Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 800 reviews
5 stars
538
4 stars
144
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 stars
65
Sort by: 
1-20 of 704 reviews
1-20 of 704 reviews
Decent 5 Ghz / 2.4 Ghz router...
9/26/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The router is fairly easy to set up on either a PC or Mac. The router's firmware includes: the basic WEP to WAP2 security settings, hiding your SSID, MAC access filtering (allow only certain wireless devices to connect to the router), and other network administrative and network restrictions the owner may impose. The big negative with this router is that it does not have any USB ports on the back - so if you wanted to make your external hard drive a network drive, you can't just plug-and-play it into the router (you could go through the computer to share a drive - but it'd involve a few more settings than you may want to go through). If you only need a basic router with both 5 and 2.4 Ghz broadcasting capabilities, and do not plan on plugging an external hard drive into the router, then this router may work for you. If you need plug-and-play network capabilities, you may want to look for newer (and slightly more expensive) Netgear router products to satisfy your computing needs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (166)No (45)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little router
7/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to replace a Linksys WRT54GS. The only issue the Linksys has was that it would make the MagicJack drop a call after 30 seconds. The Netgear works great and now the Magicjack does not drop calls anymore. If using it in a network that has G and N devices, the speed of the router is 72Mbs. When using the 150 Mbs setting, it is exclusively for N devices and the 54G devices won't be able to connect. I had to restart it 1 time in a week as it became unavailable on the wired and wireless network. I use it on 3 desktops (one of which receives live security cameras (8) feed over the internet), 2 laptops, 2 game consoles and 2 network printers. Everything wireless worked fine under 54G before so I did not see the need to buy the 300 model since I only have the xbox360 using the N band. I did not want to spend too much money on new Linksys products. I'm glad I bought that one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Did not meet my expectations.
3/20/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought this router on March 17th, 2016. The installation and setup was a very pleasant experience, but that was where the ease ended. I had bought this router because our previous NETGEAR, purchased in 2011, had slowed down considerably since then. This new one is essentially the exact same model, except it's black instead of white. Knowing this, I expected the same speed on it that I had gotten out of our old one when we first got it. That was not the case. It causes all of our devices to run 5x slower than they did before, and it fails to reaches the entire house. These were things that the white one did easily even as it aged. I would have thought that since this router is the same and also five years newer, it would work efficiently, but I am very dissapointed to say that it is incapable of handling all of our devices like the old one did. It's too bad to see such a decrease in quality from NETGEAR.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
terrible
7/10/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Like the classic xbox live roast you have walmart wifi this little wifi thing sucks.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the price
8/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Netgear, in my opinion, makes very good Wi-Fi equipment. Their products are reasonably priced, reliable, and user friendly. I bought this router to replace a Netgear 802.11g model that I have been using for five years (it looked almost identical to the N150 except it had an external antenna). I have been enjoying the faster speed of this 'n' router versus the 'g' but have noticed the range isn't as good (not by much, maybe 20% less). I think this is due to the fact #1 that the external antenna is now internal, and #2 the 'g' technology was known for it's excellent range. That being said, the faster speeds, the ease and reliability of connecting wireless devices, and the improved security make this, overall, a good choice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (76)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent little router
1/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Inexpensive and easy to use, this was perfect for our needs. The back of the box had a good matrix of intended use of this wireless router. N150 (This model) ------ WiFi Speed: Up to 150 Mbps (my actual 72 mbps) Range: Good for medium size house (no issues centrally located in my 2 story 2800 sqft house) Usage: Email, Chat, Surf, Music, Video N300 ------ WiFi Speed: Up to 300 Mbps Range: Better Usage: Adds Online Gaming in addition to above N600 ------ WiFi Speed: 300+300 Mbps Range: Best Adds Shared USB Access Adds Wired Gigabit Usages: Adds HD Streaming The N150 is perfect for basic applications. If you're looking to add Gaming or HD streaming, consider the other models.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this router we had got a netgear G router for my mother-in-law and had no problem, so when we moved in to our own place we chose to go with netgear agin. Super simple to hook up. The CD that came with it made it so easy to set up our home net work. We have 3 laptops, a PSP and a DSI, and a printer all going at the same time and never lost our conection. The only problem I have is that the tec support is not free, so if you do have a problem try and find someone you know to help.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (466)No (76)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works like a charm!
1/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This router is perfect! It was so easy to set up; It took maybe 10 minutes or so. I needed a router for our tivo,i ipad, wii for netflix, xbox live, ipod touch & laptops. The connection is great around our home which is about 4,000 square feet & the parental controls are easy to set up and works like a charm. I was really reluctant to buy one because I had such a hard time with the last router of a different brand but this one was painless! I would highly recommend even to the most technological novice!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It meets standards set by comcast.
3/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great product. I bought it to replace the one from comcast so I don't have to pay them $8/mo for router rental.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great signal and speed
8/22/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was very easy to install, I am only 14 and I was at ease installing this. There was nothing to hard to do, I walked around my house, through it, to find where i still have a signal. I get it 15ft away from my house on my ipod touch with 1 signal bar outside, and it's still fast. I get full signal bars inside my house, except for 1 spot in my basement. Over all this is a good WiFi router.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (263)No (41)
Report
Was this review helpful?
bad bad experience....
6/10/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this cheap ROUTER and it slowed down my internet speed considerably more than 60 %, in 3 meter distance my internet was ridiculously slow, totally waste of time - do not buy this router Very disappointed with this as well as with Walmart . Bought it on line, did not arrive on the promised date and after all, did not worked at all, good for a 4x4 room that is all, this is good for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The only thing I know about computers is how to turn them on. This was very easy to install and I'm very pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (227)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product at a great price
1/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This wireless router was exactly as described. It was extremely easy to assemble and I'm not very savvy when it comes to hooking up technology. The directions were extremely easy to follow and there were even pictures showing where each cable belonged. I needed this wireless router for my iPad and it is super fast. I'm glad I didn't purchase a more expensive one because this one gets the job done for under $30!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for the price
1/31/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this wireless router about a month now and have had very little problems with it. The setup on my Window XP computer was so easy. The setup on my Window 7 laptop took a little longer. I did, however, get it figured out without calling tech support. In the month I've been using it, I think I have only had to reset it two times. For the price, I can't complain.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best
4/16/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just bought, and installed today. This has the to be the EASIEST wireless router to set up. Just install the included CD, simple click here, click there, and boom, your done. compared to 2hrs. with a Linksys and the speed is Excellent!! I'm sold on NETGEAR from now on.. My model didnt come with an upright stand, but I dont care. Still in my book 5 STARS.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (87)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value for the Price !!
5/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I researched the Internet thoroughly and finally settled for the NETGEAR N150 Wireless Router .This is the right product if your home is around 2000 sq.ft and need a reliable WiFi on your Laptop,Mobile Phone and any Game System.It's great for the small size, value and the competitive pricing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (79)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good buy
5/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this about a week ago, along with my first laptop. i thought it was a really good deal, only about $35. it was extremely difficult for me to get it working, took me about three days, along with the help of a friend to get it hooked up. it may have just been my own situation, you may not experience this problem. but besides that i love it. its got a great speed, faster then i originally expected , great coverage. i love it , i would recommend someone else to buy this
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More than enough for multiple devices & streaming
10/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am very happy with this router! It was easy to set up. I have to admit right after I set it up I thought maybe it wasn't so great because web pages were slow to load but after about 5 or 10 minutes the connection was fast and worked great in every room in the house. I guess maybe the signal needed time to infiltrate the house? In any case, it's not uncommon for us to be streaming video on multiple devices and we've been able to do that with zero issues. Even many rooms away from the router with doors closed. I definitely feel like I got a great deal with this router.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I'm very pleased
4/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works WII , PS3 and two Computers all at the same time, I'm very pleased..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does much better than DLINK
12/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was concern that it may not send a strong enough signal, I had ordered a DLINK for much more, but it hasn't even arrived yet. This NETGEAR is GREAT ! I don't bother with giving many reviews, but I do read them and this one got a lot of good ratings. With my DLINK I was getting a good signal rating, but now I get an excellent signal rating on my roku box which is upstairs. Why pay a lot when you don't have to. Easy set up wizard. I am sold.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (69)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643940, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-