Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
24
1-20 of 168 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
Amazingly powerful handheld vacuum.
10/17/2009

Customer review by ThrowingShade

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by ThrowingShade
by ThrowingShade

I saw an infommercial of this item a few weeks back and was intrigued. Imagine my delight when I walk into Walmart and see it at the lowest price yet! It's important to note that you need to charge this item for at least a full 24 hours to get the maximum battery life. This thing is a joy around the house! It's the best for reaching awkward crevices and angles. I love the 4 foot hose, it makes it 10 times more useful and versatile. It really shines when you use it in the car, no more huge shop vacuums or weak suction handhelds. It has the power to do the job right the first time. My few gripes are these: The motorized brush attachment would've been a nice addition. Instead it's extra. I also wish you had at least 4-5 minutes more per charge Vs. 7-8 minutes. And make sure you time your cleaning right because when it dies it needs at least 4-6 hours to get a decent charge. I like it much better than the Dyson handhelds and at $65. its the cheapest on the internet or otherwise. Thank you for low prices Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (123) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThrowingShade
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Supplement to a Big Cumbersome Vacuume
5/30/2013

Customer review by RiseAbove

4.0 stars 5/30/2013 by RiseAbove
by RiseAbove

Bought this yesterday, and while I waited the loong 21 hours for it to charge, I went online and read reviews from several sites. I ALMOST returned it without even giving it a chance. I didn't want to get it dusty and return it a used item. I'm glad my curiosity got the best of me, and what the heck, I gave it a test run. Thinking I only had 5-6 minutes run time, I chose my task carefully. I cleaned the edges, seams and baseboards on the stairway, and it was still going strong. I turned it off, and fired up the stop watch on my iPhone, and decided to document how long this little cutie really ran on its maiden voyage. It did a great job on the stairs, so I moved to a tiny "watercloset" in the bathroom that is too cramped to bring the full sized vacuum into. It's awkward to clean the floor, baseboards, or door panels behind the door, because you cant close the door with the full sized vacuum in there. The B&D Flex was what I've need all along for this teeny tiny bathroom! So easy to get behind the tank, in the crevices of the window track. It was still going strong, so I cleaned the baseboards and all the tight spots my large vacuum doesn't reach in the bathrooms and bedrooms upstairs. It finally started to lose power, and I clicked off the stopwatch (see photo at right) at 11 minutes, 49 seconds. This did not include the run time spent on the stairs, before I even started timing it! The other photo you see at the right, is what I found when I opened it up to empty it after this quickie cleaning session. It picked up a lot! Even better, it was simple to clean. I dumped most of it out into the trash can. Some stuff remained, so I turned the center thing counter clockwise and all of the debris came out at once. I tapped that plastic center thing on the trash can edge. Then, best of all, I pulled out the paper filter thing and tapped the dust off into the trash. The paper filter thing is my biggest pet peeve about small vacuum cleaners. I DESPISE having to pick a bunch of hair, dirt and dust off those paper accordion things. If I was cool with delving that close into the muck, why did I just use a vacuum cleaner to do the job? Yuck! The design on this little B&D Flex really does a fine job of filtering out the big mess before it ever reaches the paper filter. All that made its way to the paper filter was dust, which was easily tapped into the trash. It was nearly white again, with very little efffort. The only reason I gave this four stars instead of five, is the charge time is really long AND because it has a blue "charging light" that tells you no more than the fact that the unit is plugged in. It does not go off, or change colors to tell you when the unit is fully charged. How dumb is that? You plug it in and it turns blue and stays blue, no matter what the status of the battery is! I also found the instructions difficult to read. At first glance, it looks like a booklet of nothing but electrical warnings. The most important information is buried in a bunch of verbiage. They really should add a quick start guide, in color, or at least organized with better titles and headings. Still, I love this little thing! I bought it for my son's tiny apartment, and now I don't want to let it leave my own house! It's a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (62) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiseAbove
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SUPER VAC!!!
11/9/2010

Customer review by usmchowe

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by usmchowe
by usmchowe

I DON'T NORMALLY WRITE REVIEWS BUT THIS VAC DESERVES PRAISE!!! I WAS CAUTIOUS ABOUT BUYING A RECHARGABLE VAC. THIS TURNS OUT TO HAVE SUPER POWER, PLENTY OF BATTERY LIFE AND THE PET HAIR ATTACHMENT IS THE BEST ADD ON I HAVE EVER SEEN!!! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!

Was this review helpful? (52) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
usmchowe
Horseheads, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good, But Plan To Return
2/5/2010

Customer review by Kreed632

4.0 stars 2/5/2010 by Kreed632
by Kreed632

Although this vacuum is quite powerful, I was very disappointed in the limited battery life. From a full charge (24hrs to fully charge), you're dead within 10 minutes. Maybe my expectations are a little too high, but I found to be a major fault. Of course it is very lightweight, and is easily stored. But you would be better off with a similar corded vacuum for a much lesser price. For the occasional quick clean up, it's fine. But just not what I needed it for.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kreed632
Coastal, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4 years old and running strong!
2/20/2013

Customer review by Kerjner

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by Kerjner
by Kerjner

I bought the FHV1200 about 4 years ago. My long term "test" has been great with this little workhorse. I use it almost daily and i have had no issues. I'm still using the original filter the vacuum came with. I would recommend changing it once a year... but seeing as i have had no issues i haven't bothered. Things to consider: 1.) Battery time is about 10-12 minutes. Honestly if you need more time then it's usually a job for a larger vacuum. It's a hand vac so you will have more than enough battery time for typical quick cleanups. 2.) You do have to empty it out one or two cleanings. I would also recommend quickly snapping out the filter and tapping in your garbage can. That removes dust from the filter and keeps the vacuum suction at an optimal level. 3.) Completely drain the battery a couple of times a month for optimal battery performance over the long term. My vac is literally 4 years old and i still get that 10-12 minutes. The quality of the vacuum is great and the attachments are just what is needed for quick jobs. I can't say enough about this little hand vac. I hope this helps you in your purchase decision on this vac.

Was this review helpful? (31) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kerjner
Palm Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Its ok if you're only going to use for 5 minutes
5/26/2011

Customer review by HuBoss

1.0 stars 5/26/2011 by HuBoss
by HuBoss

Charged the unit all day came home to vacuum my car, used it for 5 minutes and charge ran out. I read the reviews that some people had the same issue but I figured B&D probably updated the units. Wrong! the vacuum only holds charge for 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HuBoss
Would recommend to a friend? No
Thought it was Great! until....
1/7/2011

Customer review by TXLNGHRNMOM

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by TXLNGHRNMOM
by TXLNGHRNMOM

Initially I thought it was great. It was so handy for cleaning up messes in my car. Although the battery life was horrible it did such a good job I just lived with it. Well it seemed the battery life kept getting shorter and shorter so I kept charging it more thinking maybe my husband had used it between chargings. Then I finally realize the problem was it will no longer hold a charge. When I turn it on it sounds like it's going to work and then it just gets weaker and weaker. Extremely disappointed! Not worth the money! We only used it occassionally too so there was no reason for the battery to go bad so fast.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXLNGHRNMOM
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great, powerful, small cordless vac!
2/1/2014

Customer review by HMH3

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by HMH3
by HMH3

I was contemplating getting this vac or the Dyson handheld for $160 & I opted to give this a try for $50. I purchased this vac to keep up with the dog fur around our home & all the crumbs & little messes that happen as a result of having 3 kiddos. I am VERY pleased with this purchase! I love this little vac, it works great! I saw the reviews stating that it has a poor battery life, however that has not been my experience. It runs 15-20min on average. It states in the instruction manual that you may need to charge/discharge the vac a minimum of 5 times in order to achieve the best running time & you do need to charge it for at least 21hours before it's first use. I use it daily & it does not disappoint! Works great on pet fur, crumbs & has enough power to suck up change, screws, bolts etc. It has a reuseable/washable filter, attachments and a hose to get behind things easier. My 6 year old loves to use it as well, it's pretty lightweight! Overall I think this is an exceptional little vac!

Was this review helpful? (42) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HMH3
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/15/2010

Customer review by chaosbean

4.0 stars 11/15/2010 by chaosbean
by chaosbean

This is great if you have pets and kids! I use mine for household messes such as spilled dry goods or crackers crushed in the floor and quick detailing of the van. It has the power of a canister sweeper without the lugging around of the thing!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chaosbean
Victoria, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall its a great little vac
9/25/2012

Customer review by NJPrepper321

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by NJPrepper321
by NJPrepper321

I made a in depth video review that you can check it out on YouTube.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJPrepper321
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does everything I need it for.
12/1/2010

Customer review by AMA6930

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by AMA6930
by AMA6930

I was looking for a portable vacuum and found this one in a Wal-Mart store. The weight and style of it caught my attention. I figured I would give it a try because of the brand name. I charged it for a full day and could not believe the the power of it. I needed it for small jobs and it worked fine. The weight and size of it made it very easy to use. The power has not died down on it yet, and I have already used it for 20 minutes once. All I have to do is plug it in after each use for a few hours, and it is ready for me the next time. You just have to be a little patient with it in the charging procedure. Of course, it is not made for large jobs, but for small jobs that you don't want to pull out the large vacuum with it's cord it is excellent. Love it so much, I just bought another for my office.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMA6930
New York State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome
11/16/2009

Customer review by Vermont05446

5.0 stars 11/16/2009 by Vermont05446
by Vermont05446

This product is great. Lightweight, works well. Everyone should own one of these.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vermont05446
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
24hrs Charge = 10 Min. Usage
5/18/2010

Customer review by DLPP

1.0 stars 5/18/2010 by DLPP
by DLPP

Unit needs 24 Hrs. to be fully charged. You get 10 minutes of usage in return. Is this energy efficient????? Great power but really not useful! Who can really get something vacuumed in 10 minutes?

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DLPP
Rochester
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Definitely a Dynamite little Vac
8/24/2010

Customer review by ConsiderThis1

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by ConsiderThis1
by ConsiderThis1

I have solar electricity. My old canister vac required more electric than my inverter can supply. I was very happy to see a little cordless vac, and ordered it. The reviews were good, so I trusted it would work well, and it does. It's great. It's got really good power, it's easy to empty, it's cute... what more is there?

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsiderThis1
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
10/14/2013

Customer review by GGram43

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by GGram43
by GGram43

I do not own one of these neat little vacuums yet but my daughter does and I have used it many times when visiting with her. She has 2 small children and there is a need to clean up after they have had a meal or a snack and I really like this vacuum. She also has a dog and this vacuum picks up the dog hair like no other. It is so easy to use on stairs and just doing light cleaning in between regular cleaning. Haven't tried using it to clean my car, but I will as soon as I get mine. I was surprised when I read the reviews of it not holding its charge very long. Maybe they should have returned it and got a replacement. There are always some products that have flaws. B& D will not know of this problem if people do not return the product to let them know there is a problem that needs looked into. No company wants there products not living up to the name that is on it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GGram43
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Perfect Hand Vac!
2/25/2011

Customer review by DanieleB

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by DanieleB
by DanieleB

I've had this little guy for 6 months or so and it works beautifully! I keep it in the kitchen and it cleans up anything in its path. It has strong suction and has remained consistent from day one. It has never clogged. I use it around the house to spot clean. I use it on the stairs and it does an awesome job. I have never been so pleased with a vacuum before and trust me I've been through many. This one is a keeper. I've recommended it many people. I even let people borrow it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanieleB
Liberty Hill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2 Minutes on Full Charge
7/21/2011

Customer review by artfan1

1.0 stars 7/21/2011 by artfan1
by artfan1

I see others have usage times of 2-30 minutes. Some say 5, others 10, another says 30 minutes (I wish). I have fully charged this vacuum 3 times and never get more than 2 minutes before it shuts off. And the last 30 seconds of that, there is little or no suction. Since others have much longer vacuum times on full charges, I would assume this is a bad batch of batteries or some other defect. I am returning it for now, but am hopeful they fix this issue because it is one of the best looking and useful designs for a small cordless vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artfan1
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
it sucks
10/24/2013

Customer review by mellayella

1.0 stars 10/24/2013 by mellayella
by mellayella

I've owned this vac for about 3 1/2 months now and it still has moderately good suction, although it's not as strong as when I first bought it. The major problem is after fully charging it (overnight) or just charging for 2-3 hours - either way - the vac will not hold a charge longer than one and a half minutes! Useless!!! if you want to vac out your car. I barely got my central heat/ac air filter (16" x 24") vacuumed before it quit If it had done this in the beginning, I would have returned it but it is now two months past return date, so I'm stuck with it. I don't recommend this black & decker vac or anything with the black & decker name on it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mellayella
MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Secret Weapon 2
1/22/2011

Customer review by Smi1e99

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Smi1e99
by Smi1e99

This little vacuum is a must have after basic food needs. For me it is all about the round rubber attachment that is not well advertised. Whoever invented that accessory made this a success. It is this attachment that everyone refers to as the pet hair picker upper.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smi1e99
Calgary, AB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Powerful
2/8/2010

Customer review by Whyisnicknamesoimportant

4.0 stars 2/8/2010 by Whyisnicknamesoimportant
by Whyisnicknamesoimportant

I bought this yesterday. I haven't used it much but I would like to let all the other reviewer's and people that are looking at this product to know that if they looked on the Black & Decker Web-Site, there is a wall mount that can be purchased for about $10 + shipping. It also comes with a shoulder strap to carry the unit. You will find it in the product "Accessories" link.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whyisnicknamesoimportant
Milwaukee WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews