Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 75 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 49 reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
BEST GAME EVER!!!
7/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you like GTA 4 or any free roaming game this is a perfect game for you. Bought this game a couple of days ago and hocked. Great all around fun!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Online experience could be better
5/20/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Singleplayer: This game is awesome in its entirety on the singleplayer area. GTA fans may be let down a bit due to seemingly repetitive nature of the game and little variety but the setting being in the Old Americas alone makes up for it. Never seen a Western game quite like it. And true to Rockstar style, players may find themselves confused what to do at first. Heck!, hunting wild anilmals and picking flowers alone eats a lot of time. Multiplayer: This area is this game's Achilles. In short, this area is full of bugs and glitches. Character disappearing, steeds nowhere to be found, enemies and wild animals sucking your life out of nowhere (are they invisible really?), and worse, players getting stuck while doing crucial missions. Rockstar, you gotta do better than that. Expecting a quick fix on this. As a whole, the graphics and the environment are some of the most awesome around, mechanics doesn't hurt players who are into CoD and other shooting games, and sound and music are just superb. One thumb up Rockstar/TakeTwo!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Must Have!!!!
6/7/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As the title states, this is a must have game. I have posted many reviews about this game on a ot of sites. That is something that I don't normally do. However, this game is so great that it deserves to been spread across the masses. It is a Game of the Year title, and might be one of the most fun games I have played in a long time. The game is very forgiving, suited for the first time player or the seasoned expert. There is not a single ounce of frustration built into the challenges. There are a few bugs at this time(first month) that might hinder some of the game, but most of that has been found in the muliti player portion. It does not effect the story/single player game as much. Fromwhat I have read the makers are working on the bugs for an update soon. This game has pushed me to write as much as I can on many web sites praising it, so that should be almost enough for you to wonder for yourself, if the game will have the same effect for you as well. A must play game, even if you have never wanted to be or have even seen a western. There is so much to do in this game, you could even just ride around on a horse for 100 hours and look at all the scenery and that would be enough to make the game worth the price. The Devs went further than that by turning this game into a fully submersive experience you have to play to relize. Have fun and look at other sites that review the game and the feelings are almost mutual. Which is a big step for the on-line community.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Red Dead Success!!
6/1/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great game, hands down, if you enjoy the genre of open-world/sandbox games a la Grand Theft Auto, etc. This game has a wonderful feel to it and, after logging around 50 hours into the game, I have merely scratched the surface and am finding new things to do/experience. Regardless if you enjoy the whole "western" theme, this game is fun. I am not a 'huge' western person, yet the game is much fun, from horse riding to picking off/hunting myriad animals, to missions, side-missions (which are both man and quite involved at times for being merely 'side missions'), exploration. If you're on the fence with this one, don't be and just buy it. I didn't even get into Multi-player yet, and that is just icing on the cake.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Clint Eastwood would just took a back seat!
6/23/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
HANDS DOWN THE BEST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED AND I'M NOT EVEN INTERESTED IN WESTERN MOVIES! The first time I played it, I thought I might have made a mistake. It took me a couple times to get used to it. Once I figured out what I was doing, I realized how amazing this game really is. I was on the fence about this game before I played it when a friend was telling me to buy it. Eventually I bought it and it was worth every penny. This game may even have started to make me interested in western movies. There are SO MANY different games within the game for this title, not to mention all the main missions and little random side missions. I am almost finished with the game and there are still many cool surprises that I keep coming accross. The graphics and scenery are amazing. I've played many great games before and this one pretty much tops them all because there are so many different things to do and it's so involved. I haven't even touched the online multiplayer yet... just for the single player it's worth it! However, I would not recommend this game for a child under 15 as there are a few scenes that would not be appropriate because of the mature content. It would depend on what your comfortable with your kid seeing though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NICE
5/22/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I really do not play online so I can't tell you about that. The controls are very similar to GTA and if you do wrong you will be chased and wanted. The graphics are awesome and you can shoot any animal in the game ( like cougars and snakes and deer even the birds) you get to sell for money. There is a fame meter and a honor meter. The more bad the less honor more good higher honor and so on. There are side challanges ( like quick draw and bounty hunting and helping random people) and of course main missions. I didn't play the first Red dead and I am not sure if the storyline continues but I understand what is happening. The only thing I really don't like is you can not save the game if you use the cheats even if you turn them off.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Good, The Great, and the Beautiful
5/31/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This game is 10/10 material. If you could purchase just one game for the PS3 system, RDR would probably be it. Everything about this game is beautiful, from the landscape to the incredible missions, to the actual gun fighting. BUY IT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An Awesome buy!
8/16/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This game is definately worth the money. If your a gamer who like the open world environment then this is a game for you. The story of John Marstons quest to get his family back is pretty outstanding. I give this game and buy two huge thumbs up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Western Game.
1/9/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Red Dead Redemption Is a awesome western, action, adventure, free roaming, and Shooting game Red Dead Redemption offers quite abit of stuff from free roaming which means you go explore the huge single player map. You can go play my favorite mini game five finger fillet, or you could go play some blackjack, poker, liars dice, and horse shoes. The Single Player mode is Really long a bunch of stuff to do overall my single player completion is at like 80% and i have player for over 35 hours, but I have not par taked in all the excellent side missions, and there are a lot lot lot of side missions i have probbaly done like 40 side missions but i could still do alot more of them, And the game has a pretty good story i'm not going to spoil it for you thou. The last thing I wanted to point out is the hunting, the hunting is really fun because you can hunt birds, wolves, deer, and many other animals also you can sell thier pelts, furs, and hearts for a lot of cash. Overall I think Red Dead Redemption is a great game exploding with stuff to do and i would highly reccomend it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
exceeds expectations
7/26/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always been a GTA fan, but was skeptical when Rockstar tried to incorporate a western into their genre of video game titles. I have to say that I was extremely impressed with the graphics, gameplay, and endless free roam capabilities. The missions are a blast to complete with true to life weaponry dated to the era of the early 1900's. The online multiplay has advanced a growing following of gamers for the social club network that Rockstar has developed. Two thumbs up. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AMAZING!
6/10/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This game has so much in it, it's amazing that it's just one game. It is involved and you have the opportunity to complete so many different things. Just get it already and you'll love it too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a rootin tootin western
6/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this is a great western game to play!! it is has a very good story line to follow also has all the guns and stuff of the old west. you can also ride yer horse anywhere you want to in the vast old west map!!! its all good, feels like a real western and yer the star!!!!worth every penny i paid for it!!! hats off to rockstar games and of course walmart!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
amazing product
7/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
im not one for shoot em up kinds of games i am more of a madden or ncaa kind of guy but a freind of mine talked me in to byuing this game and i am so glad he did this game is amazing grate picture grate missons just an all around grate game i would and will be recomending to all my ps3 freinds
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing game
6/4/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This game is truly amazing. If you are a fan of GTA then this game is a must buy. It is just like GTA but old western style.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome graphics
5/29/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this game for my husband and he LOVES it! The graphics are awesome and there is always some new task that the main character has to do in this western themed game. we got it for a great price and since we pre-ordered online we also got a $20 walmart e-card to spend however we wanted. so the game only ended up costing us about 39.00!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Game for Adults only.
6/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great game, but like most Rockstar games it should only be for adults.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't believe the hype!!!
8/7/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The story bored me to the point I had to force myself to finish it. You must travel far across the map for each mission and it does get boring really fast. Hunting is the best part of the game. As you play Red Dead it will seem like a clone of GTA and Red Dead just doesnt stand out. Multiplayer is a joke and is horrible to play!! Please wait for a price drop to buy Red Dead and don't believe the hype! It's not worth 60 bucks!!! Overall the game is boring and it will be collecting dust on my shelf.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Should Be AO
6/18/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As far as the graphics and gameplay there is no question this is an amzing game. The free roaming multiplayer was a new idea and even with its problems is something to impressed with. However the constant referances to violence towards women and the harshness of the storyline warrent this game an Adults Only rating. I am not saying don't play it. I'm just saying don't let your kids play it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Game
10/16/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I played and enjoyed Red Dead Revolver so my expectations were very high. This game not only met my expectations but bypassed them a 100 times over. Took all that I loved about the first and gave you the freedom to do just about anything. Very open gameplay for hours of enjoyment. Along with a great online play as well. I recommend to all hardcore gamers who love all other Rockstar Titles this one will not disappoint.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A must have
1/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It didn't surprise me that this game was so great (Rockstar made it afterall). Not only does this game have great re-play value, but you get so into the story and the Old West, its like a New York Times best selling novel. The price I paid for it was way lower than I expected for a game like this; I would have easily paid $30-$35 for it. Its one of those games that, if you don't have it, you need to get it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640664, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-