Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 764 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

764 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

764 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
517
4 stars
140
3 stars
25
2 stars
22
1 stars
60
1-20 of 668 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 668 total reviews
1-20 of 668 reviews
Decent 5 Ghz / 2.4 Ghz router...
9/26/2011

Customer review by picketfence1970

3.0 stars 9/26/2011 by picketfence1970
by picketfence1970

The router is fairly easy to set up on either a PC or Mac. The router's firmware includes: the basic WEP to WAP2 security settings, hiding your SSID, MAC access filtering (allow only certain wireless devices to connect to the router), and other network administrative and network restrictions the owner may impose. The big negative with this router is that it does not have any USB ports on the back - so if you wanted to make your external hard drive a network drive, you can't just plug-and-play it into the router (you could go through the computer to share a drive - but it'd involve a few more settings than you may want to go through). If you only need a basic router with both 5 and 2.4 Ghz broadcasting capabilities, and do not plan on plugging an external hard drive into the router, then this router may work for you. If you need plug-and-play network capabilities, you may want to look for newer (and slightly more expensive) Netgear router products to satisfy your computing needs.

Was this review helpful? (119) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
picketfence1970
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did not meet my expectations.
3/20/2016

Customer review by ABal115

1.0 stars 3/20/2016 by ABal115
by ABal115

I just bought this router on March 17th, 2016. The installation and setup was a very pleasant experience, but that was where the ease ended. I had bought this router because our previous NETGEAR, purchased in 2011, had slowed down considerably since then. This new one is essentially the exact same model, except it's black instead of white. Knowing this, I expected the same speed on it that I had gotten out of our old one when we first got it. That was not the case. It causes all of our devices to run 5x slower than they did before, and it fails to reaches the entire house. These were things that the white one did easily even as it aged. I would have thought that since this router is the same and also five years newer, it would work efficiently, but I am very dissapointed to say that it is incapable of handling all of our devices like the old one did. It's too bad to see such a decrease in quality from NETGEAR.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABal115
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little router
7/19/2011

Customer review by Bigben974

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Bigben974
by Bigben974

I bought this to replace a Linksys WRT54GS. The only issue the Linksys has was that it would make the MagicJack drop a call after 30 seconds. The Netgear works great and now the Magicjack does not drop calls anymore. If using it in a network that has G and N devices, the speed of the router is 72Mbs. When using the 150 Mbs setting, it is exclusively for N devices and the 54G devices won't be able to connect. I had to restart it 1 time in a week as it became unavailable on the wired and wireless network. I use it on 3 desktops (one of which receives live security cameras (8) feed over the internet), 2 laptops, 2 game consoles and 2 network printers. Everything wireless worked fine under 54G before so I did not see the need to buy the 300 model since I only have the xbox360 using the N band. I did not want to spend too much money on new Linksys products. I'm glad I bought that one.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigben974
Gloucester, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It
7/16/2016

Customer review by Happy

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Happy
by Happy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Performs as expected, easy setup, nice administration software (NETGEAR Genie) lets user setup access . . . wireless user/password, control channel assignment (auto or manual). Felt experienced the first time I used it. Don't pay extra for function in a router you can't use ie. gigabit ports and 802.11AC when your ISP connection service can't take advantage of it. If your fastest service available isn't in the gigabit range you're overspending for that top end router. My Charter ISP service is 100 m/s, the fastest available, so a router with anything above 100 Ethernet ports and 802.11N is useless overspending.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy setup
6/28/2016

Customer review by Elaine

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Elaine
by Elaine

This is a nice router for the price. Getting it set up and registered was a piece of cake. Can support several devices at one time in my apartment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elaine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
2/29/2016

Customer review by wcadj1220

5.0 stars 2/29/2016 by wcadj1220
by wcadj1220

I was having issues with the speed of my internet. Brighthouse Tech came out to the house and it was found it was my router. It was from the stone age. He connected directly and it was sooooo slow. He got onto Walmart.com, and looked them up as I had no idea what all the stuff means. He found this one, and advised me, it is very affordable, and works fantastic for what I need it for. He was right. Thanks Brighthouse and Walmart

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wcadj1220
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Died Twice in 2 weeks and CS hangs up on you
3/14/2016

Customer review by TheyCantPack

1.0 stars 3/14/2016 by TheyCantPack
by TheyCantPack

First one I had lasted 2 years, this newest model is Junk. Died twice and their customer service is in India and they hang up on you if you politely ask for someone who can speak English a little better. First guy was ok for tech support but very hard to understand. Got it working for a few days, BUT.... After it died the second time the second tech was clueless and I had to keep asking him what he had said. He hung up on me after 45 minutes when I politely asked to be transferred to another tech RETURNING IT TODAY , YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR WITH THIS, CHEAP JUNK

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheyCantPack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for the price
8/14/2013

Customer review by netwolf1

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by netwolf1
by netwolf1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Netgear, in my opinion, makes very good Wi-Fi equipment. Their products are reasonably priced, reliable, and user friendly. I bought this router to replace a Netgear 802.11g model that I have been using for five years (it looked almost identical to the N150 except it had an external antenna). I have been enjoying the faster speed of this 'n' router versus the 'g' but have noticed the range isn't as good (not by much, maybe 20% less). I think this is due to the fact #1 that the external antenna is now internal, and #2 the 'g' technology was known for it's excellent range. That being said, the faster speeds, the ease and reliability of connecting wireless devices, and the improved security make this, overall, a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (65) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
netwolf1
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Netgear
7/18/2016

Customer review by Sharron

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Sharron
by Sharron
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far so good...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for.
7/1/2016

Customer review by afr52

3.0 stars 7/1/2016 by afr52
by afr52
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a decent entry level wifi router. It does the job but area covered isn't great and my download speed seems to have been reduced from 100mbs to 67mbs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afr52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor products.....inferior service
7/13/2016

Customer review by NeverAgainNetgear

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by NeverAgainNetgear
by NeverAgainNetgear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There is a reason Netgear is so inexpensive. Their products are garbage. Only the customer service is worse.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeverAgainNetgear
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent little router
1/25/2014

Customer review by CaptSimplicity

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by CaptSimplicity
by CaptSimplicity

Inexpensive and easy to use, this was perfect for our needs. The back of the box had a good matrix of intended use of this wireless router. N150 (This model) ------ WiFi Speed: Up to 150 Mbps (my actual 72 mbps) Range: Good for medium size house (no issues centrally located in my 2 story 2800 sqft house) Usage: Email, Chat, Surf, Music, Video N300 ------ WiFi Speed: Up to 300 Mbps Range: Better Usage: Adds Online Gaming in addition to above N600 ------ WiFi Speed: 300+300 Mbps Range: Best Adds Shared USB Access Adds Wired Gigabit Usages: Adds HD Streaming The N150 is perfect for basic applications. If you're looking to add Gaming or HD streaming, consider the other models.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptSimplicity
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works like a charm!
1/2/2012

Customer review by ScentsyGirlDFW

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by ScentsyGirlDFW
by ScentsyGirlDFW

This router is perfect! It was so easy to set up; It took maybe 10 minutes or so. I needed a router for our tivo,i ipad, wii for netflix, xbox live, ipod touch & laptops. The connection is great around our home which is about 4,000 square feet & the parental controls are easy to set up and works like a charm. I was really reluctant to buy one because I had such a hard time with the last router of a different brand but this one was painless! I would highly recommend even to the most technological novice!

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScentsyGirlDFW
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/8/2010

Customer review by WalmatJunky

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by WalmatJunky
by WalmatJunky

I love this router we had got a netgear G router for my mother-in-law and had no problem, so when we moved in to our own place we chose to go with netgear agin. Super simple to hook up. The CD that came with it made it so easy to set up our home net work. We have 3 laptops, a PSP and a DSI, and a printer all going at the same time and never lost our conection. The only problem I have is that the tec support is not free, so if you do have a problem try and find someone you know to help.

Was this review helpful? (457) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmatJunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easy to install
7/7/2016

Customer review by Flexmonahan

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Flexmonahan
by Flexmonahan

password is on label below the serial number, it has a password assigned to it from the factory, for the price the range is good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flexmonahan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
netgeaer n150
5/5/2016

Customer review by cbakes

4.0 stars 5/5/2016 by cbakes
by cbakes

Bought for wireless conection for lap top works great for that purpose

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbakes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great signal and speed
8/22/2010

Customer review by Anonymous123654

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Anonymous123654
by Anonymous123654

This was very easy to install, I am only 14 and I was at ease installing this. There was nothing to hard to do, I walked around my house, through it, to find where i still have a signal. I get it 15ft away from my house on my ipod touch with 1 signal bar outside, and it's still fast. I get full signal bars inside my house, except for 1 spot in my basement. Over all this is a good WiFi router.

Was this review helpful? (256) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous123654
Matamoras PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More than enough for multiple devices & streaming
10/26/2012

Customer review by Solomish

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Solomish
by Solomish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with this router! It was easy to set up. I have to admit right after I set it up I thought maybe it wasn't so great because web pages were slow to load but after about 5 or 10 minutes the connection was fast and worked great in every room in the house. I guess maybe the signal needed time to infiltrate the house? In any case, it's not uncommon for us to be streaming video on multiple devices and we've been able to do that with zero issues. Even many rooms away from the router with doors closed. I definitely feel like I got a great deal with this router.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Solomish
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2013

Customer review by dianeb7771

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by dianeb7771
by dianeb7771
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only thing I know about computers is how to turn them on. This was very easy to install and I'm very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (219) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dianeb7771
eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It meets standards set by comcast.
3/18/2014

Customer review by guesswhat71

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by guesswhat71
by guesswhat71
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product. I bought it to replace the one from comcast so I don't have to pay them $8/mo for router rental.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guesswhat71
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 668 total reviews
1-20 of 668 reviews