Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
Excellent pump!
10/8/2009

Customer review by INMomof2grls

5.0 stars by INMomof2grls

After carefully looking through tons of reviews, I bought the Playtex Embrace double electric breast pump. I must say that I have used other pumps before from Medela and first years with my first child and I do not like them as much as I do the Playtex. I like that the cups are softer, it's easy to put together, use and clean. I have the the option of pumping one or both breasts. It has a great amount of suction strength with is adjustable and I like that. The carrying case is super nice, and makes pumping on the go very convenient. Some people complain about the loudness of it, but it only "seems" loud because you are next to it, no one can really hear it outside of the room you are in. The sound of it does not bother me, it is no louder than a bathroom exhaust fan (which I can't stand the sound of). I have been using this pump for the last 6 mos. I use it everyday and it still works just as well as the day I first used it. It is also very fast once you have an ample milk supply, I can get 2-3 bottles made and in the freezer in 10-15 minutes. I would strongly recommend this pump to anyone over the more expensive Medela pump.

Was this review helpful? (113) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
INMomof2grls
Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Totally worth it
8/27/2009

Customer review by MommyReadsalot

5.0 stars by MommyReadsalot

I bought this pump after being fustrated with Advent's hand-held pump and reading reviews on breast pumps. I think the Platex Embrace might be the only affordable pump that has a closed-valve system like a hospital pump does. So, You never have to wash the tubing. What I like most about the Embrace is the comfort of the breast cups. Other pumps are like hard plastic funnels with a layer of silicone as an attempt at comfort. The Playtex embrace cups are malleable and cushioned by air.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MommyReadsalot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
The Best!
8/25/2010

Customer review by tr4cy

5.0 stars by tr4cy

This is, by far, the best pump I've used. When I was a first time mom, I tried whatever seemed to have decent reviews. Having never used anything of the sort, I didn't know what was important. I used an Evenflo model first and had an awful experience. When I'm nursing, I'm around a D cup and squishing my boob into that hard, plastic cone was not pleasant. Nor was it nice feeling my nipple sucked into the end with a force that is nothing close to natural. With my second child, a friend gave me her Medela pump. I had the same experience. Believe me, more expensive does *not* mean better. But I was lucky to have another friend who had done a great deal of research and learned of the Embrace. I was sick of the pain from the others so I bought it on her advice and description of its differences. Using this pump is pretty much like having your child nursing on you. There is no plastic cone to shove your boob into. It's a soft, rubber piece that goes over a harder plastic piece just to give it the firmness upon use. And it's just curved enough to fit over your breast - huge or small. You literally just set it over your nipple and it goes to work. And the suction tube connects to the side of each pump so that it applies pressure around the same area that your baby's mouth does. It has even pressure throughout the area on your breast because the suction is distributed between the rubber and the inner plastic. NO SUCKING THROUGH A SMALL HOLE AT THE END OF A HARD CONE! The only time I had *any* discomfort with this pump was when I accidentally had it a little off center, just like if your baby latches on a little crooked. I can't say enough about this pump. Believe me, after trying the common style that you find out there, nothing compares to the Embrace. I got blisters around my nipple from the Evenflo and Medela, as did friends who used similar styles. I never had anything like that with the Embrace. It really is a natural feel. Playtex hit it perfect with this pump. I would recommend this to any nursing mother who wants to pump. Large breasted or small breasted, this will fit you just like your baby does.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tr4cy
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good for short time use
2/15/2010

Customer review by simplysweet52

3.0 stars by simplysweet52

I bought this pump because I didn't want to spend so much money on the Medela and this had pretty good reviews and was a lot less expensive. My son is five and half months and my pump is on the fritz and I have to buy another one, costing me a lot more money in the the long run. It runs so slow and has lost almost all of it's suction; I went from pumping several ounces at a time to three. If you are going to use it every day save yourself the frustration and get a quality pump. However, I would recommend this pump to those who are only pumping occassionally or who only plan to breastfeed for a short time. It will meet those needs and is really a nice, comfortable pump to work with, it just doesn't have the durability for long term, heavy use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
simplysweet52
Norwalk, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Helpful Product
11/5/2009

Customer review by FirstTimeMomTif

5.0 stars by FirstTimeMomTif

Breast feeding was very difficult for me. So I decided to use the pump to get more milk for my baby and it worked. The pump so super easy and fast. I would recommend this product to anyone. I was a bit pricey, but worth every penny, after the first use.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FirstTimeMomTif
Grove City, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for pumping moms
9/21/2010

