Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 41 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Disappointing this time
10/25/2009

Customer review by horsnaround

2.0 stars 10/25/2009 by horsnaround
by horsnaround

I previously had a Black and Decker Space Maker coffeemaker and was very happy with it. When it finally had to be replaced, I wanted another just like it so I ordered this coffeemaker. When I received it, I was very disappointed to see that my favorite features in my previous B&D Space Maker had been changed. To begin with, it is larger and takes up more space under my cabinet than the old unit did. The carafe is bulky and awkward and only fits in the unit with the handle sticking straight out in front, which is an awkward position when pulling it out or replacing it. But the most disappointing change in features is the removable water reservoir, a feature I loved in the older model because I was able to fill only the reservoir and click in place to use. The new model makes this very difficult because you are now expected to fill the carafe and then pour that water into the reservoir. This is difficult because of the placement of the unit under the cabinet. The water tends to pour all over my counter top instead into the water reservoir. Overall, I am very disappointed with this new Black and Decker Space Maker coffeemaker and don't understand why they had to change something that worked so well.

Was this review helpful? (162) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
horsnaround
Northwest PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, lousy installation
9/8/2009

Customer review by FrakC

5.0 stars 9/8/2009 by FrakC
by FrakC

Previous reviews were mixed on this Space Maker coffee pot, but I went and bought it anyhow. The product is neat, compact and makes great coffee. It is a great replacement for our earlier -- many year old-- Space Maker. But: NO, it will not fit in the same holes as the earlier ones. NO, the template supplied is terrible... it does not measure the same as the mounting area of the pot. NO, the spacers supplied to bridge the gap in a recessed bottom cabinet require you to have six hands or otherwise tape the parts together into a column and then, tape the column to the bottom of the cabinet.. then slip the top of the pot up onto them. The earlier versions had spacers with retaining nibs in their ID which held them together with the screw and in place while you positioned the pot. If you get one of these, throw out the template, get some tape and a tape measure and go from there. Once installed, the pot is great. Mine (bought a second one for a customer who also loves it) has a large hole for pouring water into the tank, the pot pours nicely with no spilling and I have no trouble with the pot staying on the hot plate; the clock and controls work fine as well.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrakC
Alabaster, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I wanted!
9/6/2009

Customer review by LuvIsInTheAir

5.0 stars 9/6/2009 by LuvIsInTheAir
by LuvIsInTheAir

I have a trailer up in Sussex County where I spend most of my summer. Because of its limited kitchen space, the old coffeemaker was useless. The cabinetry was too low to open the top and just made things more difficult. When I came upon this, I was skeptical because it was only $60! I figured I'd order it and try it out. This was exactly what I was looking for. Now, I have more counter space because the coffeemaker is hooked under the cabinet. Not only does it look sharp but it works great. It's exceeded my expectations and for the price, you really can't beat it. I would definetely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuvIsInTheAir
Vernon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
2/3/2010

Customer review by tanderson80

2.0 stars 2/3/2010 by tanderson80
by tanderson80

I am now on my third generation of black and decker spacemaker, and I am really impressed with the newest design. This model is superior by far to the others with its sleek, low profile appearance. Despite its great appearance and exceptional performance, I have found a major flaw in the SDC 740. The clock runs too fast. Rather than changing time every sixty seconds, the unit changes time at about 56 seconds. (I exchanged my first unit and the second one did same thing) So, within one day, the unit will read ten minutes too fast which continues to compound and advance. For some, this may be no big deal, but for me, I rely on my programmable mode which is completely useless as a result. A company named Applica handles customer service claims for Black and Decker, and will not return my calls, and responds with emails telling me to unplug it for 15 min and plug it back in-the biggest blow off response out there. As many who seek out a spacemaker know, your options are limited as to manufacturers of under cabinet mount products such as the SDC 740, but if you use the clock and program mode, you may want to think twice before buying this model.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tanderson80
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Space saver
12/16/2009

Customer review by kasse

5.0 stars 12/16/2009 by kasse
by kasse

This coffe pot is a great space saver if you do not have enough counter space. It is the first one I have had and I love it. Will never buy another kind. It is easy to use and to clean.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kasse
Tampa, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great coffeemaker
3/5/2011

Customer review by willhaveanotherone

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by willhaveanotherone
by willhaveanotherone

I have had every under cabinet coffeemaker there is and I love them. This one is no different. Works great, makes excellent coffee and would highly recommend. As for others saying the time changes, I called B&D and they say they found that to be because people plug it in a receptacle with other appliances. Also people complain about filling the water reservoir and getting water everywhere, just like the old models ,TAKE THE RESERVOIR OUT AND CARRY IT TO THE SINK! It slides right out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
willhaveanotherone
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Rated one star for durability
11/17/2010

Customer review by Wolfhound101

2.0 stars 11/17/2010 by Wolfhound101
by Wolfhound101

I am on my third Spacemaker and except for the fact that the water spills over the counter on the last model I have been happy with the Spacemaker. I would not recommend this product not because of the above, but because I broke the carafe and it is impossible to replace it. The only replacement carafe I was able to find is too tall for the Spacemaker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wolfhound101
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/4/2011

Customer review by givingisthebestgift

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by givingisthebestgift
by givingisthebestgift

Had an older model but stopped working. This newer model is situated much better than the older model. Gives even more space on the counter top. Wish they weren't so hard to find, only found at Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
givingisthebestgift
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product and saves space
10/19/2011

Customer review by Riflepoint

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Riflepoint
by Riflepoint

I had an older model of this coffeemaker, and loved it. This new one saves even more room with its new design. It is stylish and works great. I would highly recommend purchasing this coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riflepoint
Vidalia, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good looking coffemaker
3/19/2011

Customer review by Mom4623

5.0 stars 3/19/2011 by Mom4623
by Mom4623

Have been wanting an under the counter coffee maker that keeps the coffee hot. This one heats the coffee after it brews and looks great. Doesn't take up as much space as the other ones we have had. It brews quickly and the pitcher pours without spilling.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom4623
Harrisonville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Mtg
5/3/2010

Customer review by rasuds

4.0 stars 5/3/2010 by rasuds
by rasuds

The box says fits in place of old spacesaver. Not true! I had to redrill for the 4th time. This is my 4th spacemaker coffemaker and NONE of them have the same mtg hole pattern!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rasuds
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
filling water resorvoir
2/26/2011

Customer review by Lee1948

4.0 stars 2/26/2011 by Lee1948
by Lee1948

I like the product except for filling with water. It is a poor design and hard to fill without spilling some water. I tried filling it from the faucet, using a funnel, and using a picture with little success. It still didn't work very well. The best way I found to fill it with water is to pull the resovoir out, not removing it the whole way, and using the spray attachment to the faucet to fill.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lee1948
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
B&D Spacemaker Coffeemaker
3/11/2011

Customer review by MicRoLovesFreshCoffee

3.0 stars 3/11/2011 by MicRoLovesFreshCoffee
by MicRoLovesFreshCoffee

Seems that the spring loaded cofee brew release valve may be too tight. If the pot isn't placed directly in a certain position the valve will stay closed and the brewed coffee fills the basket and then overflows out from the top - all over the counter. Not pleasent to wake up to a mess in the morning. Had to remove the release valve from the unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MicRoLovesFreshCoffee
Space Coast , Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
well, it brews coffee
10/29/2011

Customer review by WvilleKMC

3.0 stars 10/29/2011 by WvilleKMC
by WvilleKMC

This being my second Spacemaker coffee maker, I'm rather disappointed. Yes, the device brews coffee. And, it even has a little Night-Light feature which is rather nice. I even appreciate the outlet on the back of the unit to replace the one used by the coffeemaker itself. However, my disappointment stems from what I consider poor design. Given that a coffeemaker has to have a tank for water, well, in "flattening" the design of this model, the removable tank also is flat, making it not only difficult to fill to the level you want, but also it sloshes all around (without spilling, mind you) before getting it inserted into its bay. Also, the filter basket not only has a spring-loaded catch in the back to hold the basket in place (in case you're brewing while cruising down a winding country road?), but the handle you grasp to pull it out is tapered such that you can't get a good grip. To cap all that, our reusable filter always snags on the inside (most probably won't have this particular issue). And lastly, the receptacle for the pot itself is challenging to get the pot situated squarely in its recess. One of these days we'll get it wrong and it will just fall out and kill itself. So, unless you HAVE to get one right now, I would recommend waiting until B&D has redesigned the successor to this model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WvilleKMC
Westerville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sorry I wasted my money
7/2/2010

Customer review by twinmom44

1.0 stars 7/2/2010 by twinmom44
by twinmom44

Let me just start by saying I have had B&D spacemaker appliances in my kitchen since they first came out. It was time to get new ones(I lost the lid to the coffee pot -model so old stores don't carry replacements anymore,and the toaster oven was looking a little raged.) Installation was ok. But pulling out the grounds basket makes me feel like I'm going to pull the whole thing down. If you have limited hand strength forget it, there isn't any real grab groove in the handle. The hole to fill the water reservoir is set so far back you have to hold the reservoir with one hand and us a narrow pitcher to fill. Or carry back and forth from sink, it's too shallow. Unless you reset the clock every night, you can forget about using the timer. The clock gains about a half hour every 24. Between this coffee maker and the totally worthless newer model spacemaker toaster, I'm threw, I've used black and Decker kitchen appliances for thirty years, and I am throwing these away, I'll buy another brand from now on. Black & Decker are overpriced with inferior quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twinmom44
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NFG
7/30/2011

Customer review by james34

1.0 stars 7/30/2011 by james34
by james34

Non Functional Gear...Totally dead after firt use

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
james34
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/2/2011

Customer review by lieblong

1.0 stars 9/2/2011 by lieblong
by lieblong

thewater c ontation is to heave and does not have a handle on it ans the coffee pot is also to heavy

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lieblong
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
mounting templete sucks
1/20/2010

Customer review by harleycharlie

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by harleycharlie
by harleycharlie

perfect for our mortor home have not used yet mounting templete hard to use other wise product looks good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
harleycharlie
port orange fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for my RV
8/15/2010

Customer review by KEWnFlorida

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by KEWnFlorida
by KEWnFlorida

I installed this coffee pot in my Motorhome and it really saves limited counter space and made it easy to fill the reservoir for brewing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEWnFlorida
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic
11/15/2009

Customer review by happytofind

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by happytofind
by happytofind

We have one for our new house and our house boat saves alot of space very sleek and stream line. Fits into todays decor, the product is easy to install, works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happytofind
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews