Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 256 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

256 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

256 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
50
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
34
1-20 of 244 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews
Great Supplement to a Big Cumbersome Vacuume
5/30/2013

Customer review by RiseAbove

4.0 stars 5/30/2013 by RiseAbove
by RiseAbove

Bought this yesterday, and while I waited the loong 21 hours for it to charge, I went online and read reviews from several sites. I ALMOST returned it without even giving it a chance. I didn't want to get it dusty and return it a used item. I'm glad my curiosity got the best of me, and what the heck, I gave it a test run. Thinking I only had 5-6 minutes run time, I chose my task carefully. I cleaned the edges, seams and baseboards on the stairway, and it was still going strong. I turned it off, and fired up the stop watch on my iPhone, and decided to document how long this little cutie really ran on its maiden voyage. It did a great job on the stairs, so I moved to a tiny "watercloset" in the bathroom that is too cramped to bring the full sized vacuum into. It's awkward to clean the floor, baseboards, or door panels behind the door, because you cant close the door with the full sized vacuum in there. The B&D Flex was what I've need all along for this teeny tiny bathroom! So easy to get behind the tank, in the crevices of the window track. It was still going strong, so I cleaned the baseboards and all the tight spots my large vacuum doesn't reach in the bathrooms and bedrooms upstairs. It finally started to lose power, and I clicked off the stopwatch (see photo at right) at 11 minutes, 49 seconds. This did not include the run time spent on the stairs, before I even started timing it! The other photo you see at the right, is what I found when I opened it up to empty it after this quickie cleaning session. It picked up a lot! Even better, it was simple to clean. I dumped most of it out into the trash can. Some stuff remained, so I turned the center thing counter clockwise and all of the debris came out at once. I tapped that plastic center thing on the trash can edge. Then, best of all, I pulled out the paper filter thing and tapped the dust off into the trash. The paper filter thing is my biggest pet peeve about small vacuum cleaners. I DESPISE having to pick a bunch of hair, dirt and dust off those paper accordion things. If I was cool with delving that close into the muck, why did I just use a vacuum cleaner to do the job? Yuck! The design on this little B&D Flex really does a fine job of filtering out the big mess before it ever reaches the paper filter. All that made its way to the paper filter was dust, which was easily tapped into the trash. It was nearly white again, with very little efffort. The only reason I gave this four stars instead of five, is the charge time is really long AND because it has a blue "charging light" that tells you no more than the fact that the unit is plugged in. It does not go off, or change colors to tell you when the unit is fully charged. How dumb is that? You plug it in and it turns blue and stays blue, no matter what the status of the battery is! I also found the instructions difficult to read. At first glance, it looks like a booklet of nothing but electrical warnings. The most important information is buried in a bunch of verbiage. They really should add a quick start guide, in color, or at least organized with better titles and headings. Still, I love this little thing! I bought it for my son's tiny apartment, and now I don't want to let it leave my own house! It's a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (129) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RiseAbove
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Overall its a great little vac
9/25/2012

Customer review by NJPrepper321

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by NJPrepper321
by NJPrepper321

I made a in depth video review that you can check it out on YouTube.

Was this review helpful? (40) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJPrepper321
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the car!
5/6/2016

Customer review by HANGUPS

4.0 stars 5/6/2016 by HANGUPS
by HANGUPS

I purchased this to vacuum my new car! New car? New vacuum! I didn't want a clunky Dust Buster, as it just doesn't get IN where it needs to! I didn't want to haul out the big Shop Vac and extension cord just to clean up the weekly dirt! So I looked for something small, yet flexible, and here it was!!!! The downfall comes with the battery, as it is a NiCd battery. It lasts for about 12 minutes...TOPS...so work fast, and don't leave it on as you go from one section to another! Use sparingly, as it then takes 9 hours to recharge! I DID see, after this purchase, that they make a similar model with a lithium battery, but they add a floor wand (long extension you'd use for floors!) which is totally unnecessary for this type of vac! I can't imagine buying this unit to clean my FLOORS! It might be worth the price difference, however, if the battery were to last longer! There IS a 2 year warranty on this unit, so if you have issues, it is under warranty! GREAT IDEA.... GOOD SUCTION.... Just not enough of it at one time! (Battery!)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HANGUPS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazingly powerful handheld vacuum.
10/17/2009

Customer review by ThrowingShade

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by ThrowingShade
by ThrowingShade

I saw an infommercial of this item a few weeks back and was intrigued. Imagine my delight when I walk into Walmart and see it at the lowest price yet! It's important to note that you need to charge this item for at least a full 24 hours to get the maximum battery life. This thing is a joy around the house! It's the best for reaching awkward crevices and angles. I love the 4 foot hose, it makes it 10 times more useful and versatile. It really shines when you use it in the car, no more huge shop vacuums or weak suction handhelds. It has the power to do the job right the first time. My few gripes are these: The motorized brush attachment would've been a nice addition. Instead it's extra. I also wish you had at least 4-5 minutes more per charge Vs. 7-8 minutes. And make sure you time your cleaning right because when it dies it needs at least 4-6 hours to get a decent charge. I like it much better than the Dyson handhelds and at $65. its the cheapest on the internet or otherwise. Thank you for low prices Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (153) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThrowingShade
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great, powerful, small cordless vac!
2/1/2014

Customer review by HMH3

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by HMH3
by HMH3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was contemplating getting this vac or the Dyson handheld for $160 & I opted to give this a try for $50. I purchased this vac to keep up with the dog fur around our home & all the crumbs & little messes that happen as a result of having 3 kiddos. I am VERY pleased with this purchase! I love this little vac, it works great! I saw the reviews stating that it has a poor battery life, however that has not been my experience. It runs 15-20min on average. It states in the instruction manual that you may need to charge/discharge the vac a minimum of 5 times in order to achieve the best running time & you do need to charge it for at least 21hours before it's first use. I use it daily & it does not disappoint! Works great on pet fur, crumbs & has enough power to suck up change, screws, bolts etc. It has a reuseable/washable filter, attachments and a hose to get behind things easier. My 6 year old loves to use it as well, it's pretty lightweight! Overall I think this is an exceptional little vac!

Was this review helpful? (66) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HMH3
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful, flexible and capable
3/15/2016

Customer review by Hyde

5.0 stars 3/15/2016 by Hyde
by Hyde

I bought this to replace an old B&D that gave up the ghost. The reviews were excellent, even though it used Ni-Cad batteries and not L-Ion. After allowing to charge for a full 21 hours, it provides a full suction cleaning for 15 min+ with no loss of vacuum strength. The hose and accessories are great for reaching places in the house and car, and the pet hair attachment head is genius, it works better at removing pet hair than any other device of any kind, including lint rollers, special brushes, or even the most powerful $400 vacuum out there. Remember to run out the charge fully with a single use, do not use it for 30 sec "spot cleanings, or soon that is all it will be capable of. Ni-Cad batteries have a severe "memory effect" and learn bad behavior. If this had L-Ion batteries it would be 6 stars.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hyde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
6/8/2011

Customer review by hobiejeepguy

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by hobiejeepguy
by hobiejeepguy

Love this little guy. We have two cats in our 1000 sq foot condo with all hardwood floors it’s perfect for us. They did a great job on the design and they’ve used quality components. Well worth the price at $60. Here are some of my thoughts: - The hose was a great idea. Very comfortable to use (easier to swing a hose rather than the entire dustvac) - The hose allows me to point the motor fan away from the dirt I’m trying to vacuum. - The hose stores conveniently and easily around the vacuum - The hose end has a convenient flip down brush that I use when cleaning my white baseboards (avoid marks) - The transparent dirt windows let you see when it needs emptying - Dirt compartment is easy to empty and the filter is easy to clean. - It’s relatively quiet (just loud enough to scare the cats, haha) - It’s powerful enough to pick up dirt and crumbs - Battery hasn’t died on me while using it (15 minutes at a time) - It’s compact and sits on the floor in the corner of my home office

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hobiejeepguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sorry Not Impressed
11/17/2015

Customer review by kirads09

2.0 stars 11/17/2015 by kirads09
by kirads09

I picked this up as it has become too difficult for me to lug the big upright (Hoover Windtunnel) up and down stairs to vacuum them. Thought this would be perfect. I loved that it was cordless. It does - at best - what I would say is a barely adequate job. It does not have good suction. It does not pick up pet hair well (even with tool for that) It is too small and not aesthetically pleasing (odd awkward looking). The little place where the debris goes is small, gets full quickly and is messy to open and dump. Not very pleased for the price. Since I have used it about 3x now trying to give it a chance, won't bother to return. But debating whether to get rid of it all together or just keep to use for the car. I would just have to remember to charge it before I wanted to do that. The two available to me at the time were a small handheld Shark and this. I regret NOT getting the Shark and will likely replace it with that.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kirads09
Would recommend to a friend? No
Little vac
7/4/2016

Customer review by Sissyperry1960

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Sissyperry1960
by Sissyperry1960
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this little vacuum. This is my 2nd one, has so much power. The round make of this vacuum and length of hose is the best. Doesn't take up as much storage space as the dust buster, plus has much more power. Recommend to anyone thats looking for a small vac with lots of power, also works great with attachments.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sissyperry1960
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I thought it was great....
12/31/2015

Customer review by Ariesangel

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Ariesangel
by Ariesangel

Seemed like a nice powerful little vacuum right out of the box. That didnt last long at all. Soon it started dying if we didn't keep it on the charger between uses. Shortly after that it would start dying after a few minutes of use. Now it starts dying instantly and wont hold a charge at all. For the same price I can get a Shark handheld that will last longer.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ariesangel
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/14/2013

Customer review by GGram43

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by GGram43
by GGram43

I do not own one of these neat little vacuums yet but my daughter does and I have used it many times when visiting with her. She has 2 small children and there is a need to clean up after they have had a meal or a snack and I really like this vacuum. She also has a dog and this vacuum picks up the dog hair like no other. It is so easy to use on stairs and just doing light cleaning in between regular cleaning. Haven't tried using it to clean my car, but I will as soon as I get mine. I was surprised when I read the reviews of it not holding its charge very long. Maybe they should have returned it and got a replacement. There are always some products that have flaws. B& D will not know of this problem if people do not return the product to let them know there is a problem that needs looked into. No company wants there products not living up to the name that is on it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGram43
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Just what I was looking for
2/7/2016

Customer review by Critter

5.0 stars 2/7/2016 by Critter
by Critter

I have two cats and my bedroom is their home base, I also have a hubby with some allergy problems with them. I bath/brush out etc the girls every week and until now I lugged a full size shop vac into our room to clean the kitty tower, bedspread, lamp shades.. and wished there was such a thing as a hand held shop vac because I need a hose to get into crevices. I bought one with great excitement only to find out I should have read further because it's for a car lighter. This vacuum has All the power I could hope for, the charge lasted longer than my task at hand and I was so thrilled that I started looking for things to vacuum, like the up to my ceiling build in book shelves that of course I Never could use a shop vac for. Unlike on reviewer, the blue charging light Does turn off when charged. The rubber pet hair attachment actually worked far better than my old hand held with the rotating brushes. The vacuum is very light even for my tendonitis and was not clumsy at all and empties effortlessly. My personal tip for any vacuum of any size that uses a dump cup instead of a bag is after you dump it go outside and use canned air to blow out the filter thing and stuff. Oh, the hose is very flexible and easy to use and really Does stretch out far.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Critter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hand canister
7/20/2016

Customer review by JaniceA

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by JaniceA
by JaniceA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works very well. Only problem is where to put the tools.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaniceA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Black & Decker Flex Cordless Mini Vac
7/19/2016

Customer review by Nytrydr2510

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Nytrydr2510
by Nytrydr2510
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great, small size makes it easier to get to small places. and light weight makes it easy to handle thru out my Van.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nytrydr2510
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4 years old and running strong!
2/20/2013

Customer review by Kerjner

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by Kerjner
by Kerjner

I bought the FHV1200 about 4 years ago. My long term "test" has been great with this little workhorse. I use it almost daily and i have had no issues. I'm still using the original filter the vacuum came with. I would recommend changing it once a year... but seeing as i have had no issues i haven't bothered. Things to consider: 1.) Battery time is about 10-12 minutes. Honestly if you need more time then it's usually a job for a larger vacuum. It's a hand vac so you will have more than enough battery time for typical quick cleanups. 2.) You do have to empty it out one or two cleanings. I would also recommend quickly snapping out the filter and tapping in your garbage can. That removes dust from the filter and keeps the vacuum suction at an optimal level. 3.) Completely drain the battery a couple of times a month for optimal battery performance over the long term. My vac is literally 4 years old and i still get that 10-12 minutes. The quality of the vacuum is great and the attachments are just what is needed for quick jobs. I can't say enough about this little hand vac. I hope this helps you in your purchase decision on this vac.

Was this review helpful? (39) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kerjner
Palm Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does everything I need it for.
12/1/2010

Customer review by AMA6930

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by AMA6930
by AMA6930

I was looking for a portable vacuum and found this one in a Wal-Mart store. The weight and style of it caught my attention. I figured I would give it a try because of the brand name. I charged it for a full day and could not believe the the power of it. I needed it for small jobs and it worked fine. The weight and size of it made it very easy to use. The power has not died down on it yet, and I have already used it for 20 minutes once. All I have to do is plug it in after each use for a few hours, and it is ready for me the next time. You just have to be a little patient with it in the charging procedure. Of course, it is not made for large jobs, but for small jobs that you don't want to pull out the large vacuum with it's cord it is excellent. Love it so much, I just bought another for my office.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AMA6930
New York State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excelllent
3/11/2016

Customer review by Lovethis

4.0 stars 3/11/2016 by Lovethis
by Lovethis

I was looking for something just like this. It works perfectly for dust and dirt in hard to get corners, around cords and outlets, furniture. I don't think it would work that great for a family because it's small and not real powerful, but it's only the two of us and it is more powerful than I expected. It's easy to empty, attachments work good. I'm sure it will work great in the car too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovethis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
black and decker flex hand vac
7/4/2016

Customer review by lovemyabbycat

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by lovemyabbycat
by lovemyabbycat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is lightweight, has good suction and gets the job done. I bought it to clean the inside of the car because it was difficult to use the big vacuum. The attachments work great and it is so easy to use. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemyabbycat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product.
9/4/2011

Customer review by shaif

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by shaif
by shaif

I did not buy it at Walmart. I found it on Ebay for $15 cheaper plus free shipping and no tax :) . It was a two day special by B&D, and after these two days, the price went up about $5 higher than Walmart. Many of the users at Amazon.com (also higher than Walmart) were complaining, that the charge of the battery doesn't last longer than 10 minutes at best. Most of the vacuuming I am doing with this unit, are few minutes long, so I never encountered battery rundown while using it. The unit is very powerful, and has as much suction as my full size upright Dyson. It is a perfect choice for small quick pickups. I mounted the unit on the kitchen wall for convenience, and I used it just about daily. My dog and long hair cat sheds constantly, and this unit handle the cleanup like a champ. :) I did buy an optional motorized cordless brush, that attaches to the end of the hose. Together they make for a very powerful vacuum cleaner. I paid for that attachment $12. on special. It is available at B&D website for $15. I have no idea why Walmart doesn't offer it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shaif
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Thought it was Great! until....
1/7/2011

Customer review by TXLNGHRNMOM

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by TXLNGHRNMOM
by TXLNGHRNMOM

Initially I thought it was great. It was so handy for cleaning up messes in my car. Although the battery life was horrible it did such a good job I just lived with it. Well it seemed the battery life kept getting shorter and shorter so I kept charging it more thinking maybe my husband had used it between chargings. Then I finally realize the problem was it will no longer hold a charge. When I turn it on it sounds like it's going to work and then it just gets weaker and weaker. Extremely disappointed! Not worth the money! We only used it occassionally too so there was no reason for the battery to go bad so fast.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXLNGHRNMOM
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 244 total reviews
1-20 of 244 reviews