Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

10 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

10 reviews | 3 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-9 of 9 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Never out of Ice again!
12/25/2009

Customer review by Kodesh

5.0 stars 12/25/2009 by Kodesh
by Kodesh

I recently moved into a small but wonderful apartment. The refridgerator with freezer is sufficient but quite small. Buying that 10 lb bag of ice at the supermarket as usual is no longer viable. It takes up too much space in the freezer. I use a lot of ice in a huge mug for water and such and it must be filtered as is my water. Well, I must say that this particular Ice Maker continues to be a pleasant surprise. It's sturdy and attractive and makes ice continually. It doesn't have to be connected to anything other than one electric socket. I pour in a gallon of fresh filtered water and within minutes ice is formed. It's quite ingenious. As the the stored ice very slowly melts in the basket the water goes right back into the system to be made into ice again. It makes a basket full of ice then stops until the ice is taken and the basket needs to be topped off keeping the basket full to the brim with ice. The freezing compressor only runs for a few minutes to freeze the ice than turns itself off until needed. It's so quiet that we don't even know that it's there at all. I followed the instructions on set up and ran vinegar and lemon juice through to clean any machine taste out, and it truly is as advertised. Go ahead and feel good about this purchase. Few things we buy in this world will serve us as long or as well as this Sunpentown Ice Maker. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kodesh
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bulky but useful
3/19/2011

Customer review by iloveice

4.0 stars 3/19/2011 by iloveice
by iloveice

I read many reviews on stand alone ice makers before I purchased this one. I don't know what I was really expecting but this was more than that. The unit is very large and heavy. Not easily set out for use and then put away when done. The ice that the unit makes is excellent. I prefer the largest of the three cube sizes. It does makes some noise but that's easy to get used to. This unit would get my 100% vote if the ice storage bin were refrigerated, but it's not. I feel like half of my ice melts inside of the unit before I can ever get the ice into my freezer. I can't imagine using this outside for a bbq like the product description suggests because the unit is very susceptible to to high temperatures. Though this review seems mostly negative, this unit certainly does what the description says it would and I would probably recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iloveice
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/14/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/14/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

worked 3 days and stopped cooling. Returned to store for refund.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A Very Useful Product
3/4/2011

Customer review by 1MysticWolf

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by 1MysticWolf
by 1MysticWolf

This Ice Maker works just like the advertisement promised! It works great & looks really nice too! I like that I can choose what size Ice Cubes that I want! The only problem that I have with this Ice Maker is that it is awfully loud while it is making & dispensing the Ice Cubes!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1MysticWolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for daily use
3/21/2013

Customer review by WVgirl5

1.0 stars 3/21/2013 by WVgirl5
by WVgirl5

After looking at several different machines, we chose this one. The appearance is very stylish and fit right in with the decor which I loved. However, if you need to use this on a daily basis, I would not recommend it. It worked well for the first year, but then quit working, starting to make a whining noise and wouldn't fill with water. SO glad we bought the extended warranty. The company will be issuing a refund for the product because it is not repairable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WVgirl5
Constantine, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/31/2012

Customer review by Bryds

4.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Bryds
by Bryds

Makes ice fast Wish there were a light that stayed on to tell you that the machine was on. You do have to keep the tray empty this machine does not store the ice for you We thought the price was alittle high, but I have stainless appliances and it matches real well

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bryds
Morningview KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Sunpentown Stainless Portable Ice Maker : REVIEW
1/15/2012

Customer review by neonviper28

3.0 stars 1/15/2012 by neonviper28
by neonviper28

I PURCHASED ONE OF THESE FOR THE HOME , IT PUT OUT TONS OF ICE BUT AFTER IT WAS UNPLUGGED FOR OVER 2 MONTHS AND THEN TURNED BACK ON THE UNIT STARTED TO LEAK WATER FROM THE NOZZLE AREA BEHIND THE STEEL CASE. SO I SITS IN MY BASEMENT TILL I CAN GET IT FIXED.. OVER ALL OK FOR SHORT TIME USEAGE. NOT FOR USE 24-7 .

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neonviper28
LANSING , MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I had such great hope
11/12/2011

Customer review by conroeshopper

1.0 stars 11/12/2011 by conroeshopper
by conroeshopper

I was so excited when I ordered this. I thought for the extra money I would get a lot more performance....not so. It never really worked right. It always turned off, and then it was hard to know when it was back on. Then it just stopped working. I have tred to call service -but they have the best hours...who gets to go home at 4:30....?? i will try to have it fixed...i will never buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
conroeshopper
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
remains to be seen
5/11/2011

Customer review by memily

1.0 stars 5/11/2011 by memily
by memily

I received my ice maker and follow the instructions. It would run but not make ice. Very disappointed!!!!!!!! Will be returning for a replacement that works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
memily
mobile, al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never