Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 823 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

823 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

823 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
480
4 stars
217
3 stars
49
2 stars
23
1 stars
54
1-20 of 724 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 724 total reviews
1-20 of 724 reviews
Impressed
9/6/2009

Customer review by Chubbbs

5.0 stars 9/6/2009 by Chubbbs
by Chubbbs

I was very surprised by this product! I needed a closet because I moved into my sister-in-law/brother-in-law's basement and there wasn't a closet in the room. I read many reviews for similar standing closets and was worried about buying one because many reviews said that the closet falls apart after only a few pieces of clothes are hung on it. I use this closet for all of my clothes and have not had any problems and do not foresee any either. It holds a ton of clothes and has a lot of extra storage with the shelves. I definitely recommend this closet to anyone who is looking to buy one!

Was this review helpful? (292) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chubbbs
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OUTSTANDING!
9/30/2010

Customer review by Msnavyvet27

5.0 stars 9/30/2010 by Msnavyvet27
by Msnavyvet27

This stand alone closet is great it took a few moments to put it together and then it was up and running. I use it to the maximum and haven't had any problems I'm loving it! Attach a pic for u to see

Was this review helpful? (176) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Msnavyvet27
Philadelphia, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good enough
9/29/2009

Customer review by j123Consumer

4.0 stars 9/29/2009 by j123Consumer
by j123Consumer

When I moved to a new apartment that had NO closests, this was the perfect alternative. I use it to hold all of my winter gear (several heavy jackets, rain suits, snowpants, boots, etc.) and to store camping gear and other overflow items. The design of the unit is really great and very functional... however it is a little rickety and you have to put in some extra muscle to make sure everything is connected properly. It could be manufactured with stronger materials, but this'll work for now.

Was this review helpful? (88) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
j123Consumer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for anyone that needs to organize a closet
8/18/2010

Customer review by shoptilidrop82

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by shoptilidrop82
by shoptilidrop82

I bought this for my baby's closet because it didn't have any rods. It's perfect!!! It was extremely easy to assemble and it's very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (118) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoptilidrop82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME PRODUCT IS A MUST BUY!
11/25/2013

Customer review by avidsinger1971

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by avidsinger1971
by avidsinger1971

I purchased this item last week and I have to say it exceeded all of my expectations. It is exactly what I needed. I was able to place all of my heavy winter clothes, coat, and jewelry box, and various other items. It was easy to assemble but it is true you will need something with a little weight to it to make sure the pieces are snug, so I used my 3lb hand weight which did the trick. I LOVE IT. I have a few family members that are now going to buy this. So, if you are looking for an organizer this is a GREAT BUY and QUALITY PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (73) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avidsinger1971
Clementon,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
worth every penny.
5/28/2011

Customer review by TheSmarterBuyer

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by TheSmarterBuyer
by TheSmarterBuyer

holds 35 wooden flat hangers on top bar and 35 more on the bottom bar. put my printer on first shelf, and scanner on next, and 2 large canvas bins on the 3rd and 4th shelves to hold jeans and sweaters. Put some nice smaller canvas bins on the top parts for socks, boxers, and uindershirts. the 2 bars dont bend at all. it is a very sturdy device. required no tools. It isnt ugly either. its nice looking once the clothes on canvas bins are on it. the price is great too. will buy again if i need another one.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSmarterBuyer
Langhorne, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good product
10/24/2009

Customer review by WalmartShopperAtCA

4.0 stars 10/24/2009 by WalmartShopperAtCA
by WalmartShopperAtCA

This is a good product to buy. One person's all the clothing can be accommodated. The one disadvantage of this product is that it does not have castor wheels to move. Once you assemble and hang your clothes, it is hard to move. Everything else is good.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartShopperAtCA
El Cerrito, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it !!
4/16/2013

Customer review by dopegurl

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by dopegurl
by dopegurl

i love this freestanding closet, its affordable and it holds alot of stuff.The only problem i had with this, was the color it didnt go with my girly themed room, so i had to decorate it a bit wit ribbon and duct tape so it could look a bit girly. but besides that i love it. i also love that it have that extra shelf at the bottom so i could display my shoes. hope this was helpful :).

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dopegurl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect and great fit!!
3/22/2012

Customer review by Trudee85

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by Trudee85
by Trudee85

This is a great product. I love it.I purchased 2 because I have alot of clothes and I was turning a room into a walk in closet. I put them both together myself and it was very easy and kinda fun! I use one with the double racks, for top and bottom usage. I used the other with out the center rack that way I could hang my dresses. I would purchase another one in the future. Check out the pics.

Was this review helpful? (54) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trudee85
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sturdy and Large
12/8/2010

Customer review by AlleyKatt

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by AlleyKatt
by AlleyKatt

I have several storage areas throughout my home but not much closet space in the bedrooms. This item is perfect for making a storage area into an extra closet for clothes, without requiring any drilling into my walls to put up clothes racks. The item is very sturdy and nicely placed together, just be very careful when assembling or place a piece on wrong when assembling it – we snapped a plastic piece when trying to pull it back out after realizing we assembled it backwards (nothing a little super glue can’t handle). Overall, very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlleyKatt
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Is this what we get for $50?
1/18/2011

Customer review by commonsensepeople

3.0 stars 1/18/2011 by commonsensepeople
by commonsensepeople

I've had it for 2 weeks now. I haven't had it loaded down heavily since I just use it to hang things I've taken from the dryer, so for what I do with it, it works. But here's the biggest complaint: The top wire shelf of the thing is directly above the hanger rod. In fact, one wire of the top shelf is centered directly over the hanger rod. They are so close together (about an inch) that it's tough to get hangers on or off the hanger rod, especially with clothes on them. To remedy this, I took a pair of lineman's pliers and cut and removed the wire directly above the hanger rod. This makes it usable.

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
commonsensepeople
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good for the price.
11/17/2010

Customer review by fashion2010

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by fashion2010
by fashion2010

I really love this product. I have over 150 pieces of clothing on the rods and about 20 pairs of jeans plus shoes on the side racks. If you're looking for a product that will hold an entire wardrobe, this will be great for you.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fashion2010
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looked good on paper
8/27/2009

Customer review by Moneysense

2.0 stars 8/27/2009 by Moneysense
by Moneysense

Purchased this for an extra closet--to hold coats and sweatshirts. It went together easy enough--but was far less than sturdy once it was all together. Too light weight for my purposes. It might be good for light weight items--but not coats. It wouldn't have necessarily fallen over, but it didn't look like it would last either.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moneysense
Seattle, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
sturdy,clean lines, very useful
3/23/2011

Customer review by debbiedirt

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by debbiedirt
by debbiedirt

Having read some reviews saying that this clothes rack fell down, I was skeptical. The box says no tools installation. If you use no tools, it likely will fall down. It is nearly impossible to get the metal rods into the plastic holes all the way with nothing but your hands. A rubber mallet does the trick. I don't think this rack would fall apart if hit with a vehicle now. I bought it as my only clothes closet, as I just moved into a 24 foot yurt and did not build in a closet. Attractive, good quality. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debbiedirt
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is wonderful!
8/13/2011

Customer review by klutzprez

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by klutzprez
by klutzprez

I bought this closet because there is only one built-in closet in my whole house and it isn't in my bedroom. I got tired of either having to go through the house to get clothes or having piles of clothing stacked around my bedroom. The Whitmor closet is much bigger than I expected, especially after seeing the little box in which it was shipped. It said "no tool assembly", but having read at least one review that said the connections had to be solid or the closet would fall apart, I used a hammer (gently) to make sure everything fit together and would stay together. It looks nice and definitely does its job. The side shelves are quite large also and hold my shoes and other accessories quite well. The only complaint I have is that the top hanging rod is too close to the top shelf, so one has to hold the hanger horizontally to get it over the rod. What I did was put on all the hangers I wanted to use, then hung the clothing on them - I use the top rod for button-up clothes that don't require taking the hanger down. Other than that one complaint, I am completely satisfied with the Whitmor freestanding closet.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klutzprez
Oshkosh WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Saving Space!
9/19/2012

Customer review by MooqieLove

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by MooqieLove
by MooqieLove

This wire rack is fantastic! I live in a college dorm and am a design student so I constantly have craft supplies, fabric, fashion clothing and needles and pins everywhere! In previous years I have kept everything under my lofted bed and had to go digging for supplies when I needed them (every day)! This rack now holds all of my textbooks, fabric, sketchbook, garments and sewing projects in an easy to find space! I also bought the organizing basket and hanging organizer to go with it and all of them total was about $80. It was really easy to put together as well. I did it by myself in my tiny dorm room and it took about 30-40 minutes. Some of the bars were a little bent though, making it hard to assemble. Also, depending what's in the organizer, it can lean. I sandwiched mine between the wall and mini fridge when I saw this was happening. The size is huge, it holds a lot, but it still fits in my dorm with a bed, desk, fridge, TV,m dresser and other organizing boxes/shelves.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MooqieLove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty good overall
8/3/2010

Customer review by Ohitsjustlovely

4.0 stars 8/3/2010 by Ohitsjustlovely
by Ohitsjustlovely

This product definitely met my expectations. The only criticism I have is that it bends a little where the shelving unit meets the closet rails in the middle, which might be partly my fault during installation. This causes the entire structure to shift a little to the left. It not too noticeable on mine, and like I said, it's probably due to the fact that I didn't make sure all of the pieces were very tightly snug when I put them together. The directions say to get a very tight fit between the plastic connectors and the metal polls- do not take this lightly! It is vital if you want the frame to be sturdy and stand perpendicular to the floor. Other than that, though, it holds all of my summer clothes, along with a few dresses, and the lower rack for pants is perfect for skirts, sweaters, pants, etc. The shelving on the side is very roomy- large boxes or crates could easily fit into the room provided. Overall, an efficient use of space and very helpful if you live in an apartment with no closet!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ohitsjustlovely
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
4/13/2014

Customer review by SPICYgrits

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by SPICYgrits
by SPICYgrits

I was pleasantly surprised at this closet. It is much larger than I expected. It is so easy to put together and the only tool needed is a hammer to nail the pieces together secure. I love it, it fit so well beside my shoe rack. I only needed extra space to go along with my other racks that are on the wall in my closet. I just love the price also , you get your money's worth .

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPICYgrits
dothan,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value, fair product
2/6/2012

Customer review by newme2012

3.0 stars 2/6/2012 by newme2012
by newme2012

Works for me. Transforming tiny bedroom into walkin closet but didn't want to pay for those expensive closet organizing systems or go through the hassle of affixing anything to the walls. So put this together in a jif and waala...For those reviewers that said it feel apart, they probably didn't make sure the poles were snapped fully into place. I realized that when I started assembling it myself it seemed a little rickety but my husband came in and took over and when he did it he pushed the poles in until you heard them click into place.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newme2012
washington, dc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too Small, too meek
1/8/2011

Customer review by SnagleTooth

1.0 stars 1/8/2011 by SnagleTooth
by SnagleTooth

This is probably great for small kids. I'm 6'3, so in order to hang anything I had to remove the center bar. On my girlfriends, she's small so she has the center bar in place. We have it filled, not over stuffed, with cloths and it's not strong enough to hold them all. We've had these for a few months now and I wish I'd spent a couple hundred to get a product that would last instead of cheeping out.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnagleTooth
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 724 total reviews
1-20 of 724 reviews