Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 24 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
RCA 300W - excellent value
8/1/2009

Customer review by DaveandSue

5.0 stars 8/1/2009 by DaveandSue
by DaveandSue

In the rapidly changing world of electronics; and increasing inovation - it is difficult to actually KNOW that something is an 'excellent value'. So - I do not KNOW that. Having just recently purchased this item - I of course - believe that this was a wise purchase decision. (I'd be taking it back - if I thought otherwise.) We purchased this item twice. The first one - brand new - did not work straight out of the box. I have over 3 years experience in electronics repair - and this unit had some sort of difficulty in its audio amplification circuitry. No sound output whatsoever. We promptly took it back to the store - and exchanged/purchased same identical item. This one works flawlessly. The world is not perfect - and even the best manufacturing can experience problems... This Audio Player has a 5CD changer - which works fine. Multiple shuffle capability;/ tracks, cd's; etc. Various Equalization circuits, (jazz, pop, classic, user defined, rock, flat, etc.) BASS boost... Large, clear, easily seen display. Fairly intuitive controls - haven't really read the instructions - but not confused on how to operate the unit. There can be a high speed whine associated with it - but this is not a defect. It is the cd laser moving out of the way of the CD - when the unit is changing disks, or skipping tracks... If they had the laser move SLOW - then you wouldn't hear anything like this - but since they have the laser move FAST for virtually no delay between disks when shuffling between tracks or changing disks - then a high speed whine is momentarily heard. If you have the unit just play a cd - with no shuffling between tracks - than no high speed whine is heard - since the laser is not quickly moving to a different position, or moving out of the way of the next cd disk which you programmed the unit to play... The Unit also plays a wide variety of Ipod devices; the ipod's can be controlled by the Remote Control; and the ipod is charged by the unit. The Remote control is a very nice size - not HUGE - but not extremely small either. For someone who needs reading glasses - I don't need a magnifying glass to see the buttons... The remote uses two AAA batteries - which are NOT included... However - the majority of all functions are also included on the front of the basic unit. The only functions which require the Remote is: MUTE; SELECT (confirming Ipod menu lists); and INTRO (playing the first 10 seconds of each cd track). It comes with a full 1 year warranty (including parts and labor). Unlike lots of other electronic items these days and lots of stuff from Sony... ((Like the Sony MHC-EC55) - which effectively only has a 90 day warranty - since after 90 days - you get to pay the LABOR charges to fix any problems...) Said Sony also only has a 3 cd changer - and no ipod capability (except for the aux input.) I have burned thru two Bosch Powerbox PB10-CD's; playing cd's; and although nicely constructed - they don't hold up - and are extremely expensive. This being cheaper, and having ipod capability - moved me to purchase it. Although it does not run on batteries... But I am concerned about the warranty, and the unit's longevity. But 1 year is definitely better than 90 days. The various extended warranties seem to be mostly junk - I seriously considered purchasing one - but after looking thru Wallmart's website; and finally finding the legal fine print of the extended warranty - decided that it was a waste. Since the total obligation of any of these warranties - is the purchase price of the product; and or replacement. If they replace the product, or cut you a check for the amount you paid for it - they have no further obligation. So - if you purchase a "3 year service plan" - and then a month after a year - the Sony or this RCA go out - all they have to do is to cut you a check or replace the product - and you have no more 'warranty'. Plus - per the legal fine print - since these two items both cost less than $147 - you can not actually purchase a 'service' plan - you are purchasing a 'replacement' plan (irregardless of plan title) - under which their only obligation is to replace the item, cut you a check, or give you a shopping card... - and this is for ONE time. Then no 'warranty'.... So - even though I am concerned that it might break in 2.5 years or less, etc. - the extended 'warranty' really doesn't seem worth it. Hopefully it will last quite some time. It does come with the full 1 year warranty. Sound is excellent, 3.5mm input jack; plus rca input jacks; headphone output jack (mutes speakers); easily understood controls... 300 watts - this is a good value. Online - the warranty title (by Walmart) states this has a 2 year warranty. The online details state 1 year. So does the actual paperwork. This has a 1 year - not 2 year which is a typo mistake by Walmart. And the Walmart description states this plays dvd's & dvd-r's etc. Another mistake. This plays CD's and various burned cd's. And it plays ipods. It does not play dvd's) I would recommend this player. Hope I would do so 5 years from now... The reason I gave it only 3 stars on 'meets expectations ' is because the first one we purchased - did not work. But this was easily rectified. Hope this helps. Have a good day, and get blessed - read the wonderful book of Revelation... bye!

Was this review helpful? (140) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 11/11/2014

Great Review! Thank you for being a RCA user.

DaveandSue
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA...sorry product!!!
8/1/2009

Customer review by otis59

1.0 stars 8/1/2009 by otis59
by otis59

i own this one and have nothing but trouble with it..disc changer noisy,cheaply made.Owned an RCA previously and it tore up in 6 mths and have had nothing but trouble in dealing with RCA to honor THEIR warranty.Do not buy anything audio from RCA,as they have been bought and resold, and unless you have a week one day to go on a journey, just to find out who is responsible for what product,It's not worth it.RCA IS NOT RCA anymore.CHEAP audio product line.UNPROFESSIONAL customer and techinical support if you have problems.DON'T BUY THIS ONE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/29/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.

otis59
Would recommend to a friend? No
AWSOME!!!!
1/3/2010

Customer review by IpodTouchFreak

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by IpodTouchFreak
by IpodTouchFreak

This product is a very nice piece of equitment. i love it. fills my whole house with sound! great bass and is veryy loud.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 11/11/2014

Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!

IpodTouchFreak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Faulty Unit ?
7/19/2009

Customer review by mrsd712

2.0 stars 7/19/2009 by mrsd712
by mrsd712

We really liked this unit, except the CD player makes a very annoying high pitched ringing sound and then a sort of squeaking/chirping sound which gets on your last nerve unless you have the volume up high to drown it out. We use this in our bedroom with the sleep CD's on volume level 8-9 and the ringing and chirping actually kept us awake...sort of like torture at times. Returned and looking for a quieter player without the squeaks.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/29/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.

mrsd712
Port St. Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lousy product
2/9/2010

Customer review by luvvtoscrap

1.0 stars 2/9/2010 by luvvtoscrap
by luvvtoscrap

This seemed like a good product at first, reasonably priced, good looking, compact. But then after only using it for a few weeks, the CD drawer failed to open and wouldn't play anything. So I contacted the company and was sent instructions on how to possibly reset the system. No dice. Then I was sent instructions on how to return the unit for repair. I placed a note in the box with a copy of all the correspondence from RCA and asked for them to please return my CDs that were locked in the drawer due to the unit failure. It doesn't seem that difficult to me. You fix the unit, get the drawer open and take the CDs out and put them in the shipping box with the unit. But I was wrong. So in the end, it cost another $23 dollars to ship the unit to be repaired and and additional $40 to replace the CDs they couldn't manage to get back in the box. Save yourself hassle and money and buy another brand.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/29/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.

luvvtoscrap
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
11/30/2009

Customer review by excitedaboutretail

2.0 stars 11/30/2009 by excitedaboutretail
by excitedaboutretail

have purchase three of these in the last year,all three cd players were nonfunctional.the price was right and i bought one of them from another store, same product but different store.I would not reccommend this product if you enjoy cds.the radio works great,but the cd player does not.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 9/29/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the compact stereo, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of compact stereo players.

excitedaboutretail
norfolk,va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!!! Worth the money
2/3/2010

Customer review by sugar22

5.0 stars 2/3/2010 by sugar22
by sugar22

It's hard to find a stereo system this small that holds more than 3 discs. Love how compact this stereo is and the fact that I can hook my I Pod up to it and play my music. Worth the money. You won't be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 11/11/2014

Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!

sugar22
Farmingdale, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Stereo
8/14/2009

Customer review by WYAPTC

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by WYAPTC
by WYAPTC

Easy to set up, looks good, great sound.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WYAPTC
Wester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Poor Quality
12/31/2009

Customer review by Chad9983213

1.0 stars 12/31/2009 by Chad9983213
by Chad9983213

This item has nice features. However our experience with it is very poor. When docking an iPod the unit would freeze up requiring it to be unplugged and 'rebooted'. After using it for 5 days the CD player wouldn't read CDs. The same CDs that worked previously wouldn't work at all (they weren't dirty or scratched). I just boxed it up and will be returning it for a refund or a different brand. We didn't have good luck with the last RCA device of this type (durability) and this one will certainly be the last one we buy. Additionally, with this device their on-line help was slow and unhelpful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chad9983213
Would recommend to a friend? No
RCA 300 watt stereo
10/24/2009

Customer review by eDeR13

5.0 stars 10/24/2009 by eDeR13
by eDeR13

I recently bought this system for use with my ipod and the sound quality is amazing!! Never had any problems with it yet. If ur looking for a cheaper system with great sound than this is tha one for you. I highly reconmemd this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eDeR13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good deal
1/25/2010

Customer review by CathyAZ

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by CathyAZ
by CathyAZ

Product exactly as advertised. Delivery to store was very fast, 3 days. Setup was very, very easy, just connect 4 color coded speaker wires and plug in. Sound quality surprisingly good for fairly inexpensive system. It plays my CDs at very good level (300 watts) and the remote is simple to use. Thanks Walmart..!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 11/11/2014

Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!

CathyAZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
12/6/2009

Customer review by Wanderingypsy

5.0 stars 12/6/2009 by Wanderingypsy
by Wanderingypsy

Got this unit after returning an iSymphony. I would highly recommend this unit. Great sound, easy to set up, easy to use. The remote control unit is easy to understand. Overall a fabulous unit for the low price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wanderingypsy
Healdsburg, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sounds Great
12/15/2009

Customer review by Sprocketodd

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by Sprocketodd
by Sprocketodd

This stereo rocks! It takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'. I have used it at the job site (construction) and it sounds fantastic. It gets abused and always works and sounds great. Nice bass response too. Cold weather, hot and humid weather, it doesn't matter. Inside or outside this stereo performs flawlessly. We used the iPod dock on it every day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sprocketodd
Salina, Ks.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Stereo
9/21/2009

Customer review by Kathyf10

5.0 stars 9/21/2009 by Kathyf10
by Kathyf10

I have found this stereo to be a great buy for the money. I have used it daily since receiving it and have not had the issues a few others have had. It is not noisy when it changes discs, no squawking, squeaking, etc. Smooth transition from one disc to another. GREAT sound! Highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kathyf10
Bloomfield, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
1/3/2010

Customer review by shane1448

4.0 stars 1/3/2010 by shane1448
by shane1448

very happy with it. easy to set up and use. sound is good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 11/11/2014

Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!

shane1448
rochester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good value for price
1/2/2010

Customer review by horsehound

4.0 stars 1/2/2010 by horsehound
by horsehound

a good value for the price. sounds good.only downside that i had is not being able to connect extra speakers to it. but overall a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 11/11/2014

Great to hear that you are enjoying the unit!

horsehound
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the price
3/13/2010

Customer review by Raysteel

4.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Raysteel
by Raysteel

So far the unit meets all expections as stated.And buying online saves even more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raysteel
Hartford,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
12/23/2009

Customer review by cancan1

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by cancan1
by cancan1

Bought this for my 11 year old daughter for her birthday. She is so pleased with it. Thank you again for offering such a great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cancan1
Haysville, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DISAPPOINTED!!
12/18/2009

Customer review by GRANDMA209

3.0 stars 12/18/2009 by GRANDMA209
by GRANDMA209

This stereo had very high quality sound. Looked as great as it sounded. Only thing was that after 5 or 10 minutes the cd player would stop or begin to skip. the cd sounded like it was dragging.To be fair though I must say that I did return it and did not try the same brand. Could have just been a reject.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GRANDMA209
STOCKTON CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Disappointed the first time around
12/20/2009

Customer review by LtPaws

3.0 stars 12/20/2009 by LtPaws
by LtPaws

We purchased the Site to Store item noted because it was $35 less expensive than the shelf price at the store. After only one test use, the stereo seemed to short itself out. We could no longer turn it on, change stations, open the cd changer, there was no LCD display, it would not play music from my iPhone, nothing...the unit ceased to work. All we got was a buzzing sound when we touched the power button. We had to return it to the store and exchange it for a new one. We've tested this one but have not had the chance to use it for any length of time yet, so we'll see how it goes. If this one has any problems, I'll be returning it for a full refund and will purchase a stereo at a different store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LtPaws
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews