Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

9 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

9 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-8 of 8 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

potential to be great, but lacks quality
7/20/2009

Customer review by EPTXfatherof2

3.0 stars 7/20/2009 by EPTXfatherof2
by EPTXfatherof2

Being my first time pulling a trailer, I’ll start off by saying that the trailer is far lighter than I expected, the test ride down the street felt smooth, and the coupler attachment is great. I have experience with two different bike seats, and I had a feeling the bike was going to feel heavy and sluggish as it sometimes does with the seats. It was the exact opposite. It doesn’t even feel like I have anything attached to the back of my bike. Other than the extra power needed going up hills, and taking off from a standing start, the extra weight adds momentum, and I don't feel like I'm struggling at all. Take note that I mountain bike or road bike at least 3-4 times a week, so my "bike fitness" is above average I think. There is a max speed limit warning of 10 mph on the product, but I took it up to 15 which is my average lazy cruising speed. Of course the 10 mph is a disclaimer/liability type thing, so I accept all consequences...but anyway... Overall, I really want to like this product but I ran across two problems which have been bugging me since I put the trailer together. First of all, right out of the box, one of the snap buttons from the back/left corner of the cover tore through the fabric of a grey strap that is used to tighten the weather cover, according to the instructions. The button snapped in correctly, and didn't look like it was under huge amounts of pressure. While I was busy assembling other parts of the trailer, the cover flew back on its own, and upon checking it, I noticed that the button had tore through the strap and was still attached to the cover. Pictures of the strap where the button tore through are shown. The other 3 similar strap/button combinations seem to be fine, but I’m now worried that the other straps may deteriorate down the road as this one did so easily. Also, there is a defect with one of the tires that came with the trailer. It has an abnormal bulge on the side, which can cause uneven pressure which and easily cause a flat tire while riding. Not only that, if the tire lasts long enough, the wear and tear will be completely uneven on the defective tire when compared to the good one. Keep in mind, this defect is occurring at a low PSI of 20, the recommended setting per the instructions, and is not an issue with the tube inside. I really want to like this product because of the way it rides and feels. The coupler attachment is a PLUS, as it allows the bike a wide degree of free movement, making for a more durable and safe attachment. Most importantly, this type of attachment does not suffer from the problems I've read about from other trailers, where if the bike falls over, it can tip the trailer. I was worried that this would be a problem, but the design of this allows a bike to be laid down completely flat, on its side without affecting the position of the trailer. Very flexible, very safe, and very smooth turning. Sadly, the two defects that accompanied my product do not give me confidence in the quality and durability of this product, especially at this price range. I have no choice but to return it, and try a different brand. PROS: 20 inch wheelset make for a smooth ride Coupler attachement to bike is safe and flexible Lightweight and smooth riding CONS: Defect in button of strap from a new product Defect of bulge in tire *other than those two defects, the product would have been perfect, and I would have given 5 stars across the board. WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT? I chose yes at the top, but my answer is MAYBE. Your mileage may vary, and I might have received a dud.

Was this review helpful? (108) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EPTXfatherof2
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Plastic knob broke off
10/25/2009

Customer review by SuperWalMartShopperMom

3.0 stars 10/25/2009 by SuperWalMartShopperMom
by SuperWalMartShopperMom

The trailer was extremely easy to assemble, and nice size. I really like it! But when snapping in the canopy, one of the plastic snaps that hold the overhead canopy in place, snapped and broke off. Now it's stuck in the locked position. I don't know if I will be able to fold it, since there's nowehere to press now...but I will be returning it to Walmart. Tried calling manufacturer, but they are closed on Sundays. I will order another one, since I have two kids and this was the largest size available.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperWalMartShopperMom
coral springs, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
just what i was looking for
9/5/2011

Customer review by camryn1

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by camryn1
by camryn1

shopped around and purchased this one for my 2 1/2 and 1 year old. Purchased this particular one because it folds up and fits in my car, tires are large, great price. it rides very smooth and easy to use. it also has extra room in the back to store a diaper bag, etc. i would highly recomend it!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camryn1
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Replacement trailer
5/15/2012

Customer review by mamelvin

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by mamelvin
by mamelvin

I love this trailer! We bought an Instep Rocket about two years ago and it had become a huge part of our family life. A few weeks ago it was sadly stolen out of our backyard. Now that we can replace it, it has to be a duplicate. The wheel base makes for a smooth ride compared to the smaller wheels on other models. The spring for safety... If you tip your bike the trailer does not go with it. Lots of room inside for two kids and there is a huge "trunk" We have successfully put a cooler, diaper bag( big enough for two), blankets, water bottles, toys, and a bike pump in the back. This is a great trailer and we can't wait to get ours back.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamelvin
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Frame;Wheels(bent)&Frame-Wheel Alignment poor
10/5/2012

Customer review by jbesseli

1.0 stars 10/5/2012 by jbesseli
by jbesseli

Originally liked the outrigger design for protection of the wheels and to aid on tight trails. Wheels were bent, frame to wheel alignment poor. Box shipped was open and missing the trailer connection so possibly the wheels were bent in shipment? The Quick release wheel skewers were cool, but not easy to use compared to newer insight designs. There is no wheel break on this design as compared to the Schwinn trailer we bought at the local Walmart store. Good Value on the schwinn, but Schwinn just slightly smaller size than the In-Step Rocket. I have not tried stroller mode yet. Taking the Rocket back, suggest you buy the newer In-Step Designs or the Schwinn that is built in the same factory.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbesseli
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great value
9/27/2013

Customer review by PhoenixDad44

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by PhoenixDad44
by PhoenixDad44

For the price you can't beat it. Stable safe and my child loves it. I bought the two seats so he could have more room and it is perfect. The seat belts look cheap at first but then I quickly realized that they are more than efficient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhoenixDad44
Phoenix, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/15/2013

Customer review by CrunchyGirl

4.0 stars 3/15/2013 by CrunchyGirl
by CrunchyGirl

Have had this for over a year now. It's great and used often as both a bike trailer and a double stroller. The only downside is there is no base to it besides the fabric, which hasnt been a problem. My child loves it and feels comfortable in it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrunchyGirl
Lansing,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
disappointed
11/25/2013

Customer review by disappointedmom512

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by disappointedmom512
by disappointedmom512

This item is a Christmas gift and I am very very disappointed with how this item was shipped the box was all bent up with a large hole in the side I would be ashamed to give this as a gift plus how do I even know all the parts are there. I will be most likely be returning this bike trailer to the nearest WALMRT STORE as soon as I can find someone to help me with the return. You see there is not a WALMART STORE. Right around the corner from me that is why I went on line to Christmas shop!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
disappointedmom512
Manistee, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.