Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1245 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1245 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1245 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
722
4 stars
356
3 stars
94
2 stars
46
1 stars
27
1-20 of 1164 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1164 total reviews
1-20 of 1164 reviews
Very cute, could be better.
9/8/2009

Customer review by MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe
by MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe

We recieved the play food as part of a bundle with the Step2 kitchen. It has several fruits and veggies included, as well as bread, pasta, pizza, pie, cookies, fries, etc. Some of the food is very good quality and looks very well made, but other items look like dollar store quality. For example, the cookies, when turned over, are hollow on the back and have a rough edge around the bottom. The fries come in a huge cluster (like they fit into a fry box for a fast food restaurant) but there is not even a plate Step2 makes that is big enough to hold them. Another thing is inconsistant sizing. You may have an onion the size of an apple, and an eggplant as skinny as a french fry. I wanted to use the play food to teach my daughter about different fruits and veggies, food groups, and grocery shopping, and I wanted something as realistic as possible. This wouldn't make me not buy this play food set, its just something to think about.

Was this review helpful? (57) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great buy
9/18/2009

Customer review by proudmommy114

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by proudmommy114
by proudmommy114

i bought this for my daughters 1 yr birthday and she loves it! it has a lot of pieces and nothing is too small for her not to have.

Was this review helpful? (32) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
proudmommy114
augusta,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good set, but pricey
8/11/2009

Customer review by CarsonsMomma

4.0 stars 8/11/2009 by CarsonsMomma
by CarsonsMomma

Really nice set...looks real....kids love it. But I thought it was a little expensive. Plus, I wish they had more of a variety instead of 2 or 3 of each item.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarsonsMomma
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lots and Lots
11/1/2009

Customer review by NowThatsADeal

5.0 stars 11/1/2009 by NowThatsADeal
by NowThatsADeal

If you want food for the kitchen, buy this. Be sure to get a tub or two to put it in. You'll have more than you know what to do with.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NowThatsADeal
Manteca, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
12/18/2011

Customer review by Janna619

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Janna619
by Janna619

Bought with the Step2 shopping cart for daughters 2nd birthday. I researched many different food set products before deciding on this one. I trust Step2 toys for their quality and I am pleased with this set. I didn't give it 5 stars because some of the fruit items are made of a thinner plastic and bend easily if stepped/chewed on. It is a large quantity of food items for the price and has a wide variety of foods which I also like. Many of the other sets I looked at were cheap and easily destroyed and I know this set (at least MOST of it) will last for years to come. Most importantly, my daughter loves it and it has really expanded her pretend play time.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Janna619
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
10/31/2010

Customer review by xxxooo2

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by xxxooo2
by xxxooo2

Perfect for a two year old-- easy to handle and identify types of food.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xxxooo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as Good as I Hoped
9/23/2009

Customer review by FriscoTwinMommy

3.0 stars 9/23/2009 by FriscoTwinMommy
by FriscoTwinMommy

This food toy is admittedly better than many out there, but it is still lacking. Not too sturdy, I don't feel like it will stand the test of time. I am comparing it to Fisher Price Mini Meals, and it just doesn't measure up. I would buy the 3 Mini Meals instead of this. We were disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FriscoTwinMommy
Frisco TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheap and Served the Purpose
2/18/2011

Customer review by inphri

4.0 stars 2/18/2011 by inphri
by inphri

I thought it was a "real bargain" but it turns out to be a "regular" bargain. It's a little too "cheap-looking" than I would like, but it served the purpose of having a LOT of play foods. My daughter is very happy anyway. No regret of the purchase. Just wished they looked a bit better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
inphri
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Paid $5...wouldn't pay a penny more
1/26/2011

Customer review by LizZam

2.0 stars 1/26/2011 by LizZam
by LizZam

I got this set for $5 during a sale... I'm so glad I didn't pay a cent more, it isn't worth it. For $5 my son can have a good time destroying them for all I care. When I saw the regular price was $25 I was shocked and feel badly for anyone who paid anything close to that. These items may be usefull for having extra toys, putting in goody bags, or giving to your dog but when you have a turkey, orange, and chocolate chip cookie all the same size it doesn't make for much of a learning experience (see picture, I included a hershey kiss for size comparison). I am saving up for a good set by Melissa and Doug.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LizZam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Not proportional size
12/20/2009

Customer review by diekatze

1.0 stars 12/20/2009 by diekatze
by diekatze

You do get a lot of food pieces for the price, however the food pieces are not proportional to one another - for example the butter slab is bigger than the toast slice etc.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diekatze
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap cheap cheap
11/8/2011

Customer review by MomAndNurse2011

2.0 stars 11/8/2011 by MomAndNurse2011
by MomAndNurse2011

This product is very overpriced, in my opinion. The whole thing probably cost $2 to make. The foods are unrealistic, many of them have so little detail that I'm not sure what they're supposed to be, and they are not sized to scale. I wanted to teach my son about different foods but this play food set is not a good learning tool. Also, I may be one of few parents who care, but there are too many junk foods in this set: potato chips, cookies, ice cream, chocolate bar, and french fries. My son likes his kitchen but he has barely touched the play food. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomAndNurse2011
Maryland's Eastern Shore
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Lots of variety, pretty real looking
8/6/2012

Customer review by mommyanddaughter

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by mommyanddaughter
by mommyanddaughter

I am happy I got this food set to go with the kitchen. There is so much for them to choose from while they play. Compared to other food sets the price was very good. They love to pretend to eat all the yummy stuff :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommyanddaughter
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great idea
12/13/2009

Customer review by gayspiriit

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by gayspiriit
by gayspiriit

the food products are a great idea to combine with the kitchen deal. AND the food is hard, no way my grandaughter might want to chew off a corner of a cookie. Good planning.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gayspiriit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So not worth the price!!
12/9/2011

Customer review by MrandMrsSmith

1.0 stars 12/9/2011 by MrandMrsSmith
by MrandMrsSmith

Please don't listen to other reviewers that tell you this is well made and of good quality. IT IS NOT!! We have 3 kiddo's under age 5 that love to play with our pretend kitchen. A lot of the food makes it outside to the playhouse so much of it gets lost or broken over time. I had purchased a really nice set from Walmart a few years ago that was made of very hard plastic and was downright impossible to even attempt to break. I was hoping after reading the reviews that this would be a similar product, It doesn't even come close. Much of the food is just cheap plastic and can be easily crushed by a child stepping or sitting on it or in the palm of your hand. Do not waste your money on this set if you are expecting it to last, it won't. Keep looking!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrandMrsSmith
Jefferson City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I wish there weren't so many...
3/5/2013

Customer review by miamimom23

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by miamimom23
by miamimom23

They are great little accessories, HOWEVER, the amount is just too much. I keep more than half in a box on top of his little kitchen. Otherwise it's a pain to clean up. My 2 yo son has a blast with them though, and it's something my 9 yo step daughter can join in playing with him. He likes pretending to eat the food and cook on his stove. Great purchase overall.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miamimom23
miami, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice set for the price
1/2/2013

Customer review by ness11

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by ness11
by ness11

This play food seems to be pretty durable so far. I think the food may vary in texture because I read in a previous review that the bacon and tortilla were made from a rubbery flexible material, but mine is made from a hard solid plastic and i'm afraid my son might crack them in half if he tries to bend them. He has the American plastics Cookin kitchen and some of the food doesn't fit in the pans that came with it, but those pans are VERY TINY. If you have a step2 kitchen the food should fit fine. Other than those minor problems it is a nice set for the price and my son loves it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ness11
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hollow or one sided designs.
11/6/2012

Customer review by pancakke

2.0 stars 11/6/2012 by pancakke
by pancakke

The produce is not sized to match other stuff. There is a taco almost the size of a real one and a turkey not much bigger than a golf ball. The backs of many of the pieces are unfinished. The plastic used is thin and pieces are easily smashed. Absolutely too many pieces. Less pieces and high quality would be better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pancakke
Winter Haven, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not realistic
2/10/2010

Customer review by ChaseMama

2.0 stars 2/10/2010 by ChaseMama
by ChaseMama

I added this to a bundle with a kitchen set. It was a great deal however the food is not very realistic and if you try to put the pieces together to assemble a hamburger for example the pieces will just slide off each other. I was pretty disappointed in this food set....especially the fries.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChaseMama
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
met expectations
10/23/2011

Customer review by phlebokat

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by phlebokat
by phlebokat

My grandaughter loves this food set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phlebokat
Menifee, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
YOU SHOULD BUY THIS TOY
11/15/2009

Customer review by ivksjdvf19785055975432

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by ivksjdvf19785055975432
by ivksjdvf19785055975432

My kids love this toy they play with it all day.You should buy this toy for your kids if they are three or younger. I bought this gift for my two year old dauders.The pieces are just the right size for them they are not to small.For there birthday I bought them a Step 2 kichen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ivksjdvf19785055975432
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1164 total reviews
1-20 of 1164 reviews