Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 452 reviews
5 stars
272
4 stars
116
3 stars
41
2 stars
14
1 stars
9
Sort by: 
1-20 of 371 reviews
1-20 of 371 reviews
Good Buy
12/18/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought with the Step2 shopping cart for daughters 2nd birthday. I researched many different food set products before deciding on this one. I trust Step2 toys for their quality and I am pleased with this set. I didn't give it 5 stars because some of the fruit items are made of a thinner plastic and bend easily if stepped/chewed on. It is a large quantity of food items for the price and has a wide variety of foods which I also like. Many of the other sets I looked at were cheap and easily destroyed and I know this set (at least MOST of it) will last for years to come. Most importantly, my daughter loves it and it has really expanded her pretend play time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice set for the price
1/2/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This play food seems to be pretty durable so far. I think the food may vary in texture because I read in a previous review that the bacon and tortilla were made from a rubbery flexible material, but mine is made from a hard solid plastic and i'm afraid my son might crack them in half if he tries to bend them. He has the American plastics Cookin kitchen and some of the food doesn't fit in the pans that came with it, but those pans are VERY TINY. If you have a step2 kitchen the food should fit fine. Other than those minor problems it is a nice set for the price and my son loves it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Paid $5...wouldn't pay a penny more
1/26/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this set for $5 during a sale... I'm so glad I didn't pay a cent more, it isn't worth it. For $5 my son can have a good time destroying them for all I care. When I saw the regular price was $25 I was shocked and feel badly for anyone who paid anything close to that. These items may be usefull for having extra toys, putting in goody bags, or giving to your dog but when you have a turkey, orange, and chocolate chip cookie all the same size it doesn't make for much of a learning experience (see picture, I included a hershey kiss for size comparison). I am saving up for a good set by Melissa and Doug.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I wish there weren't so many...
3/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
They are great little accessories, HOWEVER, the amount is just too much. I keep more than half in a box on top of his little kitchen. Otherwise it's a pain to clean up. My 2 yo son has a blast with them though, and it's something my 9 yo step daughter can join in playing with him. He likes pretending to eat the food and cook on his stove. Great purchase overall.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
daughter loves
1/1/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves this set, purchased it with a kitchen. she plays with it for hours. Dont forget to buy a rubbermais container to put all the pieces in when done playing, though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Came Packaged in the Worst Possible Way
12/21/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this from the Wish List registry of a friend's child. When I picked the toy up from the store, both the Walmart associate and I were appalled at the packaging. There was no box, no label, nothing to indicate what the toy was or what company made it.... There were just plastic pieces of food in two unmarked clear plastic bags. This is supposed to be a Christmas gift for a child! It looks as if I bought this on the side of the road. I paid $31 for this, including tax. Very disappointed, to say the least.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very cute, could be better.
9/8/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We recieved the play food as part of a bundle with the Step2 kitchen. It has several fruits and veggies included, as well as bread, pasta, pizza, pie, cookies, fries, etc. Some of the food is very good quality and looks very well made, but other items look like dollar store quality. For example, the cookies, when turned over, are hollow on the back and have a rough edge around the bottom. The fries come in a huge cluster (like they fit into a fry box for a fast food restaurant) but there is not even a plate Step2 makes that is big enough to hold them. Another thing is inconsistant sizing. You may have an onion the size of an apple, and an eggplant as skinny as a french fry. I wanted to use the play food to teach my daughter about different fruits and veggies, food groups, and grocery shopping, and I wanted something as realistic as possible. This wouldn't make me not buy this play food set, its just something to think about.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (73)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good set, but pricey
8/11/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Really nice set...looks real....kids love it. But I thought it was a little expensive. Plus, I wish they had more of a variety instead of 2 or 3 of each item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap cheap cheap
11/8/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is very overpriced, in my opinion. The whole thing probably cost $2 to make. The foods are unrealistic, many of them have so little detail that I'm not sure what they're supposed to be, and they are not sized to scale. I wanted to teach my son about different foods but this play food set is not a good learning tool. Also, I may be one of few parents who care, but there are too many junk foods in this set: potato chips, cookies, ice cream, chocolate bar, and french fries. My son likes his kitchen but he has barely touched the play food. Don't waste your money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap and Served the Purpose
2/18/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought it was a "real bargain" but it turns out to be a "regular" bargain. It's a little too "cheap-looking" than I would like, but it served the purpose of having a LOT of play foods. My daughter is very happy anyway. No regret of the purchase. Just wished they looked a bit better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not proportional size
12/20/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You do get a lot of food pieces for the price, however the food pieces are not proportional to one another - for example the butter slab is bigger than the toast slice etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great buy
9/18/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought this for my daughters 1 yr birthday and she loves it! it has a lot of pieces and nothing is too small for her not to have.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lots and Lots
11/1/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you want food for the kitchen, buy this. Be sure to get a tub or two to put it in. You'll have more than you know what to do with.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/31/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Perfect for a two year old-- easy to handle and identify types of food.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for our child's kitchen
1/9/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I will say that the toy foods are very cute and perfect for our three year old's toy kitchen. The reason I marked the value at only 2 stars is because this was purchased as a gift by my 8 year old FOR my 3 year old. Our 8 year old picked this out and paid for it with her own hard earned allowance and it cost $19.99 online a week and a half before Christmas. The package it came in was just a plain cardboard box with all the toys stuffed inside. Which was ok, BUT just a couple of days AFTER Christmas, I saw the exact same food collection in-store for only $5 and the packaging was very nice and looked much more appealing. Perhaps our local walmart had an extreme overstock on this particular item, but I hated to see my daughter spend so much money on something that would be drastically reduced just a matter of days later. With all of that being said, they are colorful and fun, and perfect for any young one to play pretend cooking with.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not as Good as I Hoped
9/23/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This food toy is admittedly better than many out there, but it is still lacking. Not too sturdy, I don't feel like it will stand the test of time. I am comparing it to Fisher Price Mini Meals, and it just doesn't measure up. I would buy the 3 Mini Meals instead of this. We were disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lots of variety, pretty real looking
8/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am happy I got this food set to go with the kitchen. There is so much for them to choose from while they play. Compared to other food sets the price was very good. They love to pretend to eat all the yummy stuff :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So not worth the price!!
12/9/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Please don't listen to other reviewers that tell you this is well made and of good quality. IT IS NOT!! We have 3 kiddo's under age 5 that love to play with our pretend kitchen. A lot of the food makes it outside to the playhouse so much of it gets lost or broken over time. I had purchased a really nice set from Walmart a few years ago that was made of very hard plastic and was downright impossible to even attempt to break. I was hoping after reading the reviews that this would be a similar product, It doesn't even come close. Much of the food is just cheap plastic and can be easily crushed by a child stepping or sitting on it or in the palm of your hand. Do not waste your money on this set if you are expecting it to last, it won't. Keep looking!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lots of Food for your Money
11/6/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this set for my grand daughters 2nd birthday. I'm glad I opened the box and took a look. There are lots of doubles in this set, even some triples. Great for a classroom, but that's a lot of food for one kid. So we sorted them all out and put some away for later or my daughter has a gift for another child's birthday. There were still over 50 pieces to play with. I like that there are pieces to make a sandwich, sauce to put on the spaghetti. It has hot dogs but it also has veggies. The sizes of some of the food are odd, like you'd think why did they make the carrots one size and the waffles this size. But I don't think that takes away from the set especially for the price. It just comes in a shipping box in a plastic bag so I bought a plastic container to store the food when it's time for clean up. I understand my son-in-law has eaten a lot of plastic ice cream cones and pizza!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great idea
12/13/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the food products are a great idea to combine with the kitchen deal. AND the food is hard, no way my grandaughter might want to chew off a corner of a cookie. Good planning.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642846, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-