Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
18
1-20 of 72 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
A great value
6/25/2009

Customer review by Griswald34

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by Griswald34
by Griswald34

I'm currently on the fence with Blu Ray, but I'm waiting for the prices to drop - just too expensive still for me. So I decided to get an upconvert player and was looking for something cheap, since I will some day soon want to get blu ray. I found this player and the price was cheap, but the quality is not. I tested it immediately by putting in a copy of the Matrix, which is over 5 years old and full of scratches - it played it perfectly. And more, the image quality is great. Definitely a noticeable difference than in a regular DVD player. The controller works great and the menus are very functional and easy to use. It was very easy to set up the video (changed from 4:3 to widescreen) and audio how I wanted. It looks sleek, the disc tray opens/closes nicely and seems very well-built; doesn't seem like it should break from normal wear and tear. The only drawback with these players is that the HDMI cables are not included - all brands.

Was this review helpful? (95) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Griswald34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent product for a good price
11/10/2009

Customer review by Syric

5.0 stars 11/10/2009 by Syric
by Syric

I purchased this back when it was $39 in store and have never had any issues with it. Granted, the avi/divx compatibility is a bit misleading (It will not play bare media files) but, I've never seen it refuse a properly formatted DVD. May just be the placement of my player, but the remote seems a bit dodgy, but this is easily solved with a $4 universal remote. Overall a great value if one is willing to learn and put up with a few kinks.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Syric
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
What a Find
7/7/2009

Customer review by SimplertheBetter

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by SimplertheBetter
by SimplertheBetter

First of all, I couldn't believe the price: in store the player cost $38 (the HDMI cable that I used to connect from the player to the TV was $32 more), but what a great picture! And installation doesn't get much easier than that. Actually, I did call the Magnavox support line, because the manual was a little confusing to me and we have Directv plus the TV and DVD player - didn't understand which cable goes to what. The lady who took my call could not have been more informed and helpful, and the player was hooked up in no time! I highly recommend this DVD player!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimplertheBetter
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Plays most burned dvds
5/24/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/24/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought and tried out a few different "cheap" dvd players, since they seem to work the best at playing back burned dvds. This one is the one I ended up keeping, as it plays almost all of my burned dvd movies. I would say at least 90% play on this dvd player. It's still working great-I've had it for about seven months now no problems.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
8/6/2009

Customer review by kmitch

1.0 stars 8/6/2009 by kmitch
by kmitch

I bought this for 39.99 and thought what a great deal!..It said it plays all formats of DVD but it s not true. Does not play DVD-R or Divx...Picture is ok..Gave to my newphew, bought a Sony.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmitch
Chattanooga, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
looks good, performs good:)
1/14/2011

Customer review by 2spendwisely

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by 2spendwisely
by 2spendwisely

Im pretty picky when it comes to my electronics, i search,review and select by price and quality..im pleased with this purchase from walmart after careful consideration...shes sleek,easy to read buttons and set up is fast....i can speak for myself but i dont tend to steer anyone wrong either....i think you would be pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2spendwisely
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A wonderful Product
10/1/2009

Customer review by camperboy

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by camperboy
by camperboy

I just bought my DVD player. WOW the differnce there was in this one from my old one. the upconvert really makes the picture better. I really loved the price that my walmart store had. never again will I go ack to the old DVD players.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camperboy
Effingham Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Who needs Blu-Ray?
8/6/2010

Customer review by SouthernCross61

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by SouthernCross61
by SouthernCross61

I wasn't quite ready to jump into Blu-Ray but wanted to get the most out of my DVD collection on my new 58 inch plasma tv. I thought this player would be a good way to see how well the upconvert players actually work without shelling out too much money (was $39 when I bought it.) At first I wasn't impressed, but then I finally went into the "settings" and got the right aspect ratio setting for the DVD (make sure you do this) and I was AMAZED. Even though I had watched this movie (Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy) a dozen times, it was like I was watching a new version. The picture was sharp and clear and the colors popped right out of the screen. It was the same as I went thru my collection and watched other old favorites. To test if the player actually upconverted to full 1080P HD, when ABC broadcast "King Kong" I put in my disc and compared by switching back and forth (BTW, terrible movie, don't waste 3 hrs of your life). There was no difference between the HD broadcast picture and the DVD player except the picture on the player was slightly darker, but barely noticeable. One thing to keep in mind-ABC broadcasts in 720P HD, so whether this player actually upconverts to full 1080P is still an open question-but either way, the picture resolution is still terrific. A couple of minor complaints-3 years before I had bought a Magnavox DVD recorder, and this player uses the same remote frequency. I run my satellite thru the recorder so I keep it on all the time, and if I'm watching a movie on the player a couple of times I've accidentally recorded on the disc in the recorder. Sometimes I'll watch a movie on the player while I record, and I have to be carefull not to hit the pause or stop button. I know it's cheap, but Magnavox could have used another remote frequency. Occasionally the player will go unresponsive, and I have to unplug and plug back in to get it to work. This has happened a half-dozen times in a year-considering I use it 3-4 times a week it's not more than a minor annoyance (I have an RCA cd player that does the same thing a lot more often.) If you're on a budget and want a good player, or your not ready to jump to Blu-Ray yet but want HD quality for your discs, I highly recommend this product. I've been very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernCross61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Terrible DVD Player
1/4/2010

Customer review by teldjw

1.0 stars 1/4/2010 by teldjw
by teldjw

I bought this DVD player about 6 months ago and it stopped working after about 2-3 months of ownership. It worked great and then one day it stopped reading discs. I tried all kinds of DVDs in it and it won't play any of them not even brand new ones! This is a terrible product and I recommend you find a different brand like Sony.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teldjw
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time.
5/23/2010

Customer review by stuett3

1.0 stars 5/23/2010 by stuett3
by stuett3

Bought this a couple of weeks ago,and wished I would have spent a little more money because this dvd is not worth the little I paid for it. The movies stop and start and when it comes to the ending of a movie it stops and starts over before showing the ending...

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stuett3
Spring Hill, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/21/2010

Customer review by bigcannon

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by bigcannon
by bigcannon

I purchased this product because I already own the same item. It wouldn't work one day, and I saw this item at the phenomenal price, and thought I could replace it easier than I could get it repaired. However reading some of the other reviews on this products problems, I found out that if I unplugged it for a short time (which I did but to no avail) that it would start working, again. I unplugged it again, and it worked. It has done a couple of times since, but now that I know what to do, I don't mind. This DVD player is one of the better ones that I have had. I have a 42" Plasma TV with an HDMI connection, and I think it looks just as good as Blu Ray

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigcannon
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
yuck
8/16/2010

Customer review by mandy62

1.0 stars 8/16/2010 by mandy62
by mandy62

If your looking for cheap this is it. If your looking to sit back and enjoy your dvds don't waste your money...because they skip stop in the middle and if you rent its really bad. I have not had 1 dvd play all the way thru new or used

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mandy62
phoenix,az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
up convert broken by up
1/1/2010

Customer review by spazin

1.0 stars 1/1/2010 by spazin
by spazin

We just bought this dvd player. It did just that, played one dvd then broke. My boys only watched "UP" one time and the player now clicks and grinds when the drive door is closed, with or without a disk in the drive. Thats why I say up convert broken by UP. I bet I could have paid my neighbor $34 and he would have let my kids watch the movie at least 2 times. Going back to the store ASAP!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spazin
Would recommend to a friend? No
no good
12/17/2009

Customer review by SimoneSez

1.0 stars 12/17/2009 by SimoneSez
by SimoneSez

don't waste your time. this doesn't play divx or avi files. back to walmart it goes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimoneSez
ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not a goog product
8/19/2009

Customer review by g1103

2.0 stars 8/19/2009 by g1103
by g1103

price is good, product is not. really bad upconversion, it wont play divx or avi files, going back to store after 1 day. stay away from this unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
g1103
Would recommend to a friend? No
dont work
11/7/2009

Customer review by realdude9

1.0 stars 11/7/2009 by realdude9
by realdude9

dont work - returned for another one same problem plays for a while but next time will not power up by button or remote - have plugged into different cords sockets same problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
realdude9
Jackson,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
you get what you pay for
3/23/2010

Customer review by Fe26MIKE

1.0 stars 3/23/2010 by Fe26MIKE
by Fe26MIKE

I purchased this player about a year ago, because the price of blu-ray at the time was still high, and I wanted to see if this player would give me a better picture quality w/out shelling out alot of cash. I had it hooked up to two different monitors, a standard definition tv (using component video cables) and my lcd computer monitor (using HDMI). I noticed NO DIFFERENCE in picture quality between the two. This, was of course...when the player actually came on...which was random at best. For some reason, after working fine a few times and then being turned off, it would refuse to power up again. I would have to un-hook all of the cables from it, and unplug it from the surge protector, let it sit for a while, then plug everything back up. Sometimes this would fix the problem...other times it would just decide to work again whenever it felt like it. I finally got tired of the aggrevation and got rid of it. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fe26MIKE
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Extremely Disappointed
12/16/2009

Customer review by FunctionB4Form

1.0 stars 12/16/2009 by FunctionB4Form
by FunctionB4Form

Where do I begin? 2 months ago I purchased this DVD player for a pretty low price and thought I found myself one heck of a deal. It worked absolutely awesome, then BBBBOOOOOOMMMM!! this thing would not scan diddly squat! I remember not that long ago when the name Magnavox brought quality along with its name, not any more! Do not be fooled by the brand name, this player is junk. Buy a Sony, it will cost a little bit more but it will save you a lot of aggravation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunctionB4Form
Central Point, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
5/6/2010

Customer review by GiantKiller

5.0 stars 5/6/2010 by GiantKiller
by GiantKiller

This dvd Player will take the place of a real cheap one that was in my 27ft RV. I now have the capability of watching Blueray on my 19inch LCD in the RV. Works great at a real nice price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GiantKiller
Las Cruces NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
2/1/2010

Customer review by doc12345

1.0 stars 2/1/2010 by doc12345
by doc12345

It would have been nice to know that this dvd player can not be used with Dish HD. I ended up giving it to someone who had cable. not happy

Was this review helpful? (0) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doc12345
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews