Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 25 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
perfect product
6/8/2010

Customer review by LaughingShopper

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by LaughingShopper
by LaughingShopper

Sleek looking, fast heating, no plastic part(except the filter at the mouth of the kettle, which I think can be removed). But I would rather lable it "warm touch" instead of "cool tough" since the kettle wall does get warm as the water is heated. However, it is not warm enough to even burn an infant, which is perfect for our family. Love love love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaughingShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3+ years later, still going strong
11/6/2013

Customer review by YouDontKnowMeFromAdam

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by YouDontKnowMeFromAdam
by YouDontKnowMeFromAdam

I'm writing this review over three years after buying the product... I bought this kettle because it was the only one I could find that was entirely stainless steel and seamless inside. Most of them had silicone grommets for handles, clear plastic viewing windows, etc, etc... I've been using it 2 or 3 times per day for over 3 years now and it still works perfectly and looks nice. Not much more to say for it...

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YouDontKnowMeFromAdam
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Speedy Hamilton Beach Cool Touch Electric Kettle
12/3/2010

Customer review by Alwaystoobusy

4.0 stars 12/3/2010 by Alwaystoobusy
by Alwaystoobusy

LOVE this Hamilton Beach Cool Touch Electric Kettle. We've had it for about a month, and only wish we'd discovered it sooner. The outside is not completely cool-touch, but it's much better than most others. The appearance is very sleek. The inside is great - stainless steel with no coils touching your liquid. There is plastic on the lid, but it's not in much contact with the liquid except for the time when the liquid is boiling and steams up the top and perhaps when pouring out. Overall, it's minimal compared to most others I've seen so far. Great value - would have expected to have to pay more. Would have been an absolute *5* stars IF there were NO plastic at all inside and IF completely cool-touch. But, still very happy with this kettle.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alwaystoobusy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Critical design flaw
6/13/2011

Customer review by Teafan

2.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Teafan
by Teafan

The bad: This kettle has a critical design flaw - the pouring orifice doesn't have the correct angle to guide the water flow, therefore when you pour water out it drips a lot. The good: I like the double wall construction which makes it both safer and more efficient. This would be a nice product if they modify the pouring port just a little bit.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teafan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Good option for a plastic free* electric kettle
11/22/2013

Customer review by OneCraftyGirl

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by OneCraftyGirl
by OneCraftyGirl

I say this is a good option for a plastic free kettle, because there is no plastic in contact with the water while it is in the kettle. The lid is made of plastic on the inside, but I just remove the lid while the water is heating. The auto shut off does not work if the lid is not in place, but I am always standing by so that is not an issue for me because I can manually turn it off when the water is as hot as I want it. One thing I found interesting that no one else had mentioned in their reviews was the capacity. The manufacturer claims an 8 cup capacity, but when filled to the max water level, it only holds 5 cups. Overall, I am happy with my purchase. It heats water faster than a tea kettle on the stove, and I can work my way around the plastic lid components. Oh, and mine does not dribble when I pour the water out like some people mentioned. Don't know if this is because the lid is removed or not.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneCraftyGirl
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful product
1/20/2010

Customer review by JPaine

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by JPaine
by JPaine

Surprising to see such a innovative design from Hamilton Beach, but it is so. No plastic in contact with the water (not even a useless viewing window), seamless stainless steel construction and wonderful lid. The lid pivots from open to close, and has a neat design. It is hard to explain, but it works well. If you fill the kettle half way, it boils in around two mintues, maybe four if filled all the way. It boils about 8 seconds before it shuts off. Feels sturdy and is double-walled to keep the outside from getting burning hot. Wish it was a bit cheaper, but I see why it has to cost this much.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JPaine
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Attractive but a big drawback in longevity
2/24/2014

Customer review by Billiboy

1.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Billiboy
by Billiboy

A good looking kettle with a serious drawback. There is a water filter in the spout that is essential for turning off the kettle when boiling. This filter deteriorates over time and needs replacing. No problem - what can a 50 cent filter cost? Well from Hamilton Beach its about $14 because you MUST buy a new lid assembly at $10 plus postage. Though the filter is easy to replace Hamilton Beach WILL NOT SELL IT TO YOU without the unneeded lid. So much for helping the environment. Don't be a sucker buy another brand.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billiboy
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product - never can leak!
8/8/2013

Customer review by robcdna

4.0 stars 8/8/2013 by robcdna
by robcdna

Bought this after much research and having two other product start to leak from the clear panel on the side which shows the water level. This kettle has a totally enclosed chamber for water so there is no chance of leaking. Of course you don't have a water level indicator, but it has an easy opening lid to check the water level from the top. Boils fast, pores OK, and not too noisy. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robcdna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hamilton Beach kettle
8/10/2013

Customer review by wmfanny

4.0 stars 8/10/2013 by wmfanny
by wmfanny

Heats water REALLY fast. No exposed coils, so it's easy to clean. There is a slight drip when pouring, but otherwise it's such a good product that can be overlooked. And it's very attractive.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wmfanny
Weedsport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great plastic-free electric kettle
12/6/2013

Customer review by cyummy

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by cyummy
by cyummy

I've owned and used the hamilton beach cool-touch stainless steel electric kettle for over 2 weeks now and it works great. Only the filter and the lid has plastic parts. To avoid having any plastic in contact with the water, I removed the filter and I also open the lid when I pour water (pours well, no dripping). You could keep the lid close and have no contact with plastic if you pour slowly. I don't remove the lid when I fill it with water, I carefully avoid pouring water into the small hole (the sensor for automatic power-off?) at the top of the handle (I've read a review that says it leaked from the bottom of the handle... probably because water gets into it). I always pour water out as soon as it boils to avoid buildup at the bottom of the pot. I use it over 10 times a day and I've already seen some spots at the bottom. There's no coil inside the pot, it's very easy to clean. It takes 4.5 minutes to boil a full pot. It may be a little loud when boiling, but I have no problem with it. A bigger problem is that it creates lots of steam when the water boils. The automatic power off function only kicks in 35 seconds after I hear water boiling, creating lots of steam. Since this is the only plastic-free stainless steel electric kettle in a reasonable price range ($42.99) I've seen, I can live with the cons and I'm satisfied with the product. I just hope that it will last long!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyummy
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I really like this kettle!
2/15/2012

Customer review by PickyBudgetShopper

4.0 stars 2/15/2012 by PickyBudgetShopper
by PickyBudgetShopper

I first purchased the less expensive GE 1.7L Electric Kettle which I quickly returned. The water level indicator meant that plastic was in contact with the hot water....Plus the tiny opening at the top along with the attached lid meant that it was difficult to use and clean. This Hamilton Beach kettle was worth the extra expense. The fact that it is double walled means that it is cooler to the touch and that the water stays warmer longer. My main complaint with this kettle is that the swing-top lid was a little awkward for me to use. My solution was to substitute a 25 cent glass lid found at a resale store. I would purchase this kettle again, especially if the lid were modified.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PickyBudgetShopper
Central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is just what my wife wanted.
7/22/2013

Customer review by RLMRLM

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by RLMRLM
by RLMRLM

This product performs very good. Water is almost instantly heated. No more stove tea kettles. The new electric kettle is attractive and takes up very little counter space. We really like the auto shut off feature and the drip-less pouring spout. This is every thing my wife wanted. We had to order it on-line because the various stores we searched for this product had none. I think the stores are missing the boat on this item. We looked at a dozen other models but this is the best one available and we would not have even known that it existed if my wife had not seen it at her sisters when she went to visit her this summer. I bought this as a gift for my wife at her request.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RLMRLM
Lehigh Valley, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Product and BEST kettle
8/27/2014

Customer review by RockawayGirl

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by RockawayGirl
by RockawayGirl

I have done tons of research for a very long time before purchasing an electric kettle. I kept coming back to this one and finally purchasing it. Been using for about a month now. LOVE it! All of my research kept leading me back to this one. It is all one piece with no solder points, so I am worry free about lead. Additionally, I have become very conscience about plastics and heat, etc. Though this has a plastic filter and some inside the top, I just flip the top open so no water touches any plastic. That's the only plastic on or in the kettle. This was my main concern, and the ONLY one I could find that no water touches the plastic. It's quick and very easy. I only would like that the cord be longer. It is very, very short.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockawayGirl
Rockaway, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Works fast
4/16/2013

Customer review by hiker26

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by hiker26
by hiker26

Attractive and quick. I bought it because it is all stainlesss steel except for parts of the top. I heat water without the top which is somewhat quirky to use anyway. Just make sure you shut it off manually if you don't use the top.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hiker26
Brevard, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast, Cool outside wall, no spill
11/30/2014

Customer review by Steve556

1.0 stars 11/30/2014 by Steve556
by Steve556

This works great. No plastic below water line. I boil just 1 or 2 cup at a time, less than half full. Takes a little over 1 minute. I've never spilled water while pouring. Maybe its because I fill the tank less than half full. There is a drain hole inside. If you overfill ,water runs out the hole between the wall out the bottom. Its a good design, not a defect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve556
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The other reviews are true, beware
7/11/2013

Customer review by BoerneTX

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by BoerneTX
by BoerneTX

i read many reviews on many electric kettles before this purchase. Many had bad reviews but due to the fact that i didn't want to spend a fortune on this item, i went ahead and tried this one since it was attractive and reasonably priced. Unfortunately, the reviews are correct. It was a fairly loud boiling sound but after about 6 or 8 pots of water, it started whistling like a train and leaks. I think it's a leak into the outer 'cool' walls... what else could cause such a high pitch whistle... especially one that isn't supposed to be there. The water is only drips right now, but almost brand new drips will likely lead to more water later. I am returning the kettle at it's currently faulty state.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoerneTX
Boerne, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cool Touch Electric Kettle was the right choice!
2/5/2014

Customer review by worthuvasoul

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by worthuvasoul
by worthuvasoul

I'm pretty picky & took a long time to figure out the best for function (like the insulation for efficiency and safety! Auto shut-off! 4 minutes til boil! Also love the cord arrangement!), nontoxic (no plastic except in the small filter at the top edge, which only contacts when you pour). You can't fill this to the top, but to about 2/3 full due to the very unique lid. By the way, look for the diagram for installing the lid. I could only do it once I spotted the diagram. It really isn't intuitive but pops in straight downward.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
worthuvasoul
Keller, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good reputation seems deserved
3/31/2013

Customer review by Onepac

4.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Onepac
by Onepac

I just got the water boiler so time will tell, but I hope the positive reviews prove true. I will be happy to get a year or two out of it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onepac
Santa Cruz, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not a well thought out product
3/10/2011

Customer review by holbrookgirl

3.0 stars 3/10/2011 by holbrookgirl
by holbrookgirl

this Electric Tea Kettle has no water window, so unless you open the top of the kettle you cannot tell if there is enough or any water in kettle.I wish I had noticed that before I purchased this kettle, I would have chosen another style.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
holbrookgirl
holbrook,ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
beautiful but
9/20/2011

Customer review by TomD9

1.0 stars 9/20/2011 by TomD9
by TomD9

beautiful but doesn't have a water level indicator, so to check if there is water inside you need to lift the cover and look. also, as stainless steel, any touch leaves marks on the steel which doesn't wipe off easily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TomD9
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews