Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

154 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

154 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
45
3 stars
19
2 stars
13
1 stars
21
1-20 of 142 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Easy to Assemble!
1/22/2010

Customer review by MominLoveland

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by MominLoveland
by MominLoveland

I love this bookcase so much that I bought 7 of them! I put 3 in my bedroom, screwed them together and then added crown molding and trim, so it looks really nice. The other ones are down in the basement. They hold my pez collection. I added clear vinyl down the front and screwed the vinyl on, so that my pez don't get dusty. Easy to assmble, after the first one, it only took 40 min. each.

Was this review helpful? (61) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MominLoveland
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shelf Units Exceed expectations!
10/29/2009

Customer review by ValMc

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by ValMc
by ValMc

I purchased 6 Mainstays 5 shelf bookcases. I sent one back because of minor shipping damage, but even that went so smoothly through site-to-store service. Wal Mart has their act together on this program. The shelf units exceeded my hopes after reading some previous posts. They compare with the Sauder units in that room. (I now have a combined 10 shelf units & I can't visually tell any difference in the brands. I'm using them in my "library room" as utility bookcases for all my books. If some of the movable shelves start to sag, we will enforce them. Right now however, they look great. I also put lighter books on the movable shelves. Overall, these shelves are a wonderful value. Where can you buy a 71" shelf unit for under $30.00? They also went together very easily. They arrive in a shorter box, so you can easily transport these in ANY car. The box fits on your back seat. Try one at least. Site-to-Store is awesome. Picture is only 4 of the units before all were up. I moved doubled shelved books to another unit.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValMc
Fort Atkinson, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent Shelf for the Price
9/15/2009

Customer review by ErinH

4.0 stars 9/15/2009 by ErinH
by ErinH

I don't know what most people expect from a $29 5 rack shelf. It's not the prettiest and it's not going to be an heirloom either, but it does the job. I currently have three that have held together for several years, and they all hold lots of books. Some of the shelves holding my heavy textbooks are swayed, but not near falling apart. Great option if you can't or don't want to pay $250 for a shelf.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErinH
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A pretty good bargain
1/16/2010

Customer review by oldmanshopper

4.0 stars 1/16/2010 by oldmanshopper
by oldmanshopper

I bought one of these about 5 years ago and now that it has about 200-300 books in it it's time to buy another one so my wife can buy more books. It's holding up quite well for the price. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldmanshopper
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value
10/11/2009

Customer review by jbrit

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by jbrit
by jbrit

If the product IS PUT TOGETHER PROPERLY and anchored to the wall the shelves last a lifetime. I have 2 -one for childrens toys, books, and craft items, and the other is for clothes. My children 5yrs, 3yrs, and 1yr all climb on it and play on them, they do not break or bend or fall. the key is proper assembly!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbrit
mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My BIG Secret ... These are GREAT!
8/16/2010

Customer review by cavitolo

5.0 stars 8/16/2010 by cavitolo
by cavitolo

I wanted a closet system for my home and a local dealer quoted me an OUTRAGEOUS amount of $1200 for a 90x12x72 system. I purchased three of these shelves and two closet rods ... Voila! A closet system as nice as what they were offering for under $80 ... add clothes and baskets and you're in business!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cavitolo
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
1/22/2010

Customer review by ladyinblu1

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by ladyinblu1
by ladyinblu1

This bookcase came shipped Site To Store. It was wrapped well with extra packing on the corners so not to be damaged. It was easy to put together and looks great. It seems sturdy and holds my Grandaughters toys and books easily.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyinblu1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well folks, there's a reason it's only $25
7/10/2010

Customer review by tenshime

2.0 stars 7/10/2010 by tenshime
by tenshime

The title pretty much says it all, but here are more details anyway. We purchased 3 of these bookshelves to be used in a home office. We were in a bind and needed bookshelves like, NOW, so we went with cheap because we don't need them to last but a few months. We definitely got what we paid for. First of all, taking them out of the boxes I could already tell that we paid for cheap, we got cheap. They are your typical particle board, laminate covered, bolt together shelves, but considering the damage to them before we even opened them...it wasn't good. While the boxes didn't appear damaged or crushed, many corners of the boards were so I assumed this happened at the factory. While the bookcases are fairly easy to put together, they are not very sturdy. I DEFINITELY recommend using the included strap for securing the bookcase to the wall and I also DEFINITELY recommend following the manufacturers instructions about putting this together as close as possible to where it will be standing. You will not be able to move these around very much without damage. The very first case broke at the bottom (still usable, but makes it more unstable) just moving it 15 feet. Overall I DO NOT recommend this product if you are wanting anything of quality, but I DO recommend this product if you are like us and in a bind for shelving at a cheap price. Just don't expect the cases to survive a move. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tenshime
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
exceeded my expectations
6/14/2010

Customer review by onlibekki

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by onlibekki
by onlibekki

I didn't expect much from a $25 bookcase that's much taller than me. After reading one of the more recent reviews, I realized what the white strap is for that was hanging from the top of the bookcase (safety precaution, so that the bookcase doesn't fall completely over when the strap is attached to the wall). This feature makes me feel more at ease. My room is fully carpeted and the bookcase doesn't feel as sturdy standing probably because of it's hieght (I'm sure it'll feel different if it's on hardwood floors) I just put this up yesterday, so I dont have all my books on it yet, but I'm sure it'll feel more sturdy when I weigh it down onto my carpet. The directions were pretty easy to follow, you just need to read them through once and make sure which side is 'finished' and which side is exposed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlibekki
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price
10/4/2009

Customer review by BargainFanatic22

5.0 stars 10/4/2009 by BargainFanatic22
by BargainFanatic22

Took about 30 minutes to put it together. The bookshelf is very study and should not wobble if you put the backing on it. Without the backing it's very unsturdy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainFanatic22
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mainstays 5-Shelf Bookcase really stack up!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Walt47

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Walt47
by Walt47

I purchased 3 of the bookcases, in white, online and had them shipped direct to my house. I was impressed with the competitive price and great appearance. They arrived on my porch, from Fedex in 3 days in perfect condition due to the high packaging specifications. The 61 pound cardboard cartons had extra support with 90 degree cardboard angles on all 4 corners plus plastic air padding cushioning any impact to carton. All pieces were present and NO DAMAGE. The pieces were well constructed and did assembly easily. The instructions have no text so I took my time and struggled with the instructional diagrams. The are resting three in series in an extra bedroom and full of book. They look great! I must add that I took the time to read many mixed reviews, from previous buyers ,of this product and although there were more positive comments, on this item, there were also reports of damaged or missing pieces, assembly problems, and one lady was surprised that they were so tall! I really came close to passing up the purchase of the shelf units. The ARE heavy. The weight per carton is offered to prospective buyers correctly at over 60 pounds. Plan appropriately with help or moving equipment. The substrate is constructed from pressed fiber board. Think wood glue instead of large nails or screws. The former will split or break if not handed properly. They are not made of lumber! I am very pleased with Walmart and all aspects of this value purchase and recommend to you. Walt47 Deltona, FL

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walt47
Deltona, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quick Fix
1/11/2010

Customer review by SouthernRedhead

4.0 stars 1/11/2010 by SouthernRedhead
by SouthernRedhead

I can't afford $500 for a decent bookcase, and I really don't have time to build one since I'm moving soon. It's $30. It's not going to look like it's from an expensive store, it's not going to last you twenty years, and you won't be able to give it to your kids when they get their first place. But it's sturdy, they hold all my books (I got two of them - three would have held them more comfortably), and they were a cinch to put together. As long as you put your heaviest books on the bottom shelf and secure it to the wall like they instruct you to do, it should last a few years. At $60 for two of them, if they lasted me a year I'd be happy. It's a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernRedhead
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect for a childs room
2/22/2010

Customer review by LoveToOrganizeThings

4.0 stars 2/22/2010 by LoveToOrganizeThings
by LoveToOrganizeThings

Great for the $. I purchased this shelf for my 4 year old daughter's room. It is perfect for all of her books and some pictures on the higher shelf. It was fairly easy to put together, however the instuctions have no words. It took me just over an hour to assemble the shelf by myself. Would recommend this shelf for a child's room. You can see the cardboard back if you look close enough, but have enough things on there to obscure the back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToOrganizeThings
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap, but decent
9/10/2009

Customer review by Julia27

3.0 stars 9/10/2009 by Julia27
by Julia27

At $29, you can't expect much from this shelf. It is slightly wobbly, but for the price, it is great. I don't think I will put heavy items on it, but it will be good enough for my books. I'm going to buy another today!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julia27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not good design
6/7/2010

Customer review by Dale4142

1.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Dale4142
by Dale4142

It is apoor design, My one was broken during the assembly. Juts waste the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dale4142
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Don't buy this bookcase if you want durability!
7/15/2010

Customer review by mainstaybookcase

1.0 stars 7/15/2010 by mainstaybookcase
by mainstaybookcase

I bought this bookcase because it fit in with my room design and was affordable. Little did I know that the unit is not one solid piece, but the joining of two smaller cases. This left for a very unstable product. I moved the case from wall to the other and it fell like a box of cards. The entire case broke. I wish I had saved my money and purchased a more sturdier bookcase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mainstaybookcase
Would recommend to a friend? No
A disappointment
7/29/2010

Customer review by aTechnojunkie

1.0 stars 7/29/2010 by aTechnojunkie
by aTechnojunkie

The design of this shelf must have changed recently, because nobody in their right mind would keep one of these shelves after seeing how poorly designed they are. Aside from the normal expectations from cheap furniture the most glaring problem with these shelves is that there's nothing holding the top half to the bottom except gravity. The bottom half is a sturdy box, while the top half is 3 planks of wood (not even a solid box) resting on 2 metal pins that are mounted in the bottom box. This shelf wasn't even worth using as a throw away, I boxed it back up and took it back. (and I wasn't the only one as my walmart store had 3 'open box items' on the shelf next to this one)

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aTechnojunkie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
9/22/2010

Customer review by DukeGrad2014

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by DukeGrad2014
by DukeGrad2014

It is amazing that this only cost $25! It takes some assembly and space to assemble but when you get it together you will LOVE it! I have the 3 shelf and 5 shelf versions and they are both amazing!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DukeGrad2014
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/18/2010

Customer review by spotsaunt

1.0 stars 1/18/2010 by spotsaunt
by spotsaunt

the bookcase is not one long side panel -- it is 2 joined together with the middle shelf. Looking at it from the side I thought it looked cheesy. Returned product for a saunderson bookcase. I guess the only benefit of this bookcase would be it was easier to fit in a car as opposed to a box that was over 72" long. The website did not really make it clear or I would never have ordered.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spotsaunt
massachusettes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
worst bookcase ever
4/24/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/24/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This bookcase was a huge disappointment. It had no support what soever and completely fell down before I got the shelves themselves on it. Both are going back. DO NOT BUY

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews