Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 796 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

796 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

796 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
538
4 stars
144
3 stars
26
2 stars
26
1 stars
62
1-20 of 700 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 700 total reviews
1-20 of 700 reviews
Decent 5 Ghz / 2.4 Ghz router...
9/26/2011

Customer review by picketfence1970

3.0 stars 9/26/2011 by picketfence1970
by picketfence1970

The router is fairly easy to set up on either a PC or Mac. The router's firmware includes: the basic WEP to WAP2 security settings, hiding your SSID, MAC access filtering (allow only certain wireless devices to connect to the router), and other network administrative and network restrictions the owner may impose. The big negative with this router is that it does not have any USB ports on the back - so if you wanted to make your external hard drive a network drive, you can't just plug-and-play it into the router (you could go through the computer to share a drive - but it'd involve a few more settings than you may want to go through). If you only need a basic router with both 5 and 2.4 Ghz broadcasting capabilities, and do not plan on plugging an external hard drive into the router, then this router may work for you. If you need plug-and-play network capabilities, you may want to look for newer (and slightly more expensive) Netgear router products to satisfy your computing needs.

Was this review helpful? (159) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
picketfence1970
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so easy!
4/19/2017

Customer review by Kaitlin

5.0 stars 4/19/2017 by Kaitlin
by Kaitlin

Connected this to our cheap zoom modem we had been using for ethernet and a hotspot. Instantly able to log into the wifi, so easy and so many less cords now for us. I coudn't believe it was only $20.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaitlin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little router
7/19/2011

Customer review by Bigben974

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Bigben974
by Bigben974

I bought this to replace a Linksys WRT54GS. The only issue the Linksys has was that it would make the MagicJack drop a call after 30 seconds. The Netgear works great and now the Magicjack does not drop calls anymore. If using it in a network that has G and N devices, the speed of the router is 72Mbs. When using the 150 Mbs setting, it is exclusively for N devices and the 54G devices won't be able to connect. I had to restart it 1 time in a week as it became unavailable on the wired and wireless network. I use it on 3 desktops (one of which receives live security cameras (8) feed over the internet), 2 laptops, 2 game consoles and 2 network printers. Everything wireless worked fine under 54G before so I did not see the need to buy the 300 model since I only have the xbox360 using the N band. I did not want to spend too much money on new Linksys products. I'm glad I bought that one.

Was this review helpful? (52) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigben974
Gloucester, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Did not meet my expectations.
3/20/2016

Customer review by ABal115

1.0 stars 3/20/2016 by ABal115
by ABal115

I just bought this router on March 17th, 2016. The installation and setup was a very pleasant experience, but that was where the ease ended. I had bought this router because our previous NETGEAR, purchased in 2011, had slowed down considerably since then. This new one is essentially the exact same model, except it's black instead of white. Knowing this, I expected the same speed on it that I had gotten out of our old one when we first got it. That was not the case. It causes all of our devices to run 5x slower than they did before, and it fails to reaches the entire house. These were things that the white one did easily even as it aged. I would have thought that since this router is the same and also five years newer, it would work efficiently, but I am very dissapointed to say that it is incapable of handling all of our devices like the old one did. It's too bad to see such a decrease in quality from NETGEAR.

Was this review helpful? (38) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABal115
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not good for streaming and gaming
5/6/2017

Customer review by RickyGo

2.0 stars 5/6/2017 by RickyGo
by RickyGo

Bought this couple of days ago and will be returning it back. Not happy at all with the performance. Not able to stream a video on TV either using youtube, Netflix. Only good if you are using for internet browsing or watching videos on smaller screen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RickyGo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent little router
1/25/2014

Customer review by CaptSimplicity

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by CaptSimplicity
by CaptSimplicity

Inexpensive and easy to use, this was perfect for our needs. The back of the box had a good matrix of intended use of this wireless router. N150 (This model) ------ WiFi Speed: Up to 150 Mbps (my actual 72 mbps) Range: Good for medium size house (no issues centrally located in my 2 story 2800 sqft house) Usage: Email, Chat, Surf, Music, Video N300 ------ WiFi Speed: Up to 300 Mbps Range: Better Usage: Adds Online Gaming in addition to above N600 ------ WiFi Speed: 300+300 Mbps Range: Best Adds Shared USB Access Adds Wired Gigabit Usages: Adds HD Streaming The N150 is perfect for basic applications. If you're looking to add Gaming or HD streaming, consider the other models.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptSimplicity
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Good for the price
8/14/2013

Customer review by netwolf1

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by netwolf1
by netwolf1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Netgear, in my opinion, makes very good Wi-Fi equipment. Their products are reasonably priced, reliable, and user friendly. I bought this router to replace a Netgear 802.11g model that I have been using for five years (it looked almost identical to the N150 except it had an external antenna). I have been enjoying the faster speed of this 'n' router versus the 'g' but have noticed the range isn't as good (not by much, maybe 20% less). I think this is due to the fact #1 that the external antenna is now internal, and #2 the 'g' technology was known for it's excellent range. That being said, the faster speeds, the ease and reliability of connecting wireless devices, and the improved security make this, overall, a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (74) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
netwolf1
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works like a charm!
1/2/2012

Customer review by ScentsyGirlDFW

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by ScentsyGirlDFW
by ScentsyGirlDFW

This router is perfect! It was so easy to set up; It took maybe 10 minutes or so. I needed a router for our tivo,i ipad, wii for netflix, xbox live, ipod touch & laptops. The connection is great around our home which is about 4,000 square feet & the parental controls are easy to set up and works like a charm. I was really reluctant to buy one because I had such a hard time with the last router of a different brand but this one was painless! I would highly recommend even to the most technological novice!

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScentsyGirlDFW
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great, as described!
3/2/2017

Customer review by Eriox

5.0 stars 3/2/2017 by Eriox
by Eriox

Setting this up was EASY! I bought this for a second router, because I have too many devices on my first one. My older router that I tried using wouldn't connect right, I had to connect it to the computer first blah blah blah. This one I just connected the LAN wire from this to my other router. Didn't have to do anything else, it was automatically connected. And the password on the bottom isn't some long random numbers and letters, it was easier to remember. I tried connecting my phones on it to see if it worked, and it did, instantly. Highly recommended :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eriox
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It meets standards set by comcast.
3/18/2014

Customer review by guesswhat71

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by guesswhat71
by guesswhat71
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product. I bought it to replace the one from comcast so I don't have to pay them $8/mo for router rental.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guesswhat71
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/8/2010

Customer review by WalmatJunky

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by WalmatJunky
by WalmatJunky

I love this router we had got a netgear G router for my mother-in-law and had no problem, so when we moved in to our own place we chose to go with netgear agin. Super simple to hook up. The CD that came with it made it so easy to set up our home net work. We have 3 laptops, a PSP and a DSI, and a printer all going at the same time and never lost our conection. The only problem I have is that the tec support is not free, so if you do have a problem try and find someone you know to help.

Was this review helpful? (463) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmatJunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Great signal and speed
8/22/2010

Customer review by Anonymous123654

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Anonymous123654
by Anonymous123654

This was very easy to install, I am only 14 and I was at ease installing this. There was nothing to hard to do, I walked around my house, through it, to find where i still have a signal. I get it 15ft away from my house on my ipod touch with 1 signal bar outside, and it's still fast. I get full signal bars inside my house, except for 1 spot in my basement. Over all this is a good WiFi router.

Was this review helpful? (260) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous123654
Matamoras PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:14 - 18
10/16/2013

Customer review by dianeb7771

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by dianeb7771
by dianeb7771
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only thing I know about computers is how to turn them on. This was very easy to install and I'm very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (226) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dianeb7771
eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy setup, easy parent control
3/6/2017

Customer review by NoNickName

5.0 stars 3/6/2017 by NoNickName
by NoNickName
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I brought this one mainly because i saw a review about its parent control. And it meets my satisfaction!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoNickName
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy!!
7/18/2011

Customer review by tg122608

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by tg122608
by tg122608

This router was amazingly easy to set up; it only took less than 10 minutes. It runs 2 laptops and a desktop. Great value for the money!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tg122608
winston salem, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Great product at a great price
1/8/2014

Customer review by CautiousOnlineShopper

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by CautiousOnlineShopper
by CautiousOnlineShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This wireless router was exactly as described. It was extremely easy to assemble and I'm not very savvy when it comes to hooking up technology. The directions were extremely easy to follow and there were even pictures showing where each cable belonged. I needed this wireless router for my iPad and it is super fast. I'm glad I didn't purchase a more expensive one because this one gets the job done for under $30!

Was this review helpful? (102) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CautiousOnlineShopper
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy
5/25/2011

Customer review by xxlovergrlxx

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by xxlovergrlxx
by xxlovergrlxx

I got this about a week ago, along with my first laptop. i thought it was a really good deal, only about $35. it was extremely difficult for me to get it working, took me about three days, along with the help of a friend to get it hooked up. it may have just been my own situation, you may not experience this problem. but besides that i love it. its got a great speed, faster then i originally expected , great coverage. i love it , i would recommend someone else to buy this

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxlovergrlxx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Does much better than DLINK
12/9/2013

Customer review by zerofrontier

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by zerofrontier
by zerofrontier

I was concern that it may not send a strong enough signal, I had ordered a DLINK for much more, but it hasn't even arrived yet. This NETGEAR is GREAT ! I don't bother with giving many reviews, but I do read them and this one got a lot of good ratings. With my DLINK I was getting a good signal rating, but now I get an excellent signal rating on my roku box which is upstairs. Why pay a lot when you don't have to. Easy set up wizard. I am sold.

Was this review helpful? (69) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zerofrontier
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Netgear Router
11/5/2013

Customer review by wadeisaac

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by wadeisaac
by wadeisaac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a good router and an excellent buy. I had no problems setting it up and using it. Good reception and works in any room.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wadeisaac
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very pleased
5/22/2011

Customer review by malarney

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by malarney
by malarney

I did quite a bit of research before buying this router. For the price you can't beat it. Set-up is quick and easy about 15min. running 1 wired desktop and 3 laptops all have excellent signals. very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (299) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
malarney
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
1-20 of 700 total reviews
1-20 of 700 reviews