Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 106 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

106 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

106 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 100 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Great Trail rider and touring bike
7/20/2009

Customer review by Wilburmighty1

4.0 stars 7/20/2009 by Wilburmighty1
by Wilburmighty1

I bought this bike to have something to ride while re-building my main bicycle. I bought the Sidewinder not expecting to be very impressed, I was wrong. Since purchasing the bike on 7/1/2009, I have put 317 miles on it (avid rider). I have had to replace a few items to make it more comfortable for long rides, however, this bike can take a beating. This is truly a great bike for the price and I would recommend it very much.

Was this review helpful? (96) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wilburmighty1
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Kudos to Schwinn and Walmart
8/28/2009

Customer review by PinarelloNut

5.0 stars 8/28/2009 by PinarelloNut
by PinarelloNut

I've been a road racer since 1982...and still nuts about criterium racing. Never thought I'd be caught dead on a mountain bike like this, or any "cheap" bike for that matter. But I have to admit, this bike is great. The overall quality and value greatly exceeded my expectations. This bike is really fun to ride on trails and bike paths and, after fitting it with some inexpensive SPD pedals from Performance along with some "stealthy" SPD shoes, it's even fun to ride on the road!! I added all the Schwinn accessories from Walmart, including bike computer, seat rack, lock, and seat pouch with spare parts, and the whole thing cost less than $200 bucks... paid much more than that for the front wheel on my Pinarello. I keep the Schwinn on my car's bike rack at all times and hop on it whenever I can. It's also great to go back in time with a brand name well known in my neighborhood when I was a kid. In short, you can't go wrong with the fun and value this bike has to offer. Kudos to Schwinn and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PinarelloNut
Woodbridge, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike at Excellent Price
6/25/2010

Customer review by gmanthewingsfan

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by gmanthewingsfan
by gmanthewingsfan

I decided to purchase this bike primarily based on other customer reviews. I did not have a lot of money to spend on a bike and did not need one for hardcore performance. However, I am also skeptical of any deals that seem too good to be true and I believe that typically you get what you pay for. The reviews for this bike were spot on. Not only was assembly easy, but the bike arrived 1 day after it shipped. The only part I wasn't comfortable with was tuning the gears. I decided to take it to a local shop and have the pros do it. The bike rides great, shifts easily, and looks great. I think you would be hard pressed to find a better bicycle anywhere near this price!

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gmanthewingsfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!
8/20/2009

Customer review by bike4health

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by bike4health
by bike4health

Bought bike in Feb. '09, and since then have put on over 4k miles! Only minor adjustments needed so far, to accomplish my daily runs of over 20mi. Haven't missed a day, rain or shine with this bike.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bike4health
NY State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FUN bike - GREAT price!
10/20/2009

Customer review by crazy4worldseries

5.0 stars 10/20/2009 by crazy4worldseries
by crazy4worldseries

I bought one for my wife and myself and have enjoyed riding on the weekends! Terrific price for the money, as I considered more expensive bikes prior to buying the Sidewinders. I was disappointed with how the bike was assembled, as the gears had to be adjusted along with other adjustments necessary for peak performance. Schwinn also offers nice accessories for this bike as well. Outside of that, I am sure I will get many years of enjoyment out of this bike.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazy4worldseries
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best For the Price Point
3/2/2011

Customer review by PricesReturnsWinCustomers

4.0 stars 3/2/2011 by PricesReturnsWinCustomers
by PricesReturnsWinCustomers

Here is the what makes this bike a great value. Quick release front hub. brakes brackets are metal on the handle bars not plastic like most now, front shock. name brand shifters, 3 piece cranks, Walmart ships for like $3.97 to your door. This is not a true mountain bike like you can take it on trails beat it but should handle anything around town. You must know how to adjust any bike you purchase or pay a shop. Lot of info online. Could not get my front derailleur adjusted and found it to be bent in even though did not look like it. Schwinn sent me out a new front derailleur ASAP and sweet talked them into including a new rear derailleur and chain as a bonus instead of me returning to store for another one, we both made out better. Online price has now went up as this used to be about $129 or so online. Pedals are plastic and seat is so so but easy enough to upgrade if you like. Did not want rear suspension on any bike as it just adds too much weight. Good Luck, and again adjustment is the key on all bikes. Brake tip. Tape pennies to each side of rim, rotate so the are under your brake pads and adjust the cable nut to suck the pads in against the pennies, tighten and you then have a nice spacing (run your ferrules in up at the brake levers first so you have max fine tune room left for later if needed).

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PricesReturnsWinCustomers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
"Durable all around bike"
1/19/2010

Customer review by Riding2Heaven

5.0 stars 1/19/2010 by Riding2Heaven
by Riding2Heaven

I picked up the gray version of this bike at my local walmart about 2 years ago. I've rode this bike mainly on pavement streets. It rode well on dirt paths as well. However I have not tried it on tough terrain like mud and rocky areas, but i think it can hold it's own. Everything works perfectly , and the handle shifters work very well. It rides smooth, and brakes are good. Now after about 2 years of riding, the handle grips have come loose, but it can easily be fixed. And everything else is in tack and has the bike has survived all the wear and tear I have put on it. Overall a great bike at this price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riding2Heaven
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
great basic bike
12/29/2009

Customer review by jumper19

4.0 stars 12/29/2009 by jumper19
by jumper19

My husband just wanted a basic bike to ride around the neighborhood, parks and with the kids. He put the bike together and said it was easy to put together and loves riding it. It's a great bike for the price and rides well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jumper19
Easley, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
After Purchase Impressions
5/19/2010

Customer review by Maxx134

4.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Maxx134
by Maxx134

I had a clunker bike before this with the stupid spring in the middle, which was utter garbage and gimmik design. Dont buy a bike with a spring in middle, they are just a fad and you loose solid feel. My girfriend bought the reddish color Schwinn from ToysRUs similar price but this one looks more solid and seems stronger. I then gave it to my son and bought the "700c Men's Schwinn Avenue Hybrid Bike" for myself, which is slightly longer, taller, and lighter. At $230, it cost me $80more and looks more gorgeous than a $300plus bike. I love both, but for short runs I have to admit the sidewinder here feels more easier & fun to handle despite having the bigger mountain bike tires. The paint job is simply an amazingly deep glow glossy blue. I like the nicer handlebar shifters on the more expensive 700c Schwinn, but the bottom rear gear shifting unit looks same. I cant stress enough the solid quality feel of this less expensive bike is unheard of at this price, and better than a few $250 bikes I tried. My son rides it more extreme with fast starts and stops, and it still comes home looking new after I yell at him and give it a look over. Its only been a few weeks but I felt I made the best decision with this bike!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maxx134
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Suprisingly Good
7/27/2009

Customer review by blueeagle

4.0 stars 7/27/2009 by blueeagle
by blueeagle

I have had this bike 8 months, and put over 400 miles on it, mostly on city greenways...but also at campsites and very mild trails. I still have the original tires and brakes on it, but changed the seat and grips (highly recommended on both)grips @ Dick's Sporting @$9.99 ergo design-must cut to fit due to grip shift, but can do w/any knife). Get it tuned at a trusted bike shop ($10-30) and it shifts great. Only complaint is it is fairly heavy, but the quick release hub up front makes transoprt easy. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueeagle
Knoxville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pretty good bike for the money, needs upgrading...
8/26/2009

Customer review by ARNut

4.0 stars 8/26/2009 by ARNut
by ARNut

I recently purchased this bike from walmart and immediately put new pedals (15.00), and some vertical grips as well (20.00). Brought it to my local bike shop and had them go over the build (check the bolts, tighten everything, check the brakes, and overall build). After spending 70.00 on the tune up and accessories, it's a pretty nice bike. Rides smooth and is a generally nice machine. My one complaint is the shifting. The gears aren't that well defined (reason it gets a 4 star rating). It makes some clicking when it's in the inbetween gears, but it's not a great issue, still shifts well and gears hold, and provide a smooth ride overall. Would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a sub 200.00 dollar bike, like me, not willing to pay over 500.00 for a bike that i might put 500 miles on a year.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARNut
Brewer, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice ride
2/28/2011

Customer review by revelstone

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by revelstone
by revelstone

well i just needed a bike to get back and forth to work. gas prices were through the roof, and they are currently on thier way back. i got my sidewinder for my birthday in may '09. it currently has 2600 miles on it and it hardly looks used. it has a different seat and different pedals, but i fully expect to get another 2600 milis on it before i get a new one. keep on riding :-)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
revelstone
clearfield, utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
so far so great
6/14/2010

Customer review by bikew

4.0 stars 6/14/2010 by bikew
by bikew

I've had this bike a couple weeks. I tried the $74 roadmaster and returned it within 24 hours. I had this exact model about 10-12 years ago when I was a little kid so I trust the model and make. I've put about 30 mixed miles on it, some road, some light off road. It's very sturdy, shift smoothly and is very comfortable. for the price I think this is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Casual Rider
5/11/2010

Customer review by spwood

4.0 stars 5/11/2010 by spwood
by spwood

I bought this bike for casual rides along a local lake with some possible trail rides at a local state park. I am as far from an avid rider as you can get and was just looking for a low-maintenance easy ride. So far so good. I would recommend this bike for the casual rider.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spwood
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not for off road use
2/8/2011

Customer review by BikeRider11

3.0 stars 2/8/2011 by BikeRider11
by BikeRider11

I purchased this bike as a Christmas present for myself to ride with my son and daughter and have put about a 100 miles on it. For road use it works well. However, once I tried taking it off road on a mountain bike trail, the rear cog stripped out. I found a warning label on the fork that said this bike was not for off road use. So although it looks like a mountain bike it is really just a lower end road bike with big tires. If you are a casual rider that likes riding in the park on paved trails it will be fine. If you are looking for an off road mountain bike to use on rough trails, it is too heavy and the cheap parts will not hold up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeRider11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
it works
11/18/2010

Customer review by sbridges

4.0 stars 11/18/2010 by sbridges
by sbridges

For a price around 125 dollars this is not bad. I am no professional and do not wear tights and a funny helmet when I ride, but the wheels go round, the gears shift and the brakes work. It seems solid enough that I doin't think it will break anytime soon. Good bargain for the price, unless you want status, then go spend a thousand bucks on something that will do the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sbridges
Exeter, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great bike
8/18/2009

Customer review by miangel

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by miangel
by miangel

I have always wanted a schwin bike, and this one has not let me down. Rides great, shifts easy, very dependable. Even the seat is not a great problem. Have ridden it all over on trails and the road, very happy with it. I do recommend that you wear gloves because of the textured grips(but all bikes have that kind of grips now).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miangel
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What a Nice Bike!!
8/25/2009

Customer review by iker4

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by iker4
by iker4

This bike is just fantastic!! The frame design is nice and clean. It also comes with nice componets. It is very nicely put together and also very easy to work on!! The price is really unbelievable for a bike this nice!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iker4
Anytown USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Bike!
1/5/2011

Customer review by BigBigSean

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by BigBigSean
by BigBigSean

Get this bike! I bought a cheap-o NEXT bike and returned it within a week and spent the extra money and got this one. It felt like Christmas morning when it arrived. Great solid design. Very nice deep blue paint. I am 6'9" 300lbs and I ride this bike comfortably. Gears shift smoothly and with out hassle. I have had it for about 3 months now and I love my bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBigSean
Berkeley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/5/2011

Customer review by boss33

4.0 stars 6/5/2011 by boss33
by boss33

the bike rides well and easy to put togther its good for on or off road the bike was worth the money

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boss33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews