Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Product
10/27/2009

Customer review by JAHMOM

5.0 stars by JAHMOM

I have been comparing reading books sytems for my daughter for Christmas. She's 3 and I thought the tag jr. would be too young for her so I was looking at this one and the regular Tag. I chose the Bugsby for several reasons. First, It was cheaper than the Tag and I didn't see any difference between the too. Actually, I liked this one better. Second, each book with the Bugsby has a little USB cartridge that you just plug into the back of the pen when you want to read the book. With the tag, you need to hook your tag pen up to your computer and download the books to your pen (depending on the size you get, it holds 5 or 10 books at a a time). Based on reviews, this process of downloading the books can be a little confusing and takes a while, so I am glad that the Bugsby just has a cartridge to plug in. I took my daughter to Walmart and let her play with both book systems for almost an hour. I didn't see a difference between what the too systems will do. So that is why I chose the Busgby--I got it on sale and was able to get the system and two book for the price of the Tag itself. One thing with the Bugsby, there is a volume control right on the pen that you can adjust how loud it is. Plus it is cute and in the shape of a bookworm! I am glad I chose this system for my daughter!!

Was this review helpful? (86) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JAHMOM
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Much better than Tag
11/11/2009

Customer review by fivekidss

5.0 stars by fivekidss

I have to agree with reviews and add one more thing I've noticed. My daughter, husband and I all three checked out the tag and bugsby systems. First of all, my daughter loved it even more than the Ariel edition of the Tag system. Odd for her since she LOVES Ariel, so was obviously not due to character or color choices. Second we noticed while playing with the displays that with the tag you can actually go above the word and it still reads perfectly. If you go a little below it's fine. If you go to the end of the word it's fine. In comparison, if you get on the Tag and do not get right on the word it makes a funky sound and even skips several times. Maybe because the computer generated information has to try to keep up whereas with bugsby it's more integrated due to the chip? I wouldn't know. I only know there is more room for error with Bugsby, which is perfect for kids that may not be able to maintain a straight line or like to flow with the sentence. Whereas with Tag IT has too much room for error when even I couldn't get it to make the sentence pronounce right. You get to the end of one word and it picks up the next word? VERY confusing for a 4 year old. Heck, confusing for me just hearing it. And believe me, there is NOTHING I hate more than listening to "Joy jum opened, jumped overover the brickwall wall wall." Bugsby reads perfectly!!!!!!!!!! GREAT for little toddlers and kids under 6 that lack patience and just want to hear the story sounded out right. Leap seems to be great at initial product, but they never seem to correct their mistakes.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fivekidss
Sugar Hill, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
VTech Bugsby w/Pen
5/17/2010

Customer review by Ibuy4u

4.0 stars by Ibuy4u

Very nice product. This was purchased for my 3 year old son. He enjoys the pen and book.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ibuy4u
Irving, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
EDUCATIONAL
1/12/2010

Customer review by WITTYMOM

5.0 stars by WITTYMOM

THIS WILL HELP MY DAUGHTER LEARN HOW TO READ

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WITTYMOM
BOSTON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great product
12/8/2009

Customer review by HorseluvrVenus

5.0 stars by HorseluvrVenus

Great idea. My son has only had it for a few days and seems to like it. He is 3 and this will help his reading skills.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HorseluvrVenus
Waynesboro, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for Pre-Schoolers to have.
12/13/2010

Customer review by vianadm

5.0 stars by vianadm

This is a christmas present but I'm sure that my grand-daughter will love it and it will be passed down to my grandson.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
vianadm
Phoenix, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Success
11/19/2010

Customer review by abys32

5.0 stars by abys32

I Purchased for my daughter's 3rd birthday a month ago. She learned how to use the pen and navigate the book easily. This is one of her favorite toys. Books are a favorite in general. She has memorized the Yo Gabba Gabba book and pretends to read through the pages. She ripped a page and it still works well after taping it back together. Will purchase more Bugsby books at a sale price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
abys32
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT LEARNING TOY!
1/9/2011

Customer review by apachigirl

5.0 stars by apachigirl

I researched both this and the leapfrog tag reading system before buying. I am so glad i did. Tag you have to download the books to the pen from the internet. With bugsby the cartridges come with the books, nothing to download! Also the bugsby pen is wayyy cute! And the books are about half price of that of the leapfrog ones. The pen is durable and books are also good quality. I have had this for about a week now. I bought it for my 3 year old daughter, but my 5 year old also loves it. I would highly reccommend this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
apachigirl
plainfield,ill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bugsby is Great!
12/27/2009

Customer review by jab3

5.0 stars by jab3

Bugsby is a great learning tool... My daughter got Bugsby for Christmas and loves it! She also got the Bugsby Dora and Wubbzy Bugsby learning books. The volume is good. The voices are clear. I would definitely recommend the toy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jab3
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/29/2009

Customer review by purch4other

5.0 stars by purch4other

Great little pen! This thing really keeps the kids occupied - reading the entire page or just word for word. It also tells what all the items on each page are just by clicking on them as well as the noises the certain animals make. Very cool for my four year old who it try to sound out words.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
purch4other
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as good as Tag
1/3/2010

Customer review by ThisNameIsNotTaken

4.0 stars by ThisNameIsNotTaken

We have had the Tag system for about a year. I've always complained about the need to download, the limits of the number of books it can hold, etc. Bugsby, with a cartridge for every book, seemed like the answer to all of my issues with the Tag system, but it hasn't really worked out that way. The cartridges can be difficult for little ones to remove. My 3 year old can manage most of the time (except for one book's cartridge that always sticks), but my 15 month old can't do it at all. I know she's too young for it, but she can use the Tag pen just fine and enjoys 'reading' the books. Also, the cartridges are small and I can see them getting lost after a while. It does take a while to download to the Tag pen, but at least I don't have to worry about losing anything with that system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ThisNameIsNotTaken
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product!!! my daughter loves it!!!
2/2/2010

Customer review by tmksukii

4.0 stars by tmksukii

my daughter loves it very much.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tmksukii
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day