Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 69 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Exactly what I needed
9/25/2009

Customer review by ram102

5.0 stars 9/25/2009 by ram102
by ram102

This was exactly what I needed. My cable company, Comcast, upgraded there internet service to accept DOCSIS 3.0. Motorola is currently the only company to offer this. I hooked it up and what a difference in speed. Also Wal-Mart.com was the cheapest around. I highly recommend this modem if your looking for speed.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ram102
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
this is a great modem!
11/20/2010

Customer review by foghornleghorn

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by foghornleghorn
by foghornleghorn

excellent choice, performance, easiest of hook ups. our cable co. is switching to docsis 3.0 & our modem was dying fast. read the reviews on this product and ordered one. as i posted, easy hook-up. in my case, i called the cable co. after i installation and they did whatever they do to recognize a new modem. the cable tech noted the modem was a docsis 3.0 and said that was a great choice as suddenlink is going 3.0 for speed. you may have to call your cable co. & notify them of the new modem to make sure you're linked up properly. **ps** when i first hooked up the modem, i had 4 green lights. after the cable co. call, i had 3 green lights and now a blue 'recieve' light. i called motorola & the tec rep said the blue light indicates docsis 3.0 signal is recognized by the cable co. so if you see a blue recieve light, she's 100%. we've had this over a month now & not one dropped signal or complaint....we had plenty of dropped signals & slow speed before this purchase. all is right!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foghornleghorn
spencer, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Performance, Extremely Satisfied!
10/26/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/26/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After reading many reviews on numerous websites and discussing this modem with a tech at Comcast I ordered this product. I hooked it up easily and called Comcast to initialize the modem. I could not be happier! This is one of the most advanced modem to maximize your internet performance that is available. After months of frustration being knocked off the internet, I can honestly say this is worth every penny. When you install the product you might want to test the speed of your internet, by logging onto www.speedtest.net you will see the mps are phenominal! I also purchased a new router NETGEAR WNDR3700. Teamed with this modem, you will be most pleased if you have multiple computers, especially wireless. These are my best electronic purchases of the season. And, by-the-way, I have not been knocked off the internet since I installed this modem 3 weeks ago, and this was a daily occurance. Go buy this today, you will be glad you did!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Parkland, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
IS IT COMCAST, THE CABLE MODEM OR THE COMPUTER?
1/14/2011

Customer review by WEFISHALLDAY

4.0 stars 1/14/2011 by WEFISHALLDAY
by WEFISHALLDAY

I purchased this SB6120 after much research, but decided to install PRIOR to purchasing the new fast multicore Intel 99x Extreme Edition processor computer to TEST whether my previously SLOWER internet REALLY was my computer as Comcast was saying. Have been paying for 12MB download speed from Comcast, but not getting even 4 MB down and less than 1Mb/s up. SO . . . . Installed this new Modem SB6120 on this old Pentium4 computer (minimum processor required by Motorola). Easy install. About 15-20 mins on phone w/ Comcast. Modem does take a few minutes to "warm up" so to speak, but big deal if speed is faster. WAS IT? YOU BET. Without changing anything else other than replacing the rented Comcast modem to this DOC SIS 3 modem, my internet speed down MORE THAN DOUBLED and my upload speed quadtrupled. Of course, that's from a slow speed to start before installing this modem. And this is on 9 year old computer equipment. Ran speed tests on 3 different sites, 3 different times each. So . . . it's NOT just the computer that has been the problem all along -- as Comcast kept saying. IT IS the cable modem that made the difference in my new speeds here. Can't say that the increase in speed is JUST due to this particular Motorola product per say, rather it's probably the upgrade to the DOC SIS 3 protocol that is on this modem. A few other DOC SIS 3 modems are also available, but none with as good of reviews as this one. Now CAN'T WAIT TO get my new computer to see if it increases more. Might even pay Comcast for the 20Mb/s speed after that since this modem can easily handle that. ONE'S INTERNET SPEED will be limited by multiple factors and one of the most important factors is the speed you're paying for from Comcast (or other provider). STILL I'm paying for the 12Mb/s download speed from Comcast, and this am, this new SB6120 registered in (on 3 sites) as 19Mb/s down and using bonded channels and on my "old" pentium 4 processor computer. I'm pleased. CONS 1. No place to register on Motorola -- KEEP your Receipt for 2 yr warranty as some people report the unit dies after 6 months. Also buy ONLY from an "authorized" reseller of Motorola (like Walmart) OTHERWISE Motorola will NOT warranty the product at all. See literature you get with product. 2. Don't like the Motorola website -- not very user friendly, but does have good documentation online for the user manual. Manual also on the disk sent with product. 3. One user on another review site complained about the brighness of the LINK light. Thought she must be the picky type, BUT now that I've installed the unit, she has a point. Wouldn't recommend this on your desktop right next to your monitor. Link light does blink constantly (showing data being moved) and it is very bright. Would be annoying at eye level. Fortunately mine is up on a desk shell ~ 3' above my line of sight. 4. THIS POWER CORD could be longer. Could NOT place my modem on the upper R of my desk with cord to left side of desk on floor. Had to put up on Left -- tight fit -- too short! Otherwise -- great unit so far. We'll see if it holds up based on others complaints. AS USUAL -- THE BEST PRICE WAS HERE AT WALMART AND WITH FREE SHIP TO HOME. WALMART ROCKS!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WEFISHALLDAY
Fresno, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
6/1/2010

Customer review by mojomoski

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by mojomoski
by mojomoski

So far so good, no complaints. Insane fast. Looks good in my home set-up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mojomoski
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast and easy
11/23/2010

Customer review by BillinMS

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by BillinMS
by BillinMS

Cableone here is upgrading the system. As of December 1st. my old surfboard would no longer be supported. I had that one since Cableone got cable modem service here many years ago. I was happy with my old modem but this one is faster with no upgrade in service. Easy to hook up. I called in the ID number and was running in minutes. It is a great modem for the money and I figure I am set for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillinMS
Columbus, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
6/16/2010

Customer review by Terryfl

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by Terryfl
by Terryfl

Bought this modem to save on monthly cost to rent modem (Comcast). Works great and will save me $$$$!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terryfl
Kissimmee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Motorola Surfboard DOCSIS 3.0 works
12/23/2010

Customer review by greenroofer

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by greenroofer
by greenroofer

Motorola Surfboard DOCSIS 3.0 works our of the box. Hooked up the modem (directions are worthless & software a joke). Called ISP, gave them new HFC MAC ID. ISP pinged modem, reset the modem, updated their records, and modem worked flawlessly. Modem will not work if your ISP has a different MAC ID assigned to you. You will need to call your ISP. Not modem's fault. Walmart on-line competition slightly less expensive due to state sales tax, but Walmart offers no charge return to store & free shipping. Our local Walmart is always no hassle to deal with so worth the extra dollar or two. DOCSIS 3.0 worth the extra money for speed & longer usable life. Motorola appears not to have any limits on their customer support. Much of their competition now limits free customer support to 90 days from purchase. Motorola customer support has toll free number.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greenroofer
Poulsbo, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to install, and FAST!
11/17/2010

Customer review by ifisher1

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by ifisher1
by ifisher1

Simple installation- 10 minutes tops. Speed increase from my old SB4100 is double to triple or more at times with my Comcast cable internet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ifisher1
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sorry, Comcast!
11/20/2010

Customer review by philp

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by philp
by philp

I got tired of paying Comcast's $60 per year rental fee and decided to buy my own modem. I just followed the 4-step instructions that are printed on the box and never even used the installation CD. This modem works as well or better than the Comcast rental unit and will pay for itself in 15 months.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
philp
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Motorola 3.0 Modem review
1/2/2011

Customer review by MrRey

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by MrRey
by MrRey

This product works fine. I was having a bunch of disconnect problems with my old Motorola modem, (3-5 a day). I've owned this new modem about a month now and have had only two disconnects in that whole time. That could probably be attributed to my internet services provider and not to the modem itself. Installation was a breeze, no need to install any software, it is "plug and play". Only needed to call Cox cable and give them the modem's serial# and MAC#.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrRey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
just works
1/25/2011

Customer review by dananite

4.0 stars 1/25/2011 by dananite
by dananite

easy to install. easily started up after power outage

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dananite
Hanover, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dead on Ariival
10/8/2010

Customer review by Master111

1.0 stars 10/8/2010 by Master111
by Master111

I wanted to upgrade my modem, but this product wan dead on arrival. I was never able to get it running

Was this review helpful? (0) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Master111
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Motorola is the best in cable modem
1/10/2011

Customer review by GoodToShopWalmart

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by GoodToShopWalmart
by GoodToShopWalmart

I have a old Motorola cable modem (about 8 years old), which never stops working or have a problem. I reviewed the comments about this new one and felt it is the time to replace the old one to increase the speed. The new one is like the old one, easy to setup and use but not markedly increase the speed. Probably this is due to the limitation I purchased from high speed internet company rather than the modem. So far I am very happy about this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodToShopWalmart
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Higher Speeds Even Using DOCSIS 2.0 Service
11/17/2010

Customer review by swsoaringeagle

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by swsoaringeagle
by swsoaringeagle

This product works as advertised. I have Cox Communications DOCSIS 2.0 speed internet service, and this DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem has definitely increased the speed when compared to my old DOCSIS 2.0 modem. I can't wait to see the speeds when I do increase my internet service to full DOCSIS 3.0. I already have the modem, thanks to this purchase. All I need now is to upgrade the service itself.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swsoaringeagle
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
3/1/2011

Customer review by Tman1362

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by Tman1362
by Tman1362

I have been using this modem for two weeks. It is so much faster than the old system I was using.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tman1362
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Cable MoDem
1/31/2011

Customer review by Mooseeye

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Mooseeye
by Mooseeye

I chose this modem because currently, Cox Cable only supports DOCSIS 2/0, but when they switch over the DOCSIS 3.0 I will be ready.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mooseeye
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best on the market for the dollar
11/16/2010

Customer review by Canedive

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by Canedive
by Canedive

I have only had this a short time, however, I have not had one problem with it, and have been advised by Comcast Engineers that it is an excellent modem!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canedive
Cornelius, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
High speed cable modem
3/3/2011

Customer review by deano605

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by deano605
by deano605

Great product with unbelievable download speeds, Only limited by cable companies limitations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deano605
minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FAST
2/1/2011

Customer review by danbxx

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by danbxx
by danbxx

A lot faster than my Wow modem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danbxx
Roseville,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews