Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 169 reviews
5 stars
80
4 stars
44
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
20
Sort by: 
1-20 of 160 reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
How I use these thin paper plates
12/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 10 contributer
At this point in time, you get 300 paper plates for less than 6 dollars. They are as stated, paper plates. I buy these on a regular basis because they have a ton of uses. For starters, you can purchase paper plate holders at walmart also, for only a buck or two. By using paper plate holders with these thin paper plates, you'll far better with your food on the plate. I primarily use them for non-cooked food, if you will. Sandwiches and chips. Cake. Pie such as pecan pie or cheesecake. Raw vegetables. Fruit such as sliced apple. I also use them some times as a cover. Cover for food when cooking in the microwave. Ever heat up something saucy in the microwave? They make a great cover for that and you don't have a mess to clean in the microwave nor a cover to wash since you used a toss away paper plate. I also use them as a grease/oil absorber when I cook something such as bacon, I put the paper plate on a real dish plate, to help absorb the grease. There really is many uses for these and at less than .2 cents a plate, they're more than worth having in my house. IF you are planning on serving Christmas dinner on paper plates, these are probably not what you'll want.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
inexpensive, lightweight paper plates
8/28/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
These paper plates are fine for very lightweight & dry items only. These do not have any type of coating, so they will soak through quickly. I believe that Sams Club sells a similar lightweight paper plate, but the Sam's one has a light coating to slow down the soak through a little. These paper plates are very thin/flimsy, so if you put something a little heavier than potato chips, you'll need a sturdy plate or basket below it. But for the inexepensive price, it's fine and what you should expect. To separate them easily, "fan" a handful of the stack, otherwise you'll have several plates stuck together. If you need paper plates to hold heavier or more greasy/liquid items or need to cut on the plate with a knife, you'll be better off with the more expensive but heavy duty Dixie or Chinet type paper plates with coating instead of these.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I use them for a dry item or to chop.
9/18/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They're not heavy duty for sure but I use them for a sandwich or something "dry". I use them when something is drippy or dirty to just rest it there and keep it off the counter. I also use them to chop items. Now I use just use the heavier ones for meals that need more leak proof and it saves me money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good for the money - but a bit thin
4/16/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
They are a little thin so we often have to use 2 at a time for strength and so they don't leak through.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
3/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Cheap paper plate but it suits my needs. I'm a single guy and hate doing dishes so paper plates is all I use
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Great
8/31/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These plates are pretty worthless even if you're just using them for "light duty". Might as well be using a paper towel as a plate. Worth the money to spend a little more and buy some that are more heavy duty. The heavy duty paper plates sold at Sam's Club are good, and you only have to use one plate vs. 2-3 of these light duty plates.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stick together
8/8/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have purchased these paper plates for years, because they came apart easily. I would primarily use them for microwaving, toast, cutting up veges, etc. The last time I purchased them they were not the same plate. They are stuck together like glue and when you finally get them apart they are soooooo thin......Same price, less quality. Not surprised :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very handy to have around
6/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Paper plates are great for the microwave, prepping vegetables, snacks, and even craft projects with my kids. This is a great deal and 300 plates go a long way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for My Use
2/10/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use these plates for feeding my cats. The plates are not coated but I have no problem with "soak through" as the cats have all the liquid eaten before this can happen. The Walmart plates are much more affordable than other store brands.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sticky
3/6/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They need to glue these together better. I was actually able to separate a few and use them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
no dishes
3/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Less clutter in the landfill. I love them they hold up well and get the job done.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Paper Plates
6/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Cheap paper plates. Don't try to carry a load on these. We use them for slicing up veggies, or other items and then picking up the plate to dump into pot, pan , etc. Great for a light sandwiches. We like them for the value. We don't like eating on foam - why risk exposure to toxic stuff? Two plates can be used for slightly heavier items. Great for camping, they burn in the camp fire without any problems. Costs have gone up over the years, but still Walmart has the best price on these. I don't mind buying the big pack, either. There is no "durability" associated with these thin plates. One time use, unless you count the reuse for starting a fire!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
strong
5/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Holds up well when wet. Does well in the microwave also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better quality, good price.
6/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I actually prefer these GV "Economy" plates to the regular, (or non-specified) GV paper plates from the past. They have more of a sturdy ridge around the edges and seem less thin. I still double up on them if I'm putting anything warm on them or that may leak some liquid when heating up in a microwave, but they are well worth the price and convenience in a busy home with kids and snacks and limited kitchen space!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price
7/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart is a great place to get a ton of paper plates for a great cost. There are better prices out there for the exact same item but for convenience only, I purchase the Great Value Brand. They are paper plates. There is no coating so yes, if you put really wet or hot food on them the item will sog up and sometimes shred. But see, you're getting 300 plates for 5 bucks. Double up the plates or eat the shreds of paper. I'm not paying double this price for half the amount. No way!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not a fan.....
6/5/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm not a fan of these plates. They stick together and are hard to pull apart, especially for the kids. Depending on what we are eating, they tear up if the food is moist. I am used to using coated plates and thought I would try these. I'm definitely going back to the old kind.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
All stuck together
10/3/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The entire stack of plates were stuck together and bending the an inch or so of plates like you do with copy paper does not work. They have to be pulled apart one plate at a time which is time consuming. Next time I will try the next less expensive plate for sandwiches, chips, etc. until I eventually find cheap plates that don't need to be separated by hand. Your mileage may vary..... Good luck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value 9" Paper Plates - 300 count
8/14/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you have to spend money on paper products, this is the best value in paper plates for everyday use - we're talking 300 plates! Yes, they're thin but they hold a piece of toast or a sandwich and chips. Otherwise, just double up. The only drawback is that often times the stack is tightly packed and you might be grabbing 3 or 4 plates "stuck together". I've actually taken a few minutes to separate the plates, but I'm really frugal! Overall, this is a good value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/4/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Excellent value for the paper plates. They might be a bit flimsy, but serve all my purposes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Economy YES
6/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
MY everyday use paperplates
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-