Customer review by mommy2rrandr

5.0 stars by mommy2rrandr

I have used this pump with all three of my kids! I have always had too much milk and would have to pump daily to keep from drowning my kids! This pump has been such a blessing for me. It has allowed me to continue to feed my babies breast milk even if they couldnt nurse! I love it and its great quality. I use it about 4-5 times daily everyday and I have had this pump for almost 4 years now and it still works the same as the day I bought it! Would definatley recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mommy2rrandr
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money
4/20/2010

Customer review by Casper25

3.0 stars by Casper25

I bought this pump in February because I was due in March. One of the first things I noticed was how hot the base becomes. If I use it for longer then 10 mins it seems to pump less. I had to return to work sooner then I wanted and was depending on the 200 dollar pump to work. While I'm at work my BF has had to sub my breast milk for formula. This pump is a total waste of money and time. Another thing that is very disappointing is that two weeks after I bought this pump the price went down 50 dollars!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Casper25
Ocean Shores,Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME PUMP!!
7/12/2010

Customer review by Swindle

5.0 stars by Swindle

I have been using this pump everyday, several times a day for 3 months now and it works GREAT! I used a First Years and a Medela pump with my first child and this one is MUCH better. The cups are softer and it is easy to assemble/disassemble and clean. I was sceptical about this pump becuase of some of the reviews that I had read where several people did not like it. I LOVE IT!! It does not seem loud to me at all, my daughter can be in the same room with me asleep and it does not disturb her, with the TV or other household noise you don't even know it is on. I love the fact that it came with a adapter for the car, the pump is just as strong on the go as it is plugged into the wall outlet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Swindle
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the cost
1/26/2010

Customer review by NicoleTN11

3.0 stars by NicoleTN11

I bought this pump for the cost (under $200) and based on the positive reviews--and because my wonderful husband had been researching night and day just like I had and convinced me it was the best for our buck and needs. He wasn't wrong. The pump works decently enough although I had become spoiled by the hospital grade pump I was given to use in the hospital. (Oh, my, how many times did I read that phrase while reviewing pumps.) Playtex Embrace got the job done albeit a bit slower than the brand of pump from the hospital. I've since been given a pricier pump, which I use every day--several times a day. The Playtex pump works fine, but the pump I was given is the same brand as the hospital grade pump, so I choose to use the gifted one regularly. Embrace will be my back-up. I do love that you get so many accessories with the Embrace--although all of those extra bags seemed a bit unnecessary. However, Playtex cleverly labeled the bags with A, B and C to help you remember what each bag is for. I'm keeping the pump, but it will be my back-up. I'd recommend this pump to people who want effective pumping, but have not been spoiled by hospital grade efficiency and need something a little cheaper than the more expensive pumps.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NicoleTN11
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good for the money
11/23/2009

Customer review by MamiD

4.0 stars by MamiD

I started by renting a hospital grade Ameda pump and then after I stabilized my milk supply, I was looking for a good breast pump, not as expensive as the Ameda, and I had $100 in gifh certificates from Walmart, so I decided to go for this pump.Pros: I like the silicone cups, they are kind with the breasts (believe me, after at least three sessions of pumping every day, you would appreciate it!) The bottles that I had for the Ameda fitted in this pump. It has a lot of bags to carry bottles and other accesories and is not too bulky.It has the car charger that gives you more mobility. Cons: The cups are a little bit more complicated to assemble than the Ameda not the big deal really, but more pieces to deal with.The breast cup base and the holder material looks kind of fragile and just time will tell if is going to last and that's why I don't give a five start rate.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MamiD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't Waste Your Money!
7/24/2010

Customer review by proudparentsinMN

2.0 stars by proudparentsinMN

I know it seems like a steal, I thought so too! I read all the reviews and they didn't sound bad. I had been told several times, "Don't skimp on a pump, buy the good ones and save yourself a headache." Did I listen? NO! All I saw was a "good deal." My husband no more took the pump out of the box and it didn't work! Playtex had to overnight us a new motor. The second motor is already failing after two weeks. I pump about half of my son's feedings, can you imagine if I used it all day?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
proudparentsinMN
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!!
12/31/2009

Customer review by Jess5007

1.0 stars by Jess5007

I bought this pump in hopes of saving some money from having to buy a medela pump. I used this twice and went out and bought a medela pump anyway so I spent even more money. This pump didn't produce half the amount of milk the medela did and the suction leaked air. On top of it all, you have a million pieces to wash after every use. Save yourself the time and effort and just buy a reliable pump or rent one through your hospital. The only thing decent about the whole "kit" is that it has separate bags and a car charger. The ideas are good with this pump, but the quality is lacking.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jess5007
Waterloo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
good for the price
3/31/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars by An anonymous customer

good product for the price. difficult to get put back together right after cleaning. Reduction in strength of suction.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the design!
8/8/2010

Customer review by MommyLamb

5.0 stars by MommyLamb

With my first baby, I rented a pump from the hospital. This time around I wanted my own pump. When this arrived at my home I was so excited. The whole thing is very nicely designed! The tote seems to be made very nice and durable. Its very discreet! It also comes with 3 smaller bags inside which are labeled for you with beautiful pendants to keep EVERYTHING organized. I am about to give birth any day now and I can't wait to start using this pump! It is also very easy to take apart to clean.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MommyLamb
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would never buy again...
10/4/2010

Customer review by Pelletal

1.0 stars by Pelletal

I bought this pump new when I was pregnant with my 10 1/2 week old baby. I read the reviews and thought that it would be a good pump for me, especially since I didn't intend to pump frequently. I am a stay at home mom and only need 1-2 bottles a day for when I am out running errands and leave the baby with her dad. I initially wanted to get the Medela but due to its price I opted to go with something a little cheaper. The saying, "you get what you pay for" is so true with this pump. I HATE it!! When I first started using it I would cry because I was so frustrated with the amount of time it took to pump...not a good thing when you are a new mom dealing with a new baby and emotional ups and downs. After a few weeks it seemed to be working better and I just assumed the poor performance of the pump was due to the colostrum instead of actual milk. After the initial frustration of the pump I was lucky to get 4 ounces in a 20 minute period of pumping. Well, today the pump died on me...here I am engorged and my baby needs milk for this evening...so what do I have to do?...go and purchase another pump. It appears I didn't save any money in the end anyways... Given my experience with this pump...I HIGHLY recommend against purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pelletal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible
11/27/2009

Customer review by readthisPlease

1.0 stars by readthisPlease

DO NOT BUY this junk, not worth the price, hard to set- up, Does not feel natural, I recommend the First Years pump instead, which is way easier to use, clean, etc.

Was this review helpful? (0) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
readthisPlease
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great pump
4/21/2010

Customer review by DAAmom123

5.0 stars by DAAmom123

This is a great product. I originally called around to rent a pump. It was $70.00 a month to rent, $100.00 deposit, $60 for a starter kit. It was smarter to buy. My daughter receives 70% of pumped milk. The pump is gental on my nipples and easy to clean. I plan on using this pump at work when i return.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DAAmom123
Grosse Pointe, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/29/2009

Customer review by MilkMaker

5.0 stars by MilkMaker

I only pump for my son and this pump has been awesome. My only request is that the AC adapter plug fit in the hole for easier storage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MilkMaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME, AFFORDABLE & GREAT PRODUCT
8/8/2010

Customer review by zulemaoregel

5.0 stars by zulemaoregel

This product is great! After I had my first son I bought an Evenflo pump which I used only for 3 weeks. I put it away, and after two years i had my baby girl in which i used it again, i accidentally tore the valve (which is the most important thing in the pump), so it was useless. I tried contacting evenflo but i couldn't get a hold of them, since my milk supply was running low and my manual ameda pump wasn't doing much i had to buy a new one. I was indecisive about getting an expensive double pump like medela. But since it's too expensive for a pump I decided to go with Playtex, mi pump, or avent. I finally decided on the playtex double pump. It's such a great pump. It comes with so many extra parts in case you break or lose one. Since i use it everyday 4-6 times a day, it's the best choice. You have to be careful though. There are two different Playtex double pumps. You have to read the back labels. This pump is for occasional and daily use where as the petite is for ONLY OCCASIONAL USE, that is why most mother's machines break down! it's important to read all the labels. ANY WAY take it from me, who happens to have VERY SENSITIVE BREASTS, it is so comfortable. I feel so weird because i was used to the evenflo which is a lot more aggressive. This pump is so soft. It has the 5 suction and 5 speed levels. So there are 25 different combinations you can do. So far I'm very satisfied with this product. The best part of it is that it comes with a car charger and wall plug in charger, very convenient for travel or home. The only thing I do kind of lament is that I purchased this pump at BABY'S RUS because the walmart near my house did not have it, and since there was a time issue, I had no choice but to buy it. I ended up paying $179.99 which is $40.00 MORE + TAX. Either way I'm very satisfied and I'm sure you will too if you purchase it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
zulemaoregel
Bell, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent pump
10/16/2010

Customer review by Rook

5.0 stars by Rook

This is a very nice double pump for the money. It has lots of settings to get the right suction and speed. It also comes with tons of accessories, everything you need to pump and start to store comes with it. The only complaint that I have is that there is a little hole that you are supposed to thread the wall charger through so you can keep it connected to the pump and just plug it in and go. The hole on my bag was not big enough to fit the charger connector through, so it cannot stay plugged into the pump. Other than that, I highly recommmend this pump.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rook
Fort Gordon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 46 total reviews