Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

10 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

10 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-8 of 8 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Sad; but informative
3/15/2010

Customer review by swtthbp1

5.0 stars 3/15/2010 by swtthbp1
by swtthbp1

This was a sad and poignant example of the exploitation of not only the Afro American race; but just the general public. I as an individual am very interested in our nation's hx --what the ones before us have suffered on our behalf. It just makes me that much grateful for the ones who came before to make our lives more comfortable. I am still so heartbroken for the way this incident affected several generations of the Lackses and is still a huge black stain on their legacy, lives, and well-being. This book will tug at the VERY conscious of anyone who takes the time to read it. I can not or will not forget Ms. Lacks and her family. I was so moved by it that I am planning to donate to the education fund established in the name of the Lackses younger descendants so that their Mother / Grandmother will not be forgotten and so that they can become all they have dreamed of and so much more. They will forever be in my prayers.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swtthbp1
Mesquite, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/27/2010

Customer review by readerlsl

4.0 stars 10/27/2010 by readerlsl
by readerlsl

This is a fasinating book that I should wait until I have finished to read, but I'll review it for the half that I have read. It is extremely written weaving the information on clinical research with a family story making it a double edge sword and well written on both sides.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
readerlsl
Lake Saint Louis,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Well written
11/17/2010

Customer review by LoisLegacy

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by LoisLegacy
by LoisLegacy

I am still reading this book but find it easy to read, well written, flows well. Until this book I had never heard of Henrietta Lacks but am so grateful to her for her contribution to the world - great non-fiction book and the price was better at Walmart.com than anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoisLegacy
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
immortal life of HELA
6/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

awesome awesome...a must read for all healthcare workers and researchers. skloot did a great job with this one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
informative and entertaining
8/28/2010

Customer review by apianonana

5.0 stars 8/28/2010 by apianonana
by apianonana

I had already purchased this book at our local museum and literally could not put it down. It reads like a novel but it also is very informative about what has gone on in the medical research field and is still going on today. It touches on some issues that went on before equal rights too. I find a lot of people do not remember or know about these things but they did happen. I remember some of them. This book does not sugar coat any of these things. I bought my first copy on a Saturday and finished it by Tuesday. I bought two copies from Walmart to give as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
apianonana
Scottsburg, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Fascinating read
1/4/2011

Customer review by wowstuff

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by wowstuff
by wowstuff

Really enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wowstuff
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolutely The Best Book of All Time!
10/19/2010

Customer review by cece93

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by cece93
by cece93

Not done reeading yet but LOVE this book!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cece93
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Extraordinary human story
7/6/2010

Customer review by urbanfan2003

4.0 stars 7/6/2010 by urbanfan2003
by urbanfan2003

Our book club wanted to tackle this book, but we were waiting for the price to come down or for the paperback version. I finally found it at a good price on Walmart.com, so I bought it. I couldn't wait to read the story. The whole idea is extraordinary - that cells could duplicate so rapidly and survive to the extent that we are talking about billions and billions of cells. I just kept thinking what a giant that tiny woman is now. My heart goes out to Henrietta's family. It took a bit to wrap my head around all the science involved, but I don't think it is necessary to understand all of the science to get the importance of Mrs. Lacks. I think Henrietta belongs not only in every science book, but also in every history book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
urbanfan2003
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day