Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 64 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
great Bike!!
6/11/2010

Customer review by Susan11003

5.0 stars 6/11/2010 by Susan11003
by Susan11003

I love this bike! I wanted a ladies bike that I could use for exerise etc. I liked the color purple and it has the girls low bar for getting on and off easily..yet it is durable.Go for it girls!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susan11003
Elmont,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fun and exercise
2/20/2011

Customer review by AOakley

4.0 stars 2/20/2011 by AOakley
by AOakley

The women's Schwinn Sidewinder was exactly what I expected. It's a nice shade of purple and was shipped and delivered a lot sooner than expected. Some assembly is required but most of the tough assembly is already done for you and you just put the pieces together. It was packaged with the bicycle in it's box and that box inside another one to help prevent damaging and also had material in between the pieces of the bike to prevent scratching. I haven't got to ride it a lot because as soon as it arrived, bad weather set in again, but the times I have taken it for a spin has proven to be a good experience. Overall I am very satisfied with my purchase and the purchase price. A great way to have fun and exercise at the same time!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AOakley
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
A MUST BUY FOR VALUE!!
10/27/2009

Customer review by melclark

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by melclark
by melclark

So......I have been searching for a good bike for a great value in countless retail stores. I finally came across this one and read the reviews and decided to take a dive. I fell in love!! It is such a great bike for the cost! I know most reviews with other bikes say the seats are hard and very uncomfortable, but with this one, you adjust within the first 2-3 times of riding it. Not a bad "stock seat" at all! I also bought a woman's polar fitness watch so I could watch how many calories I burn with this bike......I was AMAZED at how many calories mountain bikes burn. (within the second day of owning, I took it on a 10 mile ride with no problems and burned almost 700 calories)!! I have only been on the road....so I couldn't tell you how it handles "off road", but I love it! If you are trying to buy a good bike for fitness or just for pleasure......GO GET THIS BIKE!!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (99) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melclark
Long Beach, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic bike, especially for shorter women
6/5/2010

Customer review by kbiller07

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by kbiller07
by kbiller07

The thing that first attracted me to this bike was the short length of the seat tube. I'm 5'4" and have a 28" inseam. Most bikes I've tried have been too tall for me. I got on this bike at the store and my feet were flat on the ground as I hovered less than an inch over the seat. Once I knew I was comfortable, I started looking at the bike. The one I bought is a teal color, which is very attractive! I love the shape of the frame, too. It appears very sturdy and I can tell that it's sturdy while I'm riding it. The seat isn't as horrible as most reviews have stated, although padding comes prepackaged on my butt, so I can handle a standard seat. There was a tag that explained the technology that Schwinn uses for women's bikes and I really like it... the bike feels like it was custom made for me. It was great to be able to find the perfect bike that was within my budget!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbiller07
Phoenix Metro area, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Bike - Highly Recommended
9/24/2009

Customer review by OutHere

5.0 stars 9/24/2009 by OutHere
by OutHere

I've ridden this bike for an hour every day for the last couple of months and really enjoy it. A seat upgrade was a must and padded bike shorts made a huge difference. I returned the first Sidewinder when the gears and chain had to be adjusted by WalMart more than three times in as many days and still didn't work correctly. The second Sidewinder needed one adjustment and has been flawless ever since. My advice is to read the manual, particularly if you have to take the bike in for adjustment. The technicians will assume you're an idiot, and you want to be able to talk intelligently about any problems. Adjustments made when a bike is upside down on a work bench (riderless) won't necessarily address problems that happen under the weight of a rider. I rode the bike in the Walmart parking lot after adjustments were made so I'd know immediately whether they worked. Definitely a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OutHere
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exacly what she needed
4/2/2011

Customer review by ChristSaves

4.0 stars 4/2/2011 by ChristSaves
by ChristSaves

I bought this bike for my wife a couple of years ago. I'm one of those people who likes to buy good quality stuff, and I usually research anything that I buy for weeks before I make a purchase. I was going to start looking at bike shops, but decided to look at bikes while in Wal-mart one day. I happened to find the perfect bike Quality I know that the Wal-mart version of Schwinn products isn't exactly "bike shop quality," but this bike made me think a little differently. For the price it had nice components and a solid build. Price The price mark is close to that of the cheaper made bikes with the quality of some $200-250 bikes. I think they were able to reduce cost by keeping the bike relatively simple and focusing on it's intended purpose. Components The bike has exactly what it needs. Instead of trying to put rear suspension, disc brakes, and a confusing gearing system, they chose simple well made components that make it a reliable bike that will last. Once you start adding the other stuff you either have to reduce the quality of the parts or use better parts and increase the price. Overall We do some light trail riding and riding for exercise and this bike is perfect for that. The only complaints I have is the bearings in the headset (the washers and nuts that hold the front fork to the frame) seem a bit loose for some reason. Also the front suspension might not be very effective for a rider over 160lbs as the spring rate isn't very high. My wife is 4'11 and 120lbs and it works well for her. I'd say it will work well for riders 5' to 5'7"

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristSaves
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Great Product
7/14/2010

Customer review by WendySC

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by WendySC
by WendySC

I was extremely happy with this bicycle. I was a little hesitant about ordering a bicycle on line but since I was looking late in the season there were not many choices in the store. The bicycle had good reviews and looked like a good buy for the price. I received it very fast, sooner than the expected delivery date. I put the bicycle together with the easy to follow directions but I did not feel completely comfortable since I was unable to get the wheels "true". I brought the bike to a reputable bike shop and asked them if they could tune it up. I explained that it was inexpensive and wanted to make sure it was safe. The man is the store told me it was a great bike, they would be glad to tune it up (for a fee) and had I bought a bike in the bike shop it would have been a similar bike for about $200 more. With the price of the bike and the tune up I saved about $100. I have only rode it a few times but so far I am extremely happy with my purchase and would recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WendySC
Bethpage, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Solid Bike for a Great Price
4/7/2011

Customer review by Maythen

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Maythen
by Maythen

I purchased this bike online, and shipping to my door was low-cost and faster than expected. The bicycle was carefully packed so that nothing was bent or dinged. The manual is easy to understand, and the bike, simple to finish putting together. I only had to put the handlebars, seat and front wheel on. The frame is oddly enough shaped- not like round tubing -that it's hard to place certain accessories, but we live in an age of drills and velcro straps anyway. I had to adjust the derailleurs and brakes very little for them to work smoothly. Those parts are well-made. The seat is comfortable enough, and the seat post allows for long legs. This bicycle rides, shifts, and stops nicely. My one complaint, if it can even be called that, is that it has a quick release front wheel, which makes me slightly nervous. The air would need to be let out of the tire anyway, if one were to use this feature, to fit the tire between the brake pads. All in all, this bike is an excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maythen
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great bike!
8/2/2010

Customer review by TGIFWORLD

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by TGIFWORLD
by TGIFWORLD

I received this bike BEFORE they said it would be due and nothing was ruined inside. The only thing we had problems with was the front wheel, thought we were missing a piece to connect it but it was actually in the box with the pedals which I overlooked. Other than that, nothing was wrong! Except, it says its not meant for trails and yet they advertise that it is? I don't know, but the bike is great on the road and offroad so I would definitely recommend this to anyone who just wants a bike to go places!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TGIFWORLD
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ladies Schwinn Sidewinder Bike 26"
3/22/2010

Customer review by RoseFran

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by RoseFran
by RoseFran

Customer Service was very helpful when picking up the bicycle. It was easy to put together and very well made. On the first time out we needed to make a couple of adjustments but it was very easy and could be done right on the road. The bicycle handles very well and has plenty of gears for our use. Very good buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoseFran
Pittsfield MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bike
7/16/2009

Customer review by GrammaJudy

4.0 stars 7/16/2009 by GrammaJudy
by GrammaJudy

Love the bike overall, but couldn't sit down for a week after my first long ride. The seat is AWFUL! I had to buy a new one to replace it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammaJudy
Worcester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Problem with derailleur
4/6/2010

Customer review by SJ0182

3.0 stars 4/6/2010 by SJ0182
by SJ0182

I've had this bike for little over a year. I have ridden it very little. It is a very comfortable ride but on a recent ride the rear derailer got caught in the spokes of the tire and fell apart. I was on a very steep hill and shifting into the lowest gear. Shifting up to that point had been no problem - there was no indication that any adjustment needed to be done. I took the bike to a local bike shop and they said they can't help with the part. I can't find the part number on any Shimano site list (Tourney 15T). I believe replacement parts for this bike are hard to find and want to caution anyone buying it. The bike has been well cared for and in the garage since I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SJ0182
Ringoes, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love This Bike
8/2/2009

Customer review by acer7

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by acer7
by acer7

I absolutely love this bike, first off it's my color. The prettiest purple there is. It handles great and rides great. The seat could be a little softer, but overall I love it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acer7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just what I've been looking for
6/16/2010

Customer review by born2b

4.0 stars 6/16/2010 by born2b
by born2b

Right size, right color. Very uncomfortable seat. Great ride.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
born2b
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It's purple!
5/5/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/5/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I received this bicycle from my father as a gift. You are never too old to get a bike from your dad! I finally got it together and got the tires pumped up. It took me like 30 minutes. Would be easier with two people. It's a heavy bike, but that's ok because I'll be riding around the city and in parks..no offroad. It has a very nice ride - no more skinny tires for me. Changed the seat to a gel seat. Have to preserve what you sit on...hee hee! REALLY LOVE THE COLOR! Intimidated by the manual. Lots of maintenance. Every week in fact. Would recommend this bike to anyone who is willing to maintain it. I think it will last for many years. By the way..this is my third Schwinn. First one when I was in the second grade. Second when I was in the eleventh grade.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just O.K.
7/15/2010

Customer review by herstory32

4.0 stars 7/15/2010 by herstory32
by herstory32

I am 5'7" , I am too tall for this bike. Yes, I adjusted the seat. Wanted to ride it to school, 1 1/2 miles, but looks like I will be taking the bus.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
herstory32
Would recommend to a friend? No
I was excited, but
8/10/2010

Customer review by honey8417

2.0 stars 8/10/2010 by honey8417
by honey8417

So I wanted a bike so my husband and I could go out and get some exsercise. I reviewed this one and decied this one would be great. We decided to do a 25 mile bike ride for charity and 9 miles in my pedal completely broke off. So I was straded on the side of the rode for over an hour. Also the bike seat is horriable. I know that a bike seat is never that comfortable, but this one is beyond bad. I was very dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honey8417
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE IT
4/12/2010

Customer review by mart4life

5.0 stars 4/12/2010 by mart4life
by mart4life

I wanted a bike to ride around on for exercise something not soo cheap that it wouldnt last but nothing too fancy that i have to pay an arm and a leg for. This bike meets all my needs. I bought a cruiser seat for it because the factory seat is uncomfortable but thats typical for any bike. I love the color and the bold stong looking frame. i plan on getting a cup holder and a few storage compartments to velcro on to the frame but walmart was sold out of most of its accessories everyones been buying bike stuff lately with spring time here. i suggest this bike def. if you wanted something even better and your willing to spend almost $300 id get a hybrid bike. but i didnt want to spend that much. Im not that crazy of a biker.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mart4life
tampa,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent Bike
4/14/2011

Customer review by Dragon41673

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Dragon41673
by Dragon41673

My wife & I ordered this bike, as well as the Blue Mens bike. I have a couple issues with mine, but this one for my wife is issue free. She loves it! Only thing I would improve on is the brakes (which just may need adjustment)...and the seat is VERY firm. I have major issues with my seat, but my wife does not on hers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragon41673
Kenosha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
needs a little work
5/17/2010

Customer review by mgurrola

2.0 stars 5/17/2010 by mgurrola
by mgurrola

I like the style, color. They could make the kick stand sturdier, the seat a bit more comfortable. Also when i change to a higher gear there is a strange noise while riding. All in all for the price it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgurrola
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews