Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 32 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Compact, effecent.
11/1/2010

Customer review by EEFX

4.0 stars 11/1/2010 by EEFX
by EEFX

Replaced old large upright freezer. Compact but with baskets capacity very effecent. Ship to store pick up quick and very cost saving. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EEFX
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Deep Freeze
9/12/2009

Customer review by johnfv2

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by johnfv2
by johnfv2

Freezer @ 45min. -16o. Steaks froze solid in 1/2 hr.. Low power consumption. Excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnfv2
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded expectations
2/20/2010

Customer review by RvTravelingLady

5.0 stars 2/20/2010 by RvTravelingLady
by RvTravelingLady

I love this little freezer. It holds more food than I expected; it looks so little in the photos. It maintains a temperature of -10 degrees to 0 degrees. One feature I would like to see added is an interior light. I highly recommend this freezer if you only have a small space. It fits perfectly in our motor home (we are full time RVers).

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RvTravelingLady
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Was great while it worked
6/4/2012

Customer review by Marty102

1.0 stars 6/4/2012 by Marty102
by Marty102

We've had this for just over 5 months now. My wife and I liked the size and the baskets for convenience. It was quiet and worked as advertised for 5 months and then stopped. It cools but will not freeze and we lost all of what we had been buying on sales for summer BBQ's. According to Walmart we must deal with the manufacturer. All well and good but the manufacturers only option is to ship it to them. They have no local repair or service centers that can be utilized. By the time we find packing material, hauling to shipping centers and shipping itself it costs more than the unit is worth. Seems a incredibly poor customer support model. If i have to I'll take the hit and buy a different model but it sure will not be a Sunpentown unit or from Walmart. This experience has left a bad taste in my mouth for both Sunpentown, and Walmart. They might as well have said all sales final and not bothered with any guarantee, it's not worth anything anyway.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marty102
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
just got it.
4/6/2012

Customer review by TucksterZ

4.0 stars 4/6/2012 by TucksterZ
by TucksterZ

the freezer is fairly light, I was able to pick it up and move it without too much effort. When I plugged it in I thought it might not be working, but when I put my hand against the side I could feel the compressor working, it is silent. The Key lock was a disappointment, it is a tiny metal HEX/Allen wrench on a small plastic key, though it does lock the unit, it can be easily opened. After just a few minutes of getting power it was getting cool inside, and overnight it was at freezing. The Cooling coils are part of the shelfing/storage basket system, so very large items might not fit. The bins measure about 13" square, and 5' in height. The lower basket sits in front of the compressor and is only about 6' deep, and 13" across, and 9" in height. overall it is a nice small unit, good for a little extra space for a few people or less. You will not be cramming the thanksgiving turkey in to this freezer, but a lot of small frozen pizzas, and some ice cream will fit fine. I did not give a durability rating, as I am not yet sure if it will be, though I haven't yet had time to find out.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TucksterZ
the doll room.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Small Freezer
3/20/2011

Customer review by BostonNorthShore

5.0 stars 3/20/2011 by BostonNorthShore
by BostonNorthShore

Walmart had the best price for this small freezer and so I tried their Ship-to-Store (free shipping) service. It went smoothly and the delivery was within 3 days of estimate. The freezer is small, but cools extremely well. It has been keeping a constant minus 20 degrees for a week now. I am glad I purchased an Energy Star certified product, a sign that this appliance has better than average engineering. Plus, it qualifies for a $50 energy star rebate with National Grid for Massachusetts residential electric customers. The construction seems to be solid. The interior baskets are a bit flimsy. The brushed stainless steel door, which is reversible, looks sleek. This small freezer is perfect for apartment or condo dwellers, or if you just need to save some space. Overall, extremely pleased with this purchase and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BostonNorthShore
Swampscott, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
goodlooking freezer
7/27/2009

Customer review by edwardopera

4.0 stars 7/27/2009 by edwardopera
by edwardopera

if you dont like the appearance of the white chestfreezers (like me),this is a good alternative.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edwardopera
phoenixville pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great!
3/12/2012

Customer review by GenuineJo

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by GenuineJo
by GenuineJo

We plugged the unit into the wall and it works fine. It freezes quickly and I really like the baskets shelves. This freezer freezes so well, you are going to want to keep it at the 3 setting. Anything over that is a waste of energy. We are very happy with our purchase the unit fits well in the kitchen and the stainless steel finish is quite attractive. The one warning I would give is BE SURE THE DOOR IS CLOSED! I quickly shut the door after grabbing something from the freezer and the door didn't completely shut and I didn't discover it until the next afternoon. Fortunately, I didn't lose any food, but the door doesn't make any sound when it closes, so you need to be sure it did.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GenuineJo
Monrovia,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sunpentown cheap but
9/23/2009

Customer review by DutchK

1.0 stars 9/23/2009 by DutchK
by DutchK

I received the Sunpentown 3.0 cubic foot freezer on Sept. 9th, I plugged it in and loaded a few bottles of water and ice trays to make sure all was working. On the 18th we did some heavy shopping and filled the unit with food after it had been in our other freezer for a day. All was well until on the 20th I went to get something out and found the internal temp at room temp. Everything was wasted... $200 worth of food down the drain. Now to their benefit Sunpentown is shipping out a new freezer. I won't put it down completely until the new one arrives and I have a chance to give it a good trial. But honestly you can do better for the money with a Good quality name chest freezer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DutchK
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
more than expected
2/11/2012

Customer review by goldgambler

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by goldgambler
by goldgambler

THIS IS THE BEST UPRIGHT CHEST FREEZER MADE. IT IS SO QUIET THAT I THOUGHT IT WAS NOT WORKING, SO I HAD TO STICK MY HEAD INTO THE UNIT TO HEAR A VERY QUIET NOISE. IT FROZE THE ICE AND THE FOOD WITHIN A FEW HOURS. IT FITS INTO MY KITCHEN AND NOW I HAVE MORE TOP SPACE FOR ITEMS. WE ARE VERY PLEASED WITH IT AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. NOT TOO HEAVY. GOOD JOB ON THIS ONE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldgambler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Freezer
12/1/2009

Customer review by thedugout

3.0 stars 12/1/2009 by thedugout
by thedugout

This freezer looks really nice and the drawers are spacious. However, since day one there has been lots of frost build up. Every time you open the door frost falls out and your hands get very icy when you take items out. We called the manufacturer and they told us to make the freezer colder...we did, but have the same problem. We will be calling again asking for an exchange.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thedugout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/19/2011

Customer review by jeanbean3

4.0 stars 1/19/2011 by jeanbean3
by jeanbean3

This freezer is perfect for what we needed. The only thing I don't like about it is the pullout baskets. They come in handy for smaller items but are not removable. Larger items do not fit. Otherwise love it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeanbean3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
9/26/2009

Customer review by Futant

5.0 stars 9/26/2009 by Futant
by Futant

Cold. Very Cold Quiet. Leave the door open too much and it builds up quite a bit of frost but other than that, great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Futant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good compact freezer at a fair price
7/4/2012

Customer review by GatorPhan

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by GatorPhan
by GatorPhan

Overall, I am currently quite pleased with the freezer and time will tell how durable it turns out to be. I find the pull-out baskets work out perfectly for us (we use it to handle overflow from our side-by-side refrigerator which has limited freezer space). Only have three minor disappointments; barely adequate manual, defrosting procedure and front leveling feet. My 10 yr old Danby compact refrigerator came with an informative manual with full parts list and I was expecting something similar. The Danby had a semi-automatic defrost system which had a button you push to initiate the cycle . . . this freezer requires you move the contents to another freezer or cooler and unplug the power until the built up ice melts . . . again, I had expected something similar to the Danby. The leveling "feet" is really a leveling "foot" . . . only one foot is adjustable. In my case I had to remove the fixed front foot and place washers between it and the bottom of the unit in order to raise it enough for the adjustable foot to have sufficient range. This might not be a problem in all situations. You should also be aware that the temperature adjustment is in the back of the unit . . . should not be a problem once you get it adjusted to your desired temperature. In spite of these issues, the unit is quiet, keeps a good sub-zero temperature and does the job.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GatorPhan
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/5/2013

Customer review by 2shunftd

3.0 stars 3/5/2013 by 2shunftd
by 2shunftd

A little confused? The product is advertised as a 3.0 cu. ft. but the shipping box is marked as 2.6 cu ft.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2shunftd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice
3/15/2014

Customer review by hoytlakehunter

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by hoytlakehunter
by hoytlakehunter

nice unit -very quiet -I can not hear it run -coiles under each rack make for even freezing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hoytlakehunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/10/2009

Customer review by hal60pa

5.0 stars 9/10/2009 by hal60pa
by hal60pa

the freezer arrived at the store earlier thanexpected was just what wife had wanted and is very happy with the looks and operation. we used this freezer as a back up to our kitchen freezer which was to small for our needs this is perfect for us i would reccomend this product to anyone looking for addition al freezer space or for an rv or whatever

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hal60pa
scranton pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
fits perfect in my RV coach
7/28/2009

Customer review by lovefourwheeling

5.0 stars 7/28/2009 by lovefourwheeling
by lovefourwheeling

purchased this unit for my RV and it fits great without taking up space.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovefourwheeling
Amarillo, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice freezer
5/12/2011

Customer review by bayouwinner

5.0 stars 5/12/2011 by bayouwinner
by bayouwinner

I am very pleased with the freezer I purchased. I live in a one bedroom apartment and it was just the right size for the space. The stainless and black finish also matches the other appliances. It was the right price and the right size! I would definitely recommend this freezer to anyone looking for a small addition to their current refrigerator freezer space.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bayouwinner
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the Stainless Steel front and black sides
3/8/2013

Customer review by kanichi

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by kanichi
by kanichi

Only problem I have had is I knocked the door out of alignment when unwrapping it. (lots of packing) So tried to reset it (easy) but didn't get it high enough and it drags a little on the bottom. Other than that love it, Has slide out baskets on the shelves that are roomy, can change door to right or left open, comes with a key. You need to set it to low temp like 1 or 1 1/2 to get the temp up a little...it is way below 0 if you leave it at 3 which it comes set at. Very good looking and moves easily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kanichi
Whetstone, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews