Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 553 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

553 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

553 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
268
4 stars
152
3 stars
42
2 stars
18
1 stars
73
1-20 of 460 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews
Very satisfied, one caveat
5/8/2013

Customer review by SweetPeaTwo

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by SweetPeaTwo
by SweetPeaTwo

I have hundreds of old VHS tapes that I wanted to convert to DVD. They are mostly recorded off television, therefore I wanted the capability of editing out commercials and junk. This product will do that. Unfortunately, I dubbed about 16 disks (Verbatim DVD-R) before I found out that I have to use DVD+RW in order for this function to work when the disk is played on other DVD players. I finally found this out after calling the service department; it took the guy a while to figure this out. He was so nice and really wanted to help; he finally saw the DVD+RW way up in the top left corner of the relevant page in the maual, in such fine print I had to use a magnifying glass to see it! But anyway, my problem is solved (I hope). I'll have to buy the DVD+RWs and give them a try. When they say "Read the mnaual," they mean ALL the manual!!! Otherwise, this recorder does a great job of transferring the VHS; the quality is improved in the process and it's been such fun seeing all those old recordings!

Was this review helpful? (108) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetPeaTwo
Southwest Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Miserable Experience With This Product
1/25/2012

Customer review by Fandazz

1.0 stars 1/25/2012 by Fandazz
by Fandazz

It is amazing to read all the possitive reviews about this Player/Recorder. I must have bought from the wrong Walmart or they were shipped a very bad batch! I returned and replaced 3 of these Magnavox DVD recorder/VCR players in a 6 month period. I was able to record maybe* 4 movies before they stopped working with an error message about the dvds. I did nothing wrong to cause this, I bought new DVDs of different brands (R & RW's#, but none would work. All 3 players did the same thing after appromimately 10 hours of use. Unfortunately, I am stuck with the last player since I had an out-of-state emergency and could not get it returned within the time limit. Since I won't even try to record anymore, I played a dvd approx. 3 weeks ago, and now it will not eject it. The player will not even power up now. I would say it is a good value #if any of the 3 worked properly), but in my case, it's a poor value, because of the loss of money I paid for the item.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fandazz
Lonedell, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Read before you leap!
7/28/2010

Customer review by ALittleWiserNow

1.0 stars 7/28/2010 by ALittleWiserNow
by ALittleWiserNow

I purchased the Magnavox DVD Recorder back in 2008, and I wish I had access to some of the negative reviews before I threw my money away. Less than 6 months after using the recorder the unit would not record clearly in SLP mode on the VHS side. The recorded images were snowy. To get a clear image I could only record on a 6 hour tape 2 hours of programming. No problem, I switched to recording on the DVD side. Next problem the recorder would not keep the correct date and time. It would reset itself to a random month and day. For some reason it seemed to like the year 2007. I time recorded a lot, and it was a hassle always having to correct the date and time. Fast forward to the year 2010. Now the unit won't record any time selected programs. I've gotten disc load errors, repairing disc notices, a loud grinding sound when trying to load a disc, and the unit turning itself off in the middle of playback on store bought movies. Right now I have a lovely clock for $158.00, and I'm sure that's probably on it's way out. Take my advice, DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALittleWiserNow
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Copies VHS to DVD but very poor instructions.
6/25/2013

Customer review by DJS1234

1.0 stars 6/25/2013 by DJS1234
by DJS1234

If what you want to do is copy VHS home movies to DVD then this will do the job. Punch a few buttons and come back in a few hours. Video and audio quality is good. But forget about trying to add helpful titles to the DVD, markers, chapters, titles. The owner's manual is the worst I've ever read. There is no explanation of the difference between chapters, titles, or markers, or HOW to actually create them on the DVD. When I tried to edit a "title" I somehow blanked out the entire DVD, similar to formatting a hard drive, and I had to start the whole process over again with a new DVD. The remote doesn't act like a conventional remote. It's like the remote control software writers never actually used a remote before. When the DVD is is the "pause" mode the Fast Forward and Fast Rewind are in Extra Slow Motion. The hardware aspect of this machine is OK but the instruction manual and remote control user interface are just awful. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJS1234
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It is what it is.
7/25/2010

Customer review by ThePadre

4.0 stars 7/25/2010 by ThePadre
by ThePadre

First of all, I had to buy it twice. The first unit was defective, the DVD drawer would not open. However the second one worked perfectly. It does everything advertised. Exactly, no more, no less. Do not succumb to the thought in your head that it will copy all of your old VHS tapes to DVD. It will not copy any commercial tapes with copy protection, period. There are ways to do that, but this machine is not one of them. If you want to play VHS and DVD media to your TV it is easy to set up and it does a great job. The video and audio are exceptional and it will copy any home made VHS tapes directly to DVD with chapters and titles as you need them. The controls are easy to use and the manual is easy to understand. I do recommend this product with the exception to those who want to copy their old Disney movies before the tapes go bad, you will need another solution.

Was this review helpful? (128) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThePadre
Northwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Copyright Problems & Recording t..v Complicated
10/13/2009

Customer review by BuffyBot

1.0 stars 10/13/2009 by BuffyBot
by BuffyBot

Already have a DVR on main t.v. I bought this product for our second t.v. for 2 reasons: 1) To record programs during the day on second t.v. This way kids could watch favorite cartoons while husband watching sports/news. 2) To dub old VHS tapes to DVD so we could watch them in car DVD player. Problems: 1) Does not work like a DVR where you can set it and forget it. You have to go in and set it up on record stand by every morning and it won't change the channel, so you can only record off one channel until you come back and manually change the channel. I don't have time for all that so recording t.v. shows while at work isn't going to work. 2) Will only dub home movies. Everything else is copyright protected (which isn't it legal to copy your own movies, if you arn't going to sell them?) If you want to dub old home movies from VHS to DVD, record live t.v. while you are there to press the buttons, and watch DVDs and VHS movies this product will work for you. It just doesn't do the primary functions I wanted. Plan on returning it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (51) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuffyBot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WORK'S GREAT !!!!
12/12/2010

Customer review by CLASSICMIKE

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by CLASSICMIKE
by CLASSICMIKE

JUST GOT IT... ordered it online and it was $147 with FREE SHIPPING.... in the store was $157. Make sure you order the 2 year protection plan only $20.00 so now you are good to go JUST IN CASE. Took it out hooked it up read the manual and put a old tape from the store i had VAN HALEN LIVE and loaded a DVD-R And pushed DUB 90 min later the tape ended... Went into menu Edit and finalized the DVD-R only took about 7 min there it was played fine took it out went to my other dvd player put the disk in and worked fine took it out put it into my mac computer worked fine ........THIS MACHINE WORKS YES IT RECORDS TV I hook it to my Verizon fios box. Just hook the RCA cables to your cable box yellow video and red /white Audio OUT and then hooked the other ends the same way to you new vcr/dvd recorder IN get another set of RCA cables and do the same OUT and into your tv IN. Very easy to do.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CLASSICMIKE
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value and great features
8/4/2009

Customer review by Jetstar329

5.0 stars 8/4/2009 by Jetstar329
by Jetstar329

I purchased the Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR about 6 weeks ago with the specific purpose of transferring my old VHS tapes to DVDs. I don't normally write reviews, but I noticed a prior review that only awarded one star and did not recommend purchasing this product. I honestly disagree with the prior reviewer's opinion. I was able to hook up the unit to my very old spare TV (it involved using an RF modulator to interface between the unit and the TV) without any problems. Another feature that motivated me to purchase this unit was its reverse dubbing ability; it's a long story, but sometimes I need to transfer from a DVD to a VHS tape. Since I have hooked up this unit, I have used every feature that it possesses and it has performed perfectly. The menus that you need to use to program the unit are logical and straight-forward. As a matter of fact, I liked the original unit so much (and it is very good value for the money) that I purchased a second unit for another one of the TVs in my home. I highly recommend this unit as excellent value for your money, for the multitude of features it possesses and because it performed exactly as advertised with no unusual quirks.

Was this review helpful? (154) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jetstar329
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mine is fine!
6/5/2016

Customer review by turtlecurls

4.0 stars 6/5/2016 by turtlecurls
by turtlecurls

I've had this Magnavox for at least 5 years and it's working fine. Must be different batch quality since mine is fine! Unreal, really records to HDD and then to DVD, and doesn't require a monthly subscription. It's a little confusing to read the manual. Basics are fine, but there's more features that get harder. For the newer to it, it's on the remote for your TV that you need to select the correct "input" or "source" to get the DVD to show on the TV. I have a cable box so it's function is a little more limited, but I've managed to recorded all sorts of stuff ... while saying plenty by paying a relatively small amount upfront and being DONE with costs. For those that it doesn't work with, at least try calling the company...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turtlecurls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frustrating Set Up
7/31/2009

Customer review by LDMom

3.0 stars 7/31/2009 by LDMom
by LDMom

I was sure I could just hook this unit up, run through the set up and record from my newish, 2 year old flat screen hd tv. WRONG! There are way too many variables in connections to make this easy for the general consumer. Details on connection types should be on the outside of the box specifying any additional hardware or cables needed. After about two hours of trying to record from multiple TV's I called Maganvox Tech Support. They seemed knowledgeable and helpful, but apparently my hd box from my cable company has only one set of output jacks, (red, white, yellow) and they are being used by the TV and this Magnavox unit doesn't have a tuner or component IN jacks for use with red, white, yellow jacks. Tech support says there should be hd boxes with multiple sets of output jacks and DVD/VCR recording units that have component IN jacks. Unfortunately I have neither. I'm told by other techies at work that an HDMI cable (cheap one is as good as the expensive one everyone tries to sell you) should solve my problem. We'll see! Can't give a fair review rating yet since I don't know if product works or not.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LDMom
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Memory Saver
1/5/2010

Customer review by CentralFloridaFlyer

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by CentralFloridaFlyer
by CentralFloridaFlyer

I purchased this item to copy our family home videos from VHS tapes to DVD. I have been very pleased with how well this has worked. I did not believe it was possible, but it certainly seems that the quality of the video on the DVD is actually better than on the original VHS tape. I have not yet used it to record broadcasts to DVD, mainly because most of the shows that have been on have not been worth wasting a DVD on. The unit is not as easy to use as it could have been. The procedures are a little convoluted and not as intuitive as I would have liked. After copying my fourth tape I find I still have to refer to the step by step instruction in the manual to make sure I don't miss a step. Maybe I'm just a slow learner. Overall I thought this was a great value, and ideal for what I am using it for.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CentralFloridaFlyer
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Just What I Wanted
2/24/2010

Customer review by LlovesI

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by LlovesI
by LlovesI

I wanted a recorder mainly for recording from my DVR onto DVD. I had bought this one at the store because the one I had my eye on was gone and this was the only one. I am so glad that I did buy it. The quality so far has been great, once I read through the manual everything was pretty easy. My only problem was I bought a HDMI cable because I thought I would need one but I am returning because even though I have an HD TV without the cable the picture quality is still very good (and this is on the 6 hour recording). So if you are looking for a recorder to keep your shows and movies from your DVR to DVD buy this recorder and you will be happy.

Was this review helpful? (124) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LlovesI
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/1/2010

Customer review by Tucson92

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by Tucson92
by Tucson92

Love this DVD recorder! It works really well and is easy to use. When deciding whether or not it was the right recorder for me. At first I wasn't totally sure whether or not I needed a recorder that had a built-in tuner, since you save money with this recorder because it doesn't have one. Without the built-in tuner, you have to use the tri-color (red, white, & yellow) cables to connect from your cable or satellite box and also must use the tri-color cables to connect to your tv. It's the tuner that allows you to connect to and from coaxial cable. So as long as you have a newer tv, and get your signal from cable or satellite, it isn't a problem.

Was this review helpful? (162) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tucson92
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good Product
10/25/2009

Customer review by Genesis614

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by Genesis614
by Genesis614

I bought this product at my local Wal-Mart and paid the $158.00 price. It's a good value for the money. However, in order to watch a dvd in high def the hdmi has to be in but to watch a video you have to use the analog connections. You must disconnect the analog in order to watch hi-def dvds. If you don't have power, which mine didn't this morning. I tried several outlets and nothing. I was a bit upset because I left a $20 dvd in it. So I called Tech Support she suggested I power cycle-hold power button, and at the same time plug the unit back in. It worked! She did give me admin warranty number to call m-f 8-5 if i need it in the future. Dvd's from pre-recorded tapes that have the tab removed will not record to dvd. and the same for dvds that are write protected. I find this product is good for the money. Would have been better with a digital tuner for the tv to record to.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Genesis614
Avon Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good initially, but not built to last
11/18/2010

Customer review by ahth

2.0 stars 11/18/2010 by ahth
by ahth

I bought this product about a year ago to play DVDs, VHS, and burn family videos from our camera to a DVD. It did everything perfectly and I was really happy with the product! I especially like that I can plug my camera into the front of the burner. After about 20 DVDs burned (over the course of the past year), I was unable to burn DVDs. I kept getting an error message, and I tried just about everything to get it to work. Now I am only able to watch DVDs and VHS. I wish I had gotten the extended warranty that was offered when I purchased it at the store (about $20). Now I'm shopping around for another one.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ahth
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bigger bang for the buck
12/27/2009

Customer review by goatlocker

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by goatlocker
by goatlocker

We found the Magnavox DVD recorder exceptionally adaptable to most of the TVs we have throughout our home (5) except for a +10 year old Phillips formerly in master bedroom. A 7 year old flat screen 25" Sanyo had compatible RCA plug ports. So we moved it into our master bedroom and not only found the new Magnavox enhanced the color quality of the TV picture, but also quality of recorded VHS tapes far surpassed previous Magnavox VCR recorder/player & DVD player that was only 3 years old. We copy movies for rural friends without cable service. While quality of VHS recordings are superior, we are thrilled to be able to multiple times recopy over on far easier to transport DVD+RW discs.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goatlocker
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great!
12/6/2009

Customer review by magnavox

5.0 stars 12/6/2009 by magnavox
by magnavox

Before I bought this item, I was a bit weary. Several times I looked online for product reviews and saw mostly good comments and ratings. Still I was a was not sure; especially for the price tag. However, I decided to buy this. Although setting it all up took longer for me than expected, everything is great. You will be able to record your home vhs videos to dvd; other vhs tapes to dvd; and also, you can record tv to dvd by using another vhs player or external tuner. This product works great and am very satisfied. Highly recommend for those who are thinking about this.

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
magnavox
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work well with DVD+RW discs
3/31/2010

Customer review by cloudeleven

2.0 stars 3/31/2010 by cloudeleven
by cloudeleven

I have owned this unit since December '09. It worked OK with DVD+RW discs for a week or two, but now it does not work well with DVD+RW discs even though the instruction manual says it is fully compatible. I have tried both Verbatim DVD+RW discs (which is one of the recommended discs in the instruction manual) and Memorex DVD+RW discs and on every disc I get a "Recording Error: Cannot record to this disc" error. As you can imagine, this has been rather inconvenient for recording TV shows that I just want to watch later and don't want to keep forever. Sometimes, timer recording hasn't worked because when it's time to record the show, the player won't cooperate with the DVD+RW disc and will just refuse to record. I haven't tried DVD-RW discs because those have to be recorded in "VR" mode. For now, I'm using the VCR side of the unit to record TV shows until I find some RW discs that work with this unit. Disappointing. It works fine with Verbatim DVD+R discs. No errors with those so far. The VHS tape-dubbing feature to DVD+R discs has worked great (so far). Another annoyance with this recorder is that the machine takes 30 seconds to load a DVD (I timed it), even a blank DVD, after you insert it. So if a TV show is starting that you want to record immediately, hopefully you already have a disc in the unit (and if it's a DVD+RW disc, you'll probably get a recording error - see above).

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cloudeleven
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
great dvd, vcr recorder
12/30/2009

Customer review by regalsea03

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by regalsea03
by regalsea03

i read many reviews that say this unit cannot records programs correctly so i almost decided not to buy it, but after recieving it and trying it i am glad i did. both the dvd and vcr recorders work fine. i have used it to record movies off of the regular channels and off of on demand thru my cable box and the programming recorded perfectly and with very good picture quality. i dont know if the other people had problems because of how they hooked it up, but i had very little trouble hooking it up and as i said, it works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (86) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
regalsea03
gilbert, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good product
10/30/2010

Customer review by Idaho68

4.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Idaho68
by Idaho68

I bought this product but had to return it and order the MDR513H/F7. This has to be used in conjunction with a cable box. If you have just basic cable you can not record TV programs. If it wasn't for that this would have worked great for me.

Was this review helpful? (501) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Idaho68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews