Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-19 of 19 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

GOOD ALL AROUND CAMERA
7/5/2009

Customer review by CAMPJEEP

5.0 stars 7/5/2009 by CAMPJEEP
by CAMPJEEP
Top 1000 contributor

TAKES VERY GOOD PICTURES, BIG 3 inch LCD, NICE 6x ZOOM IT WAS GOOD TO GET THE BEAR PICTURES AT CADES COVE IN THE SMOKY MOUNTIANS. YOU WILL HAVE TO USE ENERGIZER LITHIUM BATTERYS OR 2500 2900 RECHARGEABLES TO GET GOOD BATTERY LIFE BECAUSE THIS CAMERA HAS SO MUCH GOING ON IT DOES USE A LOT OF POWER..THE A 2100 SIZE IS IN BETWEEN THE CANON SX 110 AND THE A 480 WITCH ARE ALLSO GREAT CAMERAS .. I USE A HIGH SPEED SD CARD (SANDISK ULTRA II OR A EXTREME III CARD) AND IF YOUR NEW TO THIS CAMERA STUFF REMEMBER TO FORMAT YOUR SD CARD... THE PICTURES BELOW ARE BETTER THAN WHAT THEY SHOW HERE. HAD TO USE FULL 6x ZOOM HERE...

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAMPJEEP
COLUMBUS,OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Everything I Asked For
7/21/2009

Customer review by bigpc

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by bigpc
by bigpc

After shopping and waiting, the stars aligned in the form of this camera! It is everything I asked for. Large, visible in the daylight, 3" LCD screen. 12M pixels, Easy operation, anti-shaking and it's a Canon! Oh yeah, the pictures are incredible! So far, I have found nothing that I don't like. Buy this camera!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigpc
Glendora, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Camera......... great value
8/7/2009

Customer review by bigdzmom

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by bigdzmom
by bigdzmom

This camera is easy to use, takes great pictures, and is a good value. I purchased this camera as a bundle value. (Included was a 4GB SDHC memory card). I also purchased the Tamrac 5290 black camera bag. The bag is a perfect fit for this model of camera. The bag also has a front pocket for 4AA batteries and an extra memory card. I recommend this camera for the amateur who needs something easy to use but takes great pictures like a more expensive camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigdzmom
Ooltewah, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great camera
7/15/2009

Customer review by xxxxx55555xxxxxx

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by xxxxx55555xxxxxx
by xxxxx55555xxxxxx

This camera is very nice. It takes great photos and movies. I love the fact that you can zoom in and out when you are filming movies. Great little camera.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxxxx55555xxxxxx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awesome Camara
7/25/2009

Customer review by Steckrls

5.0 stars 7/25/2009 by Steckrls
by Steckrls

This camara is everything it says it is plus more. Buy the lithum batteries and upgrade your memory card after you buy it and you are set to go...I took it on a two trip and never changed my batteries and the pictures are fantastic...Very easy to use......

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steckrls
Abilene, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice but....
7/30/2009

Customer review by JVfromPhilly

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by JVfromPhilly
by JVfromPhilly

I've been looking for a point & shoot pocket camera that uses regular AA batteries and can take great portrait flash pictures quickly, which the A2100-IS almost does, but I returned it because it simply wasn't worth twice what I paid for the Canon A480. I first bought the A480 but wasn't happy with how long it took for the flash to charge between shots (up to 10 seconds at times). Next I tried the 14 MP Kodak but it's HD video seemed a bit "shaky" and it turned out it only used lithium AA batteries and it too, took a long time between flashes. Finally, I tried the Canon A2100-IS but it seemed to be no significant inprovement over the A480 other than the better zoom and 2 more megapixels, 2 features that I don't feel are that much more neeeded. Flash recharge again, was close to 10 seconds. I returned both the Kodak and the A2100-IS and I'm still looking for something in a point and shoot, AA battery camera that can take great flash pictures quickly. I imagine someone will invent one soon. In the meantime, I'll stick with the very affordable and very advanced for its price, Canon A480. PS, Nitpick - I found the A2100-IS a bit "slippery". I have powder dry slippery fingers and getting a good grip on the A2100-IS was difficult. It could use a few little pieces of rubber to provide a better grip. I often thought I was going to drop it. In contrast, the A480 feels very solid in my hands (FYI - I'm right-handed and I think all cameras have the "shoot" button set-up for rightys).

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JVfromPhilly
Philly Burbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall A Good Buy
2/3/2010

Customer review by Nikki

4.0 stars 2/3/2010 by Nikki
by Nikki

Overall I did very much like this camera. But having had the previous version in the series, I was disappointed with some things. It seems to not want to pick up when a picture should be a closeup, since that feature is automatic. Also, a viewfinder would be nice because in bright light the LCD is completely useless. The last thing I was unimpressed with was its lack of quality with action. It is a good camera dont get me wrong, I especially love the zooming capabilities that dont leave a picture grainy, but a step up from the last version it is only barely.

Nikki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disappointed
7/11/2010

Customer review by Gego

3.0 stars 7/11/2010 by Gego
by Gego

I purchased this camera so I could go to my grandkids ballgames and just carry a pocket camera rather than my large SLR. Nowhere in the info I researched did I find notice that the camera was just about useless in bright outdoor light. I returned to Canon twice for repair and after the second time they advised me of that problem and that it could not be fixed. Now I'm shopping for another compact with an optic viewfinder and I'm sure not looking at Canon.

Gego
United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Incomplete user's manual
5/19/2010

Customer review by Jeff

3.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Jeff
by Jeff

The camera has lots of features, and takes good pictures, but the scant abbreviated printed owner's manual does not explain most of the camera's extensive features, so I am missing out on what I could potentially do. I would like to get a print copy that is as extensive as the PDF file one can get on line. I would like to buy a print copy but the website does not direct me or link me to a place I can do this.

Jeff
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
No re-format warning
3/29/2010

Customer review by Rob

4.0 stars 3/29/2010 by Rob
by Rob

Twice we accidentally erased all our pictures from the memory card because the camera contains no warning that this would happen if we accidentally selected the re-format card option. We urge Canon to include such a warning in camera software in the future. Otherwise, it is a very good camera and we are pleased with it.

Rob
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Purchase
7/8/2009

Customer review by Rena

4.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Rena
by Rena

This camera so far is just great. Very easy to use. The pictrues are just awesome. The only thing I've found that I wish was different is it doesn't seem to snap the picutres quickly but it's not so bad that I regret the purchase with everything else being so easy. After seeing the pictures it took I am impressed.

Rena
Everett, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Overall
7/1/2009

Customer review by BR3NN4N

4.0 stars 7/1/2009 by BR3NN4N
by BR3NN4N

It takes great pictures. It is great resolution. But the bad parts are that it is like plastic... really it feels like plastic. it's bulky for the AA batteries. Good show back images. There isn't a view finder which is definetly a con. Decent zoom. Could be better but still worth it.

BR3NN4N
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera
12/9/2009

Customer review by DDawg54

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by DDawg54
by DDawg54

So far this has proven to be alot of camera for the money. The only feature I haven't found is an adjustment for shutter speed but it handles action shots and other movement well. Put it on a tripod and it really shines.

DDawg54
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great cam
7/2/2009

Customer review by photogenic

5.0 stars 7/2/2009 by photogenic
by photogenic

Its a great digital cam i ever used. great pic quality. if there is no view finder its ok bcoz LCD is big 3 inches wide. design is very good. i got real return of money.

photogenic
PK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
8/8/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/8/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This was one of the best purchases I have made this year! Easy to use, awesome pictures, great size! I have recommended it to many of my friends!

An anonymous customer
Center Harbor, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sorely Misses A View Finder
8/7/2009

Customer review by John

4.0 stars 8/7/2009 by John
by John

This camera is fine in all respects EXCEPT in sunlight the LCD is nearly useless for taking pictures. It sorely needs a view finder of some sort.

John
Fort Wayne IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a favorite.
6/29/2009

Customer review by doctorgo

1.0 stars 6/29/2009 by doctorgo
by doctorgo

vs. A1000: Lost an f-stop.For me 6X Optical is perfect. AA batteries and viewfinder are a MUST! No viewfinder = No Sale! Returned for refund.

doctorgo
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stunning
8/11/2009

Customer review by SLR guy

5.0 stars 8/11/2009 by SLR guy
by SLR guy

I wasn’t really in the market for a new camera. I had a nice digital SLR that took good pictures, although it was falling behind current technology, being only a 5MP camera. However, after spending a wedding taking pictures with a compact camera, I was hooked. I knew I’d be doing a lot more photography, and having a lot more fun, if I could carry a camera in my pocket, rather than having to strap on a camera bag. I sold my SLR the next day and started reading the reviews for compact cameras. I’ve had the Canon A2100 camera for a month now, and really like it. The images are clear with very little noise or grain, color rendition is stunning, and the camera is exceptionally easy to operate. Face detection works well, as does the i-contrast system for ensuring that faces are appropriately exposed. On Auto mode, the camera almost always selects the correct mode for the shot, but you can always override it and choose the mode you want. Having the Program mode available allows those of us who have been shooting for years more leeway in setting individual parameters for special shots. The camera seems to have an exceptional ability to capture shots without using the flash (which I hate to use unless absolutely necessary). Even shots taken outdoors at night on the special ISO 3200 setting are clear and show almost none of the grain or noise you’d expect at this high an ISO value. Some users have expressed concerns about the battery life with this camera. Admittedly, when I used standard alkalines, I got a low battery alert after about 65 shots. I then switched to Energizer “Ultimate Lithium” batteries, and have taken over 500 shots- and they’re still going. I consider this very good performance for both the battery and the camera. I heartily recommend this camera for those who want an easy to take along, easy to operate camera that produces excellent quality photos.

SLR guy
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/23/2009

Customer review by PainInMyBehind

5.0 stars 7/23/2009 by PainInMyBehind
by PainInMyBehind

I used to have a casio camera, but I had trouble with the battery not charging. It was a battery specially made for the camera. That's why I got a cannon instead because I could just use rechargeable batteries. I can see the display screen on a sunny very well which I could not do with previous other cameras. The zoom is amazing. The screen is grainy when I first look at but the pictures all turn out fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PainInMyBehind
Riceville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days