Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
13
52%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
Simplicity Rotary cutting machine
9/9/2009

Customer review by Namma

5.0 stars by Namma

Walmart's site to store is awesome. I did have a problem with the machine and dealt directly with Simplicity. They were great in sending a new machine and paying all postage. This is a wonderful invention for crafters. I'm not much of a sewer but use it to cut strips to make material into crochet items. Awesome! Awesome!

Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Namma
Wyocena, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Useful
5/30/2010

Customer review by candoperson

4.0 stars by candoperson

Product was easy to use. Instructions were accurate. Beats cutting 40 strips of fabric by hand. I found that you had to cut slowly in order to avoid wavy strips.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
candoperson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Faster and more fun than cutting strips by hand
7/31/2012

Customer review by TexasSusieQ

4.0 stars by TexasSusieQ

The machine comes with the pinking blade installed, but changing the cutting blade was very easy. The blade adjustment was simple too. It only took a couple of slight quarter-turns of the screw to cut cleanly through the test fabric. The blades are not sharp by design -- the machine utilizes pressure to make the cut -- so you will not cut yourself when handling the blades. For the most part, the machine makes clean, straight cuts, even on the bias. It gets a little wonky near the end sometimes, but any extra width is easily trimmed with a scissors. It does help to hold the fabric in back as directed in the online instruction video. So far, it's been much faster and more fun than cutting strips by hand. I've already used the cut strips on several sewing projects that needed ruffles, spaghetti straps, or bias tape. With the companion Simplicity Bias Tape Machine, I was able to make bias tape for elastic casings with the same fabric that was used for the sewing projects. With store bought bias tape, sometimes it's impossible to find a good match, so I was able to achieve a truly custom look. I only wish the combination foot pedal/power cord was a bit longer. Overall, this machine has been a useful addition to my sewing equipment and I'm pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TexasSusieQ
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It is a Great Time Saver.
9/17/2012

Customer review by kyucker

5.0 stars by kyucker

I read the instructions on how to replace the blade along with the tension on the blade. This machine does a Great Job on cutting material into strips. One small improvement would be the power foot - Hey Guys do us a big favor and extend the length of the power cord from the back of the pedal to the outlet from 30 inches to at least 60 inches(5 ft). This is the only complaint that I have. It was easy to loosen the nut to replace the blade. It was simple enough to tighten the blade. I love this machine. It does make doing strips faster and easier.(especially if you have carpal tunnel) There is a magazine that shows how to make quilts out of strips. (and not just sewing strips together) That magazine is called Quilt. It sells at all Fabric Stores. Now I am excited to get into the different patterns you can get from Strips of Cloth. With this machine and just using the strips I will be able to create multiple Quilts with out having to take 4 hours of my time hand cutting each strip. This is Truly a Great Time Saver.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kyucker
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Simplicity Cutter and Bias Tape Maker
3/25/2011

Customer review by Jlundeen

5.0 stars by Jlundeen

I absolutely love these products - took a bit of thought to get the cutter to work, but when I figured it out, it works very well. Cuts straight and quickly! Tape maker is terrific, and price is much cheaper than at the big sewing/craft store. Also love the "ship to store" feature - no shipping charges!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jlundeen
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Helpful and easy to use
11/11/2009

Customer review by davedarlene

4.0 stars by davedarlene

This is great, one handy machine that will save time and effort and cutting strips for quilt making!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
davedarlene
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/16/2009

Customer review by passion2quilt

1.0 stars by passion2quilt

I was dissatisfied with product. Was unable to change blade. Did not cut evenly. The manual rotary products are quicker and do a better job cutting. The price is much cheaper too with the manual rotary devices.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
passion2quilt
Utica NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I should have listened to the previous reviews
10/16/2013

Customer review by Cookie55

1.0 stars by Cookie55

This machine is not worth the time it takes to use. You can cut strips much faster and accurately using a rotary cutter & mat. Don't waste your time or money on this one. I returned it after 1 day.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cookie55
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOT IT TODAY
1/7/2014

Customer review by AZJALAPENO

1.0 stars by AZJALAPENO

I JUST GOT MY CUTTER & HAVE BEEN TRYING OFF & ON ALL DAY TO ADJUST THE TENSE SO IT WOULD CUT , SO FAR NOTHING ... BOUGHT TONS OF FABRIC FOR RAG RUGS ONLY BECAUSE I THOUGHT I WOULD BE CUTTING QUICKLY W / THIS MACHINE ... INSTEAD I WASTED THE DAY ... I AM SO FRUSTRATED I COULD SCREAM ... SO INSTEAD, I WENT TO MY COMPUTER & THOUGHT I WOULD WRITE ABOUT THIS FRUSTRATING EXPERIENCE SO FAR = ALSO, THE PEDAL CORD IS SO SHORT I HAVE HAD TO USE AN EXTENTION CORD ... WHAT A GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT ... WONDER WHY THE FACTORY CAN'T ADJUST THE TENSION @ THE FACTORY FOR AVERAGE COTTON FABRIC ... EVEN MY SERGER WAS LESS FRUSTRATING ~

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AZJALAPENO
ARIZONA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
good machine for cutting strips for a quilter
6/23/2012

Customer review by grannyquilter2

4.0 stars by grannyquilter2

The machine met all my expectations. Had no problem adjusting the tension for the cutting wheel. The only disadvantage is that it will only cut a single fabric. So far I'm satisfied with it

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grannyquilter2
North Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy it
12/27/2011

Customer review by justsewit

1.0 stars by justsewit

Don't buy it; you will just have to return it like I did. If you need accuracy and precision in your sewing, it is a total waste. Maybe it is good for cutting paper, I don't know, but it is terrible with fabric.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
justsewit
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/2/2013

Customer review by SisC

5.0 stars by SisC

It takes a little adjusting, which I thought the instructions were unclear on. I googled it and found a youtube video which showed how step by step. Now I love it. Used it to cut bias binding, super easy and fast.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SisC
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not perform
1/15/2011

Customer review by newfrances

1.0 stars by newfrances

After anxiously looking forward to getting this product, I was extremely disappointed. Product did not cut the fabric at all. Blades were changed, screws adjusted, but still did not cut through fabric. It definitely left the marks on the fabric. I returned it and will continue to cut manually. Very disappointed!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
newfrances
Riverhead, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
9/6/2010

Customer review by Carioka

1.0 stars by Carioka

I returned it as it would ot cut material or even paper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Carioka
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Waste Your Money...
6/6/2014

Customer review by Leevje

1.0 stars by Leevje

I bought this about a year ago and returned it the next day. If you plan on cutting strips of paper, it may work fine, but it's worthless on fabric.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Leevje
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
cutting machine
10/12/2010

Customer review by scct47

1.0 stars by scct47

useless, i returned it to store. Your better off with a rotary cutter.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scct47
sebastian, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great
10/2/2013

Customer review by pshe7

4.0 stars by pshe7

This little machine works great for cutting strips. I have been cutting a lot of strips for wall hangings lately and this cut the time considerably. I also have the bias tape machine and that comes in handy also.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pshe7
Lockport, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
blade looks dull but works fine
9/16/2014

Customer review by bugsse

4.0 stars by bugsse

first time I try to use it had to turn the tension for the roller , (clockwise) which was part of instructions 10-11 missing from my sheet. cuts through thin plastic table cloth and all the material I've tried so far. cuts straight as long as you use the glide while holding onto the strip already cut, and it pulls the material through so you don't have to keep feeding it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bugsse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rotary Cutting machine
3/2/2014

Customer review by Renee12

1.0 stars by Renee12

I had read the reviews and they were split 50-50. Some loved it and others hated it. I was extremely disappointed. It pulls the material through the machine great. I adjusted the tension all the way both ways and I never could get it to work and cut the material. They should just make the blade sharp and it would have been perfect. The blades have a covering so you don't cut yourself. Do not waste your day trying to make this work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Renee12
Arnoldsville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dosen't Work the way it should!
12/18/2012

Customer review by MDodson

1.0 stars by MDodson

I got this from the site to store. It was almost $20 cheaper that way. This product was aweful. I really thought it would be okay even with the bad reviews it had gotten from some people. Boy, was I wrong! It didn't cut straight. The cloth would get caught and tear. The guide was next to useless. It didn't matter what size cloth went though it either. And, the directions on the English side didn't have step 10. Number 10 was on the Spanish side! I managed to set it up correctly anyway. It didn't matter. It still didn't do what it was suppose to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MDodson
Southwest, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 25 total reviews