ten minutes from opening the box to recording my first movie from the TV. And as a plus, I'm using eight fewer wires than the old VCR and DVD required and the remote works through the glass doors on the entertainment center. Very pleased

Was this review helpful? (56) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mikel007
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great!
12/6/2009

Customer review by magnavox

5.0 stars 12/6/2009 by magnavox
by magnavox

Before I bought this item, I was a bit weary. Several times I looked online for product reviews and saw mostly good comments and ratings. Still I was a was not sure; especially for the price tag. However, I decided to buy this. Although setting it all up took longer for me than expected, everything is great. You will be able to record your home vhs videos to dvd; other vhs tapes to dvd; and also, you can record tv to dvd by using another vhs player or external tuner. This product works great and am very satisfied. Highly recommend for those who are thinking about this.

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magnavox
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Eureka! I have conquered it!
9/14/2009

Customer review by cmaCat

5.0 stars 9/14/2009 by cmaCat
by cmaCat

I started out buying a Sony..It was a real hair-puller. Returned it and all the additional stuff I had to buy to try to make it work. It never did. Bought this Magnavox and, after opening the box, I saw the diagram. Thought "I have no external tuner" ..Ah.. bright idea, USE MY OLD VCR AS THE EXTERNAL TUNER,...hooked everything up as per the diagram. Bingo! Voila! Hurray! Everything works like a champ. I can dub VHS tapes on to DVDs and DVDs to VHS, use my old VCR and just punch RECORD to get a DVD while holding another VHS tape in the new Magnavox for recording something else. It's great..I'm thrilled.

Was this review helpful? (70) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmaCat
NE Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/10/2010

Customer review by nursetm

5.0 stars 2/10/2010 by nursetm
by nursetm

Excellent quality of transfer of home vhs tapes to dvds. Hard to figure out instructions to dub movies at first, but customer services excellent in explaining process.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nursetm
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good initially, but not built to last
11/18/2010

Customer review by ahth

2.0 stars 11/18/2010 by ahth
by ahth

I bought this product about a year ago to play DVDs, VHS, and burn family videos from our camera to a DVD. It did everything perfectly and I was really happy with the product! I especially like that I can plug my camera into the front of the burner. After about 20 DVDs burned (over the course of the past year), I was unable to burn DVDs. I kept getting an error message, and I tried just about everything to get it to work. Now I am only able to watch DVDs and VHS. I wish I had gotten the extended warranty that was offered when I purchased it at the store (about $20). Now I'm shopping around for another one.

Was this review helpful? (46) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahth
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Tunerless VCR
11/28/2009

Customer review by UGA1974

4.0 stars 11/28/2009 by UGA1974
by UGA1974

I purchased this unit as a replacement for a traditional VCR that no longer works. This unit does not have the traditional coaxial cable input, so I had to also purchase an RF modulator for another $20. No where on the box does it say that you can only record what you're watching. There is no provision for watching one channel while recording another. There is also no provision to record different TV channels. You can only record the station you are tuned to. If you are used to (like I am) the traditional VCR with multiple channel recording settings, this is not the unit for you. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UGA1974
Bradenton, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work well with DVD+RW discs
3/31/2010

Customer review by cloudeleven

2.0 stars 3/31/2010 by cloudeleven
by cloudeleven

I have owned this unit since December '09. It worked OK with DVD+RW discs for a week or two, but now it does not work well with DVD+RW discs even though the instruction manual says it is fully compatible. I have tried both Verbatim DVD+RW discs (which is one of the recommended discs in the instruction manual) and Memorex DVD+RW discs and on every disc I get a "Recording Error: Cannot record to this disc" error. As you can imagine, this has been rather inconvenient for recording TV shows that I just want to watch later and don't want to keep forever. Sometimes, timer recording hasn't worked because when it's time to record the show, the player won't cooperate with the DVD+RW disc and will just refuse to record. I haven't tried DVD-RW discs because those have to be recorded in "VR" mode. For now, I'm using the VCR side of the unit to record TV shows until I find some RW discs that work with this unit. Disappointing. It works fine with Verbatim DVD+R discs. No errors with those so far. The VHS tape-dubbing feature to DVD+R discs has worked great (so far). Another annoyance with this recorder is that the machine takes 30 seconds to load a DVD (I timed it), even a blank DVD, after you insert it. So if a TV show is starting that you want to record immediately, hopefully you already have a disc in the unit (and if it's a DVD+RW disc, you'll probably get a recording error - see above).

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cloudeleven
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Read before you leap!
7/28/2010

Customer review by ALittleWiserNow

1.0 stars 7/28/2010 by ALittleWiserNow
by ALittleWiserNow

I purchased the Magnavox DVD Recorder back in 2008, and I wish I had access to some of the negative reviews before I threw my money away. Less than 6 months after using the recorder the unit would not record clearly in SLP mode on the VHS side. The recorded images were snowy. To get a clear image I could only record on a 6 hour tape 2 hours of programming. No problem, I switched to recording on the DVD side. Next problem the recorder would not keep the correct date and time. It would reset itself to a random month and day. For some reason it seemed to like the year 2007. I time recorded a lot, and it was a hassle always having to correct the date and time. Fast forward to the year 2010. Now the unit won't record any time selected programs. I've gotten disc load errors, repairing disc notices, a loud grinding sound when trying to load a disc, and the unit turning itself off in the middle of playback on store bought movies. Right now I have a lovely clock for $158.00, and I'm sure that's probably on it's way out. Take my advice, DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALittleWiserNow
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 459 total reviews
1-20 of 459 reviews