Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 192 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

192 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

192 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 180 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
Make sure you have a friend when picking it up!
5/27/2012

Customer review by MommyofDaniel

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by MommyofDaniel
by MommyofDaniel

I had done quite a bit of research on the right playset for my toddler son and found that this one would best meet his needs and our smaller space. When I started doing price comparisons I found a few places that were slightly cheaper than Walmart, but when I went to order the shipping (even other site to stores) was close to $200! Not Walmart, with Free Site to Store they won my business. Thankfully my husband had a friend with a big pick up truck to help him get it, because while the box isn't that heave it's VERY large (see picture below) and definitely needed two strong guys to get it. We (I should say my husband and brother) didn't have any problems putting it together, though we did have some extra pieces. I would definitely suggest using the anchors if you have a larger child who might swing more "actively". My 6 year old niece tested that part out and it was good and steady. All and all, we were very happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyofDaniel
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect play set
9/29/2009

Customer review by NicevilleMom2

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by NicevilleMom2
by NicevilleMom2

We have a 3 yr old and a 20 month old... I was worried the slide might not be big enough to be fun. Not a chance... it's perfect and it's a safe enough size so that I don't feel like I need to be watching their every move on it. I can sit on the porch and they can play... they love it! The swing clips make it very easy to attach a toddle swing in place of one of the regular swings. I put this play set together in about 2 1/2 hours (with the help of my toddlers, where they are more of a hindrance than a help). I had a couple problems with the last steps and attaching the roof, but it worked out. It was a pain, but some shoving and pulling made it happen. The instructions also did not mention the last bolt that attaches at the very top (stair side) of the roof... but with one bolt left and the matching one on the top of the other side...I figured that's where it went. All in all... the kids love it, and we love it... and aesthetically it's great in the backyard.

Was this review helpful? (84) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NicevilleMom2
Niceville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My two year old loves this!
6/6/2012

Customer review by Larrybud

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Larrybud
by Larrybud

This is a really nice swing set for the price. I did a lot of shopping before I settled on this set, and I was not disappointed. It pretty much took me all day to put it together and I was happy that my mom was around to offer a second set of hands when needed, but I think I might have even been able to do it all by myself. My 21-month old absolutely loves it (I purchased an infant swing separately and swapped it out for one of the swings provided in the set). The swing set seems solid and looks great in my backyard. I used Wal-Mart's ship-to-store function and saved a lot of money on shipping; plus, it only took about four days or so to arrive at my store. One thing: if you do this, make sure you have a friend with a truck. The box was not terribly heavy (two people can lift it just fine), but it was too big even for my Ford Escape!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Larrybud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for my one year old!
7/22/2011

Customer review by KNolan

4.0 stars 7/22/2011 by KNolan
by KNolan

We added the toddler swing (not included) and my daughter LOVES it! I sit in the other swing next to her but I don't really swing. She loves the wheel too but it is tough to turn, even after I removed the yellow center and screws. I, of course, have to stand right with her when she is in the playhouse because there is no protection from her falling out by the steps or slide. She will learn it as she grows. She adores being in it though. I love having it steps from the backdoor for her to enjoy! My Dad and I started putting it together at 8:30 am and we were done by about 12:30 or 1 pm.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KNolan
Dunn, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the Play Up Gym Set!
2/21/2015

Customer review by Ruth V.

5.0 stars 2/21/2015 by Ruth V.
by Ruth V.

Thank you to Step2 for letting me test this product as part of the Step2 Ambassador program! As soon as I saw the Play Up Gym Set, I knew my 32 month old toddler would love it. He loves playing on the swings at our local park and I knew this set would be fantastic to have in our own yard for outdoor play. We have many Step2 products so I figured the construction and materials would be great and I was right. It took me and my dad about 4 hours to assemble the set. It was definitely manageable for two people, but I thought the directions could have been clearer. They're mostly drawings with not much descriptive text, and there are a lot of small washers and different sized screws that are easy to confuse - so just pay careful attention during assembly to be sure you're using the right ones at the right time. The set comes with 4 stakes to secure the Play Up Gym Set into the ground, but it's not so massive of a unit that it couldn't be moved around the yard if you needed to. This is a great feature to me, especially living in Florida where hurricanes can hit. We can just remove the stakes and move the set into the garage if necessary. The set is perfectly sized for toddlers to 6 year olds and there are plenty of things to do (climbing steps, steering wheel to turn, slide, crawl space underneath the slide, and swings). The set comes with 2 regular swings, but if you have a child that's on the smaller side (or a younger child) you might want to consider getting an additional Infant to Toddler Swing that's compatible with this set and also available on the Step2 website. Overall, we're very pleased with this set. It's high-quality and I know it will last for years to come, through multiple children.

Ruth V.
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
play up gym swing set
4/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this swing set for my 16 month old daughter. First the reason I bought this swing set is the combination of colors that make up this swing set, because I knew it would make my young daughter's eyes just shine. The second reason I bought this swing set is because it has been highly recommended by other customers with young children, and it is a very durable product, in combination with the adjustable sand and water table. So far since I have purchased these two items in combination with one another, my daughter has had hours of fun with the sand and water table as well as the swing set, climbing on it, going down the slide, playing withthe attached wheel and of course sitting in her infact swing seat, and enjoying the fun of the swing. I would highly recommend this swing set to other families, with young children. It will provide hours of fun for them, and it also provides a sense of being at the local park, without having to leave your back yard. Last of all I bought this swing set because of the price, it was competitive and included the adjustable sand and water table with the swing set.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fayetteville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for small children
11/17/2009

Customer review by firstTimeMom44

4.0 stars 11/17/2009 by firstTimeMom44
by firstTimeMom44

I bought this swing set for my 2 1/2 year old daughter. She loves the swings and slide. I was disappointed at how short the slide actually was. I'm due again in May and think the slide will work better for the next child. I did find the set to be sturdy and my husband and a buddy did not have any problems putting it together.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firstTimeMom44
Manning, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for young children
12/28/2009

Customer review by GreenNav

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by GreenNav
by GreenNav

We purchased this swingset for our two granddaughters. The 22 month old is already climbing the step ladder, playing on the platform, and sliding down by herself. It is a great size, was fairly easy to assemble (3.5 hours), and sturdy. We are looking forward to them enjoying this swingset for the next several years.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreenNav
Navarre, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for a toddler
3/11/2013

Customer review by Forscooter

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Forscooter
by Forscooter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After looking at several other swing sets (including large, expensive play sets like Rainbow and Tree Frogs), my husband I decided on a smaller "temporary" set for our 19 mos. old. I didn't feel comfortable getting her anything that she could not get on and off of by herself, and this looked like a good option for her to learn and play on. We could not be more pleased. It is the perfect size for a little one's first swing set, yet very sturdy and well-made. My husband put it together in only an hour or two, and our little girl was so excited to see it. She was swinging right away and had mastered the stairs and slide within a day or two. I know she'll probably outgrow it in two or three years, but for the price, it is an awesome product. And I have no doubt that a younger cousin will get even more play time out of it when my daughter is done. But for now, all we hear is "outside, outside... swing!... and Weeeeee!" That's good enough for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Forscooter
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The kid loves it; assembly harder than depicted
9/12/2011

Customer review by Muttley1975

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by Muttley1975
by Muttley1975

My wife and I finished assembling the Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set today. I ordered it via Site-to-Store on Walmart.com (which is really a fantastic service -- highly recommend). The box is HUGE, like more than 6 feet long. You'll need a pick-up truck, but not one of those quad-cab models with a stubby bed. Fortunately, the box slides easily. The pieces and pretty easy to figure out, but the parts are bagged in weird assortments. For example, Bolt A isn't necessarily packed with its washers, which are in Bag 3. Just open everything, count the parts, and sort them before you start. Also, a power screwdriver and ratchet will speed assembly. What the instructions don't tell you is that you also need a ladder. Unless you're 7 feet tall, you need to be able to look down on the top of the swing rail to drop in the last piece -- a bolt that secures the rail to the slide platform structure. Our only complaint is that the short wall on the slide platform was slightly warped. Whether from heat or just the weight of the other components in storage, the warping resulted in a few of the bolts not aligning properly. We spent too much time trying to pry and wedge the hardware into the correct position. We finally opted for the strategic application of a Zippo grill lighter to warm up the plastic enough to pinch it with pliers and make the required connection between the bolt and the barrel nut. (This option is not mentioned in the instructions, but it works. Bonus: we now know the structure won't immediately catch fire when exposed to open flame!) Once assembled, we agreed that the results were well worth the cost and labor. We've still got all our fingers, no major failings of hardware or components, and our little girl loves it. Although, to be honest, we're a little concerned that she first tried to run up the slide instead of sliding down it. Now to buy some of that rubber mulch to put down -- just in case.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muttley1975
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Step 2 still a homerun in my book
6/29/2010

Customer review by Toddler mom

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Toddler mom
by Toddler mom

We haven't finished putting the swing set together and my son (23 mos) is already having a great time on the "tree house dome" area. It feels very sturdy, quality construction everything we have come to expect with the other step 2 products we have. The only 2 areas I have concerns/comments on are the hole for the swing pole is not big enough and my husband is trying to sand the rough plastic ridge area pending a return phone call from step 2 (office closed right now) and my other concern/comment is that I wish they would offer a toddler swing in the Naturally playful color family. The set is so attractive I would love to have a more neutral color choice in the toddler swing. (As well as a telescope/periscope Option). But even though we have hit a snag on our otherwise easy installation, still rating this a homerun as I am confident that step 2 will give us some guidance so my son can start swinging asap :) So excited about his first swing set.

Toddler mom
Easton, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
kids love it
7/20/2011

Customer review by HappyGrannie

4.0 stars 7/20/2011 by HappyGrannie
by HappyGrannie

My sons put this together quickly and with no problems. The grandkids could hardly wait to try it out. The oldest is ten and the youngest, two. My last swing set was wooden and as it aged it splintered. This is why I choose the molded set. We have several other pieces, a table, small climbing tower with slide, and a sand box made of the same material. All have worn well and are still in use. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyGrannie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great swing set!!
5/17/2010

Customer review by Dragonfly1201

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by Dragonfly1201
by Dragonfly1201

We purchased this swing set for our 9 month old daughter. She absolutely loves to go out and swing on her baby swing (which had to be purchased separately). This set was fairly easy to put together it just took some time because of all of the parts. It seems to be well made and very sturdy. It is a really cute little set. A friend's 3 year old son loved playing in the playhouse and sliding down the slide. Overall we are very happy with the purchase and would purchase this set again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragonfly1201
Jonesboro, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great playset
5/17/2010

Customer review by ExpectingBabySoon

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by ExpectingBabySoon
by ExpectingBabySoon

We bought this for our 20 month old and she loves it. We are very organized people and it took about 4 hours to set this up inside our garage before carrying it out to the yard. We had a couple of issues attaching the slide as the holes wouldn't line up quite right...but after some digging in the holes to help "stretch" them, we got it (definitely needed 2 people). The slide doorway/opening is a little too wide for a small child to do alone, if they slipped or got too close to the slide they could go forward without intending too...just be aware of using this for smaller kids. We are considering looking for some additional handles to attach to the sides of that opening. However, I could not imagine using this for the intended 3-6 year old...slide too small for a 5+ age. We used Site to Store...just be aware the box was VERY large (8 ft long and 4 feet wide). We love this purchase and it looks very nice in our yard!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExpectingBabySoon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Nobody's handyman does it on his own.
5/31/2014

Customer review by carmatt

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by carmatt
by carmatt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read a lot of reviews on this item that almost stopped me from getting it, from not receiving all the pieces, to difficult to put together, etc. I am so glad I went ahead and got it anyway. If you take the time to actually read the directions, you will see that it is pretty easy to assemble. Holes are not there for certain screws intentionally so that it holds better. As with most of this kind of stuff these days, the directions are pretty much all pictures, few words. That did cause some slight confusion in a couple places, but nothing to mark it down for. As my title indicated, I am NOBODY's handyman, but I put it together by myself at a slow pace in about 4-5 hours which includes stopping for supper and running to my parents' to borrow a ratchet. If I put my head down and just went at it, probably would have taken between 3 to 4. We bought a baby swing since our child is only two, and so far he loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carmatt
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent product that will grow with my grandchild
4/22/2011

Customer review by jbgrandma

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by jbgrandma
by jbgrandma

I like it but as I read the product reviews before I bought it, I can confirm that there was missing hardware in which I had to go and buy if I wanted it to be assembled properly. I thought the bundle package was a decent value(sand/water table with the swing set) . A week after I bought it, Toys r us had the swing set alone on sale for $100.00 less . Once assembled, it is fairly easy to move around in the yard for mowing the lawn, which is another reason why I didn't buy the cheaper metal swing set. Great swing and slide set for one year olds up to 6 or 7 years old,

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbgrandma
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/6/2012

Customer review by DJPL

2.0 stars 9/6/2012 by DJPL
by DJPL

The product was missing importamt pieces of hardware and almost ruined our grandsons birthday party. There were so many parts missing and places that needed to be redrilled making if almost impossible to complete. My husband had to run to the hardware store at least three times when parts were missing or just not the correct size. My husband worked on nuclear submarines and this proved to be far more difficult. I read the same review when I purchased this and thought it must have been just one error. I believe that it is probably the norm. I feel like we should be reimbursed somehow for this $400 purchase that was missing approximately $20 worth of hardware and what should have only taken one person several hours, took 3 people two days to complete and make right. I will not purchase anything from this brand again, if nothing is done and I will certainly tell others what happened.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJPL
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great, Fun Swing Set!
2/26/2015

Customer review by Janessa S

5.0 stars 2/26/2015 by Janessa S
by Janessa S

As a Step2 Ambassador, we received this swing set at no cost to facilitate a review. This swing set was pretty easy to assemble, although it did take about 2 hours or so. It could be done with one person, but if you have 2 it will be even easier. I love that it is sturdy plastic and I don't have to worry about splinters or rust. My kids could swing for hours on this. They love it and have so much fun on this set. I also love that it combines a little clubhouse and the slide too. My son pretends it is his pirate ship and loves to play in there. It is a smaller-sized swing set, great for toddlers (with the addition of a baby swing), preschoolers, and children under age 6 (maybe a little older if you have petite kids like mine). If you're looking for a swing set that can stand up to the weather and a beating from your kids, this one is perfect!

Janessa S
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everything I expected and more
6/15/2014

Customer review by cvoirol87

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by cvoirol87
by cvoirol87
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were going to wait until our twins were older more like 5-6 years range to purchase a swing set but I came across this one that seemed to fit their age range more right now. They are 16 months and they love it. All the reviews I read everyone seemed really happy with it and I'm glad we purchased it. It suits their age perfect and they have room to grow into it. The instructions are what I expected, kind of vague but manageable once you get the hang of putting it together. It took us about 4 hours to put it together with two people helping. I also like how the swings itself are interchangeable to baby swings and you can change it to the bigger swings that the swing actually came with the child gets older. The swing set structure is metal that the swings hang on and the over structure is heavier plastic that is definitely durable and stakes to the ground.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cvoirol87
fort wayne, in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good starter swing set for younger children
5/1/2013

Customer review by gmomma2012

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by gmomma2012
by gmomma2012
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was happy with this purchase overall. I found this item on several other sites and after comparison shopping, I ordered from Walmart because they didn't charge an outrageous shipping price. I found the item at a lower base price but after adding a $100 shipping fee it was no longer a "good deal". I am happy with this item and my only complaint would be with the directions that come with it. I have had the same problem with other Step 2 products. The pictures for some steps are a little confusing and you have to look ahead and "read between the lines". Assembly can probably be done by one but is MUCH easier with a little help.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gmomma2012
Hickory, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews