Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 177 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

177 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

177 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
48
3 stars
21
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-20 of 158 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews
Instanly falls off the mounting bracket
2/4/2017

Customer review by WendyE

1.0 stars 2/4/2017 by WendyE
by WendyE

Took forever to mount under the cabinet. Once we finally got the bracket mounted....we slipped the unit onto the bracket and it looked great. Until you touched it. Then it came crashing down. I wanted the space-maker (and paid much more for this feature) and the toaster oven now sits on my counter. Exactly what I did not want.

WendyE
St Clair, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Under cabinet toaster oven
1/25/2017

Customer review by tjette1

5.0 stars 1/25/2017 by tjette1
by tjette1

My friend own one of these and I love that you can attach it to under the counter out if the reach of little kids number one and I love that it holds and can cook 4 slices of toast when most can only do two I love the design and style wish I had one of these in my house

tjette1
New Haven, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Question
1/25/2017

Customer review by arry

2.0 stars 1/25/2017 by arry
by arry

I bought this as a gift. Where are the cooking pans which should have come with the oven.

arry
South Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Handle fell off, cannot be replaced
1/8/2017

Customer review by swegnson

2.0 stars 1/8/2017 by swegnson
by swegnson

I'm not sure how long we have had this oven, longer than the two year warranty but nothing like 10 years. It worked fine until the handle you open the oven with fell off completely. It is held on by two screws that have very little metal to hold on to, and when they let go you're done. We tried gluing them with Gorilla glue, but apparently the heat is too much.

swegnson
South Salem, New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Nightmare to install!
1/2/2017

Customer review by Sam1231

2.0 stars 1/2/2017 by Sam1231
by Sam1231

Like other owners I cannot get the oven to remain mounted, falls off with any pressure. Had high hopes for this to replace my old model.

Sam1231
Anaheim, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Doesn't fit under counter too big.
1/4/2017

Customer review by Jobless

1.0 stars 1/4/2017 by Jobless
by Jobless
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The template and holes don't match up not enough hardware, and doesn't fit.

Jobless
Salmon Arm BC Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nightmare installation; hope the product is as goo
11/19/2016

Customer review by DeeDub

3.0 stars 11/19/2016 by DeeDub
by DeeDub

We've had an under-counter B&D toaster oven for decades, so it was a no-brainer to buy another when the old one conked out. Instructions are horrible. The template didn't line up correctly (3/4" moulding depth line was off) and the longest screws are at least 1/4" too short for a 1" depth, requiring a trip to the hardware store tomorrow to buy something that works. Buying on a guesstimate since the directions don't say how deep the screw should set into the mounting bracket. Held on to the old spacers, so I'll probably reuse those since they hold to the screw. Cabinet's empty and the kitchen is a mess, and I'm stuck until tomorrow. I would recommend base don the old product but this installation is discouraging.

DeeDub
Arlington, VA, United States
horrible installation
11/26/2016

Customer review by tlrnhi

1.0 stars 11/26/2016 by tlrnhi
by tlrnhi

I bought this toaster oven because my under counter Toastmaster died. It served us well. I wanted something under counter, so I decided on the B&D under counter. As was said before, holes don't line up well, screws aren't long enough. After a trip to hardware store, we FINALLY got the "hanger" installed. Now, the horrible part....Cannot get the oven to stay in place. Have read the directions over and over and over. The oven connects to the top, but once you open the door, the oven falls off. There seems to be something missing to ANCHOR the oven to the top base. Needless to say, this will be going back.

tlrnhi
Quarryville, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Does the Job, but Complicated Control/Installation
1/3/2017

Customer review by BigAl

3.0 stars 1/3/2017 by BigAl
by BigAl

Received as a gift. I was surprised at the price of this unit when I came looking for the "I can't believe it's not included" tray. The controls are not simple enough to figure out just by looking at the icons on the control panel. I've never had to read a manual to operate a simple toaster oven. Just not user-friendly in my opinion. Now the installation. As another customer mentioned, if you have an overhang of 1", then you're screwed (pun intended). Spacers are irrelevant if the screws wont reach the threaded holes. Almost zero chance of finding a screw to that's the correct length and has the same type of threads that will fit the holes. I looked. You can throw the paper template away at this point. Since I wasn't going to wait a week for the chance I get the correct screws for my issue, I took matters into my own hands. Forget the holes. I just got four screws long enough to get through the metal rack. My overhang is 1" (all around). The plastic washer on top is probably 1/8". The rack is another 1/2" or 3/8". The shelf another 1/8" maybe. It comes with 2 1/2" screws (the long ones). For some reason, I couldn't find 2 3/4" screws so I had to get 3" length. I first drilled four holes through the metal, positioned the mounting plate and duct-taped into place. Then with an awl (or anything pointy enough to fit), I made marks so I knew where to drill. On the rack itself, just make sure the metal "grippers" that come up through the metal plate are TIGHT so there's NO movement at all. I used a pair of pliers to bend them a little to tighten their grip. The oven attaches to these pieces and would normally be supported by the screws, if they were long enough, and the cabinet itself. Drill your holes following the marks you just made. For the less experienced, you need to be mindful of the size of the hole you drill so that it's just large enough for your new screws to fit easily though. In my case, the rack fit just inside the "overhang" so I had to use the spacers. For me it was two large and two small. Drop the screws down through the supplied plastic washers. I used a simple piece of tape to hold the washers up under the cabinet to allow getting the screws through the holes I drilled through the metal plate. Good to have some tape already to go so you can hold the mounting plate in place while you get the other screws through their holes. Now I added large metal washers then the nuts I bought that fit the new screws. Boom. Tight as a drum. On other complication for me was my 3" screws. They're too long and won't let the oven fit into it's brackets. You could use a hacksaw, but it's difficult in that tight space. I happen to have a Dremel rotary tool. I was able to cut the extra length off pretty quickly, but I did show myself with a LOT of sparks. It was New Years Days so I didn't mind. I think the only problem people are having with getting the oven to mount at this point, is you have to put the back end in first, the use a bit of force to pull the oven by its front legs so you can get it to "hook" into place at the front. I didn't get it the first time, and I'm good with handyman stuff. Once I pulled a little harder, it went right into place. Did I mention there is NO tray with this unit? That blows my mind. The name of the product has the word OVEN in it, not just toaster. Spouse 1, "Hey honey, let's make some quick french fries or cookies in our new toaster oven, it's easy..... oops. Sorry. We can't. It didn't come with a tray." Souse 2, "That's weird." Seriously?

BigAl
Washington, DC, United States
Gender:Male
Well executed if it remains on the counter but...
12/4/2016

Customer review by Hacked

2.0 stars 12/4/2016 by Hacked
by Hacked

We also encountered a similar fate. Ours also tumbled out of its mounting when the oven's door is opened. That is, the oven does not remain suspended. Please offer an appropriate remedy for this malady because we do like the "spacesaving" convenience that no other manufacturer offers.

Hacked
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Horrible installation
11/16/2016

Customer review by hc1122

3.0 stars 11/16/2016 by hc1122
by hc1122

I hope the spacemaker toaster oven lasts a long time but the installation was very difficult. I had to replace my old B&D toaster oven, which I never had a problem with, but finally gave out. I also do not think the oven is as stable in place as the old one was. It is not held in place as securely as the old one. It took over 2 hours to install and my husband is an engineeer with a very good background in installing household products.

hc1122
Ocean, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Controls Too Complicated
9/9/2016

Customer review by FlexibleThoughts

2.0 stars 9/9/2016 by FlexibleThoughts
by FlexibleThoughts

I had the prior generation for 17 years and loved it! This one ... I use it and like that it fits under the cabinet. In the world of tech, there's a famous saying that goes something like "try to make something as simple to operate as a toaster" yet here they've made something as complicated to operate that I now need a manual :-/ The old dials did not require thinking--sure there was no timer, yet I knew how to use it! I'm only giving the 2nd star because I do love that this fits under the counter so I deal with it; however, if they come up with a better model that fits into this "tray" then I will upgrade in a heartbeat.

FlexibleThoughts
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great small appliance, use it almost every day
9/13/2016

Customer review by MadisonT2607

5.0 stars 9/13/2016 by MadisonT2607
by MadisonT2607

I have the TROS1000 for 5 years and although I don't use the space saver the toaster oven fits perfectly on top of my microwave below my cupboard. I would like to know the difference between the TROS1000 and TROS1000D toaster oven

MadisonT2607
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love now a better timer
9/4/2016

Customer review by Nancy 3

4.0 stars 9/4/2016 by Nancy 3
by Nancy 3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had 4 of these give to kids for Christmas They all love and still have counter space.

Nancy 3
Indianapolis, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great - frees up counter space
8/11/2016

Customer review by Alabil

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by Alabil
by Alabil

This is a great toaster oven and it frees up counter space. It is also attractive

Alabil
Mississippi, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It's hard to find an under the counter toaster ove
7/14/2016

Customer review by CeeCee

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by CeeCee
by CeeCee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm glad they updated to digital because now the knobs can't break however I wish the would have sold the knobs so I did not have to buy a new one. I guess it was time being the last one lasted me about 10 years

CeeCee
Odessa, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overated
7/20/2016

Customer review by Dickie 79

2.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Dickie 79
by Dickie 79
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The icons are so small you cannot hardly read them. Direction are hard to understand.

Dickie 79
New Orleans, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Couldn't live without it
4/7/2015

Customer review by Honnybear

5.0 stars 4/7/2015 by Honnybear
by Honnybear

Love love love it. Not a lot of counter space. Designed the kitchen around space makers and was devastated when our BDtoaster wore out after 3 years of continual use several times a day and it had been discontinued. I kept trying to find a used one and by chance saw it available again on their website. Couldn't order it fast enough. Installation is a headache and requires two people. Longer spacers would be helpful since we had to use two sets but once in it is simply awesome. Works perfectly. Can't say anything to improve.

Honnybear
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Still a great toaster oven...updated model
2/5/2016

Customer review by Libbmom

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Libbmom
by Libbmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just bought a new space maker toaster oven...I have had several of these over the years...this one is larger than ones on the past. It will hold four slices of bread...as oppose to 2. My only complaint is that it did not come with a pan...I have not been able to find one that fits as of yet. Otherwise...great oven.

Libbmom
Pittsboro, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
question
3/4/2016

Customer review by Ruffles

5.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Ruffles
by Ruffles

I did not receive instructions on "how to operate"... I am unable to set the time or temp....any suggestions?

Ruffles
Georgia
Gender:Female
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1-20 of 158 reviews