Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 650 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

650 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

650 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
391
4 stars
170
3 stars
54
2 stars
22
1 stars
13
1-20 of 569 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 569 total reviews
1-20 of 569 reviews
Good Buy
12/18/2011

Customer review by Janna619

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Janna619
by Janna619

Bought with the Step2 shopping cart for daughters 2nd birthday. I researched many different food set products before deciding on this one. I trust Step2 toys for their quality and I am pleased with this set. I didn't give it 5 stars because some of the fruit items are made of a thinner plastic and bend easily if stepped/chewed on. It is a large quantity of food items for the price and has a wide variety of foods which I also like. Many of the other sets I looked at were cheap and easily destroyed and I know this set (at least MOST of it) will last for years to come. Most importantly, my daughter loves it and it has really expanded her pretend play time.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janna619
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Paid $5...wouldn't pay a penny more
1/26/2011

Customer review by LizZam

2.0 stars 1/26/2011 by LizZam
by LizZam

I got this set for $5 during a sale... I'm so glad I didn't pay a cent more, it isn't worth it. For $5 my son can have a good time destroying them for all I care. When I saw the regular price was $25 I was shocked and feel badly for anyone who paid anything close to that. These items may be usefull for having extra toys, putting in goody bags, or giving to your dog but when you have a turkey, orange, and chocolate chip cookie all the same size it doesn't make for much of a learning experience (see picture, I included a hershey kiss for size comparison). I am saving up for a good set by Melissa and Doug.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LizZam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
nice set for the price
1/2/2013

Customer review by ness11

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by ness11
by ness11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This play food seems to be pretty durable so far. I think the food may vary in texture because I read in a previous review that the bacon and tortilla were made from a rubbery flexible material, but mine is made from a hard solid plastic and i'm afraid my son might crack them in half if he tries to bend them. He has the American plastics Cookin kitchen and some of the food doesn't fit in the pans that came with it, but those pans are VERY TINY. If you have a step2 kitchen the food should fit fine. Other than those minor problems it is a nice set for the price and my son loves it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ness11
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I wish there weren't so many...
3/5/2013

Customer review by miamimom23

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by miamimom23
by miamimom23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They are great little accessories, HOWEVER, the amount is just too much. I keep more than half in a box on top of his little kitchen. Otherwise it's a pain to clean up. My 2 yo son has a blast with them though, and it's something my 9 yo step daughter can join in playing with him. He likes pretending to eat the food and cook on his stove. Great purchase overall.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
miamimom23
miami, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
daughter loves
1/1/2010

Customer review by kbaker2215

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by kbaker2215
by kbaker2215

My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves this set, purchased it with a kitchen. she plays with it for hours. Dont forget to buy a rubbermais container to put all the pieces in when done playing, though.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbaker2215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Came Packaged in the Worst Possible Way
12/21/2013

Customer review by LeslieErin

1.0 stars 12/21/2013 by LeslieErin
by LeslieErin

I ordered this from the Wish List registry of a friend's child. When I picked the toy up from the store, both the Walmart associate and I were appalled at the packaging. There was no box, no label, nothing to indicate what the toy was or what company made it.... There were just plastic pieces of food in two unmarked clear plastic bags. This is supposed to be a Christmas gift for a child! It looks as if I bought this on the side of the road. I paid $31 for this, including tax. Very disappointed, to say the least.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeslieErin
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very cute, could be better.
9/8/2009

Customer review by MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe
by MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe

We recieved the play food as part of a bundle with the Step2 kitchen. It has several fruits and veggies included, as well as bread, pasta, pizza, pie, cookies, fries, etc. Some of the food is very good quality and looks very well made, but other items look like dollar store quality. For example, the cookies, when turned over, are hollow on the back and have a rough edge around the bottom. The fries come in a huge cluster (like they fit into a fry box for a fast food restaurant) but there is not even a plate Step2 makes that is big enough to hold them. Another thing is inconsistant sizing. You may have an onion the size of an apple, and an eggplant as skinny as a french fry. I wanted to use the play food to teach my daughter about different fruits and veggies, food groups, and grocery shopping, and I wanted something as realistic as possible. This wouldn't make me not buy this play food set, its just something to think about.

Was this review helpful? (73) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoMmY2bAbYsCoOtIe
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Good set, but pricey
8/11/2009

Customer review by CarsonsMomma

4.0 stars 8/11/2009 by CarsonsMomma
by CarsonsMomma

Really nice set...looks real....kids love it. But I thought it was a little expensive. Plus, I wish they had more of a variety instead of 2 or 3 of each item.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarsonsMomma
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Cheap cheap cheap
11/8/2011

Customer review by MomAndNurse2011

2.0 stars 11/8/2011 by MomAndNurse2011
by MomAndNurse2011

This product is very overpriced, in my opinion. The whole thing probably cost $2 to make. The foods are unrealistic, many of them have so little detail that I'm not sure what they're supposed to be, and they are not sized to scale. I wanted to teach my son about different foods but this play food set is not a good learning tool. Also, I may be one of few parents who care, but there are too many junk foods in this set: potato chips, cookies, ice cream, chocolate bar, and french fries. My son likes his kitchen but he has barely touched the play food. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomAndNurse2011
Maryland's Eastern Shore
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Cheap and Served the Purpose
2/18/2011

Customer review by inphri

4.0 stars 2/18/2011 by inphri
by inphri

I thought it was a "real bargain" but it turns out to be a "regular" bargain. It's a little too "cheap-looking" than I would like, but it served the purpose of having a LOT of play foods. My daughter is very happy anyway. No regret of the purchase. Just wished they looked a bit better.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
inphri
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Not proportional size
12/20/2009

Customer review by diekatze

1.0 stars 12/20/2009 by diekatze
by diekatze

You do get a lot of food pieces for the price, however the food pieces are not proportional to one another - for example the butter slab is bigger than the toast slice etc.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
diekatze
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
great buy
9/18/2009

Customer review by proudmommy114

5.0 stars 9/18/2009 by proudmommy114
by proudmommy114

i bought this for my daughters 1 yr birthday and she loves it! it has a lot of pieces and nothing is too small for her not to have.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
proudmommy114
augusta,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Lots and Lots
11/1/2009

Customer review by NowThatsADeal

5.0 stars 11/1/2009 by NowThatsADeal
by NowThatsADeal

If you want food for the kitchen, buy this. Be sure to get a tub or two to put it in. You'll have more than you know what to do with.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NowThatsADeal
Manteca, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Great!!!
3/27/2017

Customer review by Shannon

5.0 stars 3/27/2017 by Shannon
by Shannon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

What a great set of food! Tons of stuff! The proportions are a little silly, the apple is much larger than what appears to be a whole chicken, but it's play food! So whatever! It's got everything you could imagine! Cookies, pasta, even pasta sauce to put on top of the pasta! It's adorable and my sone is gonna love it and get tons of play out of this food set! #sweepstakes

Shannon
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/31/2010

Customer review by xxxooo2

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by xxxooo2
by xxxooo2

Perfect for a two year old-- easy to handle and identify types of food.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxxooo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bad packaging
3/11/2017

Customer review by Lynn

2.0 stars 3/11/2017 by Lynn
by Lynn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice food assortment but I was giving it as a gift. It came in a plain brown box, so I had to put them in a gift bag. Not a good presentation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Granddaughter loves the playfood so much to play with
3/21/2017

Customer review by Leanne

5.0 stars 3/21/2017 by Leanne
by Leanne

Love the play food my granddaughter and I have a lot of fun playing together cooking up lots of this play food #sweepstakes

Leanne
Columbia Sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for our child's kitchen
1/9/2011

Customer review by hislovelydove

4.0 stars 1/9/2011 by hislovelydove
by hislovelydove

I will say that the toy foods are very cute and perfect for our three year old's toy kitchen. The reason I marked the value at only 2 stars is because this was purchased as a gift by my 8 year old FOR my 3 year old. Our 8 year old picked this out and paid for it with her own hard earned allowance and it cost $19.99 online a week and a half before Christmas. The package it came in was just a plain cardboard box with all the toys stuffed inside. Which was ok, BUT just a couple of days AFTER Christmas, I saw the exact same food collection in-store for only $5 and the packaging was very nice and looked much more appealing. Perhaps our local walmart had an extreme overstock on this particular item, but I hated to see my daughter spend so much money on something that would be drastically reduced just a matter of days later. With all of that being said, they are colorful and fun, and perfect for any young one to play pretend cooking with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hislovelydove
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Perfect assortment of food for little ones!
3/6/2017

Customer review by Christine

5.0 stars 3/6/2017 by Christine
by Christine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This food assortment has so many different types of food! We are very pleased with the purchase and quality of product. When the box arrived, I thought there could no way be 101 pieces of food inside, but there was! Our children love it. #sweepstakes

Christine
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal
12/19/2016

Customer review by issasnana

5.0 stars 12/19/2016 by issasnana
by issasnana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Loved these little food products and they seem sturdy. They will go with the step 2 kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
issasnana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 569 total reviews
1-20 of 569 reviews