Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 227 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

227 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

227 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
175
4 stars
44
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 194 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews
I wish I had purchased the 21 foot version
11/10/2012

Customer review by LuckyDog1

3.0 stars 11/10/2012 by LuckyDog1
by LuckyDog1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart only sells the 13 and 17 foot versions of this ladder but the manufacturerer also offers a 21 foot version. I bought the 17 footer not knowing the taller option existed. The 21 foot ladder would have been heavier and more expensive but I think more useful to me in the long run. You can see from the photo that even at full extension the ladder does not reach high enough for some my needs. I'm also a little irked that Walmart lowered the price $20 days after mine was delivered.

Was this review helpful? (20) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuckyDog1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Real quality
6/7/2014

Customer review by iwontlie

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by iwontlie
by iwontlie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The rungs are comfortable which really helps with the footing. Just the right height to getting to gutters for a typical one story house. It is a little heavy, but is because ladder is well made. A few people complained about oil or some type of black coming off on them, no idea what they could have been referring to, the ladder is silver and didn't see oil. Then there was a few that said you needed 2 people to adjust it, (No You Don't). I am a female in my late 50's with a very bad back and severe loss of upper body strength due to a auto accident and I adjust the ladder by myself with no help whatsoever. Have since thrown the box away but I believe it states the ladder weighs 35 lbs. so it it heavy, but sturdy which makes me fell very comfortable climbing to the roof. I do have a 2 other very good ladders, but neither which made me feel secure and unafraid climbing up to the gutters. You will need the 17' for the typical one story house, 13' would be to short. But if your home is 2 story then you would need to go to a longer extension ladder.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iwontlie
Kansas City, Kamsas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent ladder at impressive price.
12/27/2011

Customer review by zeebob

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by zeebob
by zeebob

The ladder is build very solidly, reconfigures with easy and I see very little difference between this ladder and the Little Giant. Many people were asking on line if Little Giant working platform and accessories shelf are compatible with this ladder. I purchased both and can say that they do not fit perfectly due to some difference between hang points on two ladders caused probably by difference between rungs shape. Despite fact that the compatibility is not perfect, I use both of them successfully and do not feel unsafe when on the altitude. Namely, the attachments are not perfectly level, leaning slightly toward the ladder, which I found even more secure, as this tilt makes me rather hugging the ladder than lose balance and fall back. The bottom line - I am very happy with my new ladder serving me very well in my home improvement project, after purchase of beautiful but suffering disrepair, home.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zeebob
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not up to standards of competitors ladders
2/24/2013

Customer review by MarkW4CHL

2.0 stars 2/24/2013 by MarkW4CHL
by MarkW4CHL

This ladder might be OK if it weren't for 3 things mentioned in other reviews, but really annoying to me: 1) the "mill finish" that Cosco cites leads to black all over your hands, there was some with other ladders but not like this. 2) the latching mechanism is similar to Vulcan, but the hinge and latch do not engage positively nor as securely as on the Werner or Little Giant 3) the construction is a bit less tight than the Werner or Little Giant comparable to the Vulcan So although the design seems OK, the implementation was not as good as competitive ladders available for about the same price (see HFT Vulcan for instance). The mill finish that leaves more residue on my hands than any other ladder I've ever owned was the killer for me, back to the store!

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarkW4CHL
Central NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
great ladder and takes up very little space
4/29/2010

Customer review by jumborabbit

5.0 stars 4/29/2010 by jumborabbit
by jumborabbit

I live in a one story house and this ladder does everything I need it to..I use it inside for things like painting and changing light bulbs and batteries in smoke detectors and to get into the attic..and outside it is the perfect height for cleaning the gutters and getting on the roof if needed..It is a little heavy..but to me that just means its well made..Its easy to set up and adjust and its every ladder I could ever need and takes up very little space..I can actually store it in a small closet in the house and not even know its there...and the price was great..you cant hardly buy a good quality step ladder with a 300lb. capacity for this price.let alone a 17' extension ladder..no need for multiple ladders for different jobs ..this one does it all....cudos

Was this review helpful? (64) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jumborabbit
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good vs competitor's
9/25/2013

Customer review by cocoam

4.0 stars 9/25/2013 by cocoam
by cocoam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good value for money vs competitors. Come to find out mfg's don't actually tell the 'working' extension, only the total length of the parts, so it falls short of the height I needed. I'll keep it for its different configurations. Not especially happy with width of rungs: like all other modern ladders :( they just plain hurt because you have to stand in the arch of your foot and mechanically/physically that is asking for problems; would rather have add'l weight and comfortable rungs intended for humans. Light-weight for the size & construction, but awkward and sometimes dangerous in the 'extended' configuration for one woman to carry, extend, lift and then put down since it is not a 'pull cord' type extension. AND, wish they had accessories like a stand-off. I'll have to see if another mfg's stand-off will fit. Levelers would be great too for any of its configurations when working outside on ground instead of hard surfaces.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cocoam
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value. Versatile ladder.
12/23/2011

Customer review by Norder

4.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Norder
by Norder

I use fold-up ladders every day in my work and I've used every brand there is. The Costco is NOT "the world's greatest ladder", but it may be the world's best value ladder. It feels slightly lighter and it is much cheaper than the Little Giant and Werner brands. Those are good things. However, it does have some plastic hinge releases that will break if abused. For this reason I would not recommend it for heavy construction usage or if you are the type that drops or throws things around. For most careful homeowners I would not hesitate to recommend buying it. It should last many years if it is stored indoors and not abused. It is plenty sturdy and is a versatile ladder that can be used as an adjustable step ladder or extension ladder. It can be adjusted for use on stairs since the number of rungs on one side can be shorter than the other. It folds up so small that it can fit in a trunk of most cars (especially the cars with fold down rear seats). If I recall correctly this "17 foot" ladder really only extends to 15 feet but all ladder manufacturers mislead on lengths so I'm not counting that as a negative. Another consideration: Buying online at Walmart is currently $20 cheaper than buying in the store. I don't know why they do that but to me it is worth the effort to order online and do a in-store pick up to save shipping costs.

Was this review helpful? (44) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Norder
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PRODUCT
11/30/2010

Customer review by DOGMAN44

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by DOGMAN44
by DOGMAN44

I'M 66 YEARS OLD AND I DON'T LIKE CLIMBING LADDERS BUT THIS LADDER GIVES ME ALL THE CONFIDENCE I NEED. IT IS STURDY AND SIMPLE TO HAUL AROUND AND EASY TO CONFIGURE INTO IT'S DIFFERENT POSITIONS. FANTASTIC PRODUCT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LADDER.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOGMAN44
MIO MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
COSCO ladder
7/26/2016

Customer review by JDBl

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by JDBl
by JDBl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this ladder (in the extension ladder mode) for a six day home project. It is very sturdy but light enough to be maneuverable. I did add a stabilizer bar for using the ladder at it's maximum extended length.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDBl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best deal on a best ladder
4/27/2010

Customer review by RepairDude

5.0 stars 4/27/2010 by RepairDude
by RepairDude

I found this same ladder at another dealer at TWICE the price and almost bought it, but decided to wait and look at other ladders before commiting. When I saw this ladder on Walmart's web site I checked it out and was blown away by the price difference! I bought the ladder from Wal-Mart and it has been the best ladder I have owned. It does everything I need it to do, it is light but will hold a good deal of weight. I am handicapped, in a wheelchair, able only to use my arms and right leg to some extent, and I am able to use the ladder for projects I would NEVER attempt with other step or extension ladders. This is one fine ladder. It is easy to use and transport on my electric scooter, so I am in hog heaven when I have to change an outside flood lamp on the house!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RepairDude
Northeast Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
10/11/2009

Customer review by judyj66

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by judyj66
by judyj66

Easy to store. Multiple combination's for more uses. Priced very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
judyj66
Buffalo, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/24/2009

Customer review by byuster

4.0 stars 9/24/2009 by byuster
by byuster

Everything was great. It was a little heavier than I expected, but is well built, compact, and functional. I hope it lasts a long time, but so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
byuster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE this ladder!
8/27/2013

Customer review by RobinP1959

5.0 stars 8/27/2013 by RobinP1959
by RobinP1959
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought the ladder called the Little Giant Ladder a long time ago, but I didn't get it in the divorce, so when I needed my OWN ladder, this is what I bought. It's SO like the Little Giant, and half the price, which for me now was important. Easy to use, sturdy, and I couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobinP1959
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great ladder
9/24/2009

Customer review by slmpkns

5.0 stars 9/24/2009 by slmpkns
by slmpkns

A great ladder. Quality construction, multi-adjustable and sturdy. The price was the cheapest I could find online.

Was this review helpful? (76) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slmpkns
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A most excellent ladder
4/21/2016

Customer review by Meows1121

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Meows1121
by Meows1121

I bought this for my husband. Being all the other ladders are being made for boys. with weight ratings to match. I found this Cosco 17" by luck and a lot of searching. He uses it for everything. Putting in a new security camera system was a snap with this ladder. as is installing 4 huge solar panels on the roof. and 2 new awnings. as well as holding a air conditioner to mount on a roof. It's become a work bench as well. Unfortunately he has to keep it locked up as more than one midnight visitor has attempted to "borrow" it. If you want a great ladder that will hold up to massive punishment from a 230 lb Marine then this is the one to get.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meows1121
NE Oregon base of the Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Impressed so far...
11/9/2011

Customer review by BigRedViking

4.0 stars 11/9/2011 by BigRedViking
by BigRedViking

I looked at this ladder on Wal-Mart dot com and liked it, but mostly was impressed by all of the good reviews for it. My local Wal-Mart has one of these in stock for $20.00 more than the price here, and it looked like it had been used (probably in-store use). So, I ordered this one on Friday and was picking it up the following Tuesday, much quicker delivery than I had expected, and it arrived in excellent condition. So far, this ladder appears to be all that the description claims it to be. When I got it home I tried it out in nearly every configuration and it seems to be very sturdy and solidly built. I'm looking forward to actually using it on projects around the house.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigRedViking
right here behind my desk...
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good value and works but banged up and scratched
9/3/2009

Customer review by federalism

4.0 stars 9/3/2009 by federalism
by federalism

Product works as expected. Good value. My one complaint is the condition in which it arrived. The metal was banged up and scratched in many places as if it were purchased from someone after a few years of use. I was considering returning it for this reason to get one in "new" condition but didn't want to waste time since it functionally seems to work ok.

Was this review helpful? (44) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
federalism
Lewis Center, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Versitile tool
2/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Good Ladder. Great for use on unevan sufaces.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Springfield, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
just as good
1/13/2010

Customer review by zog795

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by zog795
by zog795

This ladder is ever bit as good as a "Little Giant" at 1/3 of the price! Highly recommend. Will hold over 300lb without a problem and very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zog795
parsippany NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome - Great Deal
4/11/2011

Customer review by flyersfan65

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by flyersfan65
by flyersfan65

Great ladder - Very easy to use and set up. Wish I would have purchased this years ago. Great price also. It is $30 cheaper than Lowes, $40 cheaper than home depot and about $70 cheaper than Costco. Even with shipping it still worked out to be a great price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flyersfan65
Cape May Court House, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews