Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
71
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 194 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews
Make sure you have a friend when picking it up!
5/27/2012

Customer review by MommyofDaniel

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by MommyofDaniel
by MommyofDaniel

I had done quite a bit of research on the right playset for my toddler son and found that this one would best meet his needs and our smaller space. When I started doing price comparisons I found a few places that were slightly cheaper than Walmart, but when I went to order the shipping (even other site to stores) was close to $200! Not Walmart, with Free Site to Store they won my business. Thankfully my husband had a friend with a big pick up truck to help him get it, because while the box isn't that heave it's VERY large (see picture below) and definitely needed two strong guys to get it. We (I should say my husband and brother) didn't have any problems putting it together, though we did have some extra pieces. I would definitely suggest using the anchors if you have a larger child who might swing more "actively". My 6 year old niece tested that part out and it was good and steady. All and all, we were very happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyofDaniel
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect play set
9/29/2009

Customer review by NicevilleMom2

5.0 stars 9/29/2009 by NicevilleMom2
by NicevilleMom2

We have a 3 yr old and a 20 month old... I was worried the slide might not be big enough to be fun. Not a chance... it's perfect and it's a safe enough size so that I don't feel like I need to be watching their every move on it. I can sit on the porch and they can play... they love it! The swing clips make it very easy to attach a toddle swing in place of one of the regular swings. I put this play set together in about 2 1/2 hours (with the help of my toddlers, where they are more of a hindrance than a help). I had a couple problems with the last steps and attaching the roof, but it worked out. It was a pain, but some shoving and pulling made it happen. The instructions also did not mention the last bolt that attaches at the very top (stair side) of the roof... but with one bolt left and the matching one on the top of the other side...I figured that's where it went. All in all... the kids love it, and we love it... and aesthetically it's great in the backyard.

Was this review helpful? (84) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NicevilleMom2
Niceville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My two year old loves this!
6/6/2012

Customer review by Larrybud

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Larrybud
by Larrybud

This is a really nice swing set for the price. I did a lot of shopping before I settled on this set, and I was not disappointed. It pretty much took me all day to put it together and I was happy that my mom was around to offer a second set of hands when needed, but I think I might have even been able to do it all by myself. My 21-month old absolutely loves it (I purchased an infant swing separately and swapped it out for one of the swings provided in the set). The swing set seems solid and looks great in my backyard. I used Wal-Mart's ship-to-store function and saved a lot of money on shipping; plus, it only took about four days or so to arrive at my store. One thing: if you do this, make sure you have a friend with a truck. The box was not terribly heavy (two people can lift it just fine), but it was too big even for my Ford Escape!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Larrybud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for my one year old!
7/22/2011

Customer review by KNolan

4.0 stars 7/22/2011 by KNolan
by KNolan

We added the toddler swing (not included) and my daughter LOVES it! I sit in the other swing next to her but I don't really swing. She loves the wheel too but it is tough to turn, even after I removed the yellow center and screws. I, of course, have to stand right with her when she is in the playhouse because there is no protection from her falling out by the steps or slide. She will learn it as she grows. She adores being in it though. I love having it steps from the backdoor for her to enjoy! My Dad and I started putting it together at 8:30 am and we were done by about 12:30 or 1 pm.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KNolan
Dunn, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the Play Up Gym Set!
2/21/2015

Customer review by Ruth V.

5.0 stars 2/21/2015 by Ruth V.
by Ruth V.

Thank you to Step2 for letting me test this product as part of the Step2 Ambassador program! As soon as I saw the Play Up Gym Set, I knew my 32 month old toddler would love it. He loves playing on the swings at our local park and I knew this set would be fantastic to have in our own yard for outdoor play. We have many Step2 products so I figured the construction and materials would be great and I was right. It took me and my dad about 4 hours to assemble the set. It was definitely manageable for two people, but I thought the directions could have been clearer. They're mostly drawings with not much descriptive text, and there are a lot of small washers and different sized screws that are easy to confuse - so just pay careful attention during assembly to be sure you're using the right ones at the right time. The set comes with 4 stakes to secure the Play Up Gym Set into the ground, but it's not so massive of a unit that it couldn't be moved around the yard if you needed to. This is a great feature to me, especially living in Florida where hurricanes can hit. We can just remove the stakes and move the set into the garage if necessary. The set is perfectly sized for toddlers to 6 year olds and there are plenty of things to do (climbing steps, steering wheel to turn, slide, crawl space underneath the slide, and swings). The set comes with 2 regular swings, but if you have a child that's on the smaller side (or a younger child) you might want to consider getting an additional Infant to Toddler Swing that's compatible with this set and also available on the Step2 website. Overall, we're very pleased with this set. It's high-quality and I know it will last for years to come, through multiple children.

Ruth V.
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for lil ones
7/20/2016

Customer review by Kimberly

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Kimberly
by Kimberly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is perfect for younger children! My boys are 1.5 and 2.5. Everything is the right height for them to play, have fun, and be safe on. We purchased a baby swing to attach for the youngest one. Both boys love to sit in the back yard, swing and enjoy the day. Had it out in yard for 6 months now and it's held up great to weather. Easy to spray clean too.

Kimberly
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
play up gym swing set
4/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this swing set for my 16 month old daughter. First the reason I bought this swing set is the combination of colors that make up this swing set, because I knew it would make my young daughter's eyes just shine. The second reason I bought this swing set is because it has been highly recommended by other customers with young children, and it is a very durable product, in combination with the adjustable sand and water table. So far since I have purchased these two items in combination with one another, my daughter has had hours of fun with the sand and water table as well as the swing set, climbing on it, going down the slide, playing withthe attached wheel and of course sitting in her infact swing seat, and enjoying the fun of the swing. I would highly recommend this swing set to other families, with young children. It will provide hours of fun for them, and it also provides a sense of being at the local park, without having to leave your back yard. Last of all I bought this swing set because of the price, it was competitive and included the adjustable sand and water table with the swing set.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fayetteville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Entertainment!
7/20/2016

Customer review by Jennifer

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Jennifer
by Jennifer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 2 yr old granddaughter loves it! It is just the perfect size for her to side and swing on. We added the toddler swing to it and she could spend all day sliding and swinging. Great buy!!

Jennifer
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my 2 year old
7/20/2016

Customer review by Tiffany

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Tiffany
by Tiffany
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for my 2 year old. Loves to climb and slide. We bought a step 2 baby swing to attach with the regular swing and it is perfect. Hopefully we'll get many summers out of it.

Tiffany
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would recommend this product
7/20/2016

Customer review by Ashley

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Ashley
by Ashley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love the playset! It is perfect for our 13 month old and we know we will get several fun years out of it!

Ashley
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love Step2
7/20/2016

Customer review by Bryan

4.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Bryan
by Bryan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My toddler loves this play set and it was simple to assemble. I highly recommend it!

Bryan
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best bang for your buck
7/20/2016

Customer review by Dina

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Dina
by Dina
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for a backyard easy to put up with two people

Dina
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for small children
11/17/2009

Customer review by firstTimeMom44

4.0 stars 11/17/2009 by firstTimeMom44
by firstTimeMom44

I bought this swing set for my 2 1/2 year old daughter. She loves the swings and slide. I was disappointed at how short the slide actually was. I'm due again in May and think the slide will work better for the next child. I did find the set to be sturdy and my husband and a buddy did not have any problems putting it together.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firstTimeMom44
Manning, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for young children
12/28/2009

Customer review by GreenNav

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by GreenNav
by GreenNav

We purchased this swingset for our two granddaughters. The 22 month old is already climbing the step ladder, playing on the platform, and sliding down by herself. It is a great size, was fairly easy to assemble (3.5 hours), and sturdy. We are looking forward to them enjoying this swingset for the next several years.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreenNav
Navarre, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for a toddler
3/11/2013

Customer review by Forscooter

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Forscooter
by Forscooter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After looking at several other swing sets (including large, expensive play sets like Rainbow and Tree Frogs), my husband I decided on a smaller "temporary" set for our 19 mos. old. I didn't feel comfortable getting her anything that she could not get on and off of by herself, and this looked like a good option for her to learn and play on. We could not be more pleased. It is the perfect size for a little one's first swing set, yet very sturdy and well-made. My husband put it together in only an hour or two, and our little girl was so excited to see it. She was swinging right away and had mastered the stairs and slide within a day or two. I know she'll probably outgrow it in two or three years, but for the price, it is an awesome product. And I have no doubt that a younger cousin will get even more play time out of it when my daughter is done. But for now, all we hear is "outside, outside... swing!... and Weeeeee!" That's good enough for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Forscooter
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The kid loves it; assembly harder than depicted
9/12/2011

Customer review by Muttley1975

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by Muttley1975
by Muttley1975

My wife and I finished assembling the Step2 Play Up Gym Swing Set today. I ordered it via Site-to-Store on Walmart.com (which is really a fantastic service -- highly recommend). The box is HUGE, like more than 6 feet long. You'll need a pick-up truck, but not one of those quad-cab models with a stubby bed. Fortunately, the box slides easily. The pieces and pretty easy to figure out, but the parts are bagged in weird assortments. For example, Bolt A isn't necessarily packed with its washers, which are in Bag 3. Just open everything, count the parts, and sort them before you start. Also, a power screwdriver and ratchet will speed assembly. What the instructions don't tell you is that you also need a ladder. Unless you're 7 feet tall, you need to be able to look down on the top of the swing rail to drop in the last piece -- a bolt that secures the rail to the slide platform structure. Our only complaint is that the short wall on the slide platform was slightly warped. Whether from heat or just the weight of the other components in storage, the warping resulted in a few of the bolts not aligning properly. We spent too much time trying to pry and wedge the hardware into the correct position. We finally opted for the strategic application of a Zippo grill lighter to warm up the plastic enough to pinch it with pliers and make the required connection between the bolt and the barrel nut. (This option is not mentioned in the instructions, but it works. Bonus: we now know the structure won't immediately catch fire when exposed to open flame!) Once assembled, we agreed that the results were well worth the cost and labor. We've still got all our fingers, no major failings of hardware or components, and our little girl loves it. Although, to be honest, we're a little concerned that she first tried to run up the slide instead of sliding down it. Now to buy some of that rubber mulch to put down -- just in case.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muttley1975
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Excellent
5/29/2016

Customer review by Lynn

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by Lynn
by Lynn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this for our grandchildren. We have a small backyard and it fits in perfect. Our 22 month old granddaughter loves it and is having so much fun. The swings are great. It is very easy for her to hold on to and molds to her excellent. We bought the baby swing for our 4 month old grandson so everyone is happy, especially the grandparents when we here YEAH!!!!!!

Lynn
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for our little one and his friends!
4/23/2016

Customer review by anonymous

4.0 stars 4/23/2016 by anonymous
by anonymous
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this for our son. He loves swing and slides, but we only had a limited amount of space for a swingset / slide. This guy fits perfectly. Overall, this swing set is great and works well. Our son loves it and swings in it several times a day. The only complaints I had were 2 fold: 1. The directions were a little hard to follow at the beginning. Specifically the section discussion the bolt sets, it was not completely clear that these lined up with the numbers later in the instructions. It would be nice to have a clear statement that says that these bolts are not all in one bag, and that you need to combine them into the sets. I figured it out, but it just wasn't clear at first. 2. Some of the plastic parts required quite a bit of physical manipulation to assemble them. Specifically the two halves of the outer A-Frame for the swing support and the outer wall for the small roof over the swing. They weren't terribly hard to figure out, but they had me concerned initially. The reason I only gave this unit 4 stars and not 5 is that the steps and house itself are a little open and slopey. For smaller children or children who are less sure footed, they could have an issue with getting up the stairs and / or not falling down. Our son has no issues, but I could see this as an issue for some.

anonymous
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Step 2 still a homerun in my book
6/29/2010

Customer review by Toddler mom

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Toddler mom
by Toddler mom

We haven't finished putting the swing set together and my son (23 mos) is already having a great time on the "tree house dome" area. It feels very sturdy, quality construction everything we have come to expect with the other step 2 products we have. The only 2 areas I have concerns/comments on are the hole for the swing pole is not big enough and my husband is trying to sand the rough plastic ridge area pending a return phone call from step 2 (office closed right now) and my other concern/comment is that I wish they would offer a toddler swing in the Naturally playful color family. The set is so attractive I would love to have a more neutral color choice in the toddler swing. (As well as a telescope/periscope Option). But even though we have hit a snag on our otherwise easy installation, still rating this a homerun as I am confident that step 2 will give us some guidance so my son can start swinging asap :) So excited about his first swing set.

Toddler mom
Easton, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks Like Fun, When I Can Put It Together
5/2/2016

Customer review by DJ

3.0 stars 5/2/2016 by DJ
by DJ

I have purchased multiple step 2 products in the past. While each has its quirks when it comes to installation, this swing set is by far the most infuriating of them all. My wife and I took an entire day off of work to put this swing set together. We nearly accomplished the task in the day, thanks to the vague, mostly illustrated and poorly laid out instructions. The goal eluded us once we got to the final steps, attaching the swing cross bar to the little house/tower. Due entirely to the vague instructions, a single bracket that was installed at around step 20, visually correct, came back to haunt us at around step 40 or 50. It turns out that this crucial bracket is a little off center. Going by the picture, there was no way to determine that the bracket was installed slightly off center. It simply looks correctly installed. Because the bracket is off center, the bolt or pin that connects the swing bar to the house/tower will not go in all of the way. As a result, I cannot properly setup the swing bar. In order to correct this off center bracket, I have to nearly take apart the entire house/tower structure, by back tracking to the step where it was installed. Fortunately, it was a rainy weekend and my child couldn't go out and play on the partially constructed set anyway. However, I'm not happy with the installation process and definitely not happy with the provided instructions. Honestly, I think that it would be an overall good and enjoyable swing set for my child, when it is put together.

DJ
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